Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Scratch Cups

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

We played in the Int Sc Cup at Castle Barna today, course in good nick, glorious sunshine. Played well in patches but nothing to write home about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭Tones69

Baltinglass jnr/inter this wknd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Jarzinho

Thinking of playing at Mount Juliet on 13th June, €60pp and if Rory wins the US Open (which is very unlikely at the moment) you get your green fee back. Anybody interested?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Jarzinho wrote: »
    Thinking of playing at Mount Juliet on 13th June, €60pp and if Rory wins the US Open (which is very unlikely at the moment) you get your green fee back. Anybody interested?

Would love to play Mount Juliet sometime and really enjoy the Scratch Cups but €60 is too expensive in my book, might consider it if it was €50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Jarzinho

Would love to play Mount Juliet sometime and really enjoy the Scratch Cups but €60 is too expensive in my book, might consider it if it was €50

Know what you mean, checked their Open comps and that looks like the lowest they go. Some 4-person team events for €60 with burger but I'd prefer to pay the green fee and just buy my own burger at the turn! The other problem is getting 4 lads together for a team event midweek.....

Jarzinho wrote: »
    Know what you mean, checked their Open comps and that looks like the lowest they go. Some 4-person team events for €60 with burger but I'd prefer to pay the green fee and just buy my own burger at the turn! The other problem is getting 4 lads together for a team event midweek.....

The team events are a proper pain and personally don't see what the appeal is, they're more casual golf and a bit of fun rather than competitive. Another problem I have with Mount Juliet's scratch cups is that they're midweek, pretty much every other club in the country run their scratch cups on a Sat or Sun to try and ensure the best turnout while Mount Juliet appears to be otherwise filling out an otherwise quiet day.
    Overall I think Mount Juliet are over pricing their open days at €60 especially when you consider Druid's Glen are running theirs at €40. Played Druid's Glen for the first time last month and the greens in particular were immaculate. Not sure if Mount Juliet as a course could be any better.

Ok id understand if u said "feck that the most id ever pay for a round of golf is 30 euro". But to say that you would LOVE to play Mount Juliet but that extra tenner makes it impossible is just plain silly

Tones69 wrote: »
    Ok id understand if u said "feck that the most id ever pay for a round of golf is 30 euro". But to say that you would LOVE to play Mount Juliet but that extra tenner makes it impossible is just plain silly

Why, you have to draw the line somewhere. Sure if you're willing to pay €60 then why stop there, maybe they'd get the same number of golfers if they charged €70 and then €80.
    Not having a limit is what gets people into a frenzy at auctions paying more than they intended but each to their own.

Why, you have to draw the line somewhere. Sure if you're willing to pay €60 then why stop there, maybe they'd get the same number of golfers if they charged €70 and then €80.
    Not having a limit is what gets people into a frenzy at auctions paying more than they intended but each to their own.

Would you let TEN EURO stop you from doing something that you would LOVE to do? I highly doubt it. We all have to draw the line somewhere yes so we wont bother going into it because 9/10 times that means that you're just not really bothered in the first place. Few guys I know think 50 quid for a lovely course with friends is ridiculous, but has no problem handing 100 euro on a sat night to the barman to get legless ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭carman2011

im playing the inter in headfort on monday, 1st out at 7.30 !
    also hope to play the inter in old conna on the 9th.

carman2011 wrote: »
    im playing the inter in headfort on monday, 1st out at 7.30 !
    also hope to play the inter in old conna on the 9th.

Jesus thats early man, wanna be getting there before 7 to warm up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭matt-dublin

i just got ruled out of the old conna one so there's a tee time available at 11.08 am available up there now if you call them

i just got tuled out of the old conna one so there's a tee time available at 11.08 am available up there now if you call them

Check out Mr "im too low to play in the inter cup now" :D

i just called them to free it up. apparently its fairly full already. my bragging requirements have already been satisfied for the year....

i just got ruled out of the old conna one so there's a tee time available at 11.08 am available up there now if you call them

You going playing in the 36 hole junior scratch cup on Sat in Headfort? New course in the am and Old course in the pm. No better way to celebrate single figures than a full 36 hole junior scratch cup on two fine courses.
    It's what I'd be doing if I'd reached my goal by now.

playing druids glen on saturday morning with a buddy so i can't

Love that course!

ill bring ye up there next time i get some vouchers

Yea cheers gimme a shout dude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

Anyone fancy an inter cup or open somewhere decent on Monday? I'm a loner come Monday.

Was thinking Mount Wolseley, Seapoint, Forrest Little or Wicklow. Never played either of those.

Whyner wrote: »
    Anyone fancy an inter cup or open somewhere decent on Monday? I'm a loner come Monday.

Was thinking Mount Wolseley, Seapoint, Forrest Little or Wicklow. Never played either of those.

I'll be in work so not available but why not stick your name down on a timesheet somewhere with some randomers. I do it all the time and never had an issue. Depending on your handicap there's an Intermediate Scratch Cup on in Headfort Old on Mon or an Intermediate and Minor on in Seapoint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

I'll be in work so not available but why not stick your name down on a timesheet somewhere with some randomers. I do it all the time and never had an issue. Depending on your handicap there's an Intermediate Scratch Cup on in Headfort Old on Mon or an Intermediate and Minor on in Seapoint

I have no problem flying solo, just thought I'd check if anyone was up for a game.

Was 1st out this morning in inter in headfort, finished with a 9 over 81.

That's good scoring, that was the old course wasn't it. Should be in with a shout and at least in the running for a prize. How was the course playing, speedy greens and tough pin positions for the scratch cup? Lovely day you got for it also, fair play, beat being stuck in work.

Yeah, happy with it, was the old course.
    Couple of silly bogeys early on , and didn't really know the course.
    Weather was perfect, almost no wind, and despite some tight pins, greens weren't overly fast, so I expect to see a few in the 70's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,497 ✭✭✭big_drive

Results from Fota Island Golf Club

Junior Scratch Cup

The results of the Junior Scratch Cup which took place on June 3rd are as follows:

1st – Pat Ford – Cork – Handicap 6 – gross 73
    2nd - Seamus Cronin – Blarney – Handicap 8 – gross 74
    3rd – Jack Howard – Fota Island – Handicap 6 – gross 75

Best Nett – Stephen Calnan – Raffeen Creek – Handicap 7 – gross 69  

Yeah, happy with it, was the old course.
    Couple of silly bogeys early on , and didn't really know the course.
    Weather was perfect, almost no wind, and despite some tight pins, greens weren't overly fast, so I expect to see a few in the 70's.

79 won it, my 81 just missed the gross prizes but my net 70 was 2nd in the net prizes !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭golfbgud

Results from Headfort Scratch Cups attached.....

Got in the prizes myself!

golfbgud wrote: »
    Results from Headfort Scratch Cups attached.....

Got in the prizes myself!

Nice one, well done. Strange they have more nett prizes than gross in the Minor Scratch Cup, kind of defeats the purpose of the Scratch Cup. Would be inclined to have 4 gross prizes and 2 nett prizes in the Intermediate also instead of 3 and 3.
    What were the standard of prizes like in general? Golf related merchandise you could exchange in the proshop if you dared or some sort of dust gathering ornaments?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭golfbgud

Nice one, well done. Strange they have more nett prizes than gross in the Minor Scratch Cup, kind of defeats the purpose of the Scratch Cup. Would be inclined to have 4 gross prizes and 2 nett prizes in the Intermediate also instead of 3 and 3.
    What were the standard of prizes like in general? Golf related merchandise you could exchange in the proshop if you dared or some sort of dust gathering ornaments?

"Golf related merchandise you could exchange in the proshop"......