Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Great Ireland Run, 6 April

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Nice thats a good help, Think i'm looking at a very slow time, but jsut aim to be quicker through 5 miles then i was in rahney this year, if i'm not i wont be happy as i've actully been training 5 days a week since then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭ergo

thanks for that

I last ran this in 2005, course has changed very slightly but I don't think it'll be any harder or easier.

Except I'm not as fit now so gonna be harder for me ! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭hawkwing

Got the race no. and t-shirt in the post on thursday, pity it is of the same material as last year and too heavy to run in for my liking--not like the adidas ones. Going all out to break 50mins this time, did 5211 last year and 5208 in the aware xmas run so will be up against it, hopefully no wind on the day.Anyone else got times their going for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

hawkwing wrote: »
    Got the race no. and t-shirt in the post on thursday, pity it is of the same material as last year and too heavy to run in for my liking--not like the adidas ones. Going all out to break 50mins this time, did 5211 last year and 5208 in the aware xmas run so will be up against it, hopefully no wind on the day.Anyone else got times their going for?

Would be there with you hawkwing,
    56 and a half mins last year at the great Ireland run
    53 and a half mins for the Aware Christmas run

just over 40 mins for 5m and 24 mins for 5K since then so hope to go under 50 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭paddylast

Im also aiming for the 50mins mark. did it in 59 last year.

while trying to beat the pack going past the pope's cross i decided i'd pass someone out by going up on the grass mount. That idea bit me in the back side when i tripped and hurt my ankle.

ive done 24 mins for the paddys day 5k and been out training on the course for this yr's run. As with anyone who's ran the course before or did any or the addias race series will be all too familiar in my opinion the two killer hills on the course.

The first one would be coming on to military rd which is just around the corner from the drinks station last year. it takes alot out of us amateurs!

The second is the upper glen road. i truly hate this road. it feels like the never ending hill. Am putting in extra training for this one as i completly lost it last year after this one.

Best of luck to all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cunnins4

Hoping for sub 44 this year, pb is 44:30ish. Was originally aiming for 41 but didn't train near as much as i'd planned. Just back from a slow 12k in just under an hour, so hopefully adrenaline on the day will help as it has the last few times. This is my 4th time doing this run. It's always great craic, great people and the t-shirt's ok.

Walkers to the back! Always walkers up in the sub 40min section. I hate that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭earlyevening

Did 43.02 last year but its on the same weekend as the connemara half marathon which I love doing. Why is it on the same weekend?? I bet that annoys a load of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭islandexile

Chebii to defend Great Ireland Run title

Kenya's Abraham Chebii will return to Phoenix Park in Dublin to defend his Great Ireland Run title on Sunday, 6 April.

In last year's 10 kilometres road race Chebii prevented Commonwealth 5000 metres silver medallist Craig Mottram from achieving a fifth successive victory.

Chebii will be trying to continue his recent form in the build-up to the Olympic Games after a highly successful indoor season on the European circuit this winter.

His major rivals are expected to be Ukrainian Sergiy Lebid, who last December claimed a seventh European Cross Country gold medal in Spain, and top Frenchman Bob Tahri.

'They will start as favourites and on paper Chebii looks the man to beat,' said Andy Caine, the event's elite athletes manager.

'But Lebid, who is equally at home on the roads as well as being a superb cross country runner, can never be ruled out whatever the terrain.'

Caine added: 'Having also got Jo Pavey, Benita Johnson and Aniko Kalovics lined up in the women's race, both international fields are extremely strong.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Johnnio13

aiming for sub-50 myself, however, I was on a threadmill last night and ran 4 miles in 28 mins, but was dying after it!!

I would like to repeat cunnins4 sentiment - walkers to the back - nothing worse than getting into your stride and havin to run around 4 ol' dears talking about knitting

Good luck everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭cfitz

cunnins4 wrote: »
    Hoping for sub 44 this year, pb is 44:30ish. Was originally aiming for 41 but didn't train near as much as i'd planned. Just back from a slow 12k in just under an hour, so hopefully adrenaline on the day will help as it has the last few times.

12k in under an hour doesn't sound particularly slow if your training for a sub-44 minute 6 miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

Aiming for a sub 60min myself. Had a disaster last year, tripped coming down the infirmary road. This year have been up there running the course the last 2 months, those last 2 hills are a killer.

Haven't received my pack yet though. Had received it this time last year. Anyone else still waiting on theirs, and do they know where I can get the sponsorship card, as I have the t-shirt and just want to raise a few bob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭dtf

Aiming for 50mins too, Also ran MSB5K in 24 mins so i'll probably be using Paddylast as a pacesetter.

My race pack arrived in the post yesterday,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 hurricane147

I registered on March 17 and received a Marie Keating t shirt and sponsorship card today. Apparently I was too late for the county colours shirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

dtf wrote: »
    Aiming for 50mins too, Also ran MSB5K in 24 mins so i'll probably be using Paddylast as a pacesetter.

My race pack arrived in the post yesterday,

Hmm... Anyone seeing a pattern here? I ran the MSB5K in just under 24mins too, and my aim (apart from just finishing) is... you guessed it, sub 50 mins :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Bobby04

I got my kit last week. But last year, my kit arrived the week after the race! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭lisbon_lions

Can you sign up on the day?

Hurricane, does it not finish on chesterfield avenue like last year? that being the big long road that the start line is on. cheers.

Can you sign up on the day?

Nope, and entries have closed.
    Hurricane, does it not finish on chesterfield avenue like last year? that being the big long road that the start line is on. cheers.

Hurricane's course is correct according to the map they sent out as part of the info pack.

Last year it finished on Furze road just of the the main road chesterfield avenue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭bazman

Can you still enter this race? I've just tried online and it just says stream closed when I click on register button ...

Sorry, just reading earlier post now - there should have been a notice of an end date :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Daithi008

Can you buy tickets off people who pull out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭louthandproud

Daithi008 wrote: »
    Can you buy tickets off people who pull out?

the Web site still seems live for entries:

http://entry.greatrun.org/EventInformation.aspx?StreamId=12

From Greatrun.org

Entries are open, but all entrants to the Great Ireland Run on or after the 28th March MUST collect their race packs either from Lifestyle Sports, Blanchardstown Fashion Retail Park, Dublin 15 between noon and 7pm on Friday 4th April, or from the information marquee at the Phoenix Park between 10a.m. and 4pm on Saturday 5th April. T- shirts are subject to availability.

went out there this evening and ran roughly what seems to be the course

it seemed much longer than when I last ran the race 3 years ago :rolleyes:

I was super fit back then, never been as fit and ran 39:20

today I managed just under 43 mins, if I equal that or get near or under 42 next week I'll be happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 hurricane147

I did the route yesterday morning - 54m 23s. I don't think the Kenyans will be too worried! The hills start at half way. I found that the third mile was grand, but by the time I got over the long drag up after mile 4 I was suffering. I hope to give it another go on Wednesday.

Looks like the heat won't be a problem for Sunday for the park or Connemara, a north east wind of all things is on the cards, gloves and wooly cap weather. Hope they have bovril instead of water :cool:

I did the route yesterday morning - 54m 23s. I don't think the Kenyans will be too worried! The hills start at half way. I found that the third mile was grand, but by the time I got over the long drag up after mile 4 I was suffering. I hope to give it another go on Wednesday.

If you go to the link that was originally on page 1 of this thread http://www.mapmyrun.com/run/ireland/dublin/653899185 and make sure "elevation" is ticked you'll get a good visual picture of the hills that await you from the end of mile 3 onwards....:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 osgur

I ran the route yesterday also, extremely windy and if its like that on Sunday those hills after half way are going to be very tough. Looking forward to it now

Weather promised brutal for Sunday, all I can say is time will need to be banked in the first 6k.
    The closing stretch and the hills around 6-8k are completely exposed and will be tough enough into the wind.

Temps predicted around 8deg and strong winds too.
    Some difference in comparison to last year.

indeed weather last year was very good almost too good. by the time i hit the 7k mark last year the sweat was only pumping!

Yep last year was summer like for the last 3 k, metoffice.gov.uk not predicting a scorcher this time around however :
    "Drifting Snow & Heavy Snow Sun 6 Apr
    There is a moderate risk of a severe event affecting parts of N Ireland, N and W Wales, Scotland and NE and E England. Cold northerly winds are expected to bring snow showers which could give temporary, slight accumulations at lower levels. On higher ground accumulations of 2-5 cm, and locally as much as 10 cm in N Scotland, are likely. Drifting is also possible in the strong winds over the higher ground in the North.
    Issued at: 1255 Wed 2 Apr"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭lisbon_lions

Im not too concerned about the temp - Its April c'mon. How bad can it get :rolleyes: What I dont want is crazy swirly winds flying about the place and in ma face during the race, as it messes with my pace, and ultimately - time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Well i'm going out to try and scrap under teh 50 min mark too myself...

BP of 37:12 so i'm along long way of that now, but will try to get back down under 40 for next years... will be happy if i do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 239 ✭✭geoff29

I've just realised that I'm not at all in good shape for the run on Sunday! For the last few months I've only done 5k runs say 3/4 times a week. I haven't run 10k since one of the races in December. I had meant to start increasing my distance but I forgot/didnt care etc. And now I'm paying the price!

My legs are pretty sore too - surprising since I haven't done any long distances recently - like most of you I did the marathon and all the accompanying races last year. 5k used to be nothing. Now 5k seems like... enough! Def not looking forward to 10k!

PB. for 10k is 44 mins. PB. for 5k is 18 mins. Would love to translate that to 10k and had meant to but... well, you know how it is!

Anyway, just wondering - with only today and tomorrow left - what kind of prep you guys are doing running-wise?

ps. just read the other thread there - not looking forward to the swirly winds!! it gets up my nose. And I *do* mean literally!! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

geoff29 wrote: »
    Anyway, just wondering - with only today and tomorrow left - what kind of prep you guys are doing running-wise?

If there are two days to go and you don't think you are ready, the best thing running wise is to run to your nearest church/mosque/synagogue and say a few prayers. Its like a farmer realising the harvest season is about to end and winter is on its way and he has no hay in the shed. Most people are putting the feet up and bringing it on at this stage.

Tingle wrote: »
    If there are two days to go and you don't think you are ready, the best thing running wise is to run to your nearest church/mosque/synagogue and say a few prayers. Its like a farmer realising the harvest season is about to end and winter is on its way and he has no hay in the shed. Most people are putting the feet up and bringing it on at this stage.

Ain't that the truth!

However - I'll be thinking of your comment when I'm climbing those final hills!!
    I'll try and match my 44 min time!!
    I'll show you! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I've merged the Great Ireland Run threads.

Good luck to all running on Sunday. I'll be down there, hopefully, cheering all you slowcoaches on. :D

[10k is a bit beyond me at the mo]

geoff29 wrote: »

Personally, I am just taking it easy today and tomorrow. As someone who hasn't trained that is still probably the best option. Take some good rest and get some good carbs (brown pasta, brown rice) into you over the next two days then give it your best shot. You do have some background in distance running, so getting to 10k shouldn't be a problem! And chances are you'll have beaten me to the finish line ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Scott Hall

Hey, Yo. I entered this years race I got my t-shirt etc but I somehow lost my time-chip, what should I do now? Can I still run the race? Will I have to pay someone to replace it? How much do they cost? If anyone could help with any of my questions It would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭louthandproud

Scott Hall wrote: »
    Hey, Yo. I entered this years race I got my t-shirt etc but I somehow lost my time-chip, what should I do now? Can I still run the race? Will I have to pay someone to replace it? How much do they cost? If anyone could help with any of my questions It would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

You'll need it to get a finish time, otherwise your participation won't be officially recognized, also there is a charge for non return of €15.

Take another look for it! Otherwise get there early and see if the information booth can help you.

The information number for the race organizers is: 01 8909 30139

You might want to give them a call in advance too.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I'm sorry I'm not doing this now. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Scott Hall

You'll need it to get a finish time, otherwise your participation won't be officially recognized, also there is a charge for non return of €15.

Take another look for it! Otherwise get there early and see if the information booth can help you.

The information number for the race organizers is: 01 8909 30139

You might want to give them a call in advance too.

Thanks for that I'll take a chance and run it anyway I can time myself and pay the fine after at least I didn't lose my number:).........yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭Newaglish

I just can't figure out which way the weather is going...

Shorts or tracksuit, just can't decide...

Anyhow, best of luck today everyone!

What a nice shower of hailstones at 8k!! 5033 so did not break the 50 mins:mad: 521 for fist 1k and 1535 at 3k ruined my chances, broke 5m/k for the last 7--could not get around people early on and started too far back (my excuse anyway!) but beat last years 5211 and previous PB of 5208 so cannot be too upset.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Sonderval

Yeah, not my best run I think. Probably got somewhere around the 41 to 42 min mark. Going to have to wait for the chip time.

Sun, snow, sleet and glorious sunshine with some strange gusts of wind. Definitely an interesting climate for a run!

The 8km sleet was memorable. Doesn't compare to the deer dash last year across the track at 4km :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭aviendha

Chip times are up... 48.01 woohoo! well done to everyone who managed to brave the sleet.... although from a non-athletic point of view, very disappointed at the lack of chocolate in the goody bag :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭Newaglish

47:45, great to have beaten 50 mins on my first race (of any kind)

Great day, great atmosphere, unusual weather patterns!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Darondo

52:58, one minute slower than last year, but i'm happy enough as preparations this year weren't as good. Sleet at Chapelizod gate made me laugh, not too sure why, maybe was gettin a bit delirious at the time!
    Anyone else think that the water station was a bit of a mess? They could have spread it out a bit more and put stations on both sides of the road. Like aviendha, was also disappointed in the lack of chocolate or sweets in goody bag, the thought of tucking into something sweet was all that kept me going the last couple of clicks..

50:38 for me, very happy even though I didn't break 50 mins on my first time out. Great atmosphere, pity about the weather!

Finally broke the 40 min barrier and top 100 barrier! Well my chip says 40:01 but a misunderstanding on the finish line aside I was 39:58 or thereabouts..!

That's the quickest I've run... I was really angry for some reason. Totally unprepared for those hills but I was flying on the flats - think I did 1 or 2 kms well under the 3 mins mark.. but those hills. The only reason I didn't stop running was because of Tingle's comments! :) Thanks!

I feel like I've another few mins in me. Not bad for an amateur!!

Hope everyone did well - def agree about the lack of chocolate and sweets in the bag being a load of bs. Crisps?! I don't eat crisps!! Was talking to some of the elite runners too - amazing!! they sure can run!!!

Was trying to sprint the final few hundred when the hail came..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭dtf

51min 15sec for me. after 5K was on track to beat the 50min mark, but the hills after that beat me.
    Well organised race, and you just can't beat the big crowd for athmosphere during the race.
    Anyone else think that that Nike thing potting your time is off?