Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone live in Cobh?

• 19-03-2008 4:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭

Hello,

My other half and I are hoping to move to Cork in the next while so sussing out various places.We visited Cobh last weekend and liked it very much. My question is what is it like to live in and what is the commute like in the mornings to the city???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Nikster

Cobh is a horrible place to live. I lived there for just under a year and ran out of the place as fast as I could. It's very rough and going out is a dodgy affair at night. Midleton is much nicer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭dh0661

Nikster wrote: »
    Cobh is a horrible place to live. I lived there for just under a year and ran out of the place as fast as I could. It's very rough and going out is a dodgy affair at night. Midleton is much nicer

I'd prefer Clonakilty myself, grandparents live there, and every time I visit, I find it very friendly with a great atmosphere, pubs are great, especially Shanleys
    much better than Tralee, where I live now.:(
    Must check out a move:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Judes

I bought a house in Cobh 5 years ago and I disagree with other poster - who ran out of the place. I think Cobh is a lovely town. And now is the time to buy as a lot of investment is going into this town -so it's a hidden Gem in Cork Harbour.

I live in an old terraced house in the town - I have lovely friendly neighbours, I feel safe knowing if I'm away they watch the house for me. The Cobh and Harbour Chamber of Commerce is located in the town centre, very active and several festivals throughout the year. A nice community feel to the town.

I can stroll down the road and like any town, get a bite to eat, take-away, DVD. There's an arts centre there, The Sirius - exhibitions and small concerts held regularly. The Heritage Centre and Museum for a bit more culture. There is also a library in Cobh. In the summer when the Cruise Ships come in the town is buzzing and when the sun shines, you could be in the Mediterranean. Even in the winter, there are always lots of people day and night walking along the waterfront. We're just down the road from Fota Wildlife Park but sometimes I just wander around the park and go into Fota House for Coffee/Cakes. Nice waterfront Hotels/Bars, you won't get that in the city or the various communter towns around Cork.

Yes, there are one or two what could be termed "bad estates" on the Island but every town/village in Ireland has good and bad sides. But as I said earlier, a lot of money is being invested in Cobh and more and more housing estates are going up. Yes, there are bits of the town that are falling down but go for a walk, you'll see a lot of planning notices where derelict properties will be turned around. It's a shame it was neglected for a long time - but I reckon in the next 3-5 years, you won't be able to get property there for love or money.

We have a very large Supervalu Store just outside of the town centre, great car parking and talks of either a Lidl or Aldi setting up in Cobh. We have the train run to Cork city and the inner harbour ferry service that is in the pipeline will begin at Cobh (when it does eventually happen).

Cobh isn't far from Midleton - where there are several shopping areas and a multiplex cinema. The beaches nearby are beautiful - I'm telling you "GO FOR IT".

I get really fed up reading constant negativity re. Cobh - but talk to the permanent residents vs. renters and you'll get a very different and positive view of the place.

Best of luck and hope you move there shortly. It's the kind of place where you can jump in your car and be in the city in 20 mins or just hide away and enjoy the harbour views and lazinig around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

I lived there for 15 years and enjoyed my youth there. It has a lot of amenities and is close to lots of others. The housing there is cheaper than surrounding areas and the people are friendly. As mentioned there is a large supermarket for your shopping. An hourly train if you want to go to cork city. It has a sailing club in east ferry. It has a tennis club. It has a rugby club which is well supported. It has a football club which is well supported. It has an 18 hole golf course. It is by the sea so you can take bracing walks along the deepwater key. It has lots of other stuff as well that I cant think of now.

However it does have some problems. The town itself has no nice restaurants. The commodore hotel is an awful kip and has been for years. That goes for the rooms, the restaurant and the nightclub. The town can be rough enough after 11 o'clock. This is not unsimilar to other towns of its size.

Cobh people can be somewhat insular. They have a lot on their doorstep so 'why would they need to go off the island'.

There are a lot of shops closing in the town centre and not re-opening. This gives the town a somewhat lacklustre air.

Schools in the town would not have a great rep. At primary level they would not be so bad but at secondary they would be mediocre.

The town itself is probably the worst part as it can be a bit rough at night. When you are from there you know what to avoid. There are houses at the back of the island which are in stunning locations away from the town.

So overall I would say its a nice place to live and give it 6 out of 10.

one day I was walking around Cobh and overheard tourists (complete with sunglasses and cameras) say "It's a knacker town". I agree with that statement. What does it say about the place if tourists are saying that?

Well, Nickster I have said similar about towns I've visited around the world. If a tourist arrived on a Sunday morning - the place is like a ghost town as a lot of the better shops are closed on Sundays which is disappointing - but then again - if they were there on a Sunday afternoon in the height of the summer season - then you wouldn't hear that phrase uttered.

The Watersedge Hotel has a lovely restaurant, as does The Quay where you can dine outside and the Lazy Bean Coffee Shop is a real asset, especially if you want a nice brunch. There is also Tradewinds restaurant, a Chinese and Indian Restaurant (sorry forgot their names). There are numerous other cafes around the town centre. Or you could drive around the island to The Marlogue Inn and sit outside and eat in the summer, infront of the Marina, or cosy up in the winter with a big roast dinner.

Every town/village in Ireland has its good and bad points - but to reiterate my earlier post - there is a lot of investment going into the town and the building work and restoration has already begun. As more people visit the town, more shops will remain open.

I walk there regularly late in the evening and only ever feel safe - as I pass lots of other single women going for their bit of exercise. And if you're looking for a top hotel - for goodness sake the Fota Sheraton, 5 Star hotel is just down the road. Not many 5 star hotels around the rest of the Cork suburbs.

I would disagree re. Cobh being very insular as my street alone has many nationalities and the "old locals" and the newer people all mix very well.

Check out the Cobh and Harbour Chamber of Commerce Website to get an idea of what's happening. www.cobhharbourchamber.ie Good Luck! J

I think the tourists were speaking in relation to the locals

Nikster wrote: »
    I think the tourists were speaking in relation to the locals

I think that statement was a bit below the belt - BOSS :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

My mother and myself went for a walk in Cobh last night after we dropped my sister to a friends house there and we happened to comment on what a dead place it was. My mothers friend works down there also says the same thing.
    Though in saying that we thought the road was greatly lit (as you go out from town towards the ferry say) and few other people walking for 8.30 at night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Heh, I used to be responsible for that.

I don't know about trouble in Cobh (well I have anecdotes, which are worth bugger all), but I've never seen such a high concentration of tracksuited chavs anywhere else.

PS, and OT, lovely sig F_M.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

Yeah, I'd have to agree Cobh is a bit knackery alright..and that's just me thinking of the girls who went to my secondary school (which has a fierce good rep in education!), so I fear what the ones who opted to stay in the secondary schools of Cobh are like!!:eek:

PS, and OT: Muchos Gracias Roundy!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭Cadyboo

I know the houses are probably cheaper in Cobh, but there is a reason, its a hole!!! The only people that get on well there, are people who grew up there. The people i know from Cobh r all lovely but they even say its rough!!!!

Cadyboo wrote: »
    I know the houses are probably cheaper in Cobh, but there is a reason, its a hole!!!

Ha Ha - the holy ground once more - fine girl ye are.:eek:

So all you folks out there who say Cobh is "rough" why not start telling us what area you're living in - I guarantee for every place mentioned, we'll be able to list an equally "rough/no go area" "boring/nothing to do in the evenings" and "locals are knackers" etc. Also, I'm quite curious as to the age of most of the posters? As some of the comments really are quite ............. ?!*

I didn't live in a rough area but the town itself was really rough. Don't put us down by going on about our ages. I'm older than what you think. You probably live in Rushbrooke since you think its ok.

To be honest Rushbrooke isn't that bad (even though I still wouldn't live there myself) and the areas outside the main town are fine. But the town is just really a ghetto.

No Nikster, I live in the town centre - an old terrace house - stunning views, wonderful neighbours of mixed ages/nationality and my friends who live in various areas of Cork City and County, friends from other parts of Ireland and in particular my friends from abroad, love visiting my home and wandering around Cobh town, sitting at the waterfront with a drink in the summer.

Again to the original poster, I would advise reading the Cobh and Harbour Chamber of Commerce Website.

To tell you the truth - I returned to Ireland 8 years ago - having lived abroad for 11 years - and I kept hearing the same negativity re. Ireland in general. It was one or two more positive friends who encouraged me and pointed out the better side of Ireland and I did make the right decision in returning.

That is why I am feeling defensive of Cobh, where I have set up my home. I feel people need to be encouraged - we all focus far too much on negativity.

Judes, I think we'll have to agree to differ on this one. I feel very strongly on my views on Cobh, with good reason. You also have good reason to have your views. So we both just have had very different experiences with the town

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭invincibleirish

Cobh is great but live in Rushbrooke, you can zoom in and out to Nimmo's and have your own train stop!, its fine during the day, but its night time & restaurant facilities need to match its tourist facilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

We bought in Cobh 2 years ago (Rushbrooke Links) and I have to say I regret it. Cobh is missing a lot of what I would consider essential services for example

good restaurants - I think Marloag is good for a nice plain meal but I've hated every other meal out on the island.

a comprehensive supermarket. I know we have supervalu but it is neither as well stocked, as good value or as convenient (from opening hours point of view) as say, Tesco in Midleton.

there is no safe way to walk from the train stations to Rushbrooke links. At some stage you've got to walk on the road with no verge.

I will not go into the town at night on my own to get a dvd or similar. Some of the nasty comments shouted at people are worse than I've every heard in any place I've lived, I've never seen a garda out keeping an eye on things.

I'll move as soon as I can afford to. I'm 35.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭invincibleirish

I've never seen a garda out keeping an eye on things.

not wishing to contradict you, but Cobh is the HQ for the Garda division, and, in my experience, is probably the best policed town i know! sorry you see it different!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

not wishing to contradict you, but Cobh is the HQ for the Garda division, and, in my experience, is probably the best policed town i know! sorry you see it different!

I do know that. I had to call in when I needed to change my vote down this side of the country. The problem (and it's only my opinion) is that the rough element that you see hanging around the few undesirable pubs, spills out onto the streets. A couple of gardai, highly visible might help?

When I lived in Cobh- if there was ever a fight that spilled from a pub/nightclub onto the streets, you would see the cops alright- sitting in their car until the worst of the trouble was over. I think they were afraid of the local scum too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackgold>>

Do you have any friends in cobh nick?

No I don't have any friends in Cobh. Used to, but not anymore

I've lived in cobh all my life and think it's a grand place.
    Thats my perception, maybe because I enjoy my life and my friends.
    who knows :)

I enjoy my life and my friends. I just don't enjoy being in Cobh. I think it can be a bit clannish. I remember when I was living/working in Cobh, a lot of the people I worked with were against me from day one, just cos I was from Midleton. They didn't even want to get to know me. It was just a case of- "she's from Midleton, we don't like her"

Probably around the time of when you see a black person walking down the road you'd talk about it for the day kinda time .

Come down to cobh and we will go on a date :D

Sorry but I swore to myself I would never set foot in Cobh EVER again. And I've stuck to it. Haven't been there in over 4 years now! :p

Dammit :eek:I always liked the girls from midleton and carrig :(

I'm going on a date tonight but if tht doesn't work out I'll let you know ;)

I hope it's not an interview date :)

Ah, Nikster, "never say never" who knows what the future will bring. Some of the new town houses that have gone up on the East side, look fantastic - top of the hill, spectacular views. And lots of "new faces" moving in to Cobh. One day you may win a Cruise - where embarkation point is Cobh........... we'll get you back even for a visit. J

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 fripouille

Hey Judes..I have been reading all the posts with interest, sure all towns have there downside.. we are moving to Cobh hopefully in July, we are presently living in France.. We lived in Dublin for 12 years and have been in France for just under 3 years..(c'ant wait to leave)..I had posted a topic on the Cobh forum ..but never got an answer..anyhow could you or someone else tell me what the Cobh community college is like ,my daughter will be going there hopefully.she has just turned 15 (hates France) also our house is in the process of being sold but it takes for ever here..so I will be renting for about 6 months to a year.. could you or anyone give me some info on good areas to rent? so why Cobh.. well because we visited it and liked it and we want to be beside the sea.. also hubby who is French hates Dublin.. all info gratefully appreciated.thanks:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭Richy06

fripouille wrote: »
    Hey Judes..I have been reading all the posts with interest, sure all towns have there downside.. we are moving to Cobh hopefully in July, we are presently living in France.. We lived in Dublin for 12 years and have been in France for just under 3 years..(c'ant wait to leave)..I had posted a topic on the Cobh forum ..but never got an answer..anyhow could you or someone else tell me what the Cobh community college is like ,my daughter will be going there hopefully.she has just turned 15 (hates France) also our house is in the process of being sold but it takes for ever here..so I will be renting for about 6 months to a year.. could you or anyone give me some info on good areas to rent? so why Cobh.. well because we visited it and liked it and we want to be beside the sea.. also hubby who is French hates Dublin.. all info gratefully appreciated.thanks:)
    CCC used to be a ****hole, well the more of 2 ****hole schools anyway. The other being Colaiste Muire. I think CCC(The Tech as it's known in Cobh) is after getting better in the last few years but I'd still recommend Colaiste Muire. Not as many scumbags. Although the town is crawling with them now. I personally have never had any trouble walking round the town at any hour, day or night. But I have lived there 21 years.

I would't know any areas to rent to be honest but go onto dat.ie (that property website) and you'll find places I'd say. Rushbrooke Links and the College Manor and places like that usually seem to have afew properties to rent.

Steer clear of Russell Heights, Bayview, Springfield Park( well this one isn't too bad).

As for my opinions on the place in general - I love it. It's home, I grew up there and when we're all back from college I tend to enjoy the place, others don't.
    There's too many houses going up around the place. The train service is fairly handy for commuting if you're working in the city, so much so that it'd make sense to not drive because the traffic can be a **** in the mornings....****in Jack Lynch tunnell!

Mahon Point shopping centre is a 20 minute drive away and it has an omniplex in there and plenty of shops if yer not up for the city.

Plenty of pubs in the place. THe Comm is a glorified ****hole full of the aforementioned scum, dressed up mind, getting pissed and "Startin'" on one another.

Supervalu's grand (got a very good newsagent section with a very nice lady that will order in any magazine you might fancy) and has lovely food and a decent bakery section but it's not the best stocked at times. There's also an Aldi and/or Lidl meant to be going in there soon.

There was meant to be a fantastic looking marina going in on East Beach but one of two thick **** aul ones stopped that. Anyone that knows the area around the camber knows that it's a place in need of redoing. Go out on a boat and you'll see the stark contrast between East and West Beach. I don't know the status of the Marina now. Must ask my friends aul fella bout it. He was the dude behind it.

Cobh IS very insular and can be difficult for a girl of yer daughters ago moving to the town to find new friends. There'll always be a nice bunch but then there's always the crowd that follows the scum, trying to be cool and "in". For christ sake, some little fat boy called Alan Busteed has started his own little crew and thinks he's in L ****in A!

I could go on all day but I won't.

Thanks for the info, sure there is nowhere these days were the are no scumbags, anyhow it could not be any worse than Dublin..and after all scumbags are just poor souls with no education.. its not there fault.. that they cannot behave in society..its a matter of live and let live..N'est pas..I wanted to know also if there are any amatuer Dramatic groups or musical societys, in Cobh or close by (for me) being a bit of a drama queen meself.. thanks:):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

Yes there are some drama groups there is one based in the Naval base as far as I remember. In my time Colaiste Muire would have been better than The Tech but I dont know now. There are plenty of places to rent the address to find them is www.daft.ie. All in all its quite nice but if you are looking to live by the sea its not great as there are no beaches which are clean and nice.

So sorry, haven't been on this section of Boards for a while. I don't have children - but have heard the same thing from friends re. Secondary schools i.e. send your daughter to Colaise Mhuire and NOT the Community College.

I think it's a lovely place to live - recently the place has been a hive of activity, as the Cruise Ships are berthing in Cobh. People have been moaning not enough restaurants, I love to sit at "The Quays" on the waterfront for a bite to eat. And a local auctioneer advised me two new restaurants will be opening this summer. We have a new "Belgium Chocolate Shop" which is fantastic. A lovely couple are running it, opened a few weeks back. So for all its faults - as pointed out - the place can be lovely. I think it's a very relaxed place to be, especially if you have a house with a view.

To reiterate previous posters re accommodation - look up the DAFT website - there is a new development at the top of the hill, east side of Cobh with loads of rental - and stunning views. (And a small Spar shop across the road from it). Or checkout websites for auctioneers as some do rentals i.e. English Auctioneers or Johanna Murphy.

There are a lot of nationalities living in Cobhm you won't feel homesick for long. And who would want to live in Dublin these days, a huge, sprawling, overpriced, city.

Any questions, feel free to ask, if I can help in any way. JUDES

There were complaints of a lack of supermarkets - well, right next door to the very large Supervalu, a new supermarket is being built - not sure if it will be Lidl/Aldi - or I've heard possibly both?!*

But even if you moved to Rushbrook, they have a nice Centra shop.

So basically all the complaints re. what the town is lacking - OK - a few bits and pieces but it's getting better. OK - so I've been an a chocolate high ever since the new shop opened.

But I would say you and your husband are making the right choice. I love to jump in my car, drive a few miles to Whitebay, park the car and walk down the coastal road to Roches Point Lighthouse, also Whitebay itself, a gorgeous beach for picnics/swimming.

Midleton is a few miles away - multiplex cinema, McDonalds (you mentioned a teenage daughter) and other restaurants/boutiques etc. I had a friend staying from the Netherlands 2 weeks ago, she loved Cobh.

Forgot to say above - there are a few small stony beaches i.e. around the Cuskinny area, I think it's lovely to walk along there. Also, the lower road around Whitepoint, where the path ends, you can continue along the shore there. Not so much beach but a nice inner harbour walk. And Marlogue Woods are lovely, followed by a quick bite to eat or a pint at the Marlogue Inn, where you can sit outside in the summer, watching the yachts sailing in. And you only have Fota down the road, to stroll around the grounds, have a coffee in Fota House, or go to the Wildlife Park. And the Sheraton Five Star Hotel next to it. What more do the posters want, who keep pointing out the negatives. Judes

Hi Judes and thanks for the all the info.. it helpls me to know that we are doing the right thing.. and we are looking forward to it I will check out the other school.. once again thanks.:):):) and thanks to kmick too.;)

Let us know when you get to Cobh, we can meet up! Best of luck with the move. I'm feeling excited for you! (And this is a great time to buy). J X

Thanks Judes I will do see you soon
    xx:):):)

Hi Judes, well back on board the house has at last sold, we will be in Cobh from the 23rd of August, I look forward to meeting up with you, can you send me your phone no. please and I will get in touch once we are settled.
    thanks and see you soon.:):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭tictac2580

BIG BIG MISTAKE!!!...THE TOWN IS A COMPLETE AND UTTER ****HOLE...THE PLACE AND THE PEOPLE THERE ARE A PROBLEM!!...NOTHING THERE..NOTHING TO DO..SCUMBAGS HANGING AROUND ALL OVER THE PLACE WALKING AROUND IN GANGS..FIGHTS EVERY WEEKEND...CANNOT STRESS HOW BAD THE PLACE IS!!...PITY THEY COULDN'T JUST GET RID OF THE BRIDGE...AND KEEP THE PLACE AS AN ACTUAL "ISLAND"!! :rolleyes:

Ah well too late the deed is done I will just have to bite the bullet anyhow if its that bad I can always leave
    thanks anyway for your imput:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

tictac2580 wrote: »
    BIG BIG MISTAKE!!!...THE TOWN IS A COMPLETE AND UTTER ****HOLE...THE PLACE AND THE PEOPLE THERE ARE A PROBLEM!!...NOTHING THERE..NOTHING TO DO..SCUMBAGS HANGING AROUND ALL OVER THE PLACE WALKING AROUND IN GANGS..FIGHTS EVERY WEEKEND...CANNOT STRESS HOW BAD THE PLACE IS!!...PITY THEY COULDN'T JUST GET RID OF THE BRIDGE...AND KEEP THE PLACE AS AN ACTUAL "ISLAND"!! :rolleyes:

When someone has already committed to selling their family home and moving Country to start a new chapter in their lives you should wish them luck.

- In my opinion you're a Scumbag yourself, ya small-minded CaPS-loCk challenged fool.

Fripouille - congratulations & best of luck to you and your family, its clear that with your cop-on and positive attitude you're all set to flourish - pay no heed to those that wallow stupidly beneath you ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭Richy06

It's a bit of a ****hole, but yer grand if you don't live in any of the ****hole terraces like Russell Heights,Bayview etc etc....The town is dotted with little pretend hardmen but plenty of grand people too. Just make sure yer kid doesn't fall in with a bunch of scumbags and become one too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 keithf7975

Good luck to the couple moving to Cobh, I part owned a business there and my wife was born and raised there. I have all my in-laws currently living there, but not on my life would i move to it. Insular and clannish have been used previously to describe the people. I think that is fair but equally applicable to cork, and most irish places in general outside of dublin. I lived abroad for 8 years so I wish you guys a lot of luck moving. I would say there is merit in the argument that the town is rough. From a retail business point of view "it was". However, there are generally lovely people from cobh and very friendly. As I said I wouldnt move there, as I believe other writers have rightly concluded a complete lack of essential services for a town of over 15000 people. And to charge 3.50 a trip on the ferry out of it tells you all you need to know really. There is a serious economic defecit in the town and with miliport, pfeizer, and other little island employers coming into hard times, cobh may well suffer very severely compared to a better alternative, middleton. All above is only my opinion and i still love to go back to cobh for weekends with my 5 month old son to see his extended family.

Hi thanks for all the info, well we have arrived we moved to cobh on the 23rd of September and so far so good:):):):) my daughter likes the school, I like the area and i find Cobh charming.. delighted we came and it is so close to cork etc, for shopping, so all in all :D:D:D I am a happy camper..once again thanks to all and maybe meet up sometime with ye all.:D:D

Sorry folks confused myself I meant 23rd of August, just a wee bit tired after all the logistics.. Thanks:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 ShirleyH

Welcome to Cobh! We have been living here for the last 5 years, we are both originally from the city, one northside, one southside, so we needed neutral ground.:rolleyes:

We are in Rushbrooke, close to the ferry, and we love it here. Having said that, we don't go "downtown" very often. We have seen the rough element, but I think there is an element of that everywhere.

My neighbours are fantastic, they are great company and I would be lost without them. They are all locals, and I do notice the element of clannish-ness, I think that is only to be expected in a small town.

I love the no traffic element, the fact that the city/ Mahon Point/ Midelton are all only 20 mins away, and the train is closeby for getting to the city at the weekends.