Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

fúcking guards

• 18-03-2008 2:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭

just wanted to know what kind of power the guards have in a situation like this....
    myself and 2 friends were going to walk through stephens green park yesterday, and it being paddys day there were guards everywhere.

we got stopped at the gat and i was asked if the bottle of boost in my pocket had any alcohol in it. i handed to him and said nah theres none in it, which there wasn't.

he smelled it and said ok go on so.just as we started to walk in another came over and said hey you can't bring that in and grabbed it off me.i just said hes just checked it, theres no alcohol in it and the first said yeah hes grand.
    the second guard just said ah well i'm taking it anyway, and went off and threw it in the bin.

what i want to know is do they have the power to do something like this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

brow_601 wrote: »
    just wanted to know what kind of power the guards have in a situation like this....
    myself and 2 friends were going to walk through stephens green park yesterday, and it being paddys day there were guards everywhere.

we got stopped at the gat and i was asked if the bottle of boost in my pocket had any alcohol in it. i handed to him and said nah theres none in it, which there wasn't.

he smelled it and said ok go on so.just as we started to walk in another came over and said hey you can't bring that in and grabbed it off me.i just said hes just checked it, theres no alcohol in it and the first said yeah hes grand.
    the second guard just said ah well i'm taking it anyway, and went off and threw it in the bin.

They did, so they obviously do.

When they are policing public events and they believe something may cause an offence or a breach of the peace, they can do pretty much what they like.

You could always complain, but you are probaly one of 1000 people that happened so the queue for complaints may be a long one.

I honestly thought this was going to be about having sex with the gardaí.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Okay, so you met one sound Gardai and one not so sound Gardai.

Nice thread title. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

get your solicitor involved, sue for €1.20 compensation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭jameshayes

Myth wrote: »
    I honestly thought this was going to be about having sex with the gardaí.

+1 :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I believe they call it good cop, bad cop. Did you sing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,032 ✭✭✭She Devil

Aww you poor thing .. im sure the state will fund you the €1 your boost cost! The thing is vodka doesnt smell so i'd say the guard acted on better safe than sorry terms. The poor guard was probably harrassed by hundreds of lads who were all at the same thing, his job was to ensure no drinking went on, and i could bet my life on it that you werent that innocent!!! you with your halo :D
    Imagine if i titled a post ****ing youngsters! The uproar would be mighty!

They do have the power ... its their job, half the problem with the country is they can't respect it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭Pheonix Ski

Sounds to me like he knew he could throw it away even tho there was nothing in it,bet if you had of made a bit of a fuss about him throwing away your drink he might not have,....

If it was me,I would of asked for the 2 euro or however much it cost back of him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Make a complaint to the Ombudsman, not matter how trivial you might all think this is this sort of power abuse should be stamped out.

OP, did you get the Garda's number ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭brow_601

it actually cost 1.44

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

Retrieve from said bin - sniff

No point wasting fictional alco - glup

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,809 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

The OP is just so like totally right man. All cops are pigs.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,614 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

So, what was in the bottle? If it was empty whats the big deal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭DubArk

Those same f***ing guards probably were up to their eye balls and by calling them names just shows how much respect that you really hold for them! Get over it!!
    Go live in china and see how you’d of been treated!

KTRIC wrote: »
    Make a complaint to the Ombudsman, not matter how trivial you might all think this is this sort of power abuse should be stamped out.

OP, did you get the Garda's number ?

nope, i suppose its not really a big deal, just pissed me off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

They are trying to do a very hard job give them a ****ing break and stop moaning about your €1.44 bottle of boost that wasn't even full. What do you want them to do conduct a scentific test for the presence of alcohol in every drink that goes through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

DubArk wrote: »
    Those same f***ing guards probably were up to their eye balls and by calling them names just shows how much respect that you really hold for them! Get over it!!
    Go live in china and see how you’d off been treated!

was thinking the same thing, sort of.

It's just a bottle of boost :confused:

They are trying to do a very hard job give them a ****ing break and stop moaning about your €1.44 bottle of boost that wasn't even full. What do you want them to do conduct a scentific test for the presence of alcohol in every drink that goes through.

yes, yes i do

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Myself and me mates were minding our own business in Finglas yesterday and the feckers started wrecking our buzz.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,809 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Actually wait a second... I'M a cop! Guess that makes me a pig AND stupid too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭SUNGOD

you got the guards to put your rubbish in the bin for you!
    whats the problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭Raspberry

This was police brutality tbh. We should get rid of the Gardaí.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,814 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

Technical this is illegal, but you did give up some of your right when you handed the bottle to him/her and give promising for him/her to check it.
    There was a case a few years ago involving garda that during a “raid/check” on a pub for under aged drinkers, he told a glass off a person and smelt it and as far as he was concern it was alcohol and after check the persons ID found s/he was under aged. But then the case went to court the judge though the case out because he ask if the garda has first gotten authorisation from the person to handle the drink and also if he taste it or ran any tests on it which he didn’t, so the case was thrown out.
    This is the same if they as to look in your bag {also goes for bouncers without saying}, you do not have to give them access to it but if you do refuse they can arrest you and then search for only once for have be cautioned/formal charged.

In saying that if you did refuse you would probably be searched anyway and if needed be charge with one of a thousand possible minor charges

kbannon wrote: »
    Myself and me mates were minding our own business in Finglas yesterday and the feckers started wrecking our buzz.

Are you sure it wasn’t the Buz you were setting fire to at the time!! LOL :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

Raspberry wrote: »
    This was police brutality tbh. We should get rid of the Gardaí.

BOFH_139 wrote: »
    Technical this is illegal, but you did give up some of your right when you handed the bottle to him/her and give promising for him/her to check it.
    There was a case a few years ago involving garda that during a “raid/check” on a pub for under aged drinkers, he told a glass off a person and smelt it and as far as he was concern it was alcohol and after check the persons ID found s/he was under aged. But then the case went to court the judge though the case out because he ask if the garda has first gotten authorisation from the person to handle the drink and also if he taste it or ran any tests on it which he didn’t, so the case was thrown out.
    This is the same if they as to look in your bag {also goes for bouncers without saying}, you do not have to give them access to it but if you do refuse they can arrest you and then search for only once for have be cautioned/formal charged.

In saying that if you did refuse you would probably be searched anyway and if needed be charge with one of a thousand possible minor charges

thanks for that, i'll keep that in mind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

brow_601 wrote: »

Next time take a big doorty shít into a bottle and let them "check" it for alcomohol !

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Are you sure it wasn’t the Buz you were setting fire to at the time!! LOL :D
    Naw man, we were just sittin there drinking orange and de pigs came at us and said that the crashed and burned cars and vans dere were cos of us and dey didnt beleeve us when we says that dey were dere for ages for like weeks man.
    Den the pigs started comin after us with batons and me mate was battered for nuttin. All de pigs were brutalisin us for nuttin. Dey were lucky dey didnt get me on a good day cos Id have burst dem. Me odder mate was gonna go home an get his shooter but he was hancufed for nuttin like.
    Den to make me day worser, me tash got burnt offa one of de burnin vans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Was the bottle made of glass? Maybe you were dressed like a scumbag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Boost? Is that the green fizzy stuff?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

You got one sound copper and one that was on a power trip, didn't really loose much let it go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Club orange drinks should be confiscated on sight. They just taste like sugared water and I can make that for free!

Boost sounds a bit dodgy btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

Boost is a cheap alternative to redbull. Sold in all ****ty corner shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,977 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Piece of advice, always get a Gardai badge number before you answer any question to him/her. It's within your legal rights and if they refuse you should refuse to cooperate.;)

A better piece of advice cop on to your self!! It was a bottle of pop!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

gardai are professional pricks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn!

If a large amount of twats didn't cause trouble on paddies day.

-I saw 12 year olds drinking across from the guarda station in Lucan village.
    -200m later was 4 lads beating the heads off each other.
    -Tesco had its toilets ripped out also Lucan (put me under pressure)
    -Some kid got sick at 11o'clock in the morning on o'connel street
    -Large groups of under aged individuals drinking in public in many places
    -A few others passed out
    -Vandalism of one bus stop near lucan by more drunk kids
    -Ogh and some drunk cock deliberately jumped in front of my car

To be honest iv never been more ashamed to be Irish.
    Id ask where the parents where but i can take a good guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

To the posters saying "It was just a €1 fizzy drink": I think you're missing the point here a bit. It shouldn't matter whether it was €1 or €100, the issue here is the "Ah well, I'm taking it anyway" attitude, which I think the OP can reasonably be annoyed about. A minor abuse of power is an abuse of power nonetheless.

The title of the thread is a bit harsh, though, which might explain the negative reactions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

It was a bottle of pop!!

Pop? OMG. I've been timewarped back to 1956! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭joeybloggs

She introduced herself as student officer O'Brien, Sarah O'Brien from Portuma, Galway.
    Let me tell ya's.Powerful legs that could crush nuts,the brazilian kind that is. And a fine pair two with probably the best backup she'll ever get from the force!
    Did a bit of ground work for about an hour, fed her some JD's, danced her a bit of JT and then it came to the taxi.......... Wait, what? Its not about........

*Runs out the door.*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Raspberry wrote: »
    We should get rid of the Gardaí.

Yeah, we'd all have such meaningful and wonderful free lives without the police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

gardai are professional pricks

A well-thought out and insightful comment, well backed up with lots of documented evidence. I can see you're a sharp one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

joeybloggs wrote: »
    She introduced herself as student officer O'Brien, Sarah O'Brien from Portuma, Galway.

Shouldn't she have been in Croker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

It doesn't matter if it was only a cheap bottle of boost or an expensive bottle of Bling H20. The fact is that they took it off him when he wasn't breaking any laws. It's an abuse of power no matter how trivial it is.

I always speak in Irish if a guard stops me. One time i was stopped walking with a can from my house to a friends and 2 guards pulled up beside me. I spoke in Irish and i overheard one of them say to the other to just leave it because it's too much hassle going through the court proceedings in a foreign language. I didn't know whether to be relieved or offended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

I always speak in Irish if a guard stops me. One time i was stopped walking with a can from my house to a friends and 2 guards pulled up beside me. I spoke in Irish and i overheard one of them say to the other to just leave it because it's too much hassle going through the court proceedings in a foreign language. I didn't know whether to be relieved or offended.

Did they at least make you lose the can?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭pontovic

When you are bringing a bottle of liquid into an event the police can classify it as a missile. Throw it at someone and see the damage it can do. Ever see vendors at concerts selling bottles of water or coke and keeping the lids. Try throwing a bottle without a lid on it and see how far it goes then and see how much damage it can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

It doesn't matter if it was only a cheap bottle of boost or an expensive bottle of Bling H20. The fact is that they took it off him when he wasn't breaking any laws. It's an abuse of power no matter how trivial it is.

Lol

Garda: Is that alcohol that you are consuming in a public area?
    You: Ní thuigim Béarla.
    Garda: Fecking Polish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭therewillbe

police state or what ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

If a large amount of twats didn't cause trouble on paddies day.

-I saw 12 year olds drinking across from the guarda station in Lucan village.
    -200m later was 4 lads beating the heads off each other.
    -Tesco had its toilets ripped out also Lucan (put me under pressure)
    -Some kid got sick at 11o'clock in the morning on o'connel street
    -Large groups of under aged individuals drinking in public in many places
    -A few others passed out
    -Vandalism of one bus stop near lucan by more drunk kids
    -Ogh and some drunk cock deliberately jumped in front of my car

To be honest iv never been more ashamed to be Irish.
    Id ask where the parents where but i can take a good guess.

the guards don't have the ability to treat different people differently, to compartmentalise their hatred for people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

police state or what ?
    Or what.