Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

worst ever holiday destination

• 15-03-2008 11:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

whats yours ??????looking for ideas of where notto go this year !had a nightmare last year in salou just thought it was an awful place,it was dirty smelly and i didnt feel safe at all!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,365 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

I saw the thread title and was going to post about the only real kip I'd ever stayed in, but it seems that you beat me to it. :D We only went to Salou because it was cheap and we needed to get the budget back in order after overspending quite a bit travelling around Catalunya and southern France. Thankfully we were out of the place after 3 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭bucks73

Yeah Salou is pretty bad alright. If you have to go there stay out in Cap Salou or La Pineda.

Its years since Ive been on one the package hols so would go for Ipsos in Corfu as my dump although it wasnt all that bad. Accomodation was crap though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

play de las americas in tenerife - just nothing enjoyable about it at all, terrible hotel that used any excuse to take our room deposits off us, terrble nightlife with limited bars, rough areas as well, just not a good spot to go for a bit of craic at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

Magaluf, Majorca.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

My vote goes to Tunisia.
    Its pretty smelly also

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Lanzortie ,felt liike we had arrived on the moon after arrival so barren was the landscape, boring hotel and smelly pool area although the volcano day trip was pretty cool .Only for sneaking into a nearby 5 star hotel to watch the entertainment would have being much worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

jimbo78 wrote: »
    My vote goes to Tunisia.
    Its pretty smelly also

Me too, total kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭keefg

Spain.......all of it.

Went once, hated it, vows never to return.

Los Angeles a very close second.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,365 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

keefg wrote: »
    Spain.......all of it.

Went once, hated it, vows never to return.

Los Angeles a very close second.

That's a bit harsh, Spain is a great country although there are some admittedly crappy tourist resorts (see above). Where did you go to?

I'd agree with you on LA, not an awful lot to recommend it. It's sprawling, dirty and ugly, but fortunately there are some nice places not too far from it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,345 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Los Angeles here too - wouldn't go back if I was paid to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

I wouldnt rush back to New York.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭daiixi

Riga: small, dull and just generally blah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭Milktrolley

Naples. Spent 90 minutes there waiting for a train, dear god i couldn't wait to leave. Read a blurb about the city afterwards which mentioned how you'd become as staunch a defender of the city as the locals themselves - they've a lot to things to try and 'defend' really. Litter everywhere, and didn't feel safe at all even though it was the afternoon. Granted, I was there for the second half of a match which saw Napoli promoted to Serie A, but even so...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Tha Gopher wrote: »

I said that too, and I'm returning in two weeks :o

Its filthy (Manhattan), noisey and by far the rudest people I've ever come accross in my life.. But I'm still drawn back to the kip!.

For me, I didn't like Amsterdam one bit. I had a week paid for and checked out/flew home after just three nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭stereo_steve

Casablanca, I shudder thinking about it. I suspect its quite similar to what some of you experienced in Tunisia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,402 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Praia de rocha in the Algarve. We only went as there was a large group of us and it was the only place that we could get accomodation together. Little to do in the resort and the complex was awful.

I enjoyed salou when I went, but thats opinions for you.

I'm normally not a resort holiday kind of guy (in fact the two above are the only two I've been to in the last 6/7 years). In terms of cities I found Madrid dirty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

draffodx wrote: »
    play de las americas in tenerife - just nothing enjoyable about it at all, terrible hotel that used any excuse to take our room deposits off us, terrble nightlife with limited bars, rough areas as well, just not a good spot to go for a bit of craic at all

+1 although salou comes a very close second

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,395 ✭✭✭AntiVirus

The Hilton in the Bahamas

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,823 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

AntiVirus wrote: »
    The Hilton in the Bahamas

Ahh ya poor creature! :rolleyes:

For me it was Kusadasi, Turkey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

Mairt wrote: »

Its filthy (Manhattan), noisey and by far the rudest people I've ever come accross in my life.. But I'm still drawn back to the kip!.

For me, I didn't like Amsterdam one bit. I had a week paid for and checked out/flew home after just three nights.

How could you call it a kip? Definatly my favourite destination. The people can be pigs tho'

Can I tag along plz???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

Playa del Ingles. Without a doubt the longest, most painful week of my life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

jimbo78 wrote: »
    How could you call it a kip? Definatly my favourite destination. The people can be pigs tho'

Can I tag along plz???

This is 10 years ago now but alot of them are tossers, wont stop for a minute to give you directions. The subways were a nightmare, the maps were hard to get the jist of and most stations didnt even have staff (and those that did didnt speak teh Inglesias).

10 years on and most American women I have met in Ireland are dry arsed geebags (though they are nearly all Irish Americans, if that makes a difference), so I have a certain amount of doubt about my mate who claims to have got his rocks there on a weekly basis (though he is one of these who loves anything American, can go along with their bull and hates this country. And Irish people like that annoy me even more than yanks)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

Dyflin wrote: »
    Ahh ya poor creature! :rolleyes:

For me it was Kusadasi, Turkey.

I really liked it there. I went back for a second time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭jjbrien

Tha Gopher wrote: »

I would not agree with you there. I adore New York. But as other posters say LA must have been the worst place i have ever been to. It was the first place i went ot in the USA it took 2 years of my cousin and friends baggering me to go back to the US. I finally did and went to San Francisco and New York now i love the place.

Isle of Man would be another terrible destination we went there last summer for a weekend the night life is terrible there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭BJJDUB

New York is very much a personal taste destination. You either like it or loath it. Thing is, you need to experience New York for yourself to decide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Charcoal

Athens, Filthy!!

Mairt wrote: »

Perhaps you lack charm. NYers won't waste a second cutting you to the scut, if you give them the slightest cause.
    But otherwise they are incredibly friendly, polite and helpful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

I love NY personally - when you go there you have to be ready for the cccccccold winter and the ccccccold people too!

Ayanapa, Cyprus............the longest FORTNIGHT of my holidaying life........Deadfull kip........fooking hated it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,402 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Moonbaby wrote: »
    But otherwise they are incredibly friendly, polite and helpful.

Agree with that 100%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭xanthe

Rome
    people were friendly and polite but the graffitti was terrible and the smell in the subway I will never forget.. yuck. Dirty place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭CSU

+1 for Salou being the worst, tis a ****hole.

I had to wade home in four foot of stagnant pooey water as the storm drains flooded(if there even where storm drains):mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

bodrum/gumbet. Complete holes. Lasted two days and got the ferry to kos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I'm not one for package holidays so thankfully my knowledge of resorts is pretty limited. The worst place I've been is probably Eindhoven in the Netherlands, purely because there is absolutely nothing there. Nothing opens Sundays or Monday mornings, which is fine if you live there but as a visitor I could do little else other than sit in the hotel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Never ever take an end of season holiday with Budget or any other travel agency. A few years ago myself, the ex and a few mates took the last booking of the year to Corfu offered at about 30% discount over the peak period. Not alone were all the night clubs within 10miles of the resort closed it P***ed Rain for most of the week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,972 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

xanthe wrote: »
    Rome
    people were friendly and polite but the graffitti was terrible and the smell in the subway I will never forget.. yuck. Dirty place

Jays I loved Rome. Beautiful architecture and stunning scenery. The people are nice, if quite pervy, the food is fantastic and the weather lovely. Couldn't really see much to dislike tbh. And what subway doesn't smell anyway? If that was your big problem then it can't have been that bad.

For me it has to be Antwerp in Belgium. Went there for a football tournament and the place is a ghost town 24/7. Absolutely nothing to do there. Actually I'm just gonna say the whole of Belgium as I went to Brussels as well on a seperate occassion and it was just as boring. The only saving grace Belgium has is its beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,596 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Another vote for Napoli. Filthy city, rude people and a very unpleasant, dangerous atmosphere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭mathias

Playa de inglas , gran canaria , what a low life insect infested dump , and its full of cockroaches too , closely followed by Crete , I wouldnt go back unless I was in a Bomber !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,972 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I always remember my parents telling me that Pwllheli in Wales was the biggest knacker hole when they were growing up. Consequently we never stayed there when we hit Wales. Anyone been there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭kelzer

Luxor in Egypt. The place was a nightmare. Dirty, smelly, run-down and didn't feel safe outside of the tourist strip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭kcb

I'd tend to agree with the Crete opinion. Hersonnosis is an awful place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

Rimini in Italy is a proper sh*t hole. It is like a giant version of Bray but with more sun & thousands of very annoying Italian holiday makers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Beanmachine

Looking back now Athens was an absaloute kip. Had to stay there for a night before i went island hopping around greece didnt really mind at the time as it was just a piss up holiday.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,920 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Nightwish wrote: »
    I'm not one for package holidays so thankfully my knowledge of resorts is pretty limited. The worst place I've been is probably Eindhoven in the Netherlands, purely because there is absolutely nothing there. Nothing opens Sundays or Monday mornings, which is fine if you live there but as a visitor I could do little else other than sit in the hotel.

Damn, beat me to it. I lived there for four years and use to dread people coming to visit.

"So what'll we do?"
    "Ehm... get the train to Germany?"

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,920 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Xavi6 wrote: »
    I always remember my parents telling me that Pwllheli in Wales was the biggest knacker hole when they were growing up. Consequently we never stayed there when we hit Wales. Anyone been there?

Went there on holidays about two months ago. Scenery was beautiful, the Prisoner village nearby was smashing and I can't say I noticed a high concentration of scum. Don't reckon I'd live there but.

Incidentally, we used to go to Antwerp a lot to get away from Eindhoven, it was Venice by comparison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭Morbid.Angel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭lester76

omg just back today what a kip cost 550 for a wk in the greenpark 2* excuse for a hotel haha. meself & 5 mates headed off for the wk the weather was crap food crap the nite life crap the reps pulling u in to the pubs ,clubs etc god there so annoying. we headed to puerto rico 2 nites & the place was buzzing food great beach great. weather seemed so much better & it was only 15mins in a jo-maxi 20 quid. id go there no prob but as for playa sweet jasus never again:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭giveth

Playa del ingles is a hole alright.

We took a quick walk around the night we got there. The first thing I saw was a woman wearing really tight shorts who had shat herself and there was diarrhea running down her legs. That pretty much summed up the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Jays I loved Rome. Beautiful architecture and stunning scenery. The people are nice, if quite pervy, the food is fantastic and the weather lovely. Couldn't really see much to dislike tbh. And what subway doesn't smell anyway? If that was your big problem then it can't have been that bad.

For me it has to be Antwerp in Belgium. Went there for a football tournament and the place is a ghost town 24/7. Absolutely nothing to do there. Actually I'm just gonna say the whole of Belgium as I went to Brussels as well on a seperate occassion and it was just as boring. The only saving grace Belgium has is its beer.

Worked on a 3 month contract in Belgium - Gent, nice little city, but boring(all of Belgium), Gent is a student town but most of em head home for the weekend, weeknights are kicking though, luckily for me i had 2 student chicks on a roster to keep me occupied;) at weekends the place was dead, Antwerp has a few good spots at the weekend if you know where to go, i usually went to Amsterdam for the weekends though!

As for Eindhoven- Amsterdam is only about 40 mins on the train!
    Worst place ever -Australia, had a great time en all, but theres far too many Australians, most of the places other than the big/biggish cities are dead and boring, far too touristy, far toom many backpackers, far too many of which are my fellow countrymen, far too many Cork people, blah, dont believe the hype!
    Best place ever - Thailand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Wheelhaus

Jesus, Croatia is the biggest hole ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

kcb wrote: »
    I'd tend to agree with the Crete opinion. Hersonnosis is an awful place.

Spot on. Out of it I never thought I'd get. Kip.