Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are we(the irish) so dirty

• 15-03-2008 12:44AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭

I had guests in my home for the last month from america and they were telling their one complaint about ireland is the dirt of it, and you know what they are right... I went to the FAS oppertunities show in croke park recently and i found myself wading through papers and leaflets people had left after their ar$e.

I saw two kids today fcuk chip bags on the ground when they were finished. The comment has made me alot more concious of something I do automatically ie Find a Bin, but its amazing when you are aware of it and watch people, who expect people to clean up after them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

thats a sweeping statement!

We are a bunch of over mammied peasants.
    It makes me cringe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Yes.
    We are a shower of dirty, wasteful nobs.
    We are dirtbags and yes I have witnessed it first hand...how many of 'us' could admit we contribute to the flow of constant **** streamed live every day

It's awful

(though Americans can fcuk right off in relation to absolutely everything ever said/done/implemented...nobs)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Tinytony

Stop talking rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

gambiaman wrote: »
    Yes.
    We are a shower of dirty, wasteful nobs.
    We are dirtbags and yes I have witnessed it first hand...how many of 'us' could admit we contribute to the flow of constant **** streamed live every day

It's awful

(though Americans can fcuk right off in relation to absolutely everything ever said/done/implemented...nobs)

I spend quite a bit of time in America, my wife is American, and whatever the Irish can say about them(Not getting it, plenty of other threads related to it, on which I defend them) they are alot cleaner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭iFight

I don't know about Irish society as a whole, but Yore Ma certainly is dirty

iFight wrote: »

Isnt it past your bedtime?

dbnavan wrote: »
    I spend quite a bit of time in America, my wife is American, and whatever the Irish can say about them(Not getting it, plenty of other threads related to it, on which I defend them) they are alot cleaner.

But does compensate for being THICK about most global matters?

(mmmm, a bit manky versus total dipsticks-which-affects-everybody-on-the-planet-ever)

I know which I'd prefer (hello manky, skanger!)

I'm being facetious now but you get my smelly drift.

Order. House. In. Your. Get.

Then worry about a gum wrapper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 686 ✭✭✭bangersandmash

flanum wrote: »
    thats a sweeping statement!

groan.....

did you mean that?

Isnt it past your bedtime?

I'd say the childs account was hacked tbh.

groan.....

did you mean that?

well now in all fairness....

gambiaman wrote: »
    But does compensate for being THICK about most global matters?

FCuk me your right......

First man on the moon was from cork,
    Microsoft is owned by a dub,
    You have to wait years for a hospital bed in the States as opposed to months in Ireland.....

need I go on.....

Please dont loose the topic..

anyway its back to the old "how you were raised"!

i dont drop litter, never did. me parents always told me to put it in a bin.

scumbags drop litter!

FCuk me your right......

First man on the moon was from cork,
    Microsoft is owned by a dub,
    You have to wait years for a hospital bed in the States as opposed to months in Ireland.....

need I go on.....

Please dont loose the topic..

Oh. I didn't realise we were discussing the sanitary habits of Whoever/If Ever the man on the Moon was/Bill Gates and the fantastical CreditCard Ambulance Service of the USA.

Yes, please don't lose it.

anyway its back to the old "how you were raised"!

i dont drop litter, never did. me parents always told me to put it in a bin.

scumbags drop litter!

Correct.
    Maybe our streets are smaller or something and it's more noticeable or the alternative is we (as a NATION) are literally, dirtbags.

I think we may be dirtbags. Overall.

(At least we aren't Amer...oops)

at least we dont feckin dump our rubbish in outer space/on the moon!

or even create an island solely made of rubbish!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The guy

You really blew the lid off of that story.

The guy wrote: »
    You really blew the lid off of that story.

sh*t, whos gonna clean up the mess?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The guy

sh*t, whos gonna clean up the mess?

The sh*t really hit the fan there.

It amazing....if I hadnt mentioned that the comment came from Americans we might have had some sort of disscussion but as is evident from every other thread on boards as soon as Americans or The US are mention people loose the fcukin plot. And the actual topic of the thread is lost. Its like school children resorting to "Yore ma", in a argument because they cant come up with an intellegent retort quick enough.
    Dont know why I bother with it sometimes. As someone who was brought up living in Ireland, Moved to America, moved back again, married an american. I can see both sides of the agruement, and as soon as I can afford it, I will have no hesitation of moving to the states, as after seeing both sides of the agruement and living in both societies I know which I would prefer to raise my kids in.

Most people in Ireland who slag off americans have never been there and judge it by what the media portray which is not always the representive of the average american.

as soon as I can afford it, I will have no hesitation of moving to the states

Why wait? surely you can get a loan and repay it back from the glorious land of milk and honey.

go tomorrow, if i hated somewhere so much, i wouldnt stay one minute longer!!

fcuk off to america!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Tinytony

It amazing....if I hadnt mentioned that the comment came from Americans we might have had some sort of disscussion but as is evident from every other thread on boards as soon as Americans or The US are mention people loose the fcukin plot. And the actual topic of the thread is lost. Its like school children resorting to "Yore ma", in a argument because they cant come up with an intellegent retort quick enough.
    Dont know why I bother with it sometimes. As someone who was brought up living in Ireland, Moved to America, moved back again, married an american. I can see both sides of the agruement, and as soon as I can afford it, I will have no hesitation of moving to the states, as after seeing both sides of the agruement and living in both societies I know which I would prefer to raise my kids in.

Most people in Ireland who slag off americans have never been there and judge it by what the media portray which is not always the representive of the average american.

Are you gone yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,141 ✭✭✭✭Stark

They started it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

It amazing....if I hadnt mentioned that the comment came from Americans we might have had some sort of disscussion but as is evident from every other thread on boards as soon as Americans or The US are mention people loose the fcukin plot.

Yep, if there's one thing Irish people hate more than themselves, it's Americans. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Littering creates employment... I'm pleased to see everyone is doing their bit.
    It's much faster than finding a bin too.
    Once I'm finished eating a bag of chips, sure what would I want the empty bag for? I let the wind whisk it away to start a new life somewhere else.
    Ah the circle of life.
    </troll>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Dashticle

Attn dbnavan: You should probably stop taking posts in AH so seriously or you will have a stroke or something.

Yes Ireland is pretty littered but on the whole I think things have improved over the last few years, still you notice a huge difference when you go abroad.

he probably wont read that last reply, hes probably on a planr right now to get away from the country he so obviously hates in order to get tp the country he so obviously loves! i know i would be if i was in his shoes! (if i didnt dirty them with my stinking irish feet first)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

flanum, stop trolling.

dbnavan, two words: Kyoto protocol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

The guy wrote: »
    The sh*t really hit the fan there.

Stop talking rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

being opressed by those damn English caused it, like it caused every bad thing in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,073 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Having been to Poland many time at this stage and Belgium on one or two occasions I agree with the OP that Ireland and in particular dublin is incredibly dirty. Many times I've witnessed people come out of a shop and throw the package/wrapper from something they've just bought on the ground, despite there being several bins in the general area.

I can't understand why people litter. It's disgusting and unhealthy. Just hold onto it until you find a bin, which generally never takes long.

eo980 wrote: »
    Having been to Poland many time at this stage and Belgium on one or two occasions I agree with the OP that Ireland and in particular dublin is incredibly dirty. Many times I've witnessed people come out of a shop and throw the package/wrapper from something they've just bought on the ground, despite there being several bins in the general area.

I can't understand why people litter. It's disgusting and unhealthy. Just hold onto it until you find a bin, which generally never takes long.

31 posts later....someone with a bit of cop on... Glad I amnt on my own here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

You see it if you're in a fast food place like MacDonalds.

0ver 90% of the people, and they're not just scangers, just get up and walk out when they're finished leaving their mess on the table.

If you go anywhere else in Europe people get up and put their rubbish in the bin when they are finished. They do the same in the cinemas too. Of course the problem is there aren't proper bins provided in cinemas here unfortunetly... which is also a problem in general.. the amount of times you see bins in the dublin city centre packed to capacity is stupid... people have to start leaving their rubbish next to the bin. There's just not enough bins, and they're not emptied often enough.

You see it if you're in a fast food place like MacDonalds.

0ver 90% of the people, and they're not just scangers, just get up and walk out when they're finished leaving their mess on the table.

If you go anywhere else in Europe people get up and put their rubbish in the bin when they are finished. They do the same in the cinemas too. Of course the problem is there aren't proper bins provided in cinemas here unfortunetly... which is also a problem in general.. the amount of times you see bins in the dublin city centre packed to capacity is stupid... people have to start leaving their rubbish next to the bin. There's just not enough bins, and they're not emptied often enough.
    I worked in a cinema the amount of shi*e cleaned out of each screen after eash show was unreal "there is someone paid to clean up after me" mentality
    I often put stuff in my pocket till i find a bin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

Ireland is a dirty ass country. Living in Sweden is so much cleaner. I was in a car while i was home last time and the cnut of a passenger fcuked her supermacs out the window. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

It's just an attitude difference between us. I was putting something in the bin over in the US and part of it fell out the other side. I had someone run after me to tell me i didn't get all of it in. You'd never get someone doing that over here.

I've lived in the US a number of years and have been to every state except for 3 mid-west ones. And not everywhere is clean. Some parts look worse than Dublin. Just like most places outside Dublin are clean enough in Ireland. It depends where you look. The cities are on a much bigger scale in America so you don't see it all congregated in one area and and the country is designed to drive everywhere. So you don't get as many people walking out of a store and throwing it on the ground. Chances are it ends up in their car. Which is why a lot of their cars look like a dump inside. Well from my experience anyways. And if you are out at night in any of the big cities just look at the amount of street cleaners out. You might see one or two in Dublin. And their are more bins that are emptied more regular.

It's not so long Ireland was a dirt poor country. The mentality to litter still lingers on in some people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Well... I'm Irish and I'm not dirty. You can't just tar an entire nation like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,778 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

We're filthy and and we love it, end of. As Home Simpson once said, "can't someone ELSE do it?!"

And we're the slums of Delhi compared to some parts of Europe (that shouldrule out the American debate).

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

Yep, if there's one thing Irish people hate more than themselves, it's Americans. :pac:

Very true, but considering that Americans are like motor mouth Irish people on happy pills you can see where the resentment stems from.

On topic: I was in Chicago a few years ago and I have to say that it one of the cleanest cities that I have ever visited. Dublin is like an open sewer in comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,977 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Raekwon wrote: »
    On topic: I was in Chicago a few years ago and I have to say that it one of the cleanest cities that I have ever visited. Dublin is like an open sewer in comparison.

+1. Chicago is spotless. Same here in Perth. Irish people are lazy in general and have the "I don't give a f*ck" attitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

iFight wrote: »

Made me snigger :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,638 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Forgetting about the how bad the cities are here for a bit, the back roads around here are like dumps. Fridges...prams...you name it and it will be most likely found at the side of the road!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,388 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Every visit or pass through any of the "tidy towns" in Ireland, many have bins all over the place, it is hard to drop litter without a bin getting in the way of it!

I have never seen a public bin in a dublin housing estate, always found that odd, and a lot of public bins in dublin are overflowing, due to lack of bins, and lack of emptying.

Since the bin charges people no longer will leave bins out for any long time, and people are more reluctant to put stuff in a private houses bin e.g. as a kid walking home from the shop I would have stuck a wrapper in anybody bin outside their house, now I would not as someone might think I was offloading my own rubbish, making them pay.

I am actually surprised dublin doesn't have far more litter on the streets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

It's because of our Celtic past you see. The Celts had a special relationship with the land, they were at one with nature and blah, blah, blah, Newgrange, green, Gaia, we're better than everyone else.