Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Monk. Locked Why?

• 13-03-2008 10:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭

Why so? Curious. Nonsense yes. But AH. Hmm.
    Post edited by Shield on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

English please.

If you mean this. It probably belongs in the tv forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Maybe because there is a television forum for discussing television programmes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

Perfectly harmless Monk thread in AH locked. Just wonderin why.

But it wasnt moved, it was locked.

If it's always moved lazy posters will never learn. Can't say the thread was really going anywhere either.

Possibly not. Was in the mood for goin nowhere with the monk though.

Could point to the Cathal O Irishfella thread but hey, Im over it all now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

It was a silly post. You basically started off by telling everyone what you were watching on tv at the time. Thats what the TV forum is for (if that). Its not for after hours. The post was quite stupid and the thread was going nowhere fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

smashey wrote: »
    Maybe because there is a television forum for discussing television programmes.
    Peared wrote: »
    But it wasnt moved, it was locked.

The original post was a statement; not a question not an opening for a discussion. I gave it a chance because often a statement can be an opening for a discussion - this proved not to be one of those times. It doesn't belong in AH (IMHO) and there wasn't enough substance to inflict it on Television.

You would have got a quicker and more detailed reply had you sent a PM to me. This'll have to do you. Goodnight.
    (Remind me to tap your knee later.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,832 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Karoma wrote: »
    there wasn't enough substance to inflict it on Television.
    Fair enough, but for comedy value it should have been kept open. For example:

The Monk: Sure me own house has been broken into two times.
    Reynolds: And what did you do?
    The Monk: I brought dem to de hospital.

Classic!

The original post was a statement; not a question not an opening for a discussion. I gave it a chance because often a statement can be an opening for a discussion - this proved not to be one of those times. It doesn't belong in AH (IMHO) and there wasn't enough substance to inflict it on Television.

You would have got a quicker and more detailed reply had you sent a PM to me. This'll have to do you. Goodnight.

Fair nuff. Twas only a polite enquiry.
    (Remind me to tap your knee later.)

Ooer missus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Damnit! I came into this thread expecting a discussion on drunken brown robe wearing men!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,564 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Damnit! I came into this thread expecting a discussion on drunken brown robe wearing men!
    Those monks from Buckfast Abbey I'll wager!

I too was disappointed with this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Dades wrote: »
    Those monks from Buckfast Abbey I'll wager!

I too was disappointed with this thread.

Hmmm.....You look stangely familiar!:D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,661 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

The thread just asked if anyone watched a tv show. Not really a discussion prompting first post if you ask me! It was best locked rather than being moved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

faceman wrote: »
    The thread just asked if anyone watched a tv show. Not really a discussion prompting first post if you ask me! It was best locked rather than being moved.

And that is why Faceman should be made the new AH mod.

I already told you: future-Overheal already PM'd me on wednesday and told me I'm the new mod. Terry indocrinated me in; it was a lovely speech I'm told.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

I was supprised my thread was locked. I was thinking that the man is a dangerous man and people might be wary of commenting on him - but I did not think it should have been locked. The programme was AH material and I knew it would be - thats why I started it. Should not have been locked IMO.....

It's not your thread, it's Terry's.

Sorry Karoma, when you get a chocolate orange this will work for you too.

Mmmm....chocolatey orange goodness....

I havent seen one of those things in years.

darkman2 wrote: »
    I was supprised my thread was locked. I was thinking that the man is a dangerous man and people might be wary of commenting on him - but I did not think it should have been locked. The programme was AH material and I knew it would be - thats why I started it. Should not have been locked IMO.....

Yeah; you seem to think that about a lot of your crappy threads. I would have thought we had this discussion before. AH tends to be for discussion more than "zomg! ders sumtin on teh telleh" statements. If you wanted to discuss facts about the monk and any aspect that this may have had on, um, anything - AH it would have been. If you wanted to discuss the interview - Television. If you post the crap you posted - expect it to be locked.
    If I leave your pointless statement there, I'd be expected to leave the others - at the moment, these threads tend only to appear once every 2 or 3 days or something, but imagine if everyone did it? so many shows on so many channels - no discussion, no real evoking of thought on the deep matters like we're used to in AH...imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Hennessy

Yeah; you seem to think that about a lot of your crappy threads. I would have thought we had this discussion before. AH tends to be for discussion more than "zomg! ders sumtin on teh telleh" statements. If you wanted to discuss facts about the monk and any aspect that this may have had on, um, anything - AH it would have been. If you wanted to discuss the interview - Television. If you post the crap you posted - expect it to be locked.
    If I leave your pointless statement there, I'd be expected to leave the others - at the moment, these threads tend only to appear once every 2 or 3 days or something, but imagine if everyone did it? so many shows on so many channels - no discussion, no real evoking of thought on the deep matters like we're used to in AH...imagine.

Well Said.

I agree about the telly thing, there would be gazillions of similar threads.

Just think the Monk thread would have headed somewhere interesting.

Im not usually a feedbacker and Im not givin out, just..emm.. feedbacking.

Yeah; you seem to think that about a lot of your crappy threads.

Whatever. I seem to be always targeted by you for some reason. Have I done something to you? I dont even know you. There is no need to insult me. There are more serious threads on after hours then the one that I never intended to be serious about a Dublin criminal taking the mick out of the country on TV......

What about the thread about Tara - for example......go and get in their faces aswell as you seem quite intent on getting in mine.

This thread just got new life :pac: PM tbh

There was nothing wrong with the monk thread whatsoever - and to prove that it would have been a good thread he should reopen it for a day and see for himself. The programme was on at the time......i was going to add more to it when it was locked. Ive only had 3 threads ever locked on boards incl this one in over 3000 posts.....perhaps Karoma should ignore that and deal with this topic that was locked without refering to others. Oh look another monk thread has started - bet you that one stays open. No reasonable person would have locked that thread so quickly.

Ah what have I started?

Who would have thought the monk could cause any kinda trouble?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Hennessy

Who would have thought the monk could cause any kinda trouble?

rofflie :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭seaner

Agreed, the thread should have been moved, not locked.
    Some people need to get off their high horses.

Just think the Monk thread would have headed somewhere interesting.
    It was open for ~1hr in After Hours and got nothing but spam. It was locked as threads very very rarely come back from that death.

darkman2: blah blah blah. Yes; I'm out to get you. I'm hiding under your bed. Blah blah. rabble. blah.
    Your thread was going nowhere because you started it badly. We've been through this before I think. Get over yourself.
    *yawn*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,522 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

He's my favourite along with Columbo. I love how he can't handle social situations well but he can figure out who the murderer is by looking at someones hand or remembering something. GoE MoNK!

MONK_finger.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

darkman2 wrote: »
    Whatever. I seem to be always targeted by you for some reason.

You're not really, he just tends to lock the threads before I or one of the others find them. Honestly, the thread doesn't belong there and if I had stumbled across it, I'd have done the same thing and really, I'd be hard pressed to remember any other thread you've started so it's hardly a personal thing.

I only really remember a similar issue, having to ban darkman2 because he insisted on posting it / about it in AH and unbanning in ~1hr or something after he finally agreed to discuss it in this forum...
    Look, this thread got an hour in AH and got nothing but spam - I could have warned, but it tends not to be effective & pushy; I could have removed the spammy posts, but we'd be back to your original post and it'd be unlikely to go anywhere as a result; you didn't state your (or ANY) position on the subject, it was scrapped - you're free to post the thread in a more suitable forum or with a more descriptive original post. I locked your thread, I did not cut your fingers off or ban you from AH or boards.ie... seriously, unclench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Pfft! There will be lots of locked monks over the weekend ...
    and lots of locked non-celibates as well ... hopefully! ¬_¬

'Tis Paddy's weekend! Will yiz all stfu, and go and get pished, ffs! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

Monk. Posted Why?

Talliesin. Copying. Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

Monk. Locked why?

Well, that's the curse of the modern licensing laws, innit?

Locked because of too much drink. It's a problem when you get to middle age, as no matter what flash limo you drive (or be driven in) or no matter how many leather jackets you wear, you are, sadly a fart. O'er the hill and whilst you get up on that dance floor full of enthusiasm and vigor and vim, you are an aul fella and you're throwing shapes. Those girls under 30 are not dancing with you - they are ignoring you.

There's a special disco for you downstairs in Howl at the Moon, use it.

Or Copper's, which is fair enough, for as there is no honour amongst thieves there is no shame in coppers goers.

But you are still sad, and should be propping up the bar in a soulless, Jaye's fluid scented lounge in the 'burbs, looking forward to your snack box on the long, desolate damp walk home.

Unlucky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Karoma was bored.

He locked it for that reason, and that reason only.

The television forum is for the discussion of the attributes of television shows. The thread was not asking whether we think Prime Time is a good current affairs show. Or whether Paul Reynolds is a good crime journalist. It was informing us that the Monk was currently on tv, and what did we think of him and his performance.

The only possible way it deserved to be in the tv forum was because it would have ended up discussing Gerrys rather poor ability to act.

Tha Gopher wrote: »
    Karoma was bored.

The television forum is for the discussion of the attributes of television shows. The thread was not asking whether we think Prime Time is a good current affairs show. Or whether Paul Reynolds is a good crime journalist. It was informing us that the Monk was currently on tv, and what did we think of him and his performance.

The only possible way it deserved to be in the tv forum was because it would have ended up discussing Gerrys rather poor ability to act.

Anything to constructive to offer other than meaningless splitting of hairs? If you want to just do that, then it's the meta-meta discussion of TV shows rather than merely the meta discussion of TV shows that truly belong in AH.

This is Feedback.

For the discussion of how boards is moderated.

The OP asked why the thread was locked.

I answered. The mod was either bored or power tripping. Clearly.

Anything else to contribute?

This is Feedback.

Actually, no that's not what this forum is for at all and never has been.

any chance of a "No Thanks" button for Tha Gopher's post?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

any chance of a "No Thanks" button for Tha Gopher's post?
    What finger is raised on that icon?

Ah now, aidan, is that a trick question.....

.............thumb? :confused:

nesf wrote: »
    Actually, no that's not what this forum is for at all and never has been.

Oh, great. Does that mean we can now raise objections to sh1t modding in the thread/forum in question now so?

There seems to be two views on what Feedback is for. Have an issue with modding? Fook off and take it to Feedback, where you will be told to shut up, because this is not a complaints forum.

Karoma was bored.
    Your opinion, which is (as ever) based on nothing but, um, your opinion.
    Do you ever get bored of being wrong?

Odd, I thought the scope of Television would cover the content of programming - not just one specific aspect. Go inform the lusers that they can only discuss the camera work on Modays, acting on Tuesdays and so on... Seriously, getting bored yet?

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I have no problem with people raising questions about being banned here. Locked threads simply don't rate high enough on my "sh*t to look into" list to be bothered. I mean seriously, no one is dead, right?

Tha_Gopher, I dont believe I've ever said that Feedback wasnt for complaining about Mods... however, 95% of complaints against mods are by the person who was sanctioned and are shown up for what they are. That might be confusing you...

DeV.

There seems to be two views on what Feedback is for. Have an issue with modding? Fook off and take it to Feedback, where you will be told to shut up, because this is not a complaints forum.

I tell people to take it to the Helpdesk normally if I think they've a genuine grievance simply because they won't have to put up with flaming there. I don't think the free-for-all in this forum is a good place to air genuine issues about the moderation in forums. It's a grand place to have a go at a mod but if I had a serious issue or question to raise I'd look to the more serious forum to air it in.

If there are are two views on what feedback is about is for then that is purely down to an inability to read the BIG STICKY THREAD which is, cryptically, posted at the top of the feedback forum.

This issue is actually one for the Help Desk Forum, not Feedback.

This, of course, is me exercising Mod abuse. Feel free to flagellate me - in Help Desk.

As the OP, and a brilliant lovely one at that, I feel this thread is now reflecting badly on me.

I asked a question and I got some answers. Im happy enough with that.

Let it go, people.

Gerry H wouldnt like to see us bickering amongst ourselves in this manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

This is Feedback.

every time we have this conversation, you always shut up after i prove you wrong.

shall we dance again, or are you just going to shut up now?

and as usual, youre wrong anyway.

thread locked correctly. nothing more to see here.
    thanks for calling.