Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mad Flatmates

• 12-03-2008 2:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭

Moved in with a mate,sees it as a free gaff,came home from work last Thursday,place was packed with people I never met.
    Any horror stories out there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

I've read some scary stuff in Personal Issues forum. Housemates refusing to move out, drinking fighting etcetera but have been lucky myself so far. *knocks on wood*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I thought the Title read Maud Flanders there for a second :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,010 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

I don't see how chronic masturbation could be considered bad social graces. My last flatmates were as*holes. Those stains were on the couch when I got there. And there is no such thing as a "Pron Addiction". What the hell is pron anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Dudess wrote: »

Jaysus, Mary and Joseph :eek:
    moco wrote: »
    Well well well, where do I start?

1. Landlord who unlocked my bedroom door, stole my knickers off the heater then hid in the attic..

2. Flatmate who I awoke at 5 in the morning to find standing over me naked..

3. Flatmate who locked the microwave in her room when she went on holidays so nobody else could use it..

4. Several flatmates who never buy toilet roll, just hid it in their room.

5. Flatmates dealing drugs from their room with a constant stream of customers..

6. One who turns the hot water off all the time so I can't shower in the mornings (the controls are in his room)

7. The raving alcoholic, there really are too many incidents to meniton but include hiding my cd's, verbally attacking me on a daily basis and trying to change the locks because I wasn't home at the time she thought I would be..

8. the other alcoholic who went to thump me when I said I was moving out (he also didn't believe in wasting money on electric for a fridge so food was put floating in a bucket of water).

9. One who kept incontinent cats in the house, they constantly had diahorrea which was often to be found dripping down radiators etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

ah I remember watching over a guy I lived with while he slept, hoping he'd wake up and freak out. rofl. He never believed me that I did it either.

Lets see, we took a housemates bed out of his room when he had his lady friend over and they'd gone out for the night; then locked said room and fell asleep in his bed in the kitchen.

Dragged the remains of some dying tree into his room and left it over the weekend.

We're weren't evil but it was funny to us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Someone I know lived with this who was a total a**hole everyone hated him. One night he had been out the twat and as usual the moron was causing trouble overwhere so my mate ends up going home early. Hes walking home annoyed when he comes across a dead dog, an idea pops into his head and he runs back to his house to get a bin liner. He picks it up and puts it in the offending housemates bed!!

Guy comes home pissed, falls into bed and a few seconds later the house nearly falls down with the screaming. He moved out the next day.

So if you want rid of a nasty housemate all you need is dead animal and a strong stomach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Lux23 wrote: »
    Someone I know lived with this who was a total a**hole everyone hated him. One night he had been out the twat and as usual the moron was causing trouble overwhere so my mate ends up going home early. Hes walking home annoyed when he comes across a dead dog, an idea pops into his head and he runs back to his house to get a bin liner. He picks it up and puts it in the offending housemates bed!!

Guy comes home pissed, falls into bed and a few seconds later the house nearly falls down with the screaming. He moved out the next day.

So if you want rid of a nasty housemate all you need is dead animal and a strong stomach.

Mkes a change from coming home and finding a horses head on yore pillowcase :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭Babette08

biko wrote: »

Jesus Mary and Joseph is right - although sharing a ward in St Lomans probably doesn't count :D

I don't know how anyone could continue to share with strangers after so many bad experiences - Shallow Grave always put my off :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

biko wrote: »
    hmmm those french housemates of mine starting to not look so bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Babette08 wrote: »
    Jesus Mary and Joseph is right - although sharing a ward in St Lomans probably doesn't count :D

I don't know how anyone could continue to share with strangers after so many bad experiences - Shallow Grave always put my off :(

Ive lived with about ten different people so far and 9 of those have been a joy to live with, the other 1 was just a bore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Just got rid our our mad flatmate. Well, she wasn't mad, more stupid.

She never learned how to use the heating so our immersion and heating were on for about 20 hours a day. We got in the habit of checking both everytime we were in the hallway. Our bills were of course, huge.

She had her own bathroom that we only occasionally used. The lightbulb went and four days later it was still gone. She had been showering and other stuff in the dark for four days.

Just before she moved out I went in to the kitchen to find it was surprisingly warm. She had left the hob on for 12 hours overnight. We're lucky the house didn't go on fire (It wasn't a new electric oven but an old one with actual exposed elements)

When she moved out she left loads of crap behind that we had to take to the dump. The worst part was she left a pair of her knickers right in the middle of the sitting room floor.

It was like having a small irresponsible child living with you. I've never been so glad to see the back of someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

a collection of happenings from various places ive lived

the morning i woke up to find the entire bars staff of a galway pub asleep on the floor in the sittingroom.

the evening i came back to find 50 czech people in the kitchen with a keg (czech housemate was the man though)

my sleepwalking housemate who slept naked, knocking at the outside door to let him into the flat after he woke up outside naked, though he had his duvet as a cape.

coming into the kitchen to find a trackie wearing knacker snorting coke off the arm of the couch.

watna wrote: »
    Just got rid our our mad flatmate. Well, she wasn't mad, more stupid.

It was like having a small irresponsible child living with you. I've never been so glad to see the back of someone.

Bet that was a relief and the stress went with her to .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

latchyco wrote: »
    Bet that was a relief and the stress went with her to .

Yep, can laugh about it all now! I honestly did think she wasn't all there though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

JIZZLORD wrote: »
    coming into the kitchen to find a trackie wearing knacker snorting coke off the arm of the couch.

Id imagine dealing (no pun intended) with that one was fun.

watna wrote: »
    Yep, can laugh about it all now! I honestly did think she wasn't all there though.

We all have our tolerence levels and some people take liberties at every oppurtunity .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭the GALL

lived with two people in my last house share a spanish young one and a bloke from deans grange she was grand but he was a f**kin idiot he'd use the kitchen and leave the house for a couple of days at a time, fill the washing machine up and leave his clothes in there ???? what the f**k is that all about i wouldn't clean up after him but the spanish bird would she had it in her head she'd be f**ked out if she said anything to him, there was a cleaning rota drawn up me and yer one keep to it, after that the grass wasn't cut for a year the hoovering wasn't done till i moved out about 10 months later the windows you couldn't see out of them he'd leave his door open and the state of his bed room stacks of dirty washin floor to ceiling he had himself a woman(she wouldn't stay over oddly enough i thought they liked the 'dank') who was a goth she was all right how she put up with him ill never know any way the spanish young one asked me had i bog roll one day i had my own ensuite i brought bog roll up to their jacks and left it there(and no she wasn't in there at the time) they state of the bowl when i walked in, it was like the bit out of train spottin when the junkie falls down the bowl turned me stomach turned out she wouldn't use the bog her self and would go to pub if needs be and this guy was 36 at the time (about 4 year ago) any way the bills were in my name and when i moved out they went to his the spanish bird was paid up but he owed me €100ish euro i got it out of him plus when the other bills came in he was something like 200 in debt.... ill never forget the face on him.......but but but but how, f**kin priceless can i owe you the money says he 'like f**k' say's I. never seen a bloke fold so fast it was nearly worth all the ****e attitude me and the spanish bird put up with it. It wasn't till I moved out I found out him and the land lord were related/school friends. I must drive by the house and see what state it's in as it was a new build when i was there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭ergonomics

the GALL wrote: »
    lived with two people in my last house share a spanish young one and a bloke from deans grange she was grand but he was a f**kin idiot he'd use the kitchen and leave the house for a couple of days at a time, fill the washing machine up and leave his clothes in there ???? what the f**k is that all about i wouldn't clean up after him but the spanish bird would she had it in her head she'd be f**ked out if she said anything to him, there was a cleaning rota drawn up me and yer one keep to it, after that the grass wasn't cut for a year the hoovering wasn't done till i moved out about 10 months later the windows you couldn't see out of them he'd leave his door open and the state of his bed room stacks of dirty washin floor to ceiling he had himself a woman(she wouldn't stay over oddly enough i thought they liked the 'dank') who was a goth she was all right how she put up with him ill never know any way the spanish young one asked me had i bog roll one day i had my own ensuite i brought bog roll up to their jacks and left it there(and no she wasn't in there at the time) they state of the bowl when i walked in, it was like the bit out of train spottin when the junkie falls down the bowl turned me stomach turned out she wouldn't use the bog her self and would go to pub if needs be and this guy was 36 at the time (about 4 year ago) any way the bills were in my name and when i moved out they went to his the spanish bird was paid up but he owed me €100ish euro i got it out of him plus when the other bills came in he was something like 200 in debt.... ill never forget the face on him.......but but but but how, f**kin priceless can i owe you the money says he 'like f**k' say's I. never seen a bloke fold so fast it was nearly worth all the ****e attitude me and the spanish bird put up with it. It wasn't till I moved out I found out him and the land lord were related/school friends. I must drive by the house and see what state it's in as it was a new build when i was there.

Wow. The full stop is your friend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

A wig wearing, uber shy flatmate I had would scream crying all day, and she had scabies. She was also extremely filthy (borderline ****ting in her bedroom.)

Another freak had sex with about 200 - 300 men in two years. She never used condoms, and did all this while going out with a long time boards.ie user! Poor bastard doesn't know about any of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Johnnio13

Used to live in a house with six others...that meant boyfriends etc and we had an italian couple living in the sitting room while they were waiting for their house to be finished, so any night could have 10-14 in the house, but I digress.

One of the girls was a right wench so myself and one of the other lads took turns ringing the house phone, C would run down the stairs and we would hang up just when she got to the phone, and then when she got back to her room....start ringing it again...this would go on for about 2 hours.

We did this for 4 months...then she moved to China.....hahahahaha I still giggle....thinking we got away with this for so long

ergonomics wrote: »
    Ah, c'mon it's bitchin' about ex flatmates not bad grammer.:):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭GrahamThomas

Lived in a house with 2 mates, all was well until one of them invited his new girlfriend to move in. She was a serious control freak. Her name wasn't even on the lease, but she made us feel like unwelcome guests.

No one was allowed to have friends/family/partners over unless we let her know in advance. For example, a lad I worked with popped up one evening to collect some CD's, she stood there glaring at us until he left. Then I got a bollicking because I "didn't obey the house rules". Even when we gave her advance notice, she treated anyone who visited with barely concealed contempt. She created such a nasty, cold atmosphere in the house that I didn't feel comfortable inviting people around.

She would constantly check up on us, keeping track of where we were. I'd usually be home from work by 6, but if I wasn't home by 6:05 I'd get a message asking me why I was late. If any of the housemates went home for the weekend, she'd text us first thing Sunday morning to find out what time we'd be back at.

If you decided to go out/stay in your room for the evening, you would get b*tched about for "being anti-social" and have to put up with spiteful comments next time she saw you. So f**king childish :mad:

I can go on and on, but the worst part is that she's still going out with my mate and he has to deal with her cr*p on a daily basis.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭whatsgoinon

I had an Italian housemate when i was living in dublin a few years ago. She used to drive me and all the other people in the house daft. Remote control for the tv went awol, used to eat all our food. Anyway a friend of mine owed me money, €300 which i left in my room instead of lodging to my account, reckoned it would save me time on going to the bank, silly me. I used to always lock my door when I was out, but didn't bother if I was downstairs watching tv. Just before the christmas party at work, I was taking my time getting ready cos I knew I didn't have to go to the bank, went to get the money, gone!! I turned the room upside down. The wench had moved out that day, it was 2 other housemates who told me they had seen her coming out of my room while i was having dinner downstairs, and when quizzed she told them that I said I could go in, wagon.
    She also threw my toothbrush in the bin, and tried to get me to set her up with my brother who she had never laid eyes on, just because he lived in Dublin too. nutjob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭bantee

My eyes! They burn, they burn! :pac::pac::pac:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,812 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Well, it gets a bit embarrassing when my flatmate lets one stay overnight, only to run into him raiding the frig in his boxes the next morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

kaimera wrote: »
    ah I remember watching over a guy I lived with while he slept, hoping he'd wake up and freak out. rofl. He never believed me that I did it either.

Lets see, we took a housemates bed out of his room when he had his lady friend over and they'd gone out for the night; then locked said room and fell asleep in his bed in the kitchen.

Dragged the remains of some dying tree into his room and left it over the weekend.

The fact that there were five others in the house but all those stories, I believe, relate to me is, well, predictable I suppose. Don't forget the doorway of beer or removing the handle from my door either!
    dublindude wrote: »
    Another freak had sex with about 200 - 300 men in two years. She never used condoms, and did all this while going out with a long time boards.ie user! Poor bastard doesn't know about any of this.

Hmmm... sounds like someone I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

+ 1

I used to rent a flat in Blackrock, just beside Superquinn. One of the flatmates, Spanish lad, used to be a night shift manager there. They finished their shift around 4 a. m., and headed for few drinks after work. As everything was closed, they were coming to our place. So when I was getting up for work at 7a.m., sitting room and kitchen was full of stoned/drunk spaniards. There was usually between 10 and 20 of them, 4 days a week. It was annoying sometimes, when I just wanted to have my porridge before work.

But we got along great anyway, he was a sound fella.

Funny thing is, his family was absolutely loaded, they owned few banana plantations, few nightclubs on Canaries and loads of other stuff. His da used to come to visit him in his private jet, but he still lived here for few years, working as a waiter and on the till in Superquinn, then worked his way up to the manager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Sir Wanksalot

I don't see how chronic masturbation could be considered bad social graces. My last flatmates were as*holes. Those stains were on the couch when I got there. And there is no such thing as a "Pron Addiction". What the hell is pron anyway?

Sorry Cuddlesworth.
    :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Funny thing is, his family was absolutely loaded, they owned few banana plantations, few nightclubs on Canaries and loads of other stuff. His da used to come to visit him in his private jet, but he still lived here for few years, working as a waiter and on the till in Superquinn, then worked his way up to the manager.

The amount of people from decent W European economies who come here to work sh1t jobs and sh1t shifts truly baffles me.

My housemate never leaves the house. NEVER. She gives over the tv when my gf comes round or there is a CL or Ireland match on, but apart from that, shes in at 6 and watches tv til 10. Sat and Sunday, apart from getting shopping its 12 hours infront of the tv. Especially recently with all this poxy rugby on the box at the weekend. Seems to go out socially maybe once every 3 weeks.

And she buys the Sunday Independent :confused:

Apart from that im insanely jealous of all the alcoholic violent coke snorting drug dealing promiscous party people tenants you all had the pleasure to share with. Sound like a fun bunch in all truth.

Oh yeah, former tenant had a threat out on his life, was under Garda protection and seemed to have alot of money considering he only seemed to work twice a week at most (claimed to be a barman, he was home six nights per week).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭whatsgoinon

Tha Gopher wrote: »
    Oh yeah, former tenant had a threat out on his life, was under Garda protection and seemed to have alot of money considering he only seemed to work twice a week at most (claimed to be a barman, he was home six nights per week).

argh!! that reminded me of a fella i used to share with, he was workin with the drugs squad, i had to move out because all the local scobes knew where he lived, one night they shoved rags drenched in petrol through the letter box and tried to set fire to them. They also destroyed his car in the driveway.
    Then he built his own house, he used to take the hoover from ours over to the span new, no carpet house, to hoover up bits of concrete!!
    He also had no sense of smell, the stench out of his room was unreal.
    And his hatred of washing up after his dinner, was such that he would eat take aways all the time and then throw knives and forks in the bin.

was so glad to see the back of him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Current housemate regularly downs 4 bottles of wine a night. Just after Xmas she drank 9 bottles of wine, a naggin of vodka and 12 bottles of miller in 2 days. She drinks alone until 5-6am and crawls up to bed. While she drinks at night she has done the following:
    *Set a pizza on fire
    *Smashed a large plant pot and left a clay trail around the house
    *Broke wall ornaments owned by the landlord
    *Broke the toilet and the toilet roll holder
    *Vomited in every room downstairs (red wine vomit at that) and has stained the white leather sofa, the floor, the kitchen tiles, the downstairs toilet and the wall.
    *Fallen out of the shower at 4am
    *Left the heating on, tv on and front door wide open at 5am

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Nightwish wrote: »
    Current housemate regularly downs 4 bottles of wine a night. Just after Xmas she drank 9 bottles of wine, a naggin of vodka and 12 bottles of miller in 2 days.

I drank a lot of red wine at a work xmas party and was violently sick the next day. The whole day was spent in bed with the worse hangover i have ever had. Consuming 4 bottles on a regular basis is insane!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I think she's immune to hangovers as she can just get up and go to work. Though she sometimes forgets so maybe the alcohol has killed off some brain cells.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭mang87

No its not, as his post seems to be completely devoid of any proper full stops. Full stop has forsaken this young lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

far too many mad housemates to recall now. 21 years living in rented accomodation, approx 35 or 36 "official" rented gaffs (thats to say, my name on lease). hence this is my last EVER rental. im buying next year. at the moment im renting a converted cattle shed (byre) on my own, the landlord is a very good friend. its like a castle..cool! i promised myself this luxury as my last ever rental.

its great living alone after too many freaks!

Hey mang87 and ergonimics,
    I wouldn't live with you'se either. (How's that for a full stop.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Nightwish wrote: »
    Current housemate regularly downs 4 bottles of wine a night. Just after Xmas she drank 9 bottles of wine, a naggin of vodka and 12 bottles of miller in 2 days. She drinks alone until 5-6am and crawls up to bed. While she drinks at night she has done the following:
    *Set a pizza on fire
    *Smashed a large plant pot and left a clay trail around the house
    *Broke wall ornaments owned by the landlord
    *Broke the toilet and the toilet roll holder
    *Vomited in every room downstairs (red wine vomit at that) and has stained the white leather sofa, the floor, the kitchen tiles, the downstairs toilet and the wall.
    *Fallen out of the shower at 4am
    *Left the heating on, tv on and front door wide open at 5am

She'll probably die of liver failure.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭yummycake

fill the washing machine up and leave his clothes in there ????
    Oh the horrors!! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭ModeSkeletor

Living with smokers.
    That is all I have to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

mang87 wrote: »
    No its not, as his post seems to be completely devoid of any proper full stops. Full stop has forsaken this young lad.
    So has the notion of paragraphs

yummycake wrote: »
    Oh the horrors!! :rolleyes:
    I should have elaborated I guess but the reason flat mates annoy each other is down to a lack of respect.
    Somethings that may bother you probably wouldn't bother me and vice versa. I take by your laise-fare post that your a great flat mate and you live in a wonderful place with other great flat mates.
    You sound perfect almost too perfect infact, jaysus, you sound like an add for Carlsberg. Are you sure your not my ex?, she was perfect aswell.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

We shared with a looney and his uptight girlfriend when we were in college.

He was one of these "hippies" living out his hippy ways on daddy's coin.

We'd regularly come home and he'd be lying on the sitting room floor stoned out of his mind or off his face on mushrooms.

Herself was neurotic and demanded the sitting room to herself for an hour after work each day.

Another couple friends of ours took our room when we moved out. Soon after hippy man went totally loo-la. He became a bit obsessed with the girl in the couple, not sexually but like someone on mushrooms gets obsessed with carpet patterns. He used to watch her making tea with great interest.

He shaved his head into a Taxi-Driver style mohican.

One night whilst our friends were enjoying a perk of being in a couple there was a knock on the window. Hippy man had climbed up on the small roof over the kitchen and was knocking on their window asking them to open the curtains a bit so he can see properly. :eek:

Needless to say they moved out soon after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭IanCurtis

I was living with two lads once.

Went into the khazi one morning and there was a bleb of sh1t on the floor with a heel mark in it.

Turns out one of them had crapped on the floor the night before and next morning the other fella slipped on it while getting out of the shower cos he "didn't have his contacts in yet".

Ah Jay that was funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭lawhec

Not myself, but a female friend of mine was being kept up by the sound of another girl (I'll call her Ms.C) having loud sex in the next room. She wasn't the only one to notice, the two others in the house often heard it too, so one evening when all of them were in the living room my friend said out of the blue "Ms.C, I notice when you have sex you have two types of moan, does the deep, hoarse moaning mean you're taking it up the arse?" :eek:

No more sounds after that, and Ms.C moved out a week later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

I'll tell you one thing.... there are a lot of fcuked up flatmates out there. Some of the stories are shocking..... funny :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

kaimera wrote: »

Ah, yeah, but there's a huge difference between pranking a mate who knows you're only up to mischief, and being a hellish housemate!
    Well, it gets a bit embarrassing when my flatmate lets one stay overnight, only to run into him raiding the frig in his boxes the next morning.
    Jeez, thank your stars he remembered the boxers. I usually Not everyone does. >_>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Assez Bien

Woke up to my housemate (female) peeing on the carpet in my room the other night, not nice, not nice at all!! And this was after she locked herself in the bathroom for half an hour puking all over the gaff (and didin't clean it), you'd think she could have hit two birds with the one stone while in there!!

Vomit in the sink over all the dishes aswel(constantly), resulted in the place receiving a good bout of domestos!

Also last semester we lived with a girl who would shower once a week (if lucky) and who washed her clothes twice in 3 months......DIRTTTTY!!

So has the notion of paragraphs
    Quick, I'll get a doctor it must be spreeding,
    you've forgot your full stop.:rolleyes:,
    Or are you just the paragraph police.