Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Feet are killing me with cuts from blisters

• 11-03-2008 10:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭

I work in an enviroment where my feet get a fair bit of abuse resulting in clusters of blisters on them. these burst and leave nearly impossible to walk on!!

Also playing football kills them altogether.

Is there any sort of cream i can get?? Im desperate here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

Compeed is my favourite blister preventer and cure. Available in all good chemists.

Also, the choice of socks is important. A lot of people find that wearing a thin pair inside a thicker pair helps. Using socks that take moisture away from your feet also help. And of course your choice of footwear will have an impact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭andrewh5

Try hardening your feet by rubbing them twice a day with witch hazel.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

andrewh5 wrote: »
    Try hardening your feet by rubbing them twice a day with witch hazel.

Surgical spirit will do the same trick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭hamnegg

Cheers lads, i'm in bits here. Playing ball again wednesday and i know i'll rip them to bits again. can't turn a game down though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

Get a pumice stone and use it on your feet as well to stop the skin getting too thick. Also using talc in your shoes might help with the excess moisture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭siochain

Savlon have a dry antiseptic spray that seals the blister if it bursts, I find it very good for speeding up the healing.
    Also when you’re at home or any chance you get, go barefoot and let the air at your feet as this will help harden the skin.

Can’t vouch for this one but if you ask the army dudes they recommend to pee on them !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

If you're playing ball before you put your socks on, cover your sole with vaseline. Prevents friction especially on artificial surfaces.

If you can pee on the soles of your own feet, fair play to you! Surgical spirit would seem to be the way to go instead of that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Al_Fernz

Hamnegg,

I had the same problems for months when I first took up MA and had to spar barefoot. I took a number of steps to address this.

1. Use moisturiser. At first I thought this would be riduculous because I believed that I needed my feet to become hard and callous. But, the reason I was getting so much blisters was that my feet were becoming too dry during the day. When I would go training the small bits of perspiration on my uber dry feet would cause the skin to separate and blister. Using moisturiser will not make the skin on your feet softer.

2. Walk around bare foot as much as you can. Obviously you won't be able to go into work barefoot, but at home there is nothing to stop you. This really helped me toughen the skin on my feet.

3. Keep your feet dry. I can't stress this enough. If you feel like your feet are sweating too much and starting to blister, take of your socks and give them bad boys some air and maybe even a quick dry with a towel.

I hope this helps OP. Make sure to wash your feet in Savlon or someother dis-infectant if the blisters burst. The blisters are bad enough but if they get infected it can feel like a nail getting driven through the sole of your foot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭Gumbyman

I love when this happens! I was just going to post a thread asking the same thing as OP. When I've been out of training for a week or so and I run I get blisters on the front of my arches in the same spot on both feet. Doesn't matter what shoes I wear. Just picked up a carton of compeed there and am off to the jacks to stick em on.

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

siochain wrote: »
    ...Can’t vouch for this one but if you ask the army dudes they recommend to pee on them !!!

I'm fairly sure that's a folk cure for athlete's foot rather than blisters.