Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

can you make your wages stretch a full week?

• 10-03-2008 8:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭

Im absolutely useless at money management. always have been. i left Dublin because i was working there just to live there, i wasnt saving anything.. after rent, fuel, food, a couple nights out.. that was it i was skint.
    i moved back to cavan for the lower cost of rent/living etc, i also took a lower wage (its not that low though.. approx 590eur net/week), the rent is way lower, i only have to drive 5 miles to work.. this takes about 10 minutes door to door, i hardly go out anymore..just a few cans durin the week and the odd weekend out - nothing too extravagant.

... i get paid on thursdays and yet im still f*cking skint by tuesdays!!

where does it go?????

i see lads out in town, they seem to go out 5 nights a week and are on the dole... wtf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭judas101

excessive drug habit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

Stealth taxes.

Bertie and Cowen creep into your bank accounts and steal your monies. Thats what I heard on the Conspiracy Theories forum anyhoo and the people there don't lie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Hellm0

In my wage bracket it would be difficult to be skint, I make more in a day then some folks do in a week*.

*I know I'm bragging, sue me peasents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Hellm0 wrote: »
    In my wage bracket it would be difficult to be skint, I make more in a day then some folks do in a week*.

*I know I'm bragging, sue me peasents.

Wow, I bet you;re really unpopular

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

It's all thanks to our Goverment's sneaky Stealth Taxes. I am now taking home almost double what i was earning 3 years ago, and i could afford to go on 2 foreign holidays a year back then, but probably can't afford to go anywhere this year.Cost of living has gone crazy here:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Hellm0

Collie D wrote: »
    Wow, I bet you;re really unpopular

What odd's we talking here? I'll take your bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭LuckyCharms

I don't think the wage bracket matters really .It's all down to the lifestyle.My older brother earns 15g a month after tax yet he is always skint and he only goes out two - three nights a week.

Also, just because you see people out and about 5 nights a week doesn't really mean anything , they may never spend a penny, knew a guy who used go out 7 nights a week and spent nothing , sponged off the rest of us instead.Suffice to say, he doesn't come out with us anymore .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

flanum wrote: »
    Im absolutely useless at money management. always have been. i left Dublin because i was working there just to live there, i wasnt saving anything.. after rent, fuel, food, a couple nights out.. that was it i was skint.
    i moved back to cavan for the lower cost of rent/living etc, i also took a lower wage (its not that low though.. approx 590eur net/week), the rent is way lower, i only have to drive 5 miles to work.. this takes about 10 minutes door to door, i hardly go out anymore..just a few cans durin the week and the odd weekend out - nothing too extravagant.

where does it go?????

i see lads out in town, they seem to go out 5 nights a week and are on the dole... wtf?

have you actually sat down and worked out what you spend in a day? bring a notepad or something with you for a week and jot down what you spend and where you spend it. it's not hard to work out where your money goes...

galwayrush wrote: »
    It's all thanks to our Goverment's sneaky Stealth Taxes. I am now taking home almost double what i was earning 3 years ago, and i could afford to go on 2 foreign holidays a year back then, but probably can't afford to go anywhere this year.Cost of living has gone crazy here:mad:

Really it's not just that you have higher expectations and more financial responsibilities than before?....what are you spending your money on?

I'm a student....I can survive on air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

It all goes on bills.
    That and €15 a day on cigarettes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

I live in dublin, get paid monthly and always have money left over at the end of the month, that includes going out 2 or 3 nights a week. I'm on a decent wage but not huge. It's not that hard to save if you really want to

Cost of living has gone crazy here:mad:

that's primarily because every second person living in Galway is stuck up their hole. idiots in debt still spending as if they are in the money, just to maintain the image...

matrim wrote: »
    I live in dublin, get paid monthly and always have money left over at the end of the month, that includes going out 2 or 3 nights a week. I'm on a decent wage but not huge. It's not that hard to save if you really want to

Do you live with Mammie?

Terry wrote: »
    It all goes on bills.
    That and €15 a day on cigarettes.

Well your problem is pretty obvious,Stop paying the bills and you will have plenty of money.

Moonbaby wrote: »
    Really it's not just that you have higher expectations and more financial responsibilities than before?....what are you spending your money on?

I'm a student....I can survive on air.

Two Kids, ill wife , not too bad of a Mortgage, but the basic cost of living alone is costing us at least 200 euro more \ week than it was 2 years ago, added to higher mortgage rates, higher car running costs, there seems to be a kids birthday every second week,school is always looking for funding,it seems to be getting harder and harder.

A hugh amount of my wages goes into my car.
    When you add up car loan, tax, insurance, fuel, servicing, car wash, repairs, tolls it takes a fair chunk out of your cash.
    I think Im going to start walking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭TheBeach

I have no problem making my wages last a week. Problem is I get paid monthly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭MAKE MY DAY

Try www.askaboutmoney.com the folks there are really helpful and you might pick up some useful tips.

that's primarily because every second person living in Galway is stuck up their hole. idiots in debt still spending as if they are in the money, just to maintain the image...
    +1, they seem to be more worried about driving the kids to school in giant 08 mammy tractors than keeping up their mortgage payments.

Two Kids, ill wife , not too bad of a Mortgage, but the basic cost of living alone is costing us at least 200 euro more \ week than it was 2 years ago, added to higher mortgage rates, higher car running costs, there seems to be a kids birthday every second week,school is always looking for funding,it seems to be getting harder and harder.

You should have stopped after the 25th kid I reckon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Spend less than a 3rd of my monthly salary at the moment ;)

The rest goes into a savings account which I will empty come summer time :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Why are you giving money to the school? Sure they might have to pay for art stuff and other expenses.
    But your taxes pay for everything else, it's FREE.
    Don't pay anymore to the school.

Oh and sell your car and buy a moped! Cheap as chips to run :)

Moonbaby wrote: »
    Do you live with Mammie?

No, I rent in the city center

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

sligo? limerick? etc..

micmclo wrote: »
    Why are you giving money to the school? Sure they might have to pay for art stuff and other expenses.
    But your taxes pay for everything else, it's FREE.
    Don't pay anymore to the school.

Oh and sell your car and buy a moped! Cheap as chips to run :)

School needs new classrooms, depending solely on the dept of education for them means my grandchildren might not even have them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

After mortgage, food, bills, petrol and beer I usually have about a third of my monthly salary left over.

If you're earning €590/week and coming out skint, what in God's name are you buying? Most days of the week, I don't spend more than €20 - breakfast and lunch in work and dinner at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

What the fvck are you spending 600 a month on? My initial reaction was bingeing, but you've ruled that out. Is the a class 1 brothel in Cavan we don't know about?

And the brother on 15 grand...?! He must have some serious materialistic needs.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

+1. Replace 2 kids by 3 and ill wife by full time mammy. By the way, the fact that the wife stays at home has everything to do with the surreal cost of childcare. For it to be worthwhile for her to go out working as well she should clear about 3k a month if you throw the cost of childcare into the calculation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

i gat paid monthly and some moneths i can have money left over other months ive spent it all in 1 weeek and i have to borrow for the other 3 then pay back at the end of month.

School needs new classrooms, depending solely on the dept of education for them means my grandchildren might not even have them.

there's no uncertainty there. they will not have them without parents funding

sligo? limerick? etc..

I mentioned in the last post Dublin.
    Same as Seamus I only spend about 20 euro on a normal day (without going out).

there's no uncertainty there. they will not have them without parents funding

So much for free education.
    What really pisses me off is when some Goverment gob ****e preaches that our economy is the envy of Europe / World. utter bollocks talk.:mad:

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    What the fvck are you spending 600 a month on? My initial reaction was bingeing, but you've ruled that out. Is the a class 1 brothel in Cavan we don't know about?

And the brother on 15 grand...?! He must have some serious materialistic needs.

Haha, well he has found himself a new missus and she has two sprogs so i am sure they get spoilt rotten but yea, he is extremely generous with money, he doesn't seem to any willpower at all, also he is paying around 5 of that on renting a house in dublin.

dunno, i suppose if i calc it out, its fairly obvious. i just dont see cash disappearing. im just useless at it. i was just wandering cud other people retain theirs.

i suppose if i work it out (i have done this loads of times before, i end up economising for about a week and then revert back to me old ways).

fairly average approx weekly:

Diesel... 30
    food(home)... approx 75
    cigs..........................78.75 (average pack and half/day)
    lunch/sandwiches........50 (sandwiches@4.50, lunch@5.50)
    rent..........................112.50
    newspapers/mags..app..20
    coal/briquettes............35
    anon house products....30
    cans/wine for da fridge..40 (about 2 6packs and 2 bots wine- i do hav friends)

so thats roughly 470.
    thats disregarding car tax and insurance/ any repairs, clothes, very rare weekend out in pubs/taxis!..and esb/gas.
    i always wait till my tax/insurance is due and end up paying for it out of my wage instead of paying a bit by every week..doh! also i pay my rent monthly and some weeks dont put a bit by and end up paying the full 450 out of my wage once a month.. this then leaves me borrowing off people till the next thur!

i can see where it goes, im just ****e at managing it. i need a girlfriend thats good at accounts... with red hair..and rides like sea-biscuit!

i need a girlfriend thats good at accounts... with red hair..and rides like sea-biscuit!

Don't we all! Looks like the fags are what's killing you, in more ways then one :)

Average month,not counting holidays. Xmas etc.

Food / groceries 1,000
    Mortgage/Life insurance 1,250
    Medical bills 1,200
    Diesel 400
    Car and Van repayments 620
    Wine 200
    spends/papers/lottery 250
    Tax/ Insurance car / van 140
    misl 400

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

where does it go?????

You drink it. You eat it. Stop buying the same brand of cheese because of Brand Loyalty; quit buying so much drink in the pubs/clubs. Get your meat from the butchers and become a bargain hunter. 2 for 1 cheese? Brilliant. Half price pizzas? Maybe I wont buy that steak so.

I'm a college student and I can only wish I were drinking once a week. Us lucky few. Time to rationalize buddy: you will never (EVER) have enough money for everything you want. Decisions have to be made. Plan your expenses more than 2 hours in advance. Take more money from the ATM less often: try withdrawing all of the cash you are going to spend on all of your weekly expenses and hide the card until payday. The shrinking wallet will play on your mind and eventually you will have money leftover*.

*do not mix this with alcohol. May cause drowziness and/or poverty. consult with a physician; always read the label.

And try to cut back on smoking. Buy bulk cartons. etc. its shocking to think that at the moment you smoke more than you eat. You'd actually be better off to Ryanair yourself over to spain next weekend (have a good time of course) and come back with cheap cartons of cigarettes. Alternatively: Chinese restaurants/take-aways. We will never figure out who their supplier is but they Always have dirt cheap cigarette imports.

]

Fairplay to ya, I don't know anyone personally.....who is able to this for under 30k a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

dunno, i suppose if i calc it out, its fairly obvious. i just dont see cash disappearing. im just useless at it. i was just wandering cud other people retain theirs.

i suppose if i work it out (i have done this loads of times before, i end up economising for about a week and then revert back to me old ways).

fairly average approx weekly:

Diesel... 30
    food(home)... approx 75
    cigs..........................78.75 (average pack and half/day)
    lunch/sandwiches........50 (sandwiches@4.50, lunch@5.50)
    rent..........................112.50
    newspapers/mags..app..20
    coal/briquettes............35
    anon house products....30
    cans/wine for da fridge..40 (about 2 6packs and 2 bots wine- i do hav friends)

so thats roughly 470.
    thats disregarding car tax and insurance/ any repairs, clothes, very rare weekend out in pubs/taxis!..and esb/gas.
    i always wait till my tax/insurance is due and end up paying for it out of my wage instead of paying a bit by every week..doh! also i pay my rent monthly and some weeks dont put a bit by and end up paying the full 450 out of my wage once a month.. this then leaves me borrowing off people till the next thur!

i can see where it goes, im just ****e at managing it. i need a girlfriend thats good at accounts... with red hair..and rides like sea-biscuit!

Yeah, get a firlfriend - that'll strengthend your finanaical position :p:D

Seriously,

Cigs 75
    Sandwiches 50
    Mags 20

That's nearlly 150 a week I'd be ahead of you in that position. Cut back on the fags, make your sandwiches at home and waht do you read that you can't print out from the net anyway? get a good book for a tenner and you'll get a week out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

jimbo78 wrote: »
    A hugh amount of my wages goes into my car.
    When you add up car loan, tax, insurance, fuel, servicing, car wash, repairs, tolls it takes a fair chunk out of your cash.
    I think Im going to start walking

+1, it breaks my heart to put petrol in the thing not to mind tax, insurance, maintenance etc. I'd be financially better off without the thing but then I'd have to walk like a damn peasant :p

cornbb wrote: »
    +1, it breaks my heart to put petrol in the thing not to mind tax, insurance, maintenance etc. I'd be financially better off without the thing but then I'd have to walk like a damn peasant :p

That, or buy a hybrid like a peasent hippy

cornbb wrote: »

Ah, but us peasants would have more money than you... whatever you become when you buy a car. Other than broke.

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Yeah, get a firlfriend - that'll strengthend your finanaical position :p:D

Seriously,

Cigs 75
    Sandwiches 50
    Mags 20

That's nearlly 150 a week I'd be ahead of you in that position. Cut back on the fags, make your sandwiches at home and waht do you read that you can't print out from the net anyway? get a good book for a tenner and you'll get a week out of it.

ah the fags!!
    makin sandwiches at home? sometimes i do, every week varies for me. sometimes im on early shifts..6-2 no way i could make sambos at 5 in the morn, i couldnt be arsed makin them night before. sometimes im on lates 2-12, i get a dinner before i go into work and usually make sambos for later on.

newspapers everyday are a must.. crosswords, etc. i dont have use of computer at work.

as for suggestions to buy in bulk, buy cheap foods etc.... i do! lidl is my shop. i get the cheapest stuff going. i suppose thats why i spoil myself with a 4.50 sambo pre-made. im such a hedonist!

BTW im not crying poverty or anything, im just amazed at how crap i am with money. on the other side, sometimes if i do a load of overtime and a few nixers, actually manage to pay rent on time, car tax paid etc.. i often then splash out on cool ****,, eg i bought pc,modem, printer fancy monitor etc in 2 payments without feeling any pinch. bought a rifle the other week without feeling any pinch, bought set uilleann pipes couple year ago..no probs, yet other times im feckin skint! i just wouldnt be able to plan my yearly account stuff.
    that would be feckin borin anyway!
    i went to see about gettin a mortgage last year. the lass at the ebs had her work cut out for her trying to figure out my incomes/outgoings/savings etc. turns out theyd be happy to throw me a not too bad mortgage.

but **** it all........ no pockets in a shroud!

as to gettin financial advice from a student.... im 38 now going on 14! ive been working full time/living on my own since i was 17! i just will never be able to manage money. im not a money person!... machines yes! money no!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

having friends who are on the dole is great, can go out any night unlike you nitty working stiffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

No, it's spent on cds the day I get it, but I'm young and free so it's ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

I'm just shocked at a cavan man that manages to spend 450 quid a week.
    I know people from cavan that would get the year out of that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭HoLLLLLaments

i spend too much money on drugs. Im rich tho so its cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Sometimes I'm not too bad, but sometimes I just can't make it blimmin last :o
    Twas worse when I was paid monthly!

as opposed to being paid WEAKLY (weekly geddit!)!