Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chelt Day 1

• 10-03-2008 8:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭

I thought we should have a thread for each day. Feel free to delete.
    Looked at first four races tomorrow, no decisions yet, but thought I'd throw up my thoughts!

Looking at horses than ran before at chelt. and can run on softish ground.
    Ideally a horse that has won before.
    I'm listing the horses I considered paying particular attention to odds and then my selection.

novice hurdle
    calgary bay
    cork all star
    pigeon island
    quartano
    Snap Tie
    Sophocles
    Lemon Silk

Calgary Bay

The Arkle
    Lislingtaylor
    moon over miami
    Noland
    ring the boss
    scotsirish
    tidal bay

ring the boss

champion hurdle
    Catch Me
    Harchibald
    Kachit
    Osana
    Punjabi
    SE
    Sublimity

Tempted to leave out better here. Catch Me and Harchibald stick out to me. Going to go for higher odds with Catch Me.

William Hill trophy
    Monkerhostin
    Fundamentalist
    New Alco
    LAMI
    An Accordian
    Ofarel D'Airy
    Mon Mome

Fundamentalist or Ofarel D'Airy
    going for Ofarel D'Airy

I've no opinion on last 2 races. Not gonna bother with them.

A 11euro yankee on my choices and the following singles

bearing in mind PP special for 2nd to SP fav

novice hurdle
    Calgary Bay
    WIN 1E @ 90.0 or Betfair SP
    PLACE 5E @ 11.0 PP, 4 places

The Arkle
    ring the boss
    WIN 3E @ 10.0 PP (for special)
    PLACE 4E @ 3.75 or Betfair SP

champion hurdle
    Catch Me
    WIN 5E @ 10.0 PP (for special)

William Hill trophy
    Ofarel D'Airy
    PLACE 4E @ 6.6 or Betfair SP
    WIN 3E @ 16.5 Betfair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Might as well get people to post their selections, no need to write up a thesis, just go with your fancies :) Lets face it, all the horses are class, they are all trying and theres no such thing as a tip at Cheltenham !

200- Supreme Novices - Pigeon Island

235 - Arkle - Noland

315 - Champion Hurdle - Harchibald

400 - William Hill Trophy - Monkerhostin

440 - Cross Country - Heads on the ground

520 -Fred Winter - Ashkazar

I've done a canadian on 5 of these, pays €11K if it comes in LOL. Best of luck folks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭BobbyD10

14.00 Pasco

14.35 Thyne Again

15.15 Osana

16.00 Monkehostin
    (my best chance)

16.40 Royal Auclair

17.20 Crack Away Jack

Good luck all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭roakey

my pics for tuesdays racing

supreme novices-captain cee bee

arkle-lesling taylor

champ hurdle-osana

will hill trophy-l'ami

cross country-le duc

juve novices hurdle- river liane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Kinda32

My picks for Tuesday

Supreme Novices: Pigeon Island
    Arkle: Ring the boss
    Champ Hurdle: Osana
    Will Hill: Mon Mome
    Cross Country: Wonderkid
    Fred Winter: Ashkazar / Harry Tricker (e/w)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Here's my punts for tomorrow

Novice Hurdle
    Khyber Kim

Arkle
    Thyne again

Champion Hurdle
    Sublimity

William Hill chase
    King Harald
    Lankawi

Cross Country Chase
    Garde Champetre

Good luck to all ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 dgrif88

only 3 bets for me tomorrow.
    2.00=pasco ew @20s
    2.35=noland @9/4 with lads
    3.15=harchibald @ 8/1 with betfair.

good luck all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Here's my girlie Heinz 57 should keep the lads laughing for quite a while. Us silly women donating to the good cause that is Paddypower

2:00 SUPREME NOVICES' HURDLE
    Blue Bajan @ 28 - 1

2:35 IRISH INDEPENDENT ARKLE CHASE
    French Accordion @ 20 - 1

3:15 SMURFIT CHAMPION HURDLE
    Afsoun @ 25 - 1

4:00 WILLIAM HILL HANDICAP CHASE
    Abragante @ 9 - 1 (Guaranteed Price)

4:40 BGC CROSS COUNTRY CHASE
    Harrycone Lewis @ 33 - 1

5:20 FRED WINTER H'CAP HURDLE
    Crack Away Jack @ 10 - 1

Bet Type: Heinz (each-way)
    Stake per Line: €0.10
    Number of Lines: 114
    Stake: €11.40
    Tax: 0.0
    Potential Returns: €1,000,000.00

It was my late uncles favourite bet and i do it for a laugh...probably better odds than the lottery though :D

Best of luck tomorrow lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

€10 stake On A Double

noland @ 2/1
    Sizzing Europe @ 9/4

Potential Returns : €97.50:D:D:D:D Feeling Good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Da Bomber

14.00 Deep Purple

14.35 Ring The Boss

15.15 Osana

Fundamentalist

16.40 Wonderkid

17.20 Prince Erik

themadchef wrote: »
    Here's my girlie Heinz 57 should keep the lads laughing for quite a while. Us silly women donating to the good cause that is Paddypower

Blue Bajan @ 28 - 1

2:35 IRISH INDEPENDENT ARKLE CHASE
    French Accordion @ 20 - 1

Afsoun @ 25 - 1

4:00 WILLIAM HILL HANDICAP CHASE
    Abragante @ 9 - 1 (Guaranteed Price)

4:40 BGC CROSS COUNTRY CHASE
    Harrycone Lewis @ 33 - 1

5:20 FRED WINTER H'CAP HURDLE
    Crack Away Jack @ 10 - 1

Bet Type: Heinz (each-way)
    Stake per Line: €0.10
    Number of Lines: 114
    Stake: €11.40
    Tax: 0.0
    Potential Returns: €1,000,000.00

It was my late uncles favourite bet and i do it for a laugh...probably better odds than the lottery though :D

Best of luck tomorrow lads

do they all have to win or just get placed

robdcu wrote: »
    €10 stake On A Double

noland @ 2/1
    Sizzing Europe @ 9/4

Potential Returns : €97.50:D:D:D:D Feeling Good

decent bet, might do that one myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Deep Purple 23/1

Catch Me 12.5/1

From reading here and listening to dodgy tips from friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭johnnysmurfman

My tip is Harchibald to be out of the first 3. I think this is possibly lay of the century. I can pick at least 5 horses who are miles ahead of him on the book and he needs to pull out a top drawer performance to even be placed. I'm not backing anything to win the race, but I think Sizing Europe is a very worth favourite and I'd give him every chance. Harchibald is quite simply very much past his best and he'll be found out today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

I do like the look of deep purple in the first.
    Ive fancied him for a while, and havent backed him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

My tip is Harchibald to be out of the first 3. I think this is possibly lay of the century. I can pick at least 5 horses who are miles ahead of him on the book and he needs to pull out a top drawer performance to even be placed. I'm not backing anything to win the race, but I think Sizing Europe is a very worth favourite and I'd give him every chance. Harchibald is quite simply very much past his best and he'll be found out today.

This is possible the biggest garbage ive read here this festival, you cant find 5 horses ahead of him because on the book he has performances that are ahead of the rest of the field by a considerable amount. The only thing that could stop him is the ground, if not nothing will beat him by more than a couple of lengths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Rippling Ring in the first. Thought his first run was impressive and Nicholls has talked him up big time in the RP today.

Opposing Noland, too short for what he has done. Going with Hobbs' Ring the Boss (little coincidence double with ring in the first also :))

Sizing europe - for obvious reasons.

Askazar in the last. Cooper's horse could prove a real danger but I had a nice bet on Askazar on Sat so he owes me nothing.

Good luck all and enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭mickc

Da Bomber wrote: »
    14.00 Deep Purple

14.35 Ring The Boss

15.15 Osana

these are my first 3 bets also.

great minds and all that

while noland is very hard to oppose on what I've seen so far the price is a bit too skinny for me

depending on how the first 2 run today I'll probably be backing breedsbreeze tomorrow

Ive just read Trainbairns bets:

Pasco - supreme Novices
    Ebaziyan - CH
    Moon Over Miami - Arkle
    Bob Hall - WH
    Jacks Craic - XC

Cant remember last one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Yosserh

Here mine for today!

Clopf 8/1 Arkle
    Kyber Kim 7/1 (Supreme Novices)
    Osana (11/2) CH
    Prince Erik (10/1) Fred Winters

Good luck one and all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭johnnysmurfman

mdwexford wrote: »
    This is possible the biggest garbage ive read here this festival, you cant find 5 horses ahead of him because on the book he has performances that are ahead of the rest of the field by a considerable amount. The only thing that could stop him is the ground, if not nothing will beat him by more than a couple of lengths.

I'm talking about recent form, he has none of any note. Anyway, you disagree and that's fair enough, we'll know after the race, but I have laid him for the place at 13/8 and 7/4 to lose in excess of 900 euro, I think he's past it and will be retired after he runs a stinker, but that's just my opinion and I accept yours too. My bet of the Festival is Carruthers and I've taken 5/1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

but I have laid him for the place at 13/8 and 7/4 to lose in excess of 900 euro.
    Fair play, you've put your money where your mouth is.

Yeah aside from the Grade 1 hurdle he won in December he has none :rolleyes:

You better pray that ground is too soft for him sir or i fear you will not be a happy man after the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭poppers

For what its worth here is my pick.

2-00 pigeon island
    2-35 colpf
    4-00 monkerhostin
    5-20 river liane

e/w lucky 15

Sizing europe for the champion hurdle.

think i'll do Sizing Europe to beat osana as the free PP forecast bet in the star.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭ChuckProphet

my 2p worth:

2.00 Cork all star
    2.35 Noland
    3.15 Harchibald (tho gonna wait to see what the ground's like first before deciding)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭Jollyman

Pigeon Island
    Clopf
    Straw Bear
    Ollie Magern
    Garde Champetre
    Grand Schlem

My novelty bet for today some strange choices i know but it is something to watch! €0.02 lucky 63 returns €168,566.71

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

2.00 Captain Cee Bee

2.35 Moon over Miami

3.15 Ebaziyan

5.20 River Liane

Have €0.5 Yankee riding on these four...

Will prob do a few singles later too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Maradema in the Arkle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭shrapnel222

meriwether wrote: »
    Ive just read Trainbairns bets:

Pasco - supreme Novices
    Ebaziyan - CH
    Moon Over Miami - Arkle
    Bob Hall - WH
    Jacks Craic - XC

Cant remember last one.

same plus western point in the 520

and ofarel d'airy in the WH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

What happens my e/w Canadian that had King Harald in it, he is now an NR.

I had 5 horseys in 5 races but now i will just have 4...

Anyone know if the whole bet is void or what?

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭will1977

THIS ONE JUST FOR A BIT OF FUN AND AN INTEREST

2.00 Cheltenham - Supr...
    Pasco [EW] 14/1

2.35 Cheltenham - Arkl...
    Moon Over Miami [EW] 16/1

4.00 Cheltenham - Will...
    Bob Hall [EW] 14/1

3.15 Cheltenham - Cham...
    Ebaziyan [EW] 20/1

Stake (USD)
    Standard combo @ USD 1.00 1.00
    6 Doubles @ USD 1.00 6.00
    4 Trebles @ USD 1.00 4.00

Number of bets 11
    Possible payout USD 101307.00

Have 100 e/w on Harchibald as my big bet today;)

What happens my e/w Canadian that had King Harald in it, he is now an NR.

I had 5 horseys in 5 races but now i will just have 4...

Anyone know if the whole bet is void or what?

thanks
    He's treated as a non-runner.

If my memory serves me correctly, a Canadian is a Lucky 31 minus the singles.

So, the stakes with KH in it will be divided among the other stakes.
    Your 5 timer becomes a 4 timer, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

haven't got a bean about Horse-Racing really, but in the opener i stumped for:

Binocular @9-1
    Deep Purple EW@20-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,817 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Roll-up in local boozer:
    02:00 Captain Cee Bee
    02:35 Noland
    03:15 Osana (Nap)
    04:00 Bob Hall
    04:40 Native Jack
    05:20 River Liane

Bookies
    (All E/W Bets)

02:00 Pasco (16/1)
    03:15 Ebazyian (40/1)
    04:00 Bob Hall (16)
    04:40 Native Jack (33/1)

Lucky 15
    02:00 Pasco
    02:35 Moon Over Miami
    03:15 Ebazyian
    04:00 Bob Hall

Good luck folks!

My Selections :

Muirhead
    Noland
    Osana (NAP)
    Abragante
    Wonderkid
    Ashkazar

Also Harchibald to be placed @ 6/4

I havent been this excited since this time last year :eek::D:eek:

And they're off.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

2:00 SUPREME NOVICES' HURDLE 2m 1/2f
    11th of March 2008 2:00pm
    Win or Each Way
    Each Way Odds: 1/4 places 1,2,3,4
    Tranquil Sea @ 19.00

5 euro

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

1st 3 Captain Cee Bee
    2nd 22 Binocular
    3rd 16 Snap Tie

Captain Cee Bee home first.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭fatal

captain cee bee wins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

I had snap tie for the place in the first, only small profit though cos I had pigeon island for the win and he bombed.

Going to go EW on Moon Over Miami in the next, Don't fancy Noland at current price (although I wouldn't lay it either).

First two looked very good, Binocular could be some horse next year when he strengthens up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

thewools wrote: »
    2.00 Captain Cee Bee

2.35 Moon over Miami

3.15 Ebaziyan

5.20 River Liane

Have €0.5 Yankee riding on these four...

Will prob do a few singles later too...

One down... next one should go well!!

Dont think it will win however, Ebaziyan hasnt a chance in my eye but heres to hoping, just need one more for a bit of money back!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭kenco

First two very impressive indeed and should come on nicely. Interestingly Ted Walsh reckons the winner could over fences next year...

Pasco last apparently. Pigeon Island very dissappointing

kenco wrote: »
    Pasco last apparently. Pigeon Island very dissappointing

Pasco 2nd last.

Pigeon Island was out of gas coming round the bend :( They went a fair aul lick in fairness. I thought Geraghty had it coming round the bend then the front two clicked another gear and he was left standing :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

Aggh! First year i'm not watching/listening to it live....
    Keep the updates coming please.

i miss taking the week off college!!!!:D

I'm being drawn to Marodima here at 33/1 :eek:

Yep I have a few quid on him Sizzler good E/W value imo

Oh hell, Moon over Miami each way it is or possibly Ring the Boss.

Feck it I missed the off. :(

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭kenco

moon over miami and mahog blaze for the place

RP reports noland sweating up