Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Allan Dillon...I mean Gibbons - Hero and Jude Ainsworth: Rubbish?

• 10-03-2008 10:35am

One of the all time speech play comments ever has to go to Mr.Gibbons (or is that Dillon) after last night's display:

"3 grand isn't gonna make much difference in my life"

Hero?

Also: Jude Ainsworth gets AA twice against big hands and both times the other player escapes and then when Gibbo shoves with A-8 he calls with the miracle A-9.

Is he bad and lucky or has the coverage done him no justice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

One of the all time speech play comments ever has to go to Mr.Gibbons (or is that Dillon) after last night's display:

"3 grand isn't gonna make much difference in my life"

Hero?

Alan uses that line all the time. I've heard him say it at a myriad of final tables. Obviously Jude didn't know who Alan was and was treating him like a noob so Alan corrected his mistaken impression.
    Also: Jude Ainsworth gets AA twice against big hands and both times the other player escapes and then when Gibbo shoves with A-8 he calls with the miracle A-9.

Is he bad and lucky or has the coverage done him no justice?

Whatever about not maximising the value with his big hands, which I think is very hard to comment on based on a severely edited tv show I thought it was a fairly standard call with A9. Alan is desperate and on the button. A9 is plenty good against his range here with a price to call.

P.S. Just to confirm his name is Alan Gibbons and he's been a pro for a long time.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

how about the first time Ainsworth had aces, the other player asked what he had, Ainsworth goes "you'll have to pay to see them", how clear was it that he had aces? I know it's easier to call it when you see the cards.

BTW, well done Smurph, even getting Boards a mention :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Clareman wrote: »
    how about the first time Ainsworth had aces, the other player asked what he had, Ainsworth goes "you'll have to pay to see them", how clear was it that he had aces? I know it's easier to call it when you see the cards.

BTW, well done Smurph, even getting Boards a mention :)

Great fold by Alan Gibbons, with the Jacks. He was short stacked but didn't let that effect him...

Also top class fold by Mick McCool with Queens......

I could have sworn that Mick McCool flopped 2 pair in my hand against him (note to self "never stand up when all in and do the stupid american "Yahoo" when get miracle card on river)....... sigh

ollyk1 wrote: »
    P.S. Just to confirm his name is Alan Gibbons and he's been a pro for a long time.

Sorry Olly, I actually know Gibbo. I wasn't implying he was anything but a hero, and a tough tough man to have at your table.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

Is this the Alan Gibbons-once a regular in fabled jack yahmaha game?How much he get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Does he play in the Jackpot the odd time (I imagine yes if Kayroo knows him :D), I think I know him so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

Spent several hours sat across from Alan on Saturday night in the SE, strangley i only started winning after he left.

Mellor wrote: »
    Does he play in the Jackpot the odd time (I imagine yes if Kayroo knows him :D), I think I know him so.

He plays there less and less lately. The fabled yamaha games of old having dried up he has foregone the jackpot hold 'em. Top man though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭carrigeen

Alan is a very good player, but to call jude rubbish or that the coverage sho wed him to be rubbish is way off the mark,

i thought he palyed the aces fine (super lay down by mccool) and the a8 a9 hand how is that a miracle call . Alan was shortstacked on the button and pushed ,a9 is well in the range for calling.

his record speaks for himself

p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

ollyk1 wrote: »

Whatever about not maximising the value with his big hands, which I think is very hard to comment on based on a severely edited tv show I thought it was a fairly standard call with A9. Alan is desperate and on the button. A9 is plenty good against his range here with a price to call.

I agree, the A9 call was fine.

And the play in general is hard to analyze as the production is so poor (although in most cases the play does seem bad, but I'm not talking about Jude Ainsworth here though). It's really hard to know what's going on. I'm sure the general Irish poker playing public think it's fine though.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

smurph wrote: »
    I could have sworn that Mick McCool flopped 2 pair in my hand against him (note to self "never stand up when all in and do the stupid american "Yahoo" when get miracle card on river)....... sigh

You'll have to do it at the WSOP this year ;)

Sorry Carigeen I may have given a false impression in my opening post about what I think about Jude. I really have no opinion on him whatsoever.

I never called the 9 a miracle, I meant it was a lucky hand. Everytime someone has QQ he has AA. Gibbo shoves with A-8 and he has A-9. The tv coverage made him lucky very lucky and not particularly good. For all I know he is world class. I was asking on this forum so that I might find out, while at the same time showing my love for the Gibbon's (Dillon) speech play :P I meant no offence to Ainsworth's game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Requiem4adream

Jude is quality, simple as that. I watched it last night - it's very results based thinking for the criticism of the "you'll have to pay to see them". He can, would and has said the same line whilst holding junk, if it induces the same action then great. The comment only looks bad because a) he has Aces and b) McCool makes a super laydown. If he has AQ and McCool lays QQ then it looks like super reverse psychology.

Imo you have to take tv poker with a pinch of salt , especially the way it's edited. I got the dvd's from last years World Cup of Poker, it'll be on the box in a few weeks i think. I played very well for the whole day over there (bar 1 hand v Negreanu i made a mathematically dodgy call, cant wait for HJ to see it :)) and the way it's edited doesnt reflect that. e.g. the 1st hand they show me play my stack is 11k (starting stacks 5k), they say im playing great but dont show 1 hand up to then :confused:

Both Alan and Jude are dead sound and both very good at poker! I think bowling is Alans priority nowadays, meant to be class at it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

Is alan gibbons blondeish and overweight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭ZZR1100

Jude is quality, simple as that. I watched it last night - it's very results based thinking for the criticism of the "you'll have to pay to see them". He can, would and has said the same line whilst holding junk, if it induces the same action then great. The comment only looks bad because a) he has Aces and b) McCool makes a super laydown. If he has AQ and McCool lays QQ then it looks like super reverse psychology.

!

i think he just looked bad by saying u have to to pay to see them as McCool obviously took that to mean a pocket pair and made a v good laydown based on that but "them" could just as easily mean his cards.
    personally i think u should just keep your mouth shut.
    the guy who held the AK against OLearys 88 practically told him his hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

I think bowling is Alans priority nowadays, meant to be class at it!

lol, he's the last person you should bowl against for money.

ZZR1100 wrote: »
    personally i think u should just keep your mouth shut.

I totally agree with this. I don't know any player who should get involved in speech play. And didn't yer man McCool lay down a set to Jayminator's bluff after some speech play? Maybe it was a different tournament though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Flipper

deleted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

I totally agree with this. I don't know any player who should get involved in speech play. And didn't yer man McCool lay down a set to Jayminator's bluff after some speech play? Maybe it was a different tournament though.

that was Michael Muldoon, totally different person.

Oops, you are correct sir.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

I managed to see all all the hole cards on every hand played at the final table and Jude was by far the best player regardless of the fact that he picked up most of the big hands. The hand where he paid off Gibbon's trips was really poor though.

Alan Gibbon's is an irritating ****-face that I just wants to punch. If you all saw how often he took to fold T-4o, Q-6o etc. pre-flop after two minutes of childish pathetic speech play you all would too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 571 ✭✭✭smoothcall

NickyOD wrote: »

Alan Gibbon's is an irritating ****-face that I just wants to punch. If you all saw how often he took to fold T-4o, Q-6o etc. pre-flop after two minutes of childish pathetic speech play you all would too.

**** off. gibbons a champ.

And you wonder why the Marcel Luske thread turned personal? GTFO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Thats a bit below the belt alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

I've always had a lot of respect for Alan, no need for those comments Nicky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

I managed to see all all the hole cards on every hand played at the final table and Jude was by far the best player regardless of the fact that he picked up most of the big hands. The hand where he paid off Gibbon's trips was really poor though.

trip report?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

presume yer joking Nicky?, as the antics you describe are pretty common...surely you've seen worse than this at the table . I think you need to be more creative with the ol banter as I don't get this....:confused:

maybe you are serious ? get up the yard if so..:rolleyes:

Is alan gibbons blondeish and overweight?

That comment not gonna win any awards either.

tact (tkt)
    n.
    1. Acute sensitivity to what is proper and appropriate in dealing with others, including the ability to speak or act without offending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

Alan Gibbons is a class player and I have always found him to be a gentleman both on and off the table in the four years I have played poker in the same clubs. Surprised by Nicky's remarks above, to say the least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭AKQJ10

Gibbo is the man, taught me alot about roulette and various other house games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

kpnuts wrote: »
    Alan Gibbons is a class player and I have always found him to be a gentleman both on and off the table in the four years I have played poker in the same clubs. Surprised by Nicky's remarks above, to say the least.

Agreed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭58o

kpnuts wrote: »

Agreed, always a good laugh at the table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

lol I didn't think anyone would disagree with me that Alan is great but if it had to be anyone I suppose it should be Nicky.

Wft>?.Alan is a top man and a great player. All the guys who are saying this ARE people who have played countless hands against him. You clown. Ill bash you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

jbravado wrote: »
    Wft>?.Alan is a top man and a great player. All the guys who are saying this ARE people who have played countless hands against him. You clown. Ill bash you.

Er? Chill the **** out Winston, no need for such comments.

Granted i could say the same about Nicky's, two wrongs etc etc.

I echo what's been said great man to have at the table and a true Gent (Providing you don't suckout on him :))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

Nicky its a bit harsh man, played with Alan numerous times and is sound.
    Nicky i wonder would you say this directly to Alan, more respect for you if you did as opposed to saying it on a public forum....!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

That comment not gonna win any awards either.

tact (tkt)
    n.
    1. Acute sensitivity to what is proper and appropriate in dealing with others, including the ability to speak or act without offending.

Life is too short to create euphemisms for every source of potential offence. Its not like I said he was poor, or something as horrible and pitiful as that.

Dictionary.com Unabridged (v 1.1) - Cite This Source - Share This
    poor /pʊər/ Pronunciation Key - Show Spelled Pronunciation[poor] Pronunciation Key - Show IPA Pronunciation adjective, -er, -est, noun
    –adjective
    1. having little or no money, goods, or other means of support: a poor family living on welfare.
    2. Law. dependent upon charity or public support.
    3. (of a country, institution, etc.) meagerly supplied or endowed with resources or funds.
    4. characterized by or showing poverty.
    5. deficient or lacking in something specified: a region poor in mineral deposits.
    6. faulty or inferior, as in construction: poor workmanship.
    7. deficient in desirable ingredients, qualities, or the like: poor soil.
    8. excessively lean or emaciated, as cattle.
    9. of an inferior, inadequate, or unsatisfactory kind: poor health.
    10. lacking in skill, ability, or training: a poor cook.
    11. deficient in moral excellence; cowardly, abject, or mean.
    12. scanty, meager, or paltry in amount or number: a poor audience.
    13. humble; modest: They shared their poor meal with a stranger.
    14. unfortunate; hapless: The poor dog was limping.

Everytime i start to think you might actually be ok deep down, you go and remind me otherwise.

Samba wrote: »

QUOTE]

Lol. Ill bash you too.

Pinch of salt obv.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

jbravado wrote: »
    Samba wrote: »

QUOTE]

Lol. Ill bash you too.

Pinch of salt obv.

Do none of you degenerates ever sleep!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

Nicky its a bit harsh man, played with Alan numerous times and is sound.
    Nicky i wonder would you say this directly to Alan, more respect for you if you did as opposed to saying it on a public forum....!

Nickys a bit of a Keyboard Warrior it seems.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I think Nicky's poor choice of language has him on his own in this one (and in future Nicky, surely it is possible to use less combative language).

Alan is a more than sound lad, good player and always a good laugh to have at the table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Alan gibbons is a gent Nicky, and he is the last person to trash people, so you really need to grow up a bit..... and take a good look at yourself in the mirror,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

Life is too short to create euphemisms for every source of potential offence. Its not like I said he was poor, or something as horrible and pitiful as that.

Dictionary.com Unabridged (v 1.1) - Cite This Source - Share This
    poor /pʊər/ Pronunciation Key - Show Spelled Pronunciation[poor] Pronunciation Key - Show IPA Pronunciation adjective, -er, -est, noun
    –adjective
    1. having little or no money, goods, or other means of support: a poor family living on welfare.
    2. Law. dependent upon charity or public support.
    3. (of a country, institution, etc.) meagerly supplied or endowed with resources or funds.
    4. characterized by or showing poverty.
    5. deficient or lacking in something specified: a region poor in mineral deposits.
    6. faulty or inferior, as in construction: poor workmanship.
    7. deficient in desirable ingredients, qualities, or the like: poor soil.
    8. excessively lean or emaciated, as cattle.
    9. of an inferior, inadequate, or unsatisfactory kind: poor health.
    10. lacking in skill, ability, or training: a poor cook.
    11. deficient in moral excellence; cowardly, abject, or mean.
    12. scanty, meager, or paltry in amount or number: a poor audience.
    13. humble; modest: They shared their poor meal with a stranger.
    14. unfortunate; hapless: The poor dog was limping.

I'm overweight AND poor...and now I'm reminded of both. :(

Dan, this is hardly worth mentioning really, since when do us blokes mind being called fat bast'ds .....never mind overweight....THe blonde comment was out of order though.

btw. Do you (or anyone) give snooker lessons?, I believe you are sht hot. I'm very poor, not once above 50 and I've a mate that needs cutting down to size...
    PM me if you are a snooker coach type person.....I can return with guitar lessons or Yoyos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭William Money

I have just read NIckys blog as I wanted some background before responding.
    (i dont know the guy and have never played with him)
    I was not unsurprised to learn that his blog is quite negative. He is struggling with his game (tilt and emotional control seem to be the nmain problems)
    and is obviously very frustrated and pissed off

I dont know why he would post such an angry and unjustified comment
    The insulting and violent nature of it is to use his own words childish and pathetic.

I know Alan having played with him for a few years. Hes a really nice fella
    and a very good player.
    I doubt very much if he will dignify Nickys "comment" with a reply.

NIcky should take his own advice and definitely take a break from the
    game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭5pin5

al the man love having him at the table.asfor his bowling best in the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

Getting back to the OP. I've played Jude many times and he is a fine player. It was no surprise to anyone in the West that he won the event. Also Martin Silke is from Mayo not NI. [Don't know where they got the impression he's from Bambridge] Gibbo is sound. - But as for speech play - Surely O'Leary wins the prize for his pocket 8s against the young Fagin. Fagin was lost as soon as he looked back at his cards - Why? Because he looked at both of them [Individually] which would be a heavy hint to O'Leary that he was facing overs. Therefore allowing O'Leary to get away from a flop of overs but to shove on a 992 flop.

Have to say I'm enjoying the coverage - Less than perfect but then that's true of all poker coverage.