Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cryotherapy?

• 08-03-2008 12:12am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭

hi

just saw there that this treatment is available in wexford. anyone ever undergo it and would recommend it?

for those who dont know what it is, its where u are in a chamber at -110 degrees celsius for 3 mins and then u get on an exercise back straight after to get heart rate up again. apparenlty the irish rugby players use this treatment

thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

I did it a couple of weeks ago. I wasn't injured so I can't comment about that aspect of it but my mate who I went down with said it improved the healing of his back injury and there was also a guy there with a torn hamstring who said his time out was reduced from 10 weeks to 7/8 weeks from several cryo sessions.

It's not that bad in the chamber, don't move your arms too fast though, I burnt mine! And just focus on your breathing at the start. I found it easy to take big breaths but the coldness of it made it feel like I wasn't taking in any air :confused: Kind of scary but just suck it up and you soon get used to it.

Myself and the other lads doing it at the time also got a free physio session! I don't know if that's standard, it might just have been because there was a 4th year physio student on work placement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Other than to help heal injuries, what are the benefits Trib'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭JayRoc

Yep, I'd highly recommend it. It aids recovery to an incredible extent.
    Did three fairly tough workouts in between cryo sessions across the day and no hint of the usual DOMS afterward. It also helped with the knee injury of one of our party, and my own ankle.

It's not to be taken lightly, though.
    Most of the girls got frostbite around the ankles and a couple of them still have slight scarring from it, and the oldest of our group (40's) took the whole thing quite hard,physically.

Still, it was a brilliant buzz. Plan to do it again.

(Gotta say though, Trib's a double-hard bastard. It was extremely tough in that chamber!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭spiral

Out of interest how much per session ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

And is there a webpage? Any links?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

http://www.whitesofwexford.ie/ click on leisure.

There's loads of benefits apparently. From helping inflammation to skin disease, bronchitis etc. I however am the picture of health lol so I just did it for the craic with my mate.

To be fair some people are just affected by it more than others. The other lad who was there at the same time had to really force himself to stay in there and was shivering uncontrollably afterwards while we were fine really, so I don't know if it's down to hardness! (Thanks Jayroc though lol)

I found the 2nd and 3rd session tougher on my legs (they start stinging and get real heavy) and my eyes but the breathing was fine so it was more comfortable.