Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheltenham Outsider Tips

• 06-03-2008 3:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27

Ok people lets forget about Denman and Kato at even money.

Lets make ourselves some real money.

Who do ye fancy as Outsiders for the Festival over 20/1?

It has served me well the last 3 years going for e/w outsiders.

I fancy Mascow Mai in the Foxhunters at 25's and Fair Along at 20s in the Champion Chase. 3 Years ago i had 2 40/1 winners Royal Predica true the rhy e/w at 66/1.

Lets break the bookies or try anyway :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭johnnysmurfman

Why does this require a seperate thread? Should somebody also start a "short priced favourites" thread, and a "Between 9/4 and 4/1" thread?? This is just tips for Cheltenham and should be in the Cheltenham thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Maggie Moo

Johnny your not the brightest, it is alot more fun winning on a horse at 30s then even money sorry if you have an issue with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭jimmyboy

Mansony e/w in champion chase & Helcon Genrlaidas(or howver u spell it) in gold cup (needs rain soon thpough!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭knighted

first day bets
    all each way

supreme -deep purple 14/1

arkle -french accordian 16/1

ch -devalera 25/1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 lilowlil

outsiders all the way..i fancy newmill in the queen mother you will get 20/1 at the min in powers and boyles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 doyler83

Good Cheltenham Bets:

Wichita Lineman 8's in the World Hurdle.

Calgary Bay 20's in the Supreme Novice

My NAP is Mossbank at 4's for the Ryanair

Listening to Cheltenham Preview last night....reckons start backing ante-post at this later stage....wait til the morning of the race before getting the money on.

Backed Kauto 30 mins after last years win at 2/1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Aye!!

Halcon Generalais has been cut from 40/1 to 25 by both Boylesports and Paddy Powers. I've also seen him tipped at a couple of preview nights and could be worth a look.

yea not a chance Kauto will get beat...wish i had of backed him after last years win...good on doyler

doyler83 wrote: »
    Good Cheltenham Bets:

Wichita Lineman 8's in the World Hurdle.

Calgary Bay 20's in the Supreme Novice

My NAP is Mossbank at 4's for the Ryanair

Listening to Cheltenham Preview last night....reckons start backing ante-post at this later stage....wait til the morning of the race before getting the money on.

Backed Kauto 30 mins after last years win at 2/1.

jes thanks for the tip i might lash him on each way.

Aye!! wrote: »
    Halcon Generalais has been cut from 40/1 to 25 by both Boylesports and Paddy Powers. I've also seen him tipped at a couple of preview nights and could be worth a look.

its suppose to piss all weekend so happy days for the rain

jimmyboy wrote: »
    Mansony e/w in champion chase & Helcon Genrlaidas(or howver u spell it) in gold cup (needs rain soon thpough!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Aye!!

lilowlil wrote: »
    its suppose to piss all weekend so happy days for the rain

todays racing post reported plenty of rain from saturday right through to thursday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 doyler83

Lost my preverbials Aran Concerto last year so hoping to win it all back on Forpadydeplaster in the Ballymore.... The Listener will love the soft ground if the rain comes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭jimmyboy

Was gonna mention him. Got for pady at 16's before his race at Leopardstown. Trainer said he will like the step up in trp and would really help if he gets soft ground.

Also like Silverburn in the Sunalliance and dear Villez in the Jewson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Frazzled

Halcon Generaldais is a good shout and I have backed him as well e/w

I cannot believe that people are suggesting French Accordion. He should be 40/1 at the very least.

Razor Royale could run very well in the Ballymore despite not appearing to finish his race on a few occasions at Cheltenham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Frazzled

I believe that Ruby rides De Valira.

Confirmed tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

i like the idea of this thread

there is typically so many upsets during cheltenham I always wonder why I didn't back more 'lively' outsiders

will make a good go of it this year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Maggie Moo

De Valira is a great call lads really fancy him and a nice price.

Keep them coming lets break the bookies :D

Frazzled wrote: »

I cannot believe that people are suggesting French Accordion. He should be 40/1 at the very least.

15-02-2008, 18:57 #87
    knighted

Adverts | Friends dont know if im missing something but why would mullins run his 'best' in a gowran bumper and not one of the more established routes to the chel bumper?
    any way your all backing the wrong horse as oscar dan dan should win the bumper 25/1
    doubling it e/w with devalira for the champion hurdle 25/1 and trebling e/w with french accordian for the arkle at 20/1

e/w will do me but should they win i wil be retiring

i suggested him the same way i tipped devalira weeks ago and sublimity last year
    i agree i would love him to be 40s but its the weakest arkle ive seen and he deserves to be in the reckoning especially if it comes up any way faster than good -cracking e/w bet imo

i posted also my first day e/w treble deep purple 14s french accordian 16s and devalera 20s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

De Valira hasnt a hope, hes a complete pig.

Crozan for the Grand Annual ;)

mdwexford wrote: »
    De Valira hasnt a hope, hes a complete pig.

Crozan for the Grand Annual ;)

i remember you last year slating sublimity ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭tubey

Christ. This forum knows fuk all about racing...some really terrible tips being thrown around. Halcon Generaldais??? The couch has a lot to answer for. The listener? Jesus! Newmill? Christ. Wichata Lineman? Ah for fcuks sake..

None of these horses will win...don't waste your money. I'm tired of being modest on this ****e hole of a forum...the time to be arrogant has arrived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

knighted wrote: »
    i remember you last year slating sublimity ;)

True enough sir :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

tubey wrote: »
    I was drunk last night..

1 week ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭Hatch99

I heard a whisper for Prince Erik in the last race on Tuesday, was 14s last weekend, only 7s now, apparently Weld fancies it bigtime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭midger

COCKLESHELL ROAD e/w @ 25/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Assuming it runs, Pigeon Island in the first race of the festival, a steal at 10's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭lintdrummer

De Valira gone now so thats that out the window. I'll be going e/w on Beau Michael in the Triumph. 35/2 on Bet Fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Catcher86

Got on Numide for the Supreme Novices' Hurdle at 12's before before his last run at Kempton, (Regretting that now).

I think deep purple at 14's in that race is probably the best e/w bet of the first day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

I backed the Paul Nicholls third string in the Gold Cup, Neptune Collognes, at 50s on Betfair. And I've laid Kauto Star. The prices on the top two in the betting are blinkering everyone to the chances of the rest of the field. The weather might be a factor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

kincsem wrote: »
    I backed the Paul Nicholls third string in the Gold Cup, Neptune Collognes, at 50s on Betfair. And I've laid Kauto Star. The prices on the top two in the betting are blinkering everyone to the chances of the rest of the field. The weather might be a factor.

I'm on Neptune Collognes too. My only ante post bet.
    Threw it on after his last outing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

My first bet placed today is for Sainte Kadette @50/1 David Pipes second string in the final race on day 1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭roakey

people mentioning sentry duty 12/1 and pasco 16/1 both e/w in the supreme novices hurdle

lesling taylor 12/1 and kruguyrova 10/1 both could be good e/w bets in the arkle

punjabi 20/1 e/w in the champion hurdle

siege of ennis 25/1 backing him just cos of the name. prob shoudnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Pineapple stu

I have a 10 each way on corskeagh royale running at 5;30wednesday i think. And im stiking another 10 each way on
    Dancing tornado running at 5;20 thursday .
    First one was in the 20's but now down to 16's
    second one is around the 20's as well.