Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National Student Poker Championship - New Thread

• 06-03-2008 1:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭

Just wanted to start a new thread on this as there are way too many posts to sift through for anyone reading about the tournament for the first time;

We are already filling up fast in terms of the number of players that have filled out registration forms (www.pokerireland.ie) so if you wish to take part in this tournament please register today (we will be giving all pre-registered players first option on all 400 available seats).....

I will be posting up a list of everyone that has fully pre-paid....I have to check the bank account but it is something like 80 players full paid up and ready to go for 5th April which is half decent at this stage.

If you would like me to call up to your college game to promote this tournament please don't hesitate to post here or email stephen@pokerireland.ie

To fill out a registration form for this tournament (to guarantee your place without any obligation) click here; http://www.pokerireland.ie/index.php/tournaments/tournament_entry/national_student_poker_championship_2008/

Ok here goes;

1. Tournament Organiser: Poker Ireland.
    2. Sponsors: Devilfish Gaming.com .
    3. Purpose: The event is commercial and the purpose of the tournament is to continue to build a platform for college poker in Ireland through this tournament and many more.
    4. Date; Saturday 5th April 2008.
    5. Location; Regency Airport Hotel, Swords Road, Dublin 9.(4star)
    6. Start Time; 11am sharp.
    7. Registration: Email stephen@pokerireland.ie and pay at any Bank of Ireland or Permanent TSB using an assigned personal registration no. (NB; You must pre-register to obtain your registration number and to get details of the account which you must lodge to).
    8. Pre-requisites; All players must register and pay before 12 noon on 4th April 2008. All players must agree to allow Poker Ireland to migrate your registration details to Devilfish Gaming (when their poker site launches over the coming months). Devilfish Gaming will then send you on some promotional material about their new site. PLEASE NOTE THAT EVEN IF THIS TOURNAMENT IS NOT FULL ON 4TH APRIL YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO PLAY IF YOU HAVEN'T PAID YOUR BUY-IN BEFORE THAT DATE. ENTRY FEES ARE FULLY REFUNDABLE BEFORE 4TH APRIL SO THERE IS NO REASON NOT TO REGISTER TODAY.
    9. Maximum number of players: 400.
    10. Tournament Type: No-Limit Texas Hold’em Freeze-Out
    11. Entry Fee: €65 (+€7 Reg Fee)
    12. Estimated Prize-pool: €26,000 - 100% of entry fee goes to prize-pool
    13. Re-Buys None
    14. Top-Ups None
    15. Starting stack 8,000 in chips
    16. The blind structure will be as follows;
    (30 minute clock);
    11:00 - 11:30 - 1. 25-50
    11:30 – 12:00 - 2. 50-100
    12:00 – 12:30 - 3. 75-150
    12:30 – 13:00 - 4. 100-200
    13:00 – 13:30 - 5. 150-300
    Break 15 mins -
    13:45 – 14:15 - 6. (race off 25 chips) 200-400
    14:15 – 14:45 - 7. 300-600
    14:45 – 15:15 - 8. 400-800
    15:15 – 15:45 - 9. 500-1,000
    15:45 – 16:15 - 10. 800-1,500
    Break 45 mins – Dinner
    17:00 – 17:30 - 11. (race off 100 chips) 1,000-2,000
    17:30 – 18:00 - 12. 1,500-3,000
    18:00 - 18:30 - 13. 2,000-4,000
    18:30 – 19:00 - 14. 3,000-6,000
    19:00 – 19:30 - 15. 4,000-8,000
    Break 15 mins
    19:45 – 20:15 - 16. 5,000-10,000
    20:15 – 20:45 - 17. 8,000-15,000
    20:45 – 21:15 - 18. 10,000-20,000
    21:15 – 21:45 - 19. 15,000-30,000
    21:45 – 22:15 - 20. 20,000-40,000
    Break 15 mins
    Play to finish
    21. 30,000-60,000
    22. 40,000-80,000
    23. 50,000-100,000
    24. 80,000-150,000
    17. Standard prize-pool payout structure will be used, i.e. top 10% of players paid.
    18. Fully dealer dealt with the most professional standard in Irish Poker (and that is saying something).
    19. Yes, tournament rules can be found at http://www.pokerireland.ie/index.php/special_interest/article_entry/new_to_the_game_tournament_rules_are_here/ and printed rules will be in the venue on 5th April.
    20. Stephen Mc Lean is tournament director.
    21. Accommodation: The Regency Airport Hotel will be offering preferential rates to NSPC-2008 players; €150 per three people sharing.
    22. Team event details are now available on these boards please see thread with title "National Intervarsity Team Poker Event" to submit a team for entry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭digiman

What was the outcome of the vote on non students playing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

digiman wrote: »
    What was the outcome of the vote on non students playing?

Depends on what you mean by that.....Basically there was a slight majority of students voting for us to be a little bit loose with the term "student" (option B in the poll) but because we want to make sure that everything is black and white (and because so many people believed very strongly that we should be strict with it here on boards) we're going to do our best to make sure that every single player taking part is currently a student.

So in other words the outcome was that the National Student Poker Championship is current students only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭digiman

carfax wrote: »
    Depends on what you mean by that.....Basically there was a slight majority of students voting for us to be a little bit loose with the term "student" (option B in the poll) but because we want to make sure that everything is black and white (and because so many people believed very strongly that we should be strict with it here on boards) we're going to do our best to make sure that every single player taking part is currently a student.

So in other words the outcome was that the National Student Poker Championship is current students only.

Ah ok fair enough, I'm a recent graduate so I guess that rules me out!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Phil-Dublin

ACTUALLY DIGI, THIS MIGHT STIR IT UP A BIT

AS AN EXAMPLE OF HOW SOME PEOPLE HAVE VIEWED HOW THE VOTE WENT
    HAVE A LOOK AT THE VOTERS LIST

THE ONE THAT HAD PEOPLE POLLING IN ORDER TO GET THE NSPC TO BE A STUDENT ONLY EVENT

ONE WOULD IMAGINE THAT THEY WOULD BE WANTING TO PLAY OR AT LEAST BE ABLE TO PLAY UNDER THE PRETENCE OF BEING A STUDENT OR HAVE SOME SLIGHT INTENTION OF PLAYING

I DONT THINK THAT THE POLLERS / VOTERS REALISED THAT IT WAS NOT AN ANONYMOUS POLL

HAVE A LOOK AND MAKE YOUR OWN MIND UP

YES, TCheck that every player has a valid student ID (smaller prize-pool very likely)
    ______________so votes for a student only event went like this_____________________________
    Ace2007, badbeatcentral, BIG-SLICK-POKER, bigslick, boba_fett3099, BrotherTotz, connie147, dagunman, delanec8, DeVore, ditpoker, donal66, eoghan104, figs86, ghost-snot, glenjamin, goodluck2me, green123, Idoubtit, ITT-Pat, Jenny1989, Kazzehh, Kelso, Lex, mickste, Mr Minraise, OpenEnded, phantom_lord, Pharell_st, pierce hard, pocketdooz, PokerEvents-Ste, PokerEventsSeán, rag2gar, RasTa, RoadSweeper, Rossibaby, scheister, semibluff, Shortstack, shoutman, sloane, The Tourist, thebigmc, thechamp87, Theresalwaysone, therocker, tipp86, TommyGunne, unityofsaints, yopnailbrush, |.Murderer.| 52 51.49%

Aim advertising primarily at students but don't be too pernickerty.

bobbyg, carfax, chdpoker, coillcam, coprey, cuterob, DeadParrot, DEmeant0r, derek2222_ie, digiman, DONK!, earthworms, falterego, flopmehappy, G-Spotters, gaz15, Helper_Monkey, HiCloy, hugochavez, JimmytheGap, karlh, Kayroo, LABLHEAD, Lawless_Samurai, Legend_DIT, Marq, maximusdecimus, mistabutta, modmuffin, Mont, Mr.Plough, murph01, petethebrick, Phil-Dublin, pokerkingsni, scunner, Sean_K, Slash/ED, smoothcall, sneakyaces, SuperHans, The Clamper, The-Rigger, thebullets, themilkyone, Trippie, tt GalIrl, Vertigo100, zep 49 48.51%

FOR ME ANYWAY, AFTER THAT
    I HAVE MY OWN MIND MADE UP

maybe i'm a square, but,,,well,,,,,ahh who needs fair play

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

Ace2007, badbeatcentral, BIG-SLICK-POKER, bigslick, boba_fett3099, BrotherTotz, connie147, dagunman, delanec8, DeVore, ditpoker, donal66, eoghan104, figs86, ghost-snot, glenjamin, goodluck2me, green123, Idoubtit, ITT-Pat, Jenny1989, Kazzehh, Kelso, Lex, mickste, Mr Minraise, OpenEnded, phantom_lord, Pharell_st, pierce hard, pocketdooz, PokerEvents-Ste, PokerEventsSeán, rag2gar, RasTa, RoadSweeper, Rossibaby, scheister, semibluff, Shortstack, shoutman, sloane, The Tourist, thebigmc, thechamp87, Theresalwaysone, therocker, tipp86, TommyGunne, unityofsaints, yopnailbrush, |.Murderer.|
    all in bold are not students? and they voted for students only? and they're only the ones i know... so

and then
    bobbyg, carfax, chdpoker, coillcam, coprey, cuterob, DeadParrot, DEmeant0r, derek2222_ie, digiman, DONK!, earthworms, falterego, flopmehappy, G-Spotters, gaz15, Helper_Monkey, HiCloy, hugochavez, JimmytheGap, karlh, Deleted User, LABLHEAD, Lawless_Samurai, Legend_DIT, Marq, maximusdecimus, mistabutta, modmuffin, Mont, Mr.Plough, murph01, petethebrick, Phil-Dublin, pokerkingsni, scunner, Sean_K, Slash/ED, smoothcall, sneakyaces, SuperHans, The Clamper, The-Rigger, thebullets, themilkyone, Trippie, tt GalIrl, Vertigo100, zep

and then above there are students who voted to have a losser rule...

so i don't agree with your point. :)

Guys seriously can we not rehash this. The main reason I started a new thread on this was because there was so much arguing back and forth in the last thread.

We have said that we are going to do everything within reason to ensure that every player is a student.....SO.....GET YOURSELVES REGISTERING TODAY, YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

It's very presumptous to pick out a load of older guys place them in bold and accuse them of not being students... I myself do frequent knowledge enhancer courses., I am an intermittent student and will probably be until I die. The fact that I'm not a whiney spotty faced argumentative 18 year old who hasn't done a days work in my life
    does not mean I'm not a student......However the idea of sitting in a hall full of these chimps make me shudder......so I 'm out :-)

[

ste, any plans for a smaller side event in the evening!? 30-40 runners, €30-€50?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

lol knowledge enhancer courses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Yeah my vote was messing also, not a student anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭bigslick

Dunno why you would pick myself out as not being a student, if indeed that is what you are saying ditpoker, as im in UCD doing a postgraduate course after finishing my undergraduate in UCD.

But back on topic, I hope to be playing this and registering within the next few days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

ditpoker wrote: »
    ste, any plans for a smaller side event in the evening!? 30-40 runners, €30-€50?!?!

Yes, but its students only :p....Only messing, €30 + €5 side event will most likely be set for 4pm in the afternoon, just have to talk it over with Derek.
    As a recent Graduate, i'm dissappointed by this decision.

Sorry mate but we have to do our best to make sure that the National Student Champs is considered to be just what it says on the tin by the poker playing public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭The Clamper

THE 3 R's ARE SO IMPORTANT

READING
    RITING
    RITHMATICK

if a man is doing dealer training, does this constitute STUDY?
    ergo being a student?

a dealer asked this today,

Please keep the registrations coming for this event....

The numbers of people registering in the last week has dropped off significantly.....Maybe we shold start up another big furrore over something else to get people interested.

We want to make sure that the 400 players that are first to register are the 400 that get first option on all seats.

Spread the word around please, tell everyone to register as soon as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭pokerkingsni

Do you have to be a student to play in this?

Yes, but its students only :p....Only messing, €30 + €5 side event will most likely be set for 6pm in the afternoon, just have to talk it over with Derek.

6pm?!?! really... much better!

Do you have to be a student to play in this?

lol Eoin, there have been one or two arguments over this here on Boards.....All I'm going to say is that I'm really disappointed with the amount of support that students here on Boards have given this tournament so far.

Very few Boards (student poker player) readers or posters have actually registered.....We have 170 odd players total right now and with only a few weeks to go it looks like we are going to have to seriously consider the answer to your question in order to make this tournament a €26,000 success (for a €65+€7 buy-in).

6pm?!?! really... much better!

:rolleyes: 'spose so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,405 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Very few Boards (student poker player) readers or posters have actually registered.....We have 170 odd players total right now and with only a few weeks to go it looks like we are going to have to seriously consider the answer to your question in order to make this tournament a €26,000 success (for a €65+€7 buy-in).

I know I havent registered yet either, but if there is a chance it will change it wont encourage others to part with cash. Also its 4 weeks away, no real benefit of spending money now when you dont need to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Tbh if your not a student but a) look like one and or b) graduated last year just turn up and play. There is no way your going to be denied entry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭The Al Lad

I know I havent registered yet either, but if there is a chance it will change it wont encourage others to part with cash. Also its 4 weeks away, no real benefit of spending money now when you dont need to.

lol wat a student way of thinking joe:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭babymaker6

I intend to study the racing post every morning this week
    wii this make me eligible to play this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭thomaskearns

Guys I havent read all the posts here but just incase its not here,

anyone who graduated in the last year from a university has one year allumniship with the college, meaning they can participate in intervarsity events as students in the name of the college so you are classified by the college you attended as a student untill that year has passed... there's your loophole!;):D

I've been fairly inundated with registrations over the last few days.....Providing everybody that is sending the emails is actually planning to play I would say we will get a decent size field to this.

Get in and get registered today in order for us to hold a seat for you.

cooker3 wrote: »
    Tbh if your not a student but a) look like one and or b) graduated last year just REGISTER TODAY!!!. There is no way your going to be denied entry

Are you saying that you are going back on your option in the poll?

Guys I havent read all the posts here but just incase its not here,

anyone who graduated in the last year from a university has one year allumniship with the college, meaning they can participate in intervarsity events as students in the name of the college so you are classified by the college you attended as a student untill that year has passed... there's your loophole!;):D

OH BABY, I LOVE LOOP HOLES,,,

NO, WAIT A MINUTE, I WAS THINKING OF HOOLA HOOPS, SO SCRATCH THAT

even if it aint itchy (or scratchy)

The Al Lad wrote: »
    lol wat a student way of thinking joe:p

lol, student of what???

that guy should stay in a room, prolly a dark one and find something else to do with his hands

i just shuddered there, thinking about it,, aw gawd, wot a thought

Phil-Dublin

cmon now, this is a family show

just had a pm from (shall remain nameless for now)

the answer is;

NO (man persons name) , studying porno mags is not necessarily making you a student, though some might argue the point

my understanding is that the TD & aids, will not be asking for ID, but may ask: are u a student?
    or
    simply announce;
    will anyone who is not a student please leave and then rely on the integrity of the players to be honest

sorry, but did you just say that you were going to rely on poker players to be honest???

imfao, extreme LOL

brilliant, man you must be one sick individual, you need help, get some, quick

clearly you have eperience of people that require help,

why dont you say what you mean ?

instead of suggesting that poker players are inherently dishonest

mind you, really good poker players are supposed to make you believe they have a hand other than what they really have, i.e. deceive

ok, so the jury is out, i will give you that one

now go and register, seats for this are selling quicker than a casting call for a remake of debbie does dallas and with a head like yours, you should try and get in early

oh, did i just have a gaff there on my customer care skills, sorry nice person, i am sure you have a great personality, after all some good in everyone eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Are you saying that you are going back on your option in the poll?

Nope. I would still rather it be student only, I am just saying how it will be whether you openly say it or not

Register - Register - Register

www.pokerireland.ie

If you leave this to the last minute to pay up there is a good chance you will miss out.

€65 + €7reg for a chance at €10,000 (approx) first prize and 40 players making money on their investment.

Also; its a one day event and will be finished before midnight on Saturday 5th April (lots of emails asking me that question for some reason).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭Shadowless

Also; its a one day event and will be finished before midnight on Saturday 5th April

Lol, I'll put €72 on it finishing after 12 at evens!
    Any takers? :D

Shadowless wrote: »
    Lol, I'll put €72 on it finishing after 12 at evens!
    Any takers? :D

genuinely!??

Getting lots and lots of emails again, wow the power of Boards :)

Keep 'em coming; stephen@pokerireland.ie

Also, anyone interested in dealing at the event please email me.

Getting lots and lots of emails again, wow the power of Boards :)

Keep 'em coming; stephen@pokerireland.ie

Also, anyone interested in dealing at the event please email me.

lol... students = dealers... dealers = students... yea, you've a problem there ste! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,405 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

lol... students = dealers... dealers = students... yea, you've a problem there ste! :p

well at least you can deal!

Keep the registrations going please peops...

Only two weeks or thereabouts 'til we kick this tournament off and anyone not registered before 4th April or until we reach our cap of players will not be able to play.

stephen@pokerireland.ie

Probably a stupid question but is it possible to pay with a stars transfer or something? Going to NIB means I have to walk

Mr.Plough wrote: »
    Probably a stupid question but is it possible to pay with a stars transfer or something? Going to NIB means I have to walk

There are no stupid questions as they say and a new reason for me to post in this thread probably means that one or two more extra players will register right now this second.

In answer to your question, no afraid not....Its a Bank of Ireland lodgement or a Permanent TSB lodgement. Online tranfers don't involve much walking but by the sounds of it you should probably try to get a little bit of fresh air.

Ok, Deal Me In

so all you have to do is

CLICK ON www.pokerireland.ie and click register,
    fill in name \ email & ph no.
    and thats it

oh yeah
    i get a reg number from poker ireland

then head down to a bank and pay

and if anyone asks me am i a student? just nod or say yes,

ok ok i get it

There are no stupid questions as they say and a new reason for me to post in this thread probably means that one or two more extra players will register right now this second.

In answer to your question, no afraid not....Its a Bank of Ireland lodgement or a Permanent TSB lodgement. Online tranfers don't involve much walking but by the sounds of it you should probably try to get a little bit of fresh air.

lol np. Nah I obviously don't mind walking I just hate banks. Will reg this week anyways

I Was Thinking Of Writing A Book On Stupid Questions

Question 1 Will Probably Be

1, Will I Be Able To Pay On The Day For The Ipo-2008?

2, How Do They Get The Figs Into Fig Rolls

3, If It Wasnt For Luck, Would Phil Helmuth Win Every Tournament

4, Will I Get An Electric Shock If I Put My Finger In There When The Switch Is In That Position

5, What Is Question Number 6

6, What Was Question Number 5 About

7, If I Dont Own A Computer, Can I Still Register Online For The Ipo, Or Do I Just Turn Up On The Day

8, Why Cant I Register For The Ipo, I Borrowed My Wifes Credit Card And She Said It Would Be Ok To Pay Even If I Used My Own Name

9, Is It Ok To Smoke In This Toilet, Chief

10, Do I Get A Prize For Going Out On The Bubble So Often

lol :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭tipp86

Just wondering will you be making a journey down south to any of the colleges to collect money?I have 4 or 5 players and i said id deal with the registering part for them.

tipp86 wrote: »
    Just wondering will you be making a journey down south to any of the colleges to collect money?I have 4 or 5 players and i said id deal with the registering part for them.

If you can get 20 players together in one place I will travel anywhere in the country. I am planning a trip to Waterford (WIT) over the next week but I will be pressed for time.

Its as easy as anything for every player to register individually anyway, just ask them to click onto pokerireland.ie and they will get their registration number which guarantees them their seat.

Guys and girls I will be busy all this week at the Citywest but will do my best to get back to everyone that emails and registers on the same day that they do so.

There are lots and lots of registrations coming in on a daily basis and if it keeps up this tournament will be full before the Irish Open finishes (Easter Monday). Please register soon to avoid disappointment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭tipp86

If you can get 20 players together in one place I will travel anywhere in the country. I am planning a trip to Waterford (WIT) over the next week but I will be pressed for time.

Its as easy as anything for every player to register individually anyway, just ask them to click onto pokerireland.ie and they will get their registration number which guarantees them their seat.

Guys and girls I will be busy all this week at the Citywest but will do my best to get back to everyone that emails and registers on the same day that they do so.

There are lots and lots of registrations coming in on a daily basis and if it keeps up this tournament will be full before the Irish Open finishes (Easter Monday). Please register soon to avoid disappointment.

No maybe if one of the cork colleges get in contact with you it would suit if not il figure something out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

A trip to WIT will be fairly pointless, we're on holidays until the 31st March :).