Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Glen and Marketa on Tubridy

• 01-03-2008 10:31pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 68 ✭✭

Not sure where to post this....but just had to come online and rave about Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova's performance on Tubridy tonight. Did anyone see it? It was so, well, Irish. There's "our Glen" on d'telly after coming home from d'Oscars and ah would ya look at his ma beamin' at him from d'audience. I felt like they were sitting on the couch in the sitting room next to me and just picked up the guitar and started playing. I have to say it really was one of the best performances I have seen on Irish television because it was so natural and genuine. There was no nonsense, they were just themselves, they just played. It was a performance that reminded me that, while it's exciting going to the Oscars and meeting the stars and doing the interviews, in the end of day it's about the music, and the enjoyment and fulfillment that comes from simply picking up the guitar and singing a tune. Well done Glen and Marketa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,287 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

her cardigan thingy was hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

I really don't know how anyone can take this one away from them. Fair dues. Its a good song and the film isnt bad A bit kitsch but sure we all need a bit of feel good.

The Czech press have been unbelievably bitchy about the whole thing btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Really?

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

vid or it didnt happen

ktnx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

was reading an article on them in the indo at the time, was glen wearing the same shirt/jacket as he was when ariving at dublin yesterday

good rendition of the song btw, well done again guys for the oscar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Awful song, and that cnut couldn't sing in tune if he was paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭BenEadir

Has anyone got a link to Marketa Irglova's (re-arranged) speech?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 68 ✭✭Jenna

It's understandable if you don't like the song because it might not be your type of music, but you can't say that he can't sing...because if he couldn't sing then clearly he wouldn't have achieved the level of success that he has today. I respect your opinion, but your vulgarity is unnecessary.

Btw can someone tell me how to do the quote thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

mike65 wrote: »
    Really?

Mike.

if that was at me then yes.

I could bore you tears with the up-their-ownarseholeness about the czech media but to summarize they thought that the movie was awful and to top it all they also thought that it was 'mouthy' glen that meant Irglova didnt get to say her thanks properly rather than the Oscar/Advertising moneymen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

nice song

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 68 ✭✭Jenna

Ah the band on Tubridy just did a jazz version of the song! Brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Jenna wrote: »
    Not sure where to post this....
    Television forum.

Liked the song & film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

irish-stew wrote: »
    was reading an article on them in the indo at the time, was glen wearing the same shirt/jacket as he was when ariving at dublin yesterday

My mum noticed this to. Suppose it shows that they are the same people they always were.

Glen talks way too much though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭eoin5

Ah the band on Tubridy just did a jazz version of the song! Brilliant!

Those lads are legends, pity about the show theyre in :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭Mweelrea

great song and a great achievment.
    Fair play to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

mike65 wrote: »
    Really?

Mike.
    People from a country formely run by a superpower bitching about one of their own?
    That would never happen. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Terry you cheeky scamp, I was going to make a comment of that nature but thought better of it!

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭axer

BenEadir wrote: »
    Has anyone got a link to Marketa Irglova's (re-arranged) speech?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qx8yLvb0gZM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

She has just passed her 20th birthday, the derty fecker.

hmm, rather rare, Irish man with an E European bird.

I assume he posts on boards from that very fact. If you do, Glen Ive honestly never heard one song by The Frames. In fact the only time I heard of him was in that old magazine The Slate, which had featured him on that page which had a photograph of whatever Irish celebrity had irked the editor that week (it invited you to cut out the photo, put it in your toilet and sh1t on it)

I miss that magazine.

She has nice diddies mind....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Tha Gopher wrote: »
    I am 1 too but she's older than me, that makes 2 of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

I wish them well but has anyone noticed on the recorded version of the song, which has been knocking about quite a while now, you can hardly hear Marketa singing - I always presumed it was just Glen until all this Oscar kerfuffle started up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

yeah you do hardly hear her I guess that her style, the do have whole album together don't they the something sessions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭Niamh-17

They were so nice and they really are genuine people. Their perfomance of the song was lovely also. Its amazing the sound they created with just an old guitar and the two of them just sitting on a couch.

I felt the show went slightly downhill after them, because they were such great guests and no of the others could compare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

Hang on, they're an actual couple?

mental07 wrote: »

Presume so, although he's been dodging those question, saying 'our friendship has grown.'

Then again he did say in an interview that he hopes to marry her someday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Rainy Day

mental07 wrote: »
    Yeah they are a couple they got together while making the movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,036 ✭✭✭mad m

Is Turbidy repeated?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I dont like the song at all. I always hated Glen Hansards voice and music anyway so I didnt give a sh1t when he won the oscar. Bit overrated as a song though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

It's understandable if you don't like the song because it might not be your type of music, but you can't say that he can't sing...because if he couldn't sing then clearly he wouldn't have achieved the level of success that he has today.

wrong. Irish people love rubbish Irish bands/acts - Paddy Casey, Bell X1 etc, and give absolutely no time to the few good ones we actually produce, like My Bloody Valentine.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

I thought the frames were OK but I just can no longer stand Glen Hansard. His solo music is boring and self-centered and he just isn't a nice guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

Behave ;)

Raekwon wrote: »
    Behave ;)

No :p

Have not actually heard this song.
    wrong. Irish people love rubbish Irish bands/acts - Paddy Casey, Bell X1 etc, and give absolutely no time to the few good ones we actually produce, like My Bloody Valentine.

Here here. Its either student fodder going nowhere like the aforementioned, or skanger sh1te like Aslan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 508 ✭✭✭SW81

YOUR opinion....so you MUST be right!!! :rolleyes:

I don't like Glen Hansard but I'm glad an Irish person won an Oscar.

SW81 wrote: »
    YOUR opinion....so you MUST be right!!! :rolleyes:

But he is right :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭Batesy

mad m wrote: »
    Is Turbidy repeated?

It's on again @ 11.45 tonight on RTE1 ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 508 ✭✭✭SW81

But he is right :confused:

Why is he? Is he an expert? A lot of people might not agree with him, a lot might, doesn't make him right. Each to their own. I hate music snobs (and once again I don't like Glen Hansard!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

She is rather catching on the eye it has to be said.

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    She is rather catching on the eye it has to be said.

She is indeed. Not many can pull of the no make-up, messy hair, red socks, wooly waistcoat thing. She looked great at the Oscars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Aaah jaysus an auld Dooob wunn a bleeedin Oscahr.

De bleedin mammy was greah,solt of de earh she was.

We'll go ouh an hav de few cans of de Bullimers to celibrah whah.

Woh am I doin here ,its mad.

Aaah jaysus an auld Dooob wunn a bleeedin Oscahr.

De bleedin mammy was greah,solt of de earh she was.

We'll go ouh an hav de few cans of de Bullimers to celibrah whah.

Woh am I doin here ,its mad.

Don't forget 'tanks'.

You never really notice the lack of 'th's until one of your own wins something!

Even Marketa had problems with the 'th's!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

heh heh.. The Doob has a lot more problems than "TH" the auld "T" seems to be an issue too.

"Did ya dew de "Lohho" "Lotho" "Lorroh" last noih Antho?

Anyway back on topic..... another one to add to the Jim Sheridan/Bill Cullen/neil Jordan list of successfull Doobs with skanker accents.

Well done all.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Glad they won. Must watch that thing on RTE tonight, don't really like the frames at all but I loved the film and the sound track.

Rainy Day wrote: »
    Yeah they are a couple they got together while making the movie.

Yeah is anyone missing the fact he has known her since 13 and they made the movie when she was barely 18

and then theres the 18 year age gap :eek:

thats just a bit wrong

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Once_%28film%29

read the production bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,036 ✭✭✭mad m

Red Alert wrote: »
    he just isn't a nice guy.

Is that from personal experience?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

Yeah is anyone missing the fact he has known her since 13 and they made the movie when she was barely 18

and then theres the 18 year age gap :eek:

thats just a bit wrong

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Once_%28film%29

read the production bit

That does sound wrong doesn't it? :eek:

I didn't think falling slowly was the best song from the movie/soundtrack. There were better songs on it.

Fair play to them though because the movie and soundtrack are both brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

p502795.jpg

yum..... lol

Ahh no she usually looks decent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭cjmcork

i don't know about everyone else, but I was very proud to see them carry Oscar away and I thought that Marketa's speech was lovely - and of course, the song is beautiful

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

She has just passed her 20th birthday, the derty fecker.
    By Hansard standards, that's pretty old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

Spot the pedophile ;)

DaveMcG wrote: »
    p502795.jpg

yum..... lol

Fook! What a difference hair dye makes.
    Robbo wrote: »
    By Hansard standards, that's pretty old.

Care to elaborate? :eek:

As said, due to my avoidance of studenty **** bands Ive only ever heard of the guy maybe twice before (I gathered alot of people dislike him for some reason)