Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Friday night in A&E.

• 29-02-2008 6:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭

What's it like from around 7?

I crushed my finger earlier and it was too badly messed up for the GP to stitch it.
    I have to go into A&E at 7.
    Will I be there for long?

Mods, please don't move this because...

Oh yeah. Cool.

Also, Does anyone know if I would be better going to Tallaght or Blanch?

Also also, does anyone know if there is a newsagents in either, as I want to buy a sudoku book to keep me occupied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Tallaght > Blanch. Blanch. is a disaster.
    Pop down for tea/coffee & finger sandwiches after it. :)

It'll most likely be quiet enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭eoghan h

i reccommend attempting to stitch it yourself.....better then the wait in A&E

last year i dived through a window when I was drunk.........ended up in Cork A&E at like 12............didn't get seen till 9am next morning!

Sitting in A&E really sucks.......usually surrounded by druggies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Midna

how do you crush a finger?

owwwwweeeeee :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Ring ahead and check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭moco

Hope you didn't hurt your soduku finger.:)

Ring ahead and check.

And make a reservation.
    "Hello. I'd like a trolley for one please..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

eoghan h wrote: »

last year i dived through a window when I was drunk.........ended up in Cork A&E at like 12............didn't get seen till 9am next morning!

Or drunks:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭moco

eoghan h wrote: »

and window divers:eek:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

Are any of those VHI swift clinic near you at all?
    How much does it cost?

Initial consultation is €105.
    Further treatment or tests incur the following charges:
    X-ray €75 - €95
    Blood test €30 - €50
    Stitches €50 - €75
    Plastering €55

Payment:

Cash, Laser, MasterCard, Visa or cheque, Med1 Forms available for eligible services.

How about heading to the Beacon if you're down tallaght way, it will be quicker then any A &E?
    Please note all patients are liable for emergency room fees. Insurance companies may reimburse some costs claimed through the out-patient rule but reimbursement is subject to individual policy excesses.

ESB/POMAS do not reimburse Emergency Department Fees.

GARDA Medical Aid reimburses €45 of the total Emergency Department Fee.

Please note your insurance is only activated at the point of admission to hospital. Patients are liable for all charges prior to this.
    Initial Charge
    Emergency Consultant Fee €120.00
    Review Fee

€70.00

Possible Additional Charges
    Specialist Consultations – these are charged by the Specialist Consultant separate to the hospital Emergency Department Fees. Please ask Emergency Department staff regarding charges before Specialist Consultation.

Routine Blood Test €30.00 - €60.00
    Specialised Blood Test Prices available on request
    Repeat dressing €30 (ED0004)
    X-Ray From €120
    Ultrasound From €180 - €245
    CT Scan €360*
    MRI without Contrast €450*
    MRI with Contrast €517*

*Cost of CT/MRI is directly charged to VIVAS/GARDA/ESB/POMAS.
    Please ask to sign an insurance claim form.
    Physiotherapy Consultation €70
    Crutches

€20

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭eoghan h

moco wrote: »
    and window divers:eek:

Hey! I was a very nice cooperative drunk window diver.......and it wasn;t by choice - there was a big scary polish guy chasing me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

It's early enough that it shouldn't be too busy in Tallaght, it's a decent A&E service and has been fine with regards to waiting time the few times I've been there.

There's another one out in Dun Laoighre, iirc, that I went to before and there was absolutely no wait.

Beacons an option too but it's pretty expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Karoma wrote: »
    Tallaght > Blanch. Blanch. is a disaster.

It'll most likely be quiet enough.
    You're in Tallaght?
    Cool.
    I'll give you, DaveMcG and 6th a shout.

Midna wrote: »
    how do you crush a finger?

owwwwweeeeee :eek:
    Carrying a couple of boxes of tiles out of a house.
    My ankle gave way as I stepped outside (old injury) and I fell forward onto the little wall in the back garden.
    The tiles and the wall fúcked both sides of my finger up.

Ring ahead and check.
    Yeah, i'm sure they will be truthful :)

moco wrote: »
    Hope you didn't hurt your soduku finger.:)
    Nope.
    Finger on my right hand. I'm left handed.

GinnyJo wrote: »
    Are any of those VHI swift clinic near you at all?

How about heading to the Beacon if you're down tallaght way, it will be quicker then any A &E?

I'm poor. I can't afford to pay a few hundred quid. Work is thin on the ground at the moment.
    I don't mind waiting a few hours. Just not more than 6.
    I have to work in the morning.

Funny story.
    The GP I saw had lost half of the same finger.
    Frostbite while mountain climbing.

rb_ie wrote: »
    It's early enough that it shouldn't be too busy in Tallaght, it's a decent A&E service and has been fine with regards to waiting time the few times I've been there.

There's another one out in Dun Laoighre, iirc, that I went to before and there was absolutely no wait.

Beacons an option too but it's pretty expensive.
    Yeah, I think I'll go to Tallaght.
    Sounds like the best option.

It doesn't take too long to get there either after 7.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Terry wrote: »
    Yeah, I think I'll go to Tallaght.
    Sounds like the best option.

It doesn't take too long to get there either after 7.
    Oh yeah, regarding the newsagents, there's one in the main part of the hospital (through the arch type thing/past the smoking sheds) on the left, don't know if it'll have a sudoku book though but guess you'll find something.

Is it not true that if you get a referral letter from your GP, the actual A&E visit is free (for you at least)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Wait for a few hours before you go, sure you'll have to wait a few hours but think of all the Hi-larious stories you'll have for us tomorrow!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

This might help Terry
    A&E activity today
    http://www.hse.ie/en/AEActivity/

Is it not true that if you get a referral letter from your GP, the actual A&E visit is free (for you at least)
    No idea, but I do have a referral letter.

Wait for a few hours before you go, sure you'll have to wait a few hours but think of all the Hi-larious stories you'll have for us tomorrow!
    No way. I'm not in the mood of drunks and junkies.
    It wouldn't be too bad if I was drinking, but I'm not.

GinnyJo wrote: »
    This might help Terry
    A&E activity today
    http://www.hse.ie/en/AEActivity/

Nothing about Tallaght, but blanch has a long list.

I'll take my chances with Tallaght.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

:D Oh how I lolled!

Dudess wrote: »
    :D Oh how I lolled!
    I just got that.

Not too bad.
    Got to A&E at 8 and left at 12.

4 stitches, some anti-biotics, a tetanus shot and a happy pill to calm me down after I had two panic attacks.

100 times better than Blanch.

Only one drunk old man and one junkie spotted.

Kudos to the staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Wow, I was expecting some crazy stories... That just sounds boring!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Glad it went well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Made the right choice, Blanch A & E is a total joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Man Terry came to Tallaght and I was out in town .... its like finding out Elvis was in your house while your at work!

Still though, I bumped into Gillo yesterday while sober and the wonderful Bronte while smashed off my bin ...... Gillo had a lucky escape, drunk 6th is fun 6th!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Last time i was in A&E we waited 6 hours, on a wednesday night with f**k all people or ambulances coming in. What really p**sed me off was that were left waiting for precisely 6 hours like it was a policy or something for non-emergency cases.

6th wrote: »
    Still though, I dumped into Gillo yesterday while sober and the wonderful Bronte while smashed off my bin ...... Gillo had a lucky escape, drunk 6th is fun 6th!
    ...ew.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Drunk 6th was still drunk when writing that post, by the looks of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

what a difference a d makes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

...ew.

How did I mis that?!
    Dudess wrote: »
    Drunk 6th was still drunk when writing that post, by the looks of things.

Most likely :o
    Sherifu wrote: »
    what a difference a d makes.

I'll be more careful in future.

How did I mis that?!
    I'll be more careful in future.
    You and your lies. *Shakes fist*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭Naos

Hmmmm, I seem to have missed 6th breaking the whole lent thing, must dig up that thread to see how long he lasted.

Terry: What made you have 2 panic attacks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Holsten wrote: »
    Made the right choice, Blanch A & E is a total joke.

Really?

I had a mate who had to go there one Sunday morning in a self inflicted condition I shant go into. He was taken in within 10 minutes.

Another mate brought after a bit too much vodka when he fell outside his house. Seen to immediately.

Got a bad hiding in a mugging myself walking off the nightlink with a rake of beer in me through a short cut I really should have known better not to take. Seen to in about 1 hr-90 mins (not TOO bad for Sat morning at 4am, the doc said there had been 20 other assaults that night)

None of us have VHI cover, so it wasnt a case of preferential treatment.

To top all this off, I put my name down for some dental repair in the trinity college place in early December. Called back a week ago, I get treated next week. (wish Id done Dentistry. TCD dental school students are seemingly 90% female and on a whole pretty good looking). Glad I didnt go through with what on relfection was a completely nuts idea to go to E Europe to get it done.

I know this is only half related but the whole lot got me thinking, Im no fan of FF but frankly both Irish people and foreigners living here are often moany ****s when it comes to our health service. Someone in work was complaining that she went to the doctor with a flu, he felt her back or whatnot and asked her to breathe/cough, asked to see some phlegm, then wrote her a prescription, only kept her 5 minutes.

Im like "eh....yeah?". ffs, a doctor is only a formality to get a prescription for a flu medicine your chemist could easily recommend only he isnt allowed to. What do people expect, a feckin untrasound and blood tests for a chest infection? Until last August I hadnt had prescribed medicine or seen a GP for about 7years, only went because I left work after an hour and it might look bad to not have visited the doctor, in truth I probably could have rested it off without the meds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

shane86 wrote: »
    Im like "eh....yeah?". ffs, a doctor is only a formality to get a prescription for a flu medicine your chemist could easily recommend only he isnt allowed to. What do people expect, a feckin untrasound and blood tests for a chest infection? Until last August I hadnt had prescribed medicine or seen a GP for about 7years, only went because I left work after an hour and it might look bad to not have visited the doctor, in truth I probably could have rested it off without the meds.

Thing is, to get anything effective against the flu, you need antibiotic drugs and that needs a visit to doc to get him to prescribe them or a late nite doc to come out and prescribe them there and then.

There is no over the counter drug effective against the flu, it needs prescriptive drugs.
    Hence, the massive clogup in doctors surgeries for visit to the doc for flu prescriptive drugs especially when an epidemic breaks out.
    Ask yourself, why do the likes of Spain give the same over the counter anti-flu drugs without prescription?
    Me thinks the docs need the visits from hordes of flu sufferers to make lots of dosh to keep the gravy train going rather than harping on about drugs which are non-lethal.

Naos wrote: »
    Hmmmm, I seem to have missed 6th breaking the whole lent thing, must dig up that thread to see how long he lasted.

Terry: What made you have 2 panic attacks?
    I've been having severe panic attacks for 15 years.
    Long story explained elsewhere.

I also get queasy at the sight of my own blood, especially when it's a nasty wound.
    A needle going into that wound doesn't help either (injections are not a problem, except when they are into a wound that has been bleeding for 6 or 7 hours).

I was still a bit woozy today when working because there is still a bit of bleeding going on.
    I ended up wrapping insulating tape around my finger so that I couldn't see the blood. :)

Just to add to the post above by shane86; I was fist called in after about 45 minutes.
    The dressing was changed and I was moved to a different waiting area.
    They then cleaned it and sent me for an x-ray.
    Then I was taken in for the local anesthetic and tehn given stitches.
    They wouldn't allow me to leave until I had calmed down after my second panic attack, as I almost passed out from it.
    This took four hours in total.
    I wasn't in the waiting room for four hours.
    Just thought I'd clear that up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭IanCurtis

"I was detained, I was restrained
    he broke my spleen
    he broke my knee
    (and then he really lays into me)
    Friday night in Out-patients
    who said I'd lied to her?"

- "Stop Me If You Think You've Heard This One Before"
    (Morrissey/Marr)

I've been having severe panic attacks for 15 years.
    Long story explained elsewhere.

I also get queasy at the sight of my own blood, especially when it's a nasty wound.
    A needle going into that wound doesn't help either (injections are not a problem, except when they are into a wound that has been bleeding for 6 or 7 hours).

I was still a bit woozy today when working because there is still a bit of bleeding going on.
    I ended up wrapping insulating tape around my finger so that I couldn't see the blood. :)

Just to add to the post above by shane86; I was fist called in after about 45 minutes.
    The dressing was changed and I was moved to a different waiting area.
    They then cleaned it and sent me for an x-ray.
    Then I was taken in for the local anesthetic and tehn given stitches.
    They wouldn't allow me to leave until I had calmed down after my second panic attack, as I almost passed out from it.
    This took four hours in total.
    I wasn't in the waiting room for four hours.
    Just thought I'd clear that up.

What does a panic attack feel like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,287 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Moonbaby wrote: »

if there was only a way to search the ineternets!!

ntlbell wrote: »
    Imagine spell checking too! That'd be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Vorsprung

gurramok wrote: »
    Thing is, to get anything effective against the flu, you need antibiotic drugs and that needs a visit to doc to get him to prescribe them or a late nite doc to come out and prescribe them there and then.

There is no over the counter drug effective against the flu, it needs prescriptive drugs.
    Hence, the massive clogup in doctors surgeries for visit to the doc for flu prescriptive drugs especially when an epidemic breaks out.
    Ask yourself, why do the likes of Spain give the same over the counter anti-flu drugs without prescription?
    Me thinks the docs need the visits from hordes of flu sufferers to make lots of dosh to keep the gravy train going rather than harping on about drugs which are non-lethal.

Flu = a virus
    Anti-biotic = anti - bacterial

So no-one should be getting an antibiotic for a flu!

Different for everyone.
    A brief explanation would be that you start off feeling like throwing up.
    Then you start hyperventilating.
    Then you sweat profusely.
    Then all reason goes out the window and you want to run, but don't know where to go, so you end up walking back and forth and hope that nobody is looking at you.
    Then you feel like you are going to die because your heart is beating so fast.
    Then you consider suicide because death has to be better than waiting for death.

ntlbell wrote: »

I've had enough of your trolling.
    banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

They hop you full of Codine so? :D

Different for everyone.
    A brief explanation would be that you start off feeling like throwing up.
    Then you start hyperventilating.
    Then you sweat profusely.
    Then all reason goes out the window and you want to run, but don't know where to go, so you end up walking back and forth and hope that nobody is looking at you.
    Then you feel like you are going to die because your heart is beating so fast.
    Then you consider suicide because death has to be better than waiting for death.
    How long does it last?

Depends.
    The other night it was just about ten to fifteen minutes.
    I've had ones that lasted for about two or three hours.

When I was at my worst, I've gone for a couple of days.

Sounds like hell. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Flu = a virus
    Anti-biotic = anti - bacterial

So no-one should be getting an antibiotic for a flu!

They're not all viral!!

Some are caused by bacterial infection, thats what my doc told me last time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Depends.
    The other night it was just about ten to fifteen minutes.
    I've had ones that lasted for about two or three hours.

When I was at my worst, I've gone for a couple of days.

were these always about gore or, like, will anything set these off?

I get sleep paralysis, which can come with vivid and terrifying hallucinations. So I've had a taste of pure terror. I honest don't think I could survive hours and days of it. Fair play to you.

Sounds like hell. :(
    At the time, yes.
    Afterwards, I get really tired and sleep for ages.
    When you are in the early stages of this illness, you tend to suffer from insomnia, so the sleep is a blessing.
    You also feel great when it's over, but that's part of the extreme highs and lows of depression.

Overheal wrote: »
    were these always about gore or, like, will anything set these off?
    Very rarely about gore.
    i'm not going to go into the whole thing here.
    I started a thread about a year ago on the LTI forum explaining the whole thing.
    It's still there.
    It's mostl;y distance with me.
    I have a quarter mile radius around my house that I can travel around without panicking.
    It's differentfor everyone.

Also excuse he typing. The bandaged finger is getting in the way and I'm sick of fixing the typos.

I get sleep paralysis, which can come with vivid and terrifying hallucinations. So I've had a taste of pure terror. I honest don't think I could survive hours and days of it. Fair play to you.
    I have hapy pills to help me. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

gurramok wrote: »
    They're not all viral!!

Some are caused by bacterial infection, thats what my doc told me last time :)

Wrong. :)
    Flu is caused by the Influenza virus.
    So it's not bacterial- so antibiotics are useless.

However the danger with flu is secondary bacterial infection (on top of a flu) spreading to the chest in someone run-down / immunocompromised..
    In which case antibiotics (antibacterial drugs) are prescribed.

Possibly what your GP was worried about.

So as a rule of thumb:
    URTI's (Upper Respiratory Tract Infections) are viral.
    LRTI's (Lower Respiratory Tract Infections) are bacterial (Strep Pneumonia etc).