Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mothers' Day

• 29-02-2008 2:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

So folks, it's Ma's Day on Sunday. Have ye all got presents and so on sorted? What ye gettin yore ma?

Any general thoughts on the day? Just a sh*tty commercial day? Well deserved day for the mothers? Should every day be mothers' day?

Any nice stories about your mother or mothers day?

Any sad ones? :( Some peeps on the radio said that they hadn't talked to their ma in 5, 10, and 15 years... Pretty sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

Another ****ty commercial day, but it for mum so who can complain.
    I have a small smiley ceramic bear holding a balloon in one hand and a flower in the other. I will also bring her for some shopping when she's able to go.

Excuse me while I vomit violently everywhere....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

My mum wants an S&M voucher.

Sorry, got it wrong - an M&S voucher. So what the heck am I supposed to do with the S&M one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Dudess wrote: »

Sorry, got it wrong - an M&S voucher. So what the heck am I supposed to do with the S&M one?
    dibs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

You have to buy for two people . Your mum and your wife .

She considers herself a mum to :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

les+gay+sex forum

They're mad for it

no wait, why can't you still give it to yorema?

she a prude?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I want to say sh1tty commercial, Hallmark created day, reason to spend money, etc.. only cause I'm broke, but can't deny the ma's their day of worship really.. I think they deserve it... I don't know what I'm getting mine yet but myself and the sister will be taking her out for the mandatory dinner on Sunday aswell...

I ****ed up big time at Christmas so I need to get her something nice. I normally am quite good but litterally left it till the last minute. Got Champagne and (Dark) chocolates for her. Doesn't eat/drink both. Alot of anger that day :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Commercial day, tbh.

It was my parents wedding anniversary last week and it's her 50th birthday next week. I bought her some very expensive white gold jewellery. I'm now broke. She;ll be getting a homemade card and that's it!

watna wrote: »
    Commercial day, tbh.

It was my parents wedding anniversary last week and it's her 50th birthday next week. I bought her some very expensive white gold jewellery. I'm now broke. She;ll be getting a homemade card and that's it!

Why do people keep bringing up it's a commerical day?

Who cares! it's a day to spoil the woman who's cared for you and done without for years spoil her another day AND mothers day

what harm like

all credit to mothers day at the end of the day lioke

Do people who are married /have kids buy for /take out to dinner their partners (as they are mothers ) and their mothers ?

latchyco wrote: »
    Do people who are married /have kids buy for /take out to dinner their partners (as they are mothers ) and their mothers ?

I take out my mother, my partner who's a mother my sister who's a mother

costs me a fortune!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

My mum wants an S&M voucher.

hahaha!!

spouse i have to get her something or she will be moaning:rolleyes:

ntlbell wrote: »
    Why do people keep bringing up it's a commerical day?

Who cares! it's a day to spoil the woman who's cared for you and done without for years spoil her another day AND mothers day

what harm like

all credit to mothers day at the end of the day lioke

Please, I spoil my mother all the time. :) She gets Sunday lunch at my place every week and I take her out for dinner at least once a month to have a girly catch up.

I'm not saying I'll do nothing for mother's day, just that it's always around her birthday and this year is her 50th so it's kind of being taken over by a bigger event, and event that has already bankrupted me!

I take out my mother, my partner who's a mother my sister who's a mother

costs me a fortune!

Ah thats nice, so i am not the only one ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Just ordered me ma a big bunch of flowers and choc's... just hope its delivered on time :P

azezil wrote: »
    Just ordered me ma a big bunch of flowers and choc's... just hope its delivered on time :P

You robbed all the creative gene's then

It's not about buying stuff for me, it is about waiting on her hand and foot for 24 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

You robbed all the creative gene's then

That I did ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

I invited my family down to my house to celebrate Mothers day...

10 Adults 10 Kids..

Cant wait, Will spend a few hours with my in laws on sun morning too..

I just enjoy a nice day with family and the love from the kids, the lovely homemade card I will get and the breakfast in bed!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

im working all day so ill just send her a text massage to say happy mothers day and all that

Quality wrote: »

I just enjoy a nice day with family and the love from the kids, the lovely homemade card I will get and the breakfast in bed!!

I hope it's not an egg McMuffin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Lola123

Moonbaby wrote: »
    It's not about buying stuff for me, it is about waiting on her hand and foot for 24 hours.

I agree. Although I've managed to sting myself by offering to cook dinner!!! ...... I'm a terrible cook when it comes to "proper irish" dinners. HELP! :o:eek:

Lola123 wrote: »
    I agree. Although I've managed to sting myself by offering to cook dinner!!! ...... I'm a terrible cook when it comes to "proper irish" dinners. HELP! :o:eek:

Stew.

Can't beat it, can't go wrong you can even do it the night before.

Stew.

Can't beat it, can't go wrong you can even do it the night before.

with carrot and parsnip mash. That's a great mammy dish. Mine gets it every Sunday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭Suzywuzy

I've been ordered not to get any presents for her and lectured that it'd be more in our line to do more chores in the house throughout the year instead !!! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

Suzywuzy wrote: »
    I've been ordered not to get any presents for her and lectured that it'd be more in our line to do more chores in the house throughout the year instead !!! :rolleyes:

Ah don't pay any heed to her. It's a rookie mistake.

My mum says that every year but she's just being polite. God help me if I actually called in without anything for her.

Mothers!! :rolleyes:

DaveMcG wrote: »
    So folks, it's Ma's Day on Sunday. Have ye all got presents and so on sorted? What ye gettin yore ma?

Any general thoughts on the day? Just a sh*tty commercial day? Well deserved day for the mothers? Should every day be mothers' day?

Any nice stories about your mother or mothers day?

Any sad ones? :( Some peeps on the radio said that they hadn't talked to their ma in 5, 10, and 15 years... Pretty sad.

present? nah
    i wont be home anyhow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Pighead got Mama Pighead a Mothers Day card and two scratchcards. Some may look at the cost of these items and mark Pighead down as a tightwad. However it must be remembered that the POTENTIAL value of the scratchcards were 10 grand which is a pretty damn impressive figure in anybodys books.

POTENTIAL value is always important when speaking of stuff like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

Probably will get a card, some auld perfume of some sort and a Joe Dolan CD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Lol, cheers for the reminder. Just went online and ordered some flowers and card, should do the job.

Jigsaw wrote: »
    Probably will get a card, some auld perfume of some sort and a Joe Dolan CD.
    Get her Light Blue. It the aroma for the sexy sophisticated middle aged 21st century woman. Pigheads not generally one for sniffing around older ladies but that Light Blue stuff has a ferocious hold over the old senses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

It's my ma's birthday the day after. I don't recall this day being at this time of year. I guess one bumper card will do the trick to celebrate both. Once i recover from an inevitable hangover tomorrow i'll be shopping for a prezzie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

Mine died 3 years ago :( But I bought a lovely ornament to place on her grave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

she'll have to do without this year as I'm busto :(

No excuse pal. How would you feel if your mother had the same attitude when you were growing up.

phantom_lord: Hey ya Mammy phantom_lord. Whats the craic with my lunchbox, its empty. I have to go to school now so will you sort it out pronto
    Mammy phantom_lord: You'll have to do without this week as I'm busto son.

It just wouldn't happen. Pighead knows for a fact that you're mother would have begged borrowed or stolen to make sure you had your half pint of milk and chicken and ham sandwiches in your precious lunchbox.

Theres plenty of ways you can raise cash, sell some of your possessions, get a loan or even start a thread in After Hours pleading your case and asking everybody to donate a fiver. (Although, Pighead won't be donating as he you've gone way down in his estimation after that post) You kids don't know you're born these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

it's ok pighead, ntlbell said he'd give me a steak to get back in the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭jos28

Suzywuzy wrote: »

Speaking as a mother, thats exactly what I want. No crappy ornaments,cards etc. Just do all those jobs I've been asking to be done and maybe throw some sort of a dinner together and I'd be happy as a pig in s***.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Mothers Day already? It creeps up on me every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭whatsgoinon

I sent her a card and bought an oxfam online gift, a herb garden for a family in tanzania or something like that, she got the cards today and thinks I'm the best thing ever.

Was in school during the week observing a class. The kiddies were making mothers day cards. I was giving them a hand with their spellings and stuff. One little kid wrote on his:
    to my mother
    who is, beauty, love attractive, joy
    I love you
    Matthew
    now get back to work you ret*rd.

well i nearly collapsed laughing, but of course had to remain professional. I was trying to explain to him what he had written and did he understand it. Why did he use the last word? He said it was what his dad says to his mum all the time and that he calls her that too!!! he's 7, the class teacher took the card off him, ripped it up and threw it in the bin, i wanted to photocopy it. still chuckling about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Pighead wrote: »
    Pighead got Mama Pighead a Mothers Day card and two scratchcards. Some may look at the cost of these items and mark Pighead down as a tightwad. However it must be remembered that the POTENTIAL value of the scratchcards were 10 grand which is a pretty damn impressive figure in anybodys books.

POTENTIAL value is always important when speaking of stuff like this.

LMAO!

Gonna be roped into the usual chocs and flowers. Though she's going to Australia later on during the year so probably buy aussie dollars for her aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

I suppose I'll get a book voucher, I almost always get them. I need money though... feck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭BDubliner

Just saw the tread and had forgot that its the Auld wans day on Sunday. Being abroad you tend to forget about days like this and birthdays and the like. So have just got some flowers to get delivered on Sunday for herself, they'll even write out a card for you. Saves me from having to ring home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

I screwed up and thought it was last weekend and gave her her stuff then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭BDubliner

FunkZ wrote: »
    I suppose I'll get a book voucher, I almost always get them. I need money though... feck!

Boring story about Mothers day and book vouchers. A fella I knew back in school robbed a few of them from Easons years back and gave it to his mother for Mothers Day. When his ma went in to get herself a porno or a book or whatever she was held and questioned for ages. It all came out but nothing happened just had to pay for the stolen vouchers. Some Mothers day.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Oops, forgot it again... I guess the Ma will be getting cards on 4 different days from each of her kids as they can't seem to synchronise this worldwide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭rusalka

I think Mother's Day is a nice idea, but I think we should be nice to everyone, not just the mammies.

There are many people for whom Mother's Day can be very painful - people whose mother has died, parents who have maybe recently lost children (either after they were born, or by miscarriage), people who have been trying desperately but unsuccessfully for a child of their own, or single people who long to meet a partner and have a family - I can't imagine how unbearable it must be for these people to see motherhood and children and the whole happy families thing thrown so obviously in their faces.

A little thought and consideration of these people (along with the wonderful mammies, of course!) would be appreciated I think, particularly if they've been bereaved.

I've a friend who lost a baby due last January, and this would have been her first Mother's Day. I know tomorrow will be a very tough day for her - seeing motherhood being celebrated all around her, so I think we should try to remember that it's not a happy day for everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

DaveMcG wrote: »

Nothing.

What do you get for someone who doesnt drink, go out much, watch any films, read any books, have any interests, etc etc. Ive ended up offing Christmas perfumes Ive bought her to girls Ive been seeing over the years due to the fact they never got opened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

I just finalised my mams mothers day gift... Tickets to see Mamma Mia in London with her 3 daughters in May... We are going to bring her over there, See the church in which she got married in, go to the show and spoil her rotten..
    Its part of her birthday present too... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

hand made card

does that still work at 30 d'yis think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

tbh honest, i thought it was next weekend, it was only because i heard ray darcy on about it in the week made me get the card so early, my mum was even more surprised, rang me yesterday to say she got it and knew nothing about it coming up

told her i'd take her and gran out next weekend, working this weekend so wont get home

:o