Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE stars pay list for 2006 just released, they worth it?

• 28-02-2008 9:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭

From http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/0228/rte.html?rss, the pay list for 2006 rte stars are as below.

Question is are they worth it? :D

Pat Kenny on 850k is outrageous waste!
    rte wrote:
    The full list is:

1. Pat Kenny €849,139
    2. Gerry Ryan €558,990
    3. Marian Finucane €455,190
    4. Joe Duffy €367,804
    5. Ryan Turbidy €346,667
    6. Derek Mooney €242,408
    7. Marty Whelan €229,056
    8. Miriam O'Callaghan €221,383
    9. John Kelly €204,675
    10. Bryan Dobson €193,610

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

every penny.........should be paid more infact!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

1. Pat Kenny €849,139 - No
    2. Gerry Ryan €558,990 - No
    3. Marian Finucane €455,190 - No
    4. Joe Duffy €367,804 - No
    5. Ryan Turbidy €346,667 - No
    6. Derek Mooney €242,408 - No
    7. Marty Whelan €229,056 - No
    8. Miriam O'Callaghan €221,383 - No
    9. John Kelly €204,675 - No
    10. Bryan Dobson €193,610 - Maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Tis quite alot of money but they aren't exactly massive figures. What are similar ranked starts in the UK earning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

Tis quite alot of money but they aren't exactly massive figures. What are similar ranked starts in the UK earning?

Jonathon Ross earns something in the region of £8m sterling i read somewhere, that would be something similar to kennys role, as he has a radio show and a tv show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

JJJoooooooooooeeeeeeeeeee Duffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

oh sorry, emmm, no probably not.

The BBC is being criticised by the commercial radio industry following the disclosure of the alleged salaries of some of its most popular broadcasters.

What has emerged so far?

There have been a number of disclosures about the levels of pay for DJs on Radios 1 and 2. Terry Wogan, host of Radio 2's breakfast show, is said to earn £800,000 a year, while it is claimed his counterpart at Radio 1, Chris Moyles, is paid £630,000.

For one programme per week on Radio 2, Jonathan Ross reportedly earns £530,000. Jeremy Paxman is the latest star in the spotlight: he is said to earn £1,040,000 for presenting Newsnight and University Challenge on BBC Two.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/4922226.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭growler

Kenny should be paying to be on the tv, not the other way round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

i dont know how much but the top gear lads are now paid millions a year...

if you think about it, the directors and producers are the ones who employ these people so they much be on twice this;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭Raspberry

They do put in a good bit of work for it though, in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭DisandDat

Ryan Turbidy €346,667 - No

I would shoot this fella if I could get away with it. He is smug, self centered, arrogant and his fingers keep tapping the table.

Miriam O'Callaghan €221,383 - YES

Pay Miriam €2 million a year. She is a cracking looking bird, very posh, but still cracking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,760 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

gucci wrote: »
    Jonathon Ross earns something in the region of £8m sterling i read somewhere, that would be something similar to kennys role, as he has a radio show and a tv show

If you're having a quiet Friday night in who you gonna watch? Ross interviewing Will Smith or Kenny interviewing Fr Shane Whatsit who's just retired?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Pat Kenny does have a large viewing audience which does mean lots of advertising money. I am sure a lot of people listen to the radio show too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Divide those salaies by ten and they might be worth it.
    I'm shocked at how much Marian Finnucane gets....IIRC she only does a sunday morning show for 2 hours and possibly something on a saturday.

However you look at it, the top five earn well more than 10 times the average industrial wage, for work that couldn't by any stretch of the imagination be called difficult or dangerous...that in itself is bad enough, but when you factor in that everyone in the country is contributing to those wage packs, it becomes downright farcical IMO...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    Marian Finucane €455,190

4 hours air time a week

edit did'nt see Wertz comment - it does stick out doesn't it?

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

Those figures would be scandalous if it weren't for the fact that these poor RTÉ boys don't get as much as a day off all year round.. oh hang on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Mr Ed

Wasn't Marian on a Monday to Friday gig in 2006? Don't forget, we're talking about 2 years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

mike65 wrote: »
    4 hours air time a week

edit did'nt see Wertz comment - it does stick out doesn't it?

Mike.
    holy moly, if she worked every week (doubtful) she would be on €2188/hour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

DisandDat wrote: »
    Miriam O'Callaghan €221,383 - YES

Pay Miriam €2 million a year. She is a cracking looking bird, very posh, but still cracking.

Not bad looking 6.5/10 , wouldn't have her down as very posh though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Mr Ed wrote: »
    Wasn't Marian on a Monday to Friday gig in 2006? Don't forget, we're talking about 2 years ago

In that case she was on air 5 hours a week. \shruggs/ :p

Mike.

Raspberry wrote: »
    They do put in a good bit of work for it though, in fairness.

I doubt Pat Kenny puts in much more work than the average man on the street, and gets a handsome €16k in his account every week...

By Christ. 16K a week.. Can you imagine? no more hassle from my mofo landlord.. in fact, I could have the whore's melt drilled in a drive-by

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Johnaton Ross and the Top Gear guys are worth every cent, they're great presenters and entertainers.

This cannot be said about any of the RTE crew, well maybe Brian Dobson but the rest are a complete and utter waste of money. Pat Kenny, sure enough, is alright at what he does. His audience like him and he pulls in the figures, however, most of the younger generation can't stand him. Derek Mooney?Wtf, how in the name of God can he demand such a high pay packet? Same with Tubridy.

We pay TV Licences for this shít, at least the BBC has good programmes/presenters. I don't even watch the Irish channels, yet I'm paying for them. Bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

I'm canceling my TV license.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

The only homemade thing i watch that's good on RTE is the likes of Miriam/Mark Little and the news and the odd homemade comedy like Naked Camera.

The rest, FFS :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

It truly is shocking. The only one who I would say is possibly worth some of theirs is Joe Duffy. I'm not a fan, but from what I can gather, he exposes injustices and manages to get things done for people.

Someone said Pat Kenny brings in alot of advertising. I would dispute this. The Late Late itself brings in those viewing figures and ad money, the programme is an institution, and I think they would be doing those figures (arguably better) whether Kenny was there or not.

I don't see why these wages cant be slashed massively. The majority of these presenters wouldn't get work abroad, and they would still be earning a decent crust if they were on 60,000 a year. The market should dictate, and presently Rte would seem to be paying way over the market rate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

The only thing I watch on RTE is Horse Racing, have to say they do very very well, as for the rest it is crap imo.

The_Edge wrote: »

Ironically, RTE claimed today 15% of the population avoid the TV licence, wonder why now:rolleyes:

RTÉ has published the names of its ten highest paid presenters for the year 2006.

Why not 2007 as well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I have been banging on about this for yonks and I'm constipated with anger at the wages...(our money by the way) these people are paying themselves.

Marian Finucane will throw down the headphones on June 01 and not be heard of till August 31!!! Four hours a week airtime and guts of 450k.....Totally criminal in my opinion,obviously working out an old contract .

And don't give me the crap about advertising as basically no-one else covers the country totally so a subsidised monopoly.

:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

In fairness, I think Miriam is worth it, afterall, she has got like a million kids flying around :p

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jsYU_hB2FgI

If similar happened every Friday I'd gladly pay my TV license.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jsYU_hB2FgI

If similar happened every Friday I'd gladly pay my TV license.

It was staged. :D

best link on that page was http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DNT7uZf7lew&NR=1 , Men at Work, but that's not on topic regarding Rte 'stars' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Most of those on the list do a fair bit of broadcasting but Finucane really stands out.Thats a nice bit of dosh for a weekend only job!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

lol.

Call them and tell them that. :rolleyes:

You don't cancel your TV license, you just ignore the renewal notices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭IanCurtis

Yes I have no intention of paying my licence this year.

It's a joke on the Irish people.

The BBC have channels with no advertising, with huge ratings winner TV & radio shows like Wogan, Jonathan Ross, MOTD, etc. etc.

We have a fat **** Gerry Ryan getting paid 500,000 a year.

If everyone were not to renew the licence, RTE would be in with the creditors within 6 months, advertisers would pull the plug within 9 months and they would go belly-up from their normal service within one year, bar the intervention of the Government.

Worth a shot methinks.

Let's do it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭Skyuser

How the hell does Joe Duffy get paid €1500 per hour? He does a 75min show 5 days a week for about 40 weeks of the year. Work it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

IanCurtis wrote: »
    We have a fat **** Gerry Ryan getting paid 500,000 a year.

What's weight got to do with it?!
    Skyuser wrote: »
    How the hell does Joe Duffy get paid €1500 per hour? He does a 75min show 5 days a week for about 40 weeks of the year. Work it out.

You are making the presumption that he starts just before he goes on air and leaves the second he is off air.

That's a really silly presumption to make.

Regardless of whether or not he is value for whatever hours he actually works, your figures are fudged.

It's great to know our money is going towards Joe Duffy's pinstripe suits and robococks for Pat Kenny to pleasure his wife with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭Skyuser

The-Rigger wrote: »
    You are making the presumption that he starts just before he goes on air and leaves the second he is off air.

That's a really silly presumption to make.

Regardless of whether or not he is value for whatever hours he actually works, your figures are fudged.

His show doesn't exactly demand huge research. It's a bunch of complainers shouting about some crap.

He is on more than Ryan Tubridy which does way more hours on radio and tv with a lot more research needed.(not sticking up for Tubridy, i'd like to see his resignation asap)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I'm applying for a job in rte in the morning. Easy money. :D

How about RTÉ grow some balls and actually develop some new talent. Leave Pat Kenny shag off to TV3, it's not like anybody would care. He'd be ideal as a showbiz correspondent on Exposé

The-Rigger wrote: »
    You don't cancel your TV license, you just ignore the renewal notices.

Ah, ye know what I meant! :rolleyes: ;)

http://static.flickr.com/117/315963524_d1ba859b16_o.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Kemos wrote: »
    Leave Pat Kenny shag off to TV3, it's not like anybody would care. He'd be ideal as a showbiz correspondent on Exposé

Now that might be worth paying for...

BTW I have nothing against Finucane, I liked her on liveline more than Duffy, but her shows now consist of what I'd equate to a coffee morning and a quick scout through the week's papers, with whoever RTÉ could drag out of bed on a weekend morning...
    Nice work if you can get it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

ok while i agree kenny is ****e and all, there are a few things you're forgetting here.

rte have to pay these people these ridiculous salaries to stop them heading elsewhere for more money. the predicted loss of advertising revenue resulting from their departure is obviously greater than the salary they pay them. believe me rte would not pay a penny more than they have to.

secondly, the airtime is no reflection on how much time they spend working there. Those guys are in there every second of the day working. I've been in there a lot and have seen the hours they work.

however, i do agree that they're all crap. The problem is, the rte audience are very conservative and if any of these people went to TV3, BBC, UTV, etc. huge ratings would be lost.
    look at what happened to rte radio's listenership figures after today fm got people like Ian Dempsey. The exact same thing would happen if any of the people mentioned in the list left for greener pastures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭dRNk SAnTA

gurramok wrote: »
    The full list is:

1. Pat Kenny €849,139
    2. Gerry Ryan €558,990
    3. Marian Finucane €455,190
    4. Joe Duffy €367,804
    5. Ryan Turbidy €346,667
    6. Derek Mooney €242,408
    7. Marty Whelan €229,056
    8. Miriam O'Callaghan €221,383
    9. John Kelly €204,675
    10. Bryan Dobson €193,610

Pat Kenny is a hero to me, so 850k isn't enough.

The most overpaid:
    Marian ****ing Finucane. She's awful!
    Marty ****ing Whelan (what is he even doing? is he still on 2fm?)

Most underpaid:
    Jooooeeeee Duuuuuuffffyyyyy - his program is politically pretty powerful and he has to listen to old people crow on about rubbish every day
    Byan Dobson - unless he reports it - it didn't happen.
    Mark Little - way better than miriam "cheaper by the dozen" o'callaghan
    George Lee - because economics is hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Spastafarian

dRNk SAnTA wrote: »
    Pat Kenny is a hero to me, so 850k isn't enough.
    You should really tell us when you're being sarcastic to avoid confusion.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

You should really tell us when you're being sarcastic to avoid confusion.
    Given the username I'd say he's more likely drunk. They should make this into a diageo ad. Same ad as the one where yer man wakes up after getting shítfaced and gets all embarrassed with himself and all his friends hate him except, replace the fighting, spilling drink on some hot chick and vomiting all over the place with standing on a table in a busy pub and screaming "Pat Kenny is my hero.".

It might be more effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

jtsuited wrote: »
    look at what happened to rte radio's listenership figures after today fm got people like Ian Dempsey. The exact same thing would happen if any of the people mentioned in the list left for greener pastures.
    So if they left audiences would drop. So what? They get less revenue from advertising? then what?

I honestly don't see the problem, if they went to TV3 (your greener pasture) for more money then what does that mean to the average punter? Auld Biddy will still get to see them on TV3 yes? but she will not have to fork out for 50% of their wages via the licence. She will simply have to suffer ads on TV3 to pay for it. Everyones a winner.

Why not have rte inline with other station?. Are they running scared that they have to have the government make it a crime not to subscribe to their service if you have a TV. Years ago a TV was a luxury item, it sort of made sense to tax it as such, now 99% of homes have them, why is there a licence fee, why not just include it in normal taxes?

But really why have it forced upon people at all? Why not offer it as a subscription service like any other TV stations? give people the choice.

I have asked in several other threads why don't they introduce a cooker licence. I expect a similar 99% of households have a cooker these days. The government could issue households with recipes and/or food for the bargain €160 per year. If you do not like the recipes/food then STFU, just bin it, let it go to waste, like unwatched TV, someone out their might enjoy the food, nobody is forcing you to eat it, just forcing you to pay for it. You do it for TV so why would you complain about doing it for food? Of course to get people attention we would have to employ "celebrity" chefs and pay them 500,000 per year for these recipes. I mean, WTF would watch some guy being interviewed by some no-name wooden plank rather than Pat Kenny, and WTF would cook anything thought up by someone who is not even on the telly. If you turn your cooker on just once a year to heat the room, then you pay full whack, doesnt matter if you eat food or not, just like you pay full whack if you only watch dvds on your tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

ok there is a very good argument for having a state broadcaster. i won't get into it now.

should people in the UK have to pay their television licence?

If your answer is 'yes as they don't have to watch ads', then I'd point to the fact that license revenue alone would not cover a fraction of the cost to run a decent state broadcaster in this country. It is simply necessary to have advertising revenue.

then you might say 'no why should we have to pay a licence, we don't need a state broadcaster'. Well I firmly believe we do. You only have to compare the standard of programming on TV3 to RTE to see why we need a state broadcaster.
    Or if any of you have witnessed the 24 hour infomercial that is US television you'll see why having some sort of non-commercial control of a TV station is vital.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

That's just their RTE wages. It would be interesting to know how much other income their "celebrity" generates for them.