Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Medical comming up bmi over limit, but dont want to loose muscle

• 28-02-2008 1:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭

guys,
    im 5'11 nearly!!! 15 stone,

have a medical in a few weeks where my bmi has to be nicely under 30, want to loose some weight but keep muscle. Help?????

just so ye know..........

bodyfat 21%
    currently
    bench 122.5kg
    deadlift 195kg
    Squat 150kg

Training five times a week booze and girlfriend permitting.
    Generaly workouts revolve around shoulders back chest.........hate doing legs.........and not enough weight in the gym i use to challenge them anyway.......145 -150kg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

well you are already under 30 so what was your target. Also what else has to be done as part of the medical i.e. is there any activity required

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

no between 25 and 30 is at doctors discretion or some shiite........ idealy 20 to 25. and yes it does but i should walk it!! (no pun intended) hahah

EDIT: sorry the physical is seperate i should've made that clear, have to pass med to move onto phys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

surely the doc would have the cop on to pass you then.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,586 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

@itsallaboutheL

I had a medical in Jan. I was well under the "target" range of 12-15% bodyfat for my age/height (my bf was 8 or 9%) and my BMI around 25 ish.

The doc told me that everything was fine for my age, etc and that I was in perfect health, etc.

However, when he sent out the written report he must have forgetten who I was and just went upon his charts which state that BMI > 25 = overweight and unhealthy. The written report tells me to pay attention to my weight, or words to that effect :rolleyes:

The moral of the story -> If you explain in the medical that you are weight training make sure that the doc makes a note of this, and factors it into any written/electronic records created.

My 2c.

ya makes sense except that my bodyfat is a bit dodge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

OP how did you have your BF% measured?.

I'm in the Defence Forces and fail my BMI every time, even the army doc's are on my case @ every medical. But when I get my BF% measured with a calipers I pass with flying colours.

As a training athlete you should be entitled to have your BF% measured with the calipers as the BMI scale is way out for anyone lifting weights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

no between 25 and 30 is at doctors discretion or some shiite........ idealy 20 to 25. and yes it does but i should walk it!! (no pun intended) haha
    I still don't understand? You are below 30, and nowhere near 20-25. So what happens?

If you are 30+ you "fail" the test?
    At 29.5 you "pass"

what happens if you pass or fail? would you be getting paid more if you were 20-25, than 25-30, and lose your job at 30+?

If it means nothing I wouldn't give a crap what the doctor reports you as.

And I wouldn't change anything in your training if you don't want to, just so some chart that doesn't matter says you are OK.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,586 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

I think the OP means that if his BMI is between 25-30 then the doctor has to make a call on whether it is fat or muscle which is bringing the score up.

BossArky wrote: »
    I think the OP means that if his BMI is between 25-30 then the doctor has to make a call on whether it is fat or muscle which is bringing the score up.
    Right, I am just wondering that happens with this "score". What if he does get a disgracefully ignorant doctor, like you had.

In your case what did the medical mean? i.e. did you get a "score" and what did this mean? more/less money?

Did you tell your manager about the incompetent doctor that they hired? they should have refused to pay him IMO, shouldn't be allowed to even practise if he is that dangerously ignorant. Even if it was some computer generated mistake it was obviously not checked before it went out. If you have a ignorant doctor diagnosing a ignorant person it could be quite dangerous.

What if he had told some body with a psychological problem concerning their weight that they should lose weight at 8-9%BF, and they went off starving themselves.

rubadub wrote: »
    In your case what did the medical mean? i.e. did you get a "score" and what did this mean? more/less money?
    In my case the medical has no direct bearing on my job. It was also not fed back to my company.

I work in IT and the medical is purely a "benefit" which the company extends to employees. i.e. a free medical once a year with the intention that it will help steer the subject towards a more healthy lifestyle and suggest ways of dealing with stress.

As you get older the medical gets more comprehensive. For anyone under 30, like myself, the medical consisted of just:
    • blood test
    • glucose test
    • urine test
    • V02 max
    • bodyfat %
    • BMI
    • resting and non resting heart rate
    • spinal / posture assessment
    • free radical score
    ... and maybe one or two other things
    Did you tell your manager about the incompetent doctor that they hired? they should have refused to pay him IMO, shouldn't be allowed to even
    practise if he is that dangerously ignorant.

No, I did not report the doc or the private health firm he worked for. It is not worth the hassle in my opinion. Whoever I would report the incident to would probably be inclined to lean towards the doctors opinion anyway based upon their own ignorance.
    What if he had told some body with a psychological problem concerning their weight that they should lose weight at 8-9%BF, and they went off starving themselves.

I take your point that it could be dangerous for someone else - however I got what I wanted from the medical and hope that my own knowledge, combined with the docs input, gives me a more rounded opinion of my own health.

Whoever I would report the incident to would probably be inclined to lean towards the doctors opinion anyway based upon their own ignorance.
    Yes, probably right. I probably wouldn't have bothered with a formal complaint myself. I certainly would have said something to my manager or the company owner, even just a passing comment like "I got my results and apparently I am obese and need to lose weight".
    I take your point that it could be dangerous for someone else - however I got what I wanted from the medical and hope that my own knowledge, combined with the docs input, gives me a more rounded opinion of my own health.
    Yeah I wouldn't mind getting those tests for free, and you can draw your own conclusions. I would just hate the thought of someone's pay rate, or getting a job, being down to some chart which takes little into account.

well basically to answer you're question if i fail i have to find a new form of employment.............................

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

well basically to answer you're question if i fail i have to find a new form of employment.............................

Eh discrimination much?

You're about the same height as me, bf's a tad higher and weight's a bit lower but if they're true stats then it should be obvious that you're carrying a fair bit of muscle and presumably the doc will have the cop on not to fail you.

Obviously make sure you mention to him that you're in a gym and lift weights so it's going to effect the score.

If it's REALLY that important that you pass then you could just simply start a dehydration process the week before which should net you a loss of 2-4kg, perhaps more. Obviously it's temporary and would only be used for the purposes of passing the test, but it's something else to consdier.

Btw, I'll be in the same boat come October. Unless I'm 94kg or under I'll be clasified as obese. Hell my BMI's about 32 at the mo like. And that's with 16-17% bodyfat.

ya i see where you're comming from Hanley but as posted above doctors and gym rats differ greatly!! plus 21-22% bodyfat seems to by concentrated on stomach only......... booze methinks

Hahahahaha I just checked what weight I'd have to be to be consdiered "normal"... 78kg. That means having 0% bodyfat AND losing over 3kg of muscle. And even at that I'd only be "normal" by 0.1kg.

example A Jerry Flannery, 5'10 just about no matter what stats say, and at least 17.5 stone BMI= clinicly dead

Hanley wrote: »
    Hell my BMI's about 32 at the mo like.
    You still washing with a rag on a stick?;)

bartragonstick.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 jumbopalumbo

test for Gardai?? cut the carbs, up the protein, should spare muscle while helping to drop some weight

Hanley wrote: »
    If it's REALLY that important that you pass then you could just simply start a dehydration process the week before which should net you a loss of 2-4kg, perhaps more. Obviously it's temporary and would only be used for the purposes of passing the test, but it's something else to consdier.

The test I did also told the doc how hydrated I was at the time.

(I had been drinking buckets of water all day to ensure I wouldn't be in the jacks for hours squeezing out a urine sample :p He remarked on how hydrated I was)

--> So, another doc will probably cop if someone is dry as a bone.

You still washing with a rag on a stick?;)

bartragonstick.jpg

No... but Malteaser did get me one of these http://woodenpost.com/images/1875l.jpg

And no, I'm not even joking. And yes, I do use it. In my defence;

-it can be very hard to reach around to your back after a high volume bench session because my shoulders get so tight.

-one of my pecs was surgically shortened so that it's not as long or as flexible as the other

-I'm still flexible enough to do overhead squats with perfect form