Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pelvic ultrasound?

• 26-02-2008 9:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭

Just wondering if any ladies have any experience of this? i dont really like shouting my personal business but dont know anyone who has had one. my doctor is sending me for one, and the form she gave me says its looking for ovarian cysts / endometriosis. had read a bit about endometriosis before, but im freaking myself out a bit looking at stuff online. the doctor said everythings probably fine but just to get checked.

ive googled pelvic ultrasound & sounds like it would be similar enough to an ultrasound for a pregnant woman, but im not sure cause theres another one with things getting a bit more internal!

anyway, i was just wondering if any of you have had one & what it was like. & im also just trying to stop freaking myself out thinking of bad results!

Thanks.. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Had one two weeks ago. Apart from the fact that you can't pee for ages beforehand, it's not uncomfortable or intrusive in the slightest. Just like the one for pregnant women but a little lower down!

Oh and don't worry about the results. I was convinced I had everything under the sun and they found nothing wrong at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭rusalka

OMG I log onto Boards, and this is the first post I see - I had a pelvic ultrasound only today!!!

My doctor suspects I may have an ovarian cyst, and just wanted it checked out.

First and foremost, it was utterly painless.

Secondly, just so you're prepared, in my case, the radiographer couldn't quite get the detail he needed from the external scan, so he had to do an internal scan to see my ovaries properly and to get good images.

I had heard that this is sometimes the case, so I was at least prepared for it, and though it was a bit :o, it was over in a few minutes. He had to get another person to attend, though, as it wasn't hospital policy for him to perform it alone, so just be aware of that.

***** The Too Much Information Bit *****
    The internal probe is sort of like a dildo :o:rolleyes::o, and they stuck a condom on it, and plenty of lube, so it wasn't a problem. In my case, only the first 2-3 inches were inserted, and he got all the pics he needed.

I was undressed from the waist down, with a hospital gown on, which covered everything once the probe was inserted.

It was all very efficient and over in about 4-5 minutes, so if it comes to it, just grin and bear it. The "dildocam" :D really does give them great images, and so from a diagnostic point of view, it's good.

Hopefully it won't come to that for you, though, and they'll be able to see everything on the external scan, but just be prepared for the possibility! The worst thing about the whole thing is not being able to pee - it's a killer! They let you wee before doing an internal scan, though, so there's no messiness... :D;)

Hope it all goes well for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

Thanks for the replies.

i read ladyjs & thought "oh grand" but then i read rusalkas & thats freaked me out even more! thanks for the info though, at least i wont be surprised if it happens :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Jules

Its not a hugh thing, and pcos or ovarian cysts are so common its unreal! I had it done years ago, unfortunately before the whole sex thing so the dildo type object scared the shit outta me. And was sore but again, i was a virgin so it was a bit tougher.

You will be grand sar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭rusalka

Ah, no, hun - I'm so sorry if it freaked you out a bit - I just wanted to give you the honest lowdown on my own experience, just in case it comes to that for you (which it probably won't anyway!)

Honest to goodness, it's the grandest - and I'm a big scaredy cat for ANYTHING like this - even the thoughts of the feckin' external scan had me worried to bits, but HONESTLY, the whole thing is over in a few minutes, and you'll be absolutely 100% fine.

I'd go again in the morning if I had to - no probs at all, now that I know what to expect.

You'll be in and out before you know it - as I said, not being able to pee truly is the worst bit! :)

Take care. x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Like everyone else said, nothing to worry about. When I had mine (well many of them!) done the 'dildo' thing was actually a lot smaller than a real one (no jokes lads :D) so it was far less invasive than you might think. If it helps with the visuals, they used one of the fingers of a vinyl glove instead of a condom over it :cool:

Absolutely nothing to be nervous about, you'll be grand!

ellscurr wrote: »
    Like everyone else said, nothing to worry about. When I had mine (well many of them!) done the 'dildo' thing was actually a lot smaller than a real one (no jokes lads :D) so it was far less invasive than you might think. If it helps with the visuals, they used one of the fingers of a vinyl glove instead of a condom over it :cool:

Absolutely nothing to be nervous about, you'll be grand!

thanks, thats sounds a bit less scary. i was imagining a big monster of a thing :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,872 ✭✭✭✭fits

I had one recently too, but didnt get any dildo action :D

It was absolutely fine. Nothing to worry about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

sar84, I wouldn't worry about the dildocam. I wouldn't imagine it'd be too unpleasant. Try having a colonoscopy! Now that is an ordeal! Lol. Though pretty hilarious at the same time I have to say. Just be thankful that things are going up the front of you and not the back!

EDIT: Why are colonoscopies always a conversation killer?!

LadyJ wrote: »

well im not sure what the best response would be to "Just be thankful that things are going up the front of you and not the back!" :p

just keeping fingers crossed nothing is going up anywhere!

thanks for all the replies :)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

Hey missus, had a pelvic ultrasound and apart from the uncomfortable full bladder its grand. Not a problem at all. Do be warned that they may have to do an internal ultrasound but like the other girls its no big deal.

I have polycystic ovaries myself, so if thats what you're diagnosed with I have loads of info on controlling it and how to regulate your period by other means than just taking the pill! It does my head in that docs prescribe the pill for PCOS because eh if you stop taking the pill then the whole bloody thing starts up again! :rolleyes::mad: End of personal rant.

Best of luck with it girl, hope it all goes well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

LadyJ wrote: »
    sar84, I wouldn't worry about the dildocam. I wouldn't imagine it'd be too unpleasant. Try having a colonoscopy! Now that is an ordeal! Lol. Though pretty hilarious at the same time I have to say. Just be thankful that things are going up the front of you and not the back!

LOL totally agree with you. I've had both aswell.

On a scale of one to ten (ten being the most uncomfortable) dildocam (great word :D) was a 2/10 and colonoscopy 9/10

OP you will be wondering what you were fussing about after, its a walk in the park. Dont sweat it.

yay no "dildocam"!! :D THANK GOD! was totally painless :) (except for nearly peeing myself)

Thanks for all the replies :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭huber

Hi
    I was wondering could anyone help me with this, I had an ultra sound last week as part of a few tests I was having. Both the lady doing the ultrasound and her student asked me at different times during the procedure if I ever had an operation on my ovaries. Anyone any idea why they asked this?what might they have seen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭Tupins

Had to laugh there ellscurr at you saying the dildocam was smaller than the real thing - was just talking to a friend of mine yesterday who had one done recently and she said that it was 'way bigger' than the real thing

- doesn't say much for her husband hee hee :D

Anyway, I have also had the pelvic ultrasound and it was totally fine except for being bursting to use the loo!

Good luck anyway OP. You'll be fine.

OK just noticed that I replied practically a year after the event - glad it went well anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭MonicaBing

huber wrote: »
    Hi
    I was wondering could anyone help me with this, I had an ultra sound last week as part of a few tests I was having. Both the lady doing the ultrasound and her student asked me at different times during the procedure if I ever had an operation on my ovaries. Anyone any idea why they asked this?what might they have seen?

Huber, ive had that same scenario done to me 4 yrs ago, and i found out the reason i was asked is because i had scarring on my Left Ovary...and it showed on scans, so maybe thats why they asked you girl?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Tupins wrote: »
    Had to laugh there ellscurr at you saying the dildocam was smaller than the real thing - was just talking to a friend of mine yesterday who had one done recently and she said that it was 'way bigger' than the real thing

Anyway, I have also had the pelvic ultrasound and it was totally fine except for being bursting to use the loo!

Good luck anyway OP. You'll be fine.

OK just noticed that I replied practically a year after the event - glad it went well anyway!

Hahaha I've obviously been spoiled so :D UK dildocam is a small one, maybe in Ireland they make them more lifelike :cool:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,327 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

You should try a camera into the bladder - now there's fun.:eek:

I had the external pelvic ultrasound and really the only discomfort was when they were pressing fairly hard and I really thought I was going to wet myself because of needing to pee so much.

I wouldn't worry too much about them oohing and ahhing about things they see. If a radiologist (?) finds something interesting and calls someone else in, it does not mean it's something bad. Sometimes if a patient has an unusually shaped organ, they'll get someone else in to have a look. There are many out of the ordinary things that still fall within the bounds of 'normal'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭claireycork

Hi i have one tommorrow!I came on to here for info but now im worried because i have my period- should this affect my scan??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭cch

Tupins wrote: »

Ha! It's much longer, that's probably what she meant!! :P
    Best description I could come up with was that it's like the middle part of a rolling pin :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

I had one a few years back and it was grand. You'd have been told already if it was an internal one I reckon. When I had my pelvic scan they just covered the area under my bellybutton with jelly and pressed in on certain places to get an image up on the screen.

Honestly, I was about 16 when I had mine and it's nothing to be scared of. It's the same as a scan when you're pregnant, only a bit lower down. The worst part is that you need to drink tonnes of water before hand and have a bull bladder before they do it, which especially sucks when they start pressing in on you tummy :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,097 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Have had two in the past year. First was kinda funny, as I was in a waiting room with a pregnant lady and her anxious looking fella. My boyf had come with me for support (I was being sent to query cysts too) and the look of 'support' he got from yer man was gas...a sort of sympathetic 'it's all ahead of ya' look!

I nearly weed myself tho, let's be honest, It is so so so hard to hold so much water. They sent me out cos I hadn't drunk enough and I was really bothered by it all. I generally guzzle lots of water every day and can hold it or so I thought. When you're lying down tho just try to think or everything else but running water!

Good luck x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

I actually had one years ago when I was in the emergency room . . .

I was in a lot of pain and hepped up on medication, so I don't really remember a whole lot of it.

And then I was diagnosed with appendicitis . . . go figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭mood

I had one for the same reason. It seemed to be the same as what a pregnant woman would have done (don't have kids so not 100% sure). My results were clear. Don't read too much yet. You may not have either problem and will only end up worried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I've had a few pelvic ultrasounds, internal and external. I had two internal one's in the early stages of pregnancy and I also had another internal to diagnose ovarian cysts. They were the exact same. They just get the 'dildo like' thingy and pop a condom on it, put some lube on it and yeah, put it in. I found it a bit uncomfortable tbh, but not painful really.

Had an external one too and yeah, that was worse 'cause of the needing to pee and pressing on my tummy but it wasn't awful either! Neither are anything to be scared of so don't worry :)

As for whoever asked about being on your period, not be graphic here, but I was bleeding during one of my internals as I had a non-viable pregnancy and it was still carried out so I doubt being on your period makes any difference. Good luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

Have had two in the past year. First was kinda funny, as I was in a waiting room with a pregnant lady and her anxious looking fella. My boyf had come with me for support (I was being sent to query cysts too) and the look of 'support' he got from yer man was gas...a sort of sympathetic 'it's all ahead of ya' look!

Haha, I've been asked a number of times 'When are you due', is it your first etc etc. They always get very embarassed when you tell them actually, no you're just there for an examination.

External and internal ultrasounds are no biggie tbh, downside is they generally don't show a massive amount.

Internal exam now.....that is not fun.... I thought the doc was joking the first time that was suggested.....it turns out he wasn't, and he had big hairy hands, and even though he wore gloves you could still see the hair thru the gloves and jebus......horrible:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭claireycork

Had mine yesterday it went well actually - no internal required! The only thing is when they rang me i thaught they said i needed to drink TWO LITRES of water before hand (apparently its two PINTS!) so here i was after consuming two litres of water in the sweats and horrors for an hour while she pressed down on my bladder! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Oh The Humanity

I've got one next week. Not looking forward to drinking the 2 gallons of water and being probed! Like Tammy Wynette said, Sometimes its hard to be a woman! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

I had one a few years ago, the non-invasive part only! It was fine, nothing to worry about.

I was told to drink loads of water too and it was way too much for me, because I'm constantly running to the toilet even on an average day. Bladder the size of a Terry's Chocolate Orange peanut.

My advice? Only drink enough so that you feel the need to pee, not till you're thinking "if I sneeze now the consequences could be dire." :cool: