Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you know a MeMe?

• 26-02-2008 5:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭

How do you tell your friend (guy I play soccer with) that they talk about themselves too much? Now I mean to the extent that its annoying very annoying. Not the most approachable either if you were to point out faults of his (I guess).

If I came in a said nice day out, he'd say not as nice as the day I was born

If I said I like apples, he'd say I grew an apple tree once and I ate all the apples and I like apple tart etc etc

so one of the lads called him meme, cas its all about me, as in him. This evolved into Roadrunner cas meme -> meep meep -> Roadrunner. I dont mind as much but the lads are gettin annoyed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Ask him is he smarter than a 10 year old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Yeah, i know a lad like that,English lad, if i said i ran a marathon hed say he ran two
    Very agerssive too always tellin you what hel do to you if you were to say anything to him, i put him in his place last year when he took a mock swing at me, instead of getting thrown out i got a round of applause

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Dont beat around the bush - take the piss out of him. Its what room mates are for. They take the piss out of me when its merited and I take the piss out of them when its merited. Its working great :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

I know a girl called Mimi :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Lawless_Samurai

I think we all know a "meme". Every group of friends has one.

I just completely zone out when he starts talking. Nod every now and again and the odd "yeah" or "really" keeps him satified I'm listening when really I ain't! :D

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Just imitate him. For example if you're in the pub and one of the lads asks you if you want a pint say "I used to brew my own pints". Everyone will have a bit of a laugh and he'll eventually realise what you are doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I talk about myself all the time

usually it's a sign that I think the people I'm with are really dull

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

One the lads I usually eat lunch with is like that. He won't take hints either, and is oblivious to blatant telling which I tried a few times too.

There is never a story he can't top or a subject he isn't an expert on either.

Tit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Self-obsessed people really get on my tits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

he sounds cool, im an expert in everything too,

tis a great quality!

im quality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Jeebus

Milhouse is NOT a meme.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭workaccount

F*ck sake. I'd hate to think I might be one of these. I can think of one that comes to mind but maybe he's like that because I'm dull.

I find it really hard to focus on what other people are saying and to enjoy the conversation. I really try and I am getting better.

I've been depressed for the last few years and am only coming out of it now.(after medication and therapy) I am really trying but it's hard...I feel as though I'm getting better sometimes.

I never try to top someones story though and do ask them plenty of question etc. but I'm not always really listening because I lose focus so easily which why conversation with me is usually probably a dull matter.

I would not go off on a roll talking about myself either. I must not be that bad so....thank god.

All I say to people who hate these people.....give us a chance we may just be waiting for somebody to help us along a little better and understand where were coming from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I'm a meme.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

When he's talking pretend to be listening really closely.

Lean forward, clasp your hands together and nod a couple of times.

Then as his story reaches its finale just randomly stand up and without saying anything to him take out your phone and ring someone else.

Walk away saying things like; "No, I'm at nothing" or "ah I'm bored outta my mind".

Guaranteed to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

far too many of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Know someone like this. Once I apologised to her because I was really tired and not very talkative. I just said "Sorry for being a bit of a bore tonight". She then said, "I'm way more boring than you!"........It's pretty weird tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭GrahamThomas

Dinter wrote: »
    When he's talking pretend to be listening really closely.

Lean forward, clasp your hands together and nod a couple of times.

Then as his story reaches its finale just randomly stand up and without saying anything to him take out your phone and ring someone else.

Walk away saying things like; "No, I'm at nothing" or "ah I'm bored outta my mind".

Guaranteed to work.

:D That is some quality advice!
    Have worked and lived with quite a few MeMe's, I find their "world revolves around me" mindset incredibly annoying, and you can't have any sort of real conversation with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭james123

Im a youyou

Cant stop talking about everybody else I hate myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

I know a guy that talks about himself, and always has a story about anything you mention. But he's fairly sound as well. But still, I'm glad he fecked off to Maynooth college.

He's an extreme headwrecker when you talk about guitar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

My housemate is like that. I rarely see her but when she leaves her room I might mention something and suddenly I'm hearing every detail of her, it must be said, sad boring little life.

Tonight I asked her if she watched the Oscars (because she's a screenwriting student) and she launched into a story about college and how she had a weird day because her horoscope came true. (The horoscope said that she would be helped by a teacher. :rolleyes:) Then she told me a story about her lecture which lasted longer than the lecture itself, and then she said that a guy had told her that he hated her from the moment he met her and she was wondering why.

I come up with many witty replies in my head when she is blabbering on but I'm too nice to say them.

What I usually do is text someone while still looking interested and ask them to call me.

I worked with a woman who even managed to turn the tsunami in South-East Asia into being all about her. Some feat really. She had self-obsessiveness down to an art.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

I know i meme very well. Anything you have done they have done better. General idea of this person. Say to them "i can speak spanish"...their reply.. i can speak Spanish in 5 different languages :D priceless...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Gawwwd I know exactly how you all feel. It really rags me off when people but in on my stories about my day with stories about themselves. Like I'd find any of that interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

I sat in front of one of them on a bus seven years ago, she was bad enough that I still remember it. For the whole two hour journey she was wittering away to the guy she was with, telling him these awful tedious stories about herself, unbelievably tedious like, and every time he tried to get a word in edgeways she'd go "Stop talking! I haven't finished telling you about this! And so then I couldn't find the suitcase, and my mother was like have you looked under the stairs, and it wasn't there, and I blah blah blah blah". Talking really loudly so it was impossible to tune her out.

I wanted to kill her by the time I got off. God knows how he must have felt.

I knew another one who would insist whole roomfuls of people be quiet to listen to her waffling on and on about herself. God she was awful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭bug

I blame mother's.
    A girl i went to school with was like that. Funny but she stuck in my head. Her mother told her she was special and had her on a pedastil.
    I often wonder how the fall was for her.

There is a very quick fix for a "me me". Ask them to play a game and try for a day to form a sentance without "I" in it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

bug wrote: »
    There is a very quick fix for a "me me". Ask them to play a game and try for a day to form a sentance without "I" in it.

They'll probably just start referring to themselves in the third person then which would be even more irritating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

Some classic examples there, very funny, my sister's a meme.

So was that murdered journalist. I got to know her in the early 90's. just can't think of her name atm.

As for memes, I call them suffering from lastworditis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭marthaclark

have a competition.

see who can talk about themselves more without asking the other person a question.

i think he'll start to catch on when he realises you care about yourself more than you care about hisself.

then he'll either love/hate you.

could be dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

They'll probably just start referring to themselves in the third person then which would be even more irritating.

A certain boards member springs to mind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Fredser

Every person is a meme and that's why I hate everybody and have no friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

I work with a guy like this. I have a feeling he might be a compulsive liar. The stories he comes out with.

He's about 30 but somehow was a London estate agent for 10 years, while living in South Africa and Thailand on an island with a princess being hunted by the mafia while scuba-diving on a motorbike.

You're afraid to talk about anything as he'll hijack the conversation and strat waffling on about all of the experience he has in the field and all the weird and interesting things that have happened to him... Thank god this is my last week in the job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭marthaclark

Fredser wrote: »
    Every person is a meme and that's why I hate everybody and have no friends.

i am definitely not a meme.

I'm more of a you-you really, much to my own detriment.

not you specifically. but others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭workaccount

i am definitely not a meme.

I'm more of a you-you really, much to my own detriment.

not you specifically. but others.

Yeah I'm actually more a you you (try to be I mean but sometimes get caught up in the seven deadly sins) but tend to get quite self absorbed sometimes that I cannot get out of myself so probably give a different impression. However, rather than talking about myself I would more or less become non responsive and the other person probably feels like I'm just not arsed talking to them or don't like them. If I try really hard to talk when I don't feel like it I don't communicate I just talk non relationship building dribble.

I am becoming better now though and a little bit more positive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

the dee wrote: »
    I work with a guy like this. I have a feeling he might be a compulsive liar. The stories he comes out with.

He's about 30 but somehow was a London estate agent for 10 years, while living in South Africa and Thailand on an island with a princess being hunted by the mafia while scuba-diving on a motorbike.

You're afraid to talk about anything as he'll hijack the conversation and strat waffling on about all of the experience he has in the field and all the weird and interesting things that have happened to him... Thank god this is my last week in the job!

:eek: you should really try and catch him out somehow, just before you go, sort of sweet revenge for having to listen to him for so long

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭FunkyChicken

these are the worst kind of people in the world

no one cares about you you sap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I'm a MeMe.

Hey I can't help it if my life is just so much more interesting than the rest of you losers. :D

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I'm a MeMe.

Hey I can't help it if my life is just so much more interesting than the rest of you losers. :D

examples or its not true!

the dee wrote: »

Oh yeah my friend's ex housemate is like that. Apparently he was Sony Music's attorney in a high-profile case in New York - with a degree in Legal Studies from Waterford I.T.

emo!! wrote: »
    examples or its not true!

Eh.... eh..... this one time I was driving and then like this motorbike jumped over my car and it was on fire and I saved the guy that fell off and he was a millionaire and he took me in his private jet to America and we went to... eh, the moon. Yeah, that's it.

*claps*

emo!! wrote: »
    *claps*

See! I told you my life was more interesting.....

.... and now back to watching some daytime TV!

AnonoBoy wrote: »

.... and now back to watching some daytime TV!

On your yacht in the Med, that Q gave you so you could blend in as a wealthy playboy at that super villain's beach party while surrounded by a bevy of beauties with evocative names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭RefulgentGnomon

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

This thread is all about me, you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Hrududu

I know a couple of memes. I wouldnt mind if they led fascinating lives and wowed us all with their stories. Instead I have to listen to every crushingly boring detail of their lives and relationships. I just zone out. Somewhere there is a thread started by a meme saying "Do you know people who just don't seem to listen to you?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Bendihorse

OP - So next time you tell him a story for example :-

YOU: Jesus lads, I was driving in the road today and this LUNATIC over took me in the 60k limit doin about 120k!! He was swerving all over the road! It was MAD!

MeMe: WELL, I was driving to work one day and this crazy goy came up behind me at 90mph and over took me on a blind bend almost forcing me to ditch it!! THEN nearly knocked down a pedestrian and forced an oncoming car to stop in the road!

YOU: Oh ya, thats like the time a space ship swooped down into my path one night i was on the motorway doing 200mph and abducted me from my car, carried out anal probes for 45mins then dropped me back to my car which was still travelling along, unoccupied, at 200mph!!!

Basically, no matter what he comes out with to top your story, you and your friends should agree to make up a grossly exaggerated story to top his that is completely unrealistic. Its a bitta craic, and in the end he will realise that hes the butt of the joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Niamho!

used to work with one. one of the most irritating fookers i ever met in my life.
    and he knew a bit about EVERYTHING!!!! or so he'd like to think!! :mad:

Niamho! wrote: »
    used to work with one. one of the most irritating fookers i ever met in my life.
    and he knew a bit about EVERYTHING!!!! or so he'd like to think!! :mad:

Thing is these people think they know everything but are far too stupid to know how much they're disliked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Dashticle

Two types of MeMe's - the ones who talk about themselves despite how boring they are, and the ones who make up outrageous crap about themselves and talk about it at every opportunity for attention. I know plenty of both :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

I have a friend who is the most self obsessed person you could ever meet...

And guess what her nickname is

Mimi

Maybe we could set them up on a date//...