Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where is Glen Hansard from?

• 25-02-2008 10:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭

What part of Dublin is Glen HAnsard from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Little Romania, why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Lirange

Swords isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭daisy123

what's little romania?? just trying to place his accent after his acceptance speech.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Not sure but Pigheads always hearing people say he can always be found Uphisownarse wherever that is. Think its near Bigego on the northside.

Lirange wrote: »
    Swords isn't it?

I'm from there!
    daisy123 wrote: »
    what's little romania?? just trying to place his accent after his acceptance speech.

West Street in Drogheda!
    Sorry...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

Thought he was from Donaghmede or somewhere around there

jdivision wrote: »
    Thought he was from Donaghmede or somewhere around there

I know Damien Dempsey is from there alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

Not only is he from Ballymun, but he yours truly was in his inter cert class from 83-86 in the Comp.

His bother is dead sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

What are ya on about Benny? He's actually from Buttercup Park in Darndale!

Don't ye jackeens be takin' our man, post a link to prove it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Hell.

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Well, he's not from around here afaik.

He could be from England secretly. Imagine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭GrahamThomas

vektarman wrote: »

Lived in Celbridge for over 20 years, never heard this claim to fame before.... Posters on the Kildare Co. Co. forum mistaking him for Damien Rice perhaps?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Glen hansard is a walt disney character, he doesnt really exist i tells ya!! Its all a conspiracy!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭ericl

Sillogue Road in Ballymun.

Wow, never knew he was such a man of mystery! Ballymun it is so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

cork. no one is from dublin. its a myth

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31 NortSoide

Who he ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

i thought he was from somewhere in the midlands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

Great film,great song. Well deserved, Glen if you are reading this, I salute you!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

It's possibly his family moved, but I used to know his younger brothers, who're from Donnycarney kinda area... A bit more in towards Killester really. Maybe the above buttercup park assertion is correct.

(edit; That maybe is to say that Buttercup Park may well be where I've just tried to describe. I don't really know.)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

No hes not from Darndale, myself I did think he was from the kilbarrack/killester type area but according to the man himself in the interview its Ballymun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

GinnyJo wrote: »
    No hes not from Darndale, myself I did think he was from the kilbarrack/killester type area but according to the man himself in the interview its Ballymun.

phish - everyone wants to be from Ballymun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,845 ✭✭✭2Scoops

Make art! Make art!...
    Bono is the chieftain of our country!

A warrior poet we should all respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

He's from sillogue, same as me. He was always chasing after my sister back in the day, the bowsie.

having said that, for ages I thought he was from finglas but i was just mixing him up with cristee dignam probably

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

He's definitely not from Ballymun. He was born in Firhouse but moved to Athy when he was in junior school. My sister dated his uncle in '76 and used to babysit Glen the odd time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Some weird answers here... I remember back as far as 1991 he lived with his family in Killester, at the end of Killester Ave. My mate lived in the house behind him and Glen or someone sprayed "THE FRAMES" on the back wall, they've been going for a while. Maybe they moved there earlier than '91 though. His family are still there anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Well once we figure out where he's from can we organise to have him sent back there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Hes from Ballymun?

Wow.. cool.. hes a good Representative of the ppl from there..

Ballymun gets alot of bad press. Now one of the Citizens has won an Oscar!

.. as i said before, Well Done Glenn :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

O_o

Will the real Glen Hansard please stand up?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

I am Spartacus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Another person in Ballymun also has two Oscars, Gardaí searches haven't yet found him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Well, theres two thing ol' scaldyballls has done that bono can only dream of, come from ballymun and win an oscar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭The Novacastrian

Just to paraphrase a post I put up yesterday....congrats to Glen and Marketa. Ignore the begrudgery of the Irish, you deserved the oscars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

He always says he's from Ballymun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I heard he was born in a carrot field in Leitrim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Beanstalk

He's definitely not from Ballymun. He was born in Firhouse but moved to Athy when he was in junior school. My sister dated his uncle in '76 and used to babysit Glen the odd time.

well i guess that hansard the question then.....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

I dont care where he's from, I dont know what it is about Glen or his Frames buddies I just despise the friggin lot of them, and their fans aswell, im not gonna say "no offence" because I absolutely hate them, again, I dunno why!!!

Tar / brush, I dont care!!!!

Still pretty sure he's from Sillogue in Ballymun if memory serves correct.....

And a c*nt!

You know when you just dont like someone for nothing? Thats how I feel bout Hansard, and Brendan O Carroll, id put them in the same breath tbh.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    Some weird answers here... I remember back as far as 1991 he lived with his family in Killester, at the end of Killester Ave. My mate lived in the house behind him and Glen or someone sprayed "THE FRAMES" on the back wall, they've been going for a while. Maybe they moved there earlier than '91 though. His family are still there anyway.

Well according to the linked interview he lived in Ballymun for 20 years. He'll be 38 this year so it's possible that he moved to Killester 18 years go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Ireland. Now f8ck off the lot of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

goslie wrote: »
    Just to paraphrase a post I put up yesterday....congrats to Glen and Marketa. Ignore the begrudgery of the Irish, you deserved the oscars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

The frames, and their fans, can all go bugger themselves with a jackhammer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

daisy123 wrote: »
    What part of Dublin is Glen HAnsard from?

Celbridge methinks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Who the hell is Glen Hansard anyway??
    Pointless thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭AlanSparrowhawk

ericl wrote: »
    Sillogue Road in Ballymun.

that's what i thought

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Who the hell is Glen Hansard anyway??