Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

come on glen

• 24-02-2008 8:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭

glen hansard up for oscar tonight he is our only hope as certain media coverage have put daniel day lewis as a british hopeful so come on glen........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

But.. But... Daniel Day Lewis is British.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

jazoo wrote: »
    glen hansard up for oscar tonight he is our only hope as certain media coverage have put daniel day lewis as a british hopeful so come on glen........

Without wishing to be pedantic about it, there are actually a few other Irish nominees:

Seamus McGarvey - Cinemtography (Atonement)
    Saoirse Ronan - Supporting Actress (Atonement)
    Peter J. Devlin - Sound Mixing (Transformers)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Where do we get this idea that Daniel Day-Lewis is Irish? He lives here but he's British! We are doing what we accuse them off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

What has Gelen Hansard been in? I've never heard of him! I doubt he'll win anything...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

jazoo wrote: »

Born in London. So he is English/British.

dsmythy wrote: »
    Where do we get this idea that Daniel Day-Lewis is Irish? He lives here but he's British! We are doing what we accuse them off.

He took out Irish citizenship in the early 90s for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

If DD Lewis is British then Saoirse Ronan is American because she was born there.

http://www.bdtonline.com/local/local_story_027212937.html

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Anyone else see potential chaos with Hansard pitching up for the awards and people wondering who the hell let Avid Merrion in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Any station (or online) showing it live tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Robbo wrote: »
    Anyone else see potential chaos with Hansard pitching up for the awards and people wondering who the hell let Avid Merrion in?

Heh Heh Heh, now that is funny, but really would the yanks know who Avid Merrion is either?

Well, he did that Bo Selecta knock-off in the States..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Zaph wrote: »
    Without wishing to be pedantic about it, there are actually a few other Irish nominees:

Seamus McGarvey - Cinemtography (Atonement)
    Saoirse Ronan - Supporting Actress (Atonement)
    Best of luck to them. Saoirse was excellent in Atonement.

While it would be nice to see Hansard win, I really hope he does'nt as it will only allow his ego to grow to monstrous proportions.

True, but maybe his head will grow so big it explodes, which would spare us in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 wetdog

It's live on Sky Premiere.

True, but maybe his head will grow so big it explodes, which would spare us in the future.

If were really lucky the explosion may also wipe out Bono.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

hope they win, amy adams' song was crap, enchanted has 3 of the 5 noms for best original song...wtf

once won best foreign film at the independent spirit awards! way cooler then the oscars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

Yay, winnage:)

Yeah, Hansard can be a pain in the hole but winning an Oscar is an awesome achievement. Fair play to him and Marketa.

Lol @ Jon Stewart's hilarious-on-several-levels quip after Glen's speech:
    Wow, that guy is so arrogant!

Edit: Wow, I've just read over my post and it's pretty weird to be talking about the Oscar-winning Glen Hansard. There's some words I never thought I'd be seeing in a sentence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

he saw the pOnce subvert too?

they've won loads already

two grammys

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0907657/awards

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Oh my god. I cant believe he won.
    Why do people keep giving this guy attention?
    And that song and movie were crap to boot.
    Oh, thats why they won...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Oh my god. I cant believe he won.
    Why do people keep giving this guy attention?
    And that song and movie were crap to boot.
    Oh, thats why they won...

What's all this negative glen hansard stuff? I've only seen him in the commitments and once. I found out he's in The Frames who I haven't really heard at all. What is he like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Loveless

that's not the same Peter Devlin of the band The Devlins is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭Beelzebub

Peared wrote: »
    But.. But... Daniel Day Lewis is British.

Ah sure now he's almost one of us, in his own mind at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭Beelzebub

Fukk the begrudgers.

Well done Glen and Markéta.

Well done to Glen.. while I don't particularly like him, the song and film were both fantastic and the song deserved it over the rest of the nominees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭jazoo

What's all this negative glen hansard stuff? I've only seen him in the commitments and once. I found out he's in The Frames who I haven't really heard at all. What is he like?
    the frames are the best live band in ireland. fair play to him for winning and hope that more success follows

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

He's Irish and achieved something through talent and/or hard-work, ergo Irish people hate him.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Delighted they won the oscar, well deserved.

As for the daniel is british debate, if he has irish citizenship then he is irish. Doesnt really matter tho really. We're all part of the british isles! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

faceman wrote: »
    Delighted they won the oscar, well deserved.

As for the daniel is british debate, if he has irish citizenship then he is irish. Doesnt really matter tho really. We're all part of the british isles! ;)

Also his auld lad was Irish.

In fairness when the BBC is describing you as 'holding joint British-Irish citizenship' then you can call him anything you want but French

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Ginger twonk winning an oscar, ther'll be no living with him now.

I'd have rathered just "Brit" Day-Lewis won an oscar and none for "one of our own" muppet Hansard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

if u consider adam clayton irish then daniel is irish too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭The Novacastrian

Typical Irish begrudgery...

Fair play to Glen and Marketa, a brilliant song by a great songwriter. Who cares if he is arrogant, maybe that got him to where he is today.

They have acheived something that I or most of us will never acheive, so fair play to him, well done again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

He's Irish and achieved something through talent and/or hard-work, ergo Irish people hate him.

I'd normally agree with that, but I don't see the same kind of negativity with regards to the success of Irish actors like Cillian Murphy or the like.

Not sure what to think of it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

I'd normally agree with that, but I don't see the same kind of negativity with regards to the success of Irish actors like Cillian Murphy or the like.

Not sure what to think of it though.

+1.

Irish begrudgery does exist to an extent but its not the reason we slag off the likes of Bono or Hansard.

I would have been thrilled if Saoirse Ronan or DD Lewis had won something but Glenn Hansard is an insufferable whiny git and he's only gonna get worse now. I don't believe he has any talent - every Frames song I've ever heard is a subtle variation on the same 3-chord monotonous drivel. I didn't like him as a nobody playing to 50 people in a lecture theatre and I don't like him now.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

i know he is a whiny git etc, but the film was excellent and the soundtrack was too.

Our own IFTA's hardly gave any recognition to the movie yet thought it fitting to give awards for PS I love you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

Fair play to Glen. Seen The Frames more times than I care to count (and think they peaked with Fitzcarraldo / Dance the Devil), I think he's a fairly genuine guy, who gets a lot more than his fair share of criticism.

Its a great achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

cornbb wrote: »
    but Glenn Hansard is an insufferable whiny git and he's only gonna get worse now.
    That's irrelevant, the award was for his (and Marketa's) abilities as a song writer and performer.
    I don't believe he has any talent - every Frames song I've ever heard is a subtle variation on the same 3-chord monotonous drivel.
    Then you should probably listen to a few more. Your tastes are your own and I don't expect you to fall in love with the band but they are far from being a three chord variation act.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 thedarkknight

Delighted wfor them both, I see Bono sent him a text saying "from a Busker to an Oscar"......just a bit patronising!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭ekevosu

Delighted wfor them both, I see Bono sent him a text saying "from a Busker to an Oscar"......just a bit patronising!

I don't think its meant to be patronizing at all to be honest, just an extension of what hansard has said himself about where he started and where he is now with the oscar and the astonishment he feels.

The song and two singers deserved to win he award, fair play to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

ekevosu wrote: »
    I don't think its meant to be patronizing at all to be honest, just an extension of what hansard has said himself about where he started and where he is now with the oscar and the astonishment he feels.

Yeah and Hansard seemed delighted to have received the text too. Fair play, I'm glad they won the oscar, nice to see Irish people doing well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

I'm delighted for them, i found it funny when the went to the sky coverage with Claudia Winkleman etc. and the female film critic was moaning about the song not being that good as a stand-alone track and it was better when shown in the context of the film.....erm....is that not the actual point of the award.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Beanstalk

Delighted to hear Day-Lewis won another oscar, he's an incredibly good actor. Hearing that Hansard song was painful though, when he sings in that high-pitched voice it sounds like a cat dying. No doubt he'll be adding the oscar win to that long list of incredibly dull ego-driven story drivel he likes to engage in before his songs live. And for those who don't believe Glen is an ego-maniac; here are a few examples:

1. From the intro of fitzcarraldo:
    'this song was written after seeing a film called Fitzcarraldo which was directed by a German director, Werner Herzog. It's about a man pulling a ship over a mountain, and I thought it was a lovely idea, so I wrote a song about it. Because I think a lot of us are pulling stuff over mountains....."

2. From an interview in the irish times weekend magazine, 22nd december 2007:

On his Once co-star marketa irglova:
    " She is wise beyond her years. I wouldn't be able to hang out with her if she wasn't."

On fame:
    "I refuse to stop living my life because of the chance I will get hurt."

On being Irish:
    "The frames fill rooms all over the world, you could be in the middle of an intense part of a set, playing to 10000people in belgium...and an irish fella will shout out ****ing eejit. It's as though people feel the need to throw spears at anybody who is getting too much into their own myth or too far up their own arse. That's why artistic people have always had to leave Ireland. as an artist sometimes you need to go into the dark..."

This man is a fool. And of course he gets an oscar for it.....

Beanstalk wrote: »
    "The frames fill rooms all over the world, you could be in the middle of an intense part of a set, playing to 10000people in belgium...and an irish fella will shout out ****ing eejit. It's as though people feel the need to throw spears at anybody who is getting too much into their own myth or too far up their own arse. That's why artistic people have always had to leave Ireland. as an artist sometimes you need to go into the dark..."

hansard is right about this one. Its even evident in this thread, begruding him an award because of who he is as opposed to what he created.

I think its a combination of both in this case....

What is it about Glen?

There is something about him that stops a lot of people, myself included, from wholeheartedly getting behind the man, even though you have to respect the achievement. Cant put my finger on it though.

Other irish silver screen successes dont seem to attract the same ambivalence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

if u consider adam clayton irish then daniel is irish too

Can I be Scotish then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭bbbbb

ND 1978 wrote: »
    What is it about Glen?
    I'm curious about this too. It's one thing to be ambivalent or dislike, but this guy seems to provoke hatred. Was looking at the imdb.com review comments of once. Gets an overall score of 8.1 which is quite good, but if you look at the last pages, or the first few comments, there are about a dozen reviewers who only give it one star. If you look at their review comments for other movies, there aren't any...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 wetdog

Beanstalk wrote: »
    On his Once co-star marketa irglova:
    " She is wise beyond her years. I wouldn't be able to hang out with her if she wasn't."
    That's a tad conceited, but I don't see the ego-mania in the other quotes at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭IanCurtis

bbbbb wrote: »
    I'm curious about this too. It's one thing to be ambivalent or dislike, but this guy seems to provoke hatred. Was looking at the imdb.com review comments of once. Gets an overall score of 8.1 which is quite good, but if you look at the last pages, or the first few comments, there are about a dozen reviewers who only give it one star. If you look at their review comments for other movies, there aren't any...

I think he tries too hard to be liked.

There's a false too-good-to-be-true thing going on with him.

wetdog wrote: »
    That's a tad conceited, but I don't see the ego-mania in the other quotes at all.

Eh? did you miss the part where he said he was getting too much into his own myth or too far up his own arse? I just wish you could read the whole newspaper article...here's another quote from the times...

"He remembers having a conversation with "a bonafide Irish rock star" about this issue. "His take on it was that the Shamen never mixes with his people, he stays on the outskirts of the village. The way the Shamen works is he operates under a sense of fear and respect. You never see him eat or wash his clothes . . . he has this gravity, there is a respect, but that doesn't exist in Ireland, in Ireland everyone is a Shamen," he says, and it feels like a deeply Eyebrowy moment."

What's all this talk about shamen? wtf? I know Glen himself didn't come up with the idea but now he compares himself to it? is glen a shaman now? a healer or something? or are we all shamen? wtf?

I mean come on, Marketa didn't even get a word in at the first acceptance speech, Glen demanded the spotlight. She ended up being called up again afterwards so she could get the chance to say thanks.