Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Counties (Other than your own) You Hate/Love

• 24-02-2008 4:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭

Alright then lads,

Was inspired by a comment on the "Greatest Hurler Ever Thread" when a fellow member said "really kills me to say it but Henry Shefflin!" Not sure whether this is against the player or the county but anyway your views.

Who do you depise?
    Who do you like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

I think with this thread all we have to do is say which county we are from and people will automatically know what counties we don't like. I'm from Dublin, so I am sure you'll know in my case.

As to counties we love, it would be a case of anyone who beats the counties we hate. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

'dem Biffos. Feckers the lot of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

Hate is too strong a word. Dislike Cork the most because of their recent shennanigans, followed by Meath (I'm from Westmeath), Dublin, Armagh. Tyrone, Kilkenny(in the Hurling).
    Like Galway(both codes), Kerry (Football) and Clare (Hurling).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Hmmmm. Keep it civil please as I can see this degenerating.

From Donegal and don't like Derry and Armagh. Strangely, I don't have much of a problem with Tyrone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

From Mayo so I immediately and genetically dislike Galway. Other dislikes include Meath and Kerry.

I like Waterford in the hurling and also give some half-hearted support to Galway due to them being the only Connacht side. I also liked Clare back when they were daft

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Offaly/Kildare being the neighbours.

Dublin sometimes.

Derry cos of Brolly. Armagh for the roughhouse tactics.

Don't mind the western teams or the munster teams.

^^^
    Football btw; no real hurling teams I dislike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

In football Dublin would be the only team really. In hurling it would be Tipperary. Other than that it varies from time to time, depending on who has annoyed me ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 dgrif88

like in hurling-waterford,clare limerick,dublin,wexford
    hate-cork tipp laois kilkenny

like in football-dublin,wexford,roscommon,derry
    hate-LAOIS (clancy,munnelly etc) MEATH(enough said),
    kildare,TYRONE(mc'connell,jordan,mcmenamin)
    ARMAGH(oisin,francie,geezer cynical wh0res)
    KERRY(dara o'se,galvin-cheats)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭GalwayDub2

I hate Meath with a passion....dont have a great love for Kildare either. I live in Galway so I dont really like Mayo much. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

kevmy wrote: »
    From Mayo so I immediately and genetically dislike Galway. Other dislikes include Meath and Kerry.

I like Waterford in the hurling and also give some half-hearted support to Galway due to them being the only Connacht side. I also liked Clare back when they were daft

From Kerry and love Mayo:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

dgrif88 wrote: »
    like in hurling-waterford,clare limerick,dublin,wexford
    hate-cork tipp laois kilkenny

like in football-dublin,wexford,roscommon,derry
    hate-LAOIS (clancy,munnelly etc) MEATH(enough said),
    kildare,TYRONE(mc'connell,jordan,mcmenamin)
    ARMAGH(oisin,francie,geezer cynical wh0res)
    KERRY(dara o'se,galvin-cheats)

You didn't say where you are from but obviously you seem to have a problem with teams that are successful in general. I'd be interested in knowing that last time the team you were supporting in the All-Ireland final in either code actually won.
    I suspect we would have to go back to the 90s given that you hate Cork and Kilkenny in hurling and Tyrone, Armagh and Kerry in football. Interestingly IMO all the players you mentioned above have one thing in common. Highly competitive and born winners.
    As a Kerryman I'm delighted to have Galvin as captain. Every successful team have a player like him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

from mayo:

dislike meath and galway
    envy kerry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 380 ✭✭future_plans

This thread can only be trouble!!

F: Dublin
    H: Waterford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

In the football I dislike:

Meath: For obvious reasons plus their v bad reputation they have got themselves over the years regardless of who they played.Dublin,Mayo,Cork and Wexford will tell you.

Kerry: Not so much the fans (although they are very proud) or the players themselves but their dominance is boring now.I want to see them get beat outright at a quarter final or semi and see what the reaction would be.

Cork : Didn't mind them so much until very recently.Their inflated self worth and perceived "greatness" by some of their fans leave a lot to be desired and the strike plus their disregard for the other counties did not help.

In football I like

Mayo: Family right down to my grandparents comes from there.They also play beautiful football when they are in a tight contest.

Westmeath:Have a cousin (David Duffy) playing for them.

In hurling I dislike

Kilkenny: Exactly like Kerry in the football and are a bunch of hypocrites.They go on about how Dublin and Meath SHOULD offer Cork a re-fixture and yet in the interest of fair play they never offered the Dublin U-21s a rematch when the result in a game was contestable.

From personal experience,their fans also totally disregard even fielding a team in football or investing in football because they are "no good at it".That quote was from Croke Park when I was talking to a KK fan at the Leinster Final v Wexford.

Antrim: Just don't like them.Can't quite put my finger on it.

Offaly: Another team that I just don't like.They never do anything or bring anything to the championship anymore and are boring in my opinion.I think their footballers are more exciting to be brutally honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

This thread can only be trouble!!

F: Dublin
    H: Waterford

Yes, very lockable thread, or indeed off to thunderdome.

Hate:

Hurling - Laois, Cork (because of my locality)

Football: - Laois.

Like:

Hurling: Kilkenny - you cannot deny their greatness, and their savage cuteness too

Football: Wexford (ancestral home and all that, awwwwww)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

-From Wexford

In general dislike Football wise
    Dublin A brilliant team but way too much mouth in latter years i.e Vs Kerry, Vs Laois

Cork Excuse my ignorance but any team who turns on a manager like they have lately, is shocking

Meath Isn't there a law, where everyone bar people from Meath have to hate Meath footballers

Kerry Any team with such class have to be appreciated, never seem to cocky otherwise

Tyrone/Donegal The Wexfords of Gaelic Football, ever the bridesmaid

Hurling Likes:

Waterford/Clare A great team who I think everyone in the country would love to see win an All Ireland

Galway A good team over the years and extremely underrated in recent years

Dislikes

Tipp Don't ask me why but I really really haven't anything good to say about Tipp

Killkenny Mainly due to geography and the fact Leinster as of late has become a pisstake for the cats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

In hurling I'll follow Waterford or Dublin. Have huge respect for Kilkenny but just can't support them against the Deise or Dubs.

Tomthepost wrote: »
    From Kerry and love Mayo:D

I'd say ya do:rolleyes: Our fellas collapse at the sight of ye in AI finals - oh a league game is grand but in Croke Park in September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,397 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

Dislike: Clare

They still have a sign up near where I live at home (Limerick City) proclaiming them as 1995 All Ireland Hurling Champions... time to move on

Rainbowtrout, Clare are still the 1995 All-Ireland Hurling Champions, and always will be, so there is nothing wrong with that sign. Put up a "Limerick - 1973 All-Ireland Hurling Champions" sign, or equivalent if you are from some other county, which would be equally valid.

Anyway, back to the thread's main subject. As my earlier post indicated, it goes without saying that I don't like Meath or Kerry. In a head to head though, given Kerry have won so many All-Ireland titles, I'd want Meath to win. Their hammering of them in the 2001 semi-final gave me great pleasure, as did Meath's defeat in the final to Galway.

My parents are from Galway and Roscommon, so I'd like to see those having success. Any of the counties that have not had much success, I like to see winning. If Dublin lose to such a county, it is one consolation.

As to Hurling, I don't like to see any of the big 3: Cork, Kilkenny and Tipperary, winning. Unfortunately not since 1998 has an All-Ireland been won outside of them. I'd love to see Waterford do it, or any other county.

Jaysus, whats wrong with our hurlers?! :/

kaimera wrote: »
    Jaysus, whats wrong with our hurlers?! :/

Do you really want an answer? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

From Westmeath but living in Dublin for few years now.

Like:
    - Mayo (lived in C'Bar for while sound people and great supporters of game at all levels)
    - Galway (went to college there, play good brand of football although there is a certain arrogance about some of recent teams)
    - Kerry (boring to see them dominate but just gotta admire the continuous line of all-round/class footballers)
    Longford (gf from there, went to school there, club is there know good few on panel)
    - Dublin (O'Byrne Cup/League away games etc) when real Dub supporters come into their own, see O'Byrne cup final, Loingford away in C'ship.
    Dislike:
    - Dublin (June-Sept Croker version) I'll give more explanation seeing as might be attacked by the majority here. mostly dislike the section of people who come out in summer that have never visited parnell or local club and abuse other fans and then call themselves best GAA supporters in country. The way that class players like Brogan et al get involved in bs showboating and pandering to fans i mentioned above, he's good enough to let his football do talking. The way no dub supporter on this forum will ever condemn any of above and will instead always say "loads of other teams do it".

- Kilkenny: contempt they show for other code.
    - Meath: Ah, i don't wanna talk about it, too many bad memories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭scaramanga

football
    For: Kerry , actually wudnt mind seen Dublin win one at this stage ,always had good times at the recent Kerry/Dublin games.The media coverage might pi$$ me off though
    Against: the rest:p

Hurling
    For : Waterford,Limerick
    Against: none

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Like: Any Ulster team still in the championship (apart from Monaghan), I tend to support the Dubs a little bit too.

Hate: Meath, Monaghan and Kerry.
    Meath, because they are Meath and unfortunately being from East Cavan you have to put up with one or two of them once a day at least.
    Monaghan because they're bitter.
    Kerry because they win too much and their cockyness.

jackbhoy wrote: »
    The way no dub supporter on this forum will ever condemn any of above and will instead always say "loads of other teams do it".

Plenty of the regular Dubs on this forum will criticise the sunshine fans from our own county. As anyone will know who is around on this board in the months of July and August over the last few years, you'll see plenty of Dublin fans criticising our sunshine fans when we are trying to get tickets. We say others do it, which is true, because the Dublin fans seem to get most abuse over it. Every county, in proportion to its overall fanbase (sunshine included) has sunshine fans, so obviously Dublin will have the most. Whatever you accuse Dublin of can be levelled against other counties, because in regards to almost anything you can say about any county, there are other counties that do it too.

The start of the championship always coincides with the start of the moaning here. We get it during the rest of the year too, but like the games themselves, things only really get going come the summer time. In terms of last year's moaning championship, I think the Cork fans probably won with the "we have to travel a lot and it's expensive" moan. Based on that, I am sure they are all disgusted now that the strike has been settled as it means they'll have to travel to loads of matches this year. So now that they will be playing I suppose all ye Cork fans better start hoping and praying that ye get knocked out of all competitions as early as possible, to save you having to do all that travelling and save you a fortune in money.:rolleyes:

Dislike: Clare

They still have a sign up near where I live at home (Limerick City) proclaiming them as 1995 All Ireland Hurling Champions... time to move on

There was a Mayo 1951 All Ireland Champions painted on a barn near Ballindine up until a couple of years ago '95 is nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,898 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

From Carlow

Like: Kilkenny, Wexford, Kerry, Letrim

Dispise: Laois ( I am from Carlow!), Dublin & Cork (I think reasons for these two are obvious)

Do you really want an answer? :P

Shaddup!
    I am from Carlow!

Sorry to hear that :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭KrazeeEyezKilla

PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    Like: Any Ulster team still in the championship (apart from Monaghan), I tend to support the Dubs a little bit too.

Hate: Meath, Monaghan and Kerry.
    Meath, because they are Meath and unfortunately being from East Cavan you have to put up with one or two of them once a day at least.
    Monaghan because they're bitter.
    Kerry because they win too much and their cockyness.

Monaghan are a pain to listen to. I don't want to imagine what they would be like if they won Ulster or even an All-Ireland.:eek:

For some reason I've always liked Fermanagh.

Forgot to say that I like Wicklow and would like to see them going places and doing well.Only Wicklow and Fermanagh have not won provincial titles.

I like Wexford in football too.Just something about the colour they bring to Croke Park and their style of football and the Mattie Forde show that really impressed me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭pd101

blackbelt wrote: »
    Forgot to say that I like Wicklow and would like to see them going places and doing well.

Thought everyone had forgotten about us.:D

For me I dislike like every other county in Leinster until we are out of the championship. After that I follow Kildare and Dublin. I like Donegal, Mayo and Kerry too. In hurling I like to see wexford and waterford doing well

I dislike Cork, Galway and Armagh in football and Kilkenny in Hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Jaysus lads loving all the wexford love?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

ShagNastii wrote: »
    Jaysus lads loving all the wexford love?

Wait until summer, that will all be over ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

From Carlow.

Like Galway, Kildare, Monaghan in football...have my reasons but wont go into it here.
    Hurling i like Wexford, Dublins effort recently & Galway. Ok the Galway thing is cos my mam is from there & i spent many summer hols there!!

Hate: Laois same as every Carlow person.Wicklow cos they basically "bought" our best player Thomas Walsh off us last year. Hope they get nowhere with Mickos horrible recruitment policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭s_carnage

I'm from Mayo and my favourite teams would be (hurling) Waterford & Galway.

Football wise i like Mayo (funnily enough) & Tyrone and dislike Galway, Dublin & Kerry (Oh de pain!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I despise Kilkenny in the hurling. This is mainly due to a lot of their supporters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

LIKES; Kildare, Fermanagh and any team that puts out the dubs.

DISLIKES; Dublin (mainly due to the over exposure in the media), Armagh for getting away with murder this last few years(do refs never watch highlights of games) Tyrone & Co.Londonderry:D

shiibata wrote: »
    LIKES; Kildare, Fermanagh and any team that puts out the dubs.

DISLIKES; Dublin (mainly due to the over exposure in the media), Armagh for getting away with murder this last few years(do refs never watch highlights of games) Tyrone & Co.Londonderry:D
    I went off Fermanagh a few years ago when they started beating us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

smashey wrote: »

Ye, but thank god they only have about 20 supporters:D, so never have to listen to much bragging

shiibata wrote: »
    Ye, but thank god they only have about 20 supporters:D, so never have to listen to much bragging

You must have gone home early sulking then?:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

smashey wrote: »

Same here, like them beating other teams though!

Football

Like: Armagh - for grit and determination.
    Down - for their AI's in the 90's.
    Galway and Limerick.
    Hate: Tyrone for obvious reasons.
    Cork for just being Cork! ;)
    Dublin - if they are playing an Ulster county.

Hurling

Like: Galway - my father is from there plus always liked the Underdog
    Antrim - always the underdog
    Waterford - who doesn't barring Cork!

Hate: No one in particular but not bothered about Cork or Kilkenny winning AI's

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭ports best

I Hate them Feckin Biffos in everything they do let it be hurling football badminton squash whatever there a shower of bog men, and the more turf we burn the quicker we will get rid of offaly

Them Biffo's aren't bad. They say that thirty-one and a half counties were glad to see a certain Seamus Darby score a very famous goal. I was there to witness it myself, and it remains one of the great sporting moments of all time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭monosharp

Football -> Hate the current Dublin team and management. Cannot stand them. When they get knocked out of the championship .. its well ... its like Christmas #2 but better.

The media hype, some of the fans carry on, the players carry on and especially the current management make me sick to my stomach.

I feel sorry for the genuine decent fans.

Hurling -> Hate Cork for mostly the same reasons as I hate Dublin in the Football.

Not so much the players or the management, I have a soft spot for Sean Og and a couple others, but I cannot put into words how much I hate Donal Og. I hate him, I will always hate him, I will hate him when hes retired, I will hate him when hes dead.

He is the definition of whats wrong with the GAA and GAA players today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

monosharp wrote: »
    Football -> Hate the current Dublin team and management. Cannot stand them. When they get knocked out of the championship .. its well ... its like Christmas #2 but better.

The media hype, some of the fans carry on, the players carry on and especially the current management make me sick to my stomach.

I feel sorry for the genuine decent fans.

Hurling -> Hate Cork for mostly the same reasons as I hate Dublin in the Football.

Not so much the players or the management, I have a soft spot for Sean Og and a couple others, but I cannot put into words how much I hate Donal Og. I hate him, I will always hate him, I will hate him when hes retired, I will hate him when hes dead.

Come on mow monosharp, tell us what you really think!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

monosharp wrote: »
    Football -> but I cannot put into words how much I hate Donal Og. I hate him, I will always hate him, I will hate him when hes retired, I will hate him when hes dead.

Ya didn't do a bad job I think you got your message across. What did he do to you? Shag your wife/girlfriend? Save a penalty? Save a penalty while shagging your wife/girlfriend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭monosharp

patmac wrote: »
    Ya didn't do a bad job I think you got your message across. What did he do to you? Shag your wife/girlfriend? Save a penalty? Save a penalty while shagging your wife/girlfriend?

That wouldn't make me hate him nearly as much.

Its nothing (or very little) to do with his onfield antics, its his off-field ones that do it.

For two small references, his GPA "career" and his involvement in the latest Cork GAA row.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭ports best

do you really really hate dessie farrell as well mono