Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official PPP Bloggers required for the Irish Open

• 20-02-2008 6:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭

Bloggers wanted for the 2008 Irish Open!

paddypowerpoker.com is looking to expand their team of bloggers for this year’s Irish Open by enlisting the help of two well-informed, literate and highly intelligent poker enthusiasts.

Where better to look, then, than Boards – the home of Ireland’s greatest poker minds.

Working with our Communications Manager candidates who meet the necessary criteria will receive free food and accommodation at the event as well as payment of €150 per day.

Experience the thrill and excitement of this major international poker event first hand and gain great experience in poker journalism.

Dates Required: March 20th – 23rd

Hours: Bloggers will be required to blog from 1.30pm until Midnight each day (except final table). Shifts include two 30 minute breaks and one 1 hour break.

Duties:

Working with the paddypowerpoker.com Communications Manager bloggers will be required to walk around the tournament area gathering chip counts and reporting interesting/funny/unusual stories from the tables.
    The blog is to be updated every 5 minutes which means with a team of 4, the bloggers will have 20 minutes to gather their stories/chip counts before returning to the bloggers area to post their report.

Requirements
    • Good knowledge of the poker scene and of the players in attendance(being able to recognize most of the players at the event will be a huge advantage)
    • Strong writing skills (should be no problem for Boardsies)
    • Senseof humour (the more entertaining the blog the better)

Remuneration

If selected, bloggers will receive:
    • €150 each per day.
    • Shared hotel room - double room to be shared for the nights of 20th, 21st, 22nd and 23rd March.
    • Expenses: Food and soft drinks only.

If you are interested please contact nhayes@paddypower.com with a brief personal biography explaining why you will be the best blogger ever as well as any copies of your previous written material, articles, personal blogs or otherwise.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Must have degree in History.

DeV.
    sorry...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭lee_arama

Thee doth have mail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

You're going to stop blogging at midnight each night?

Well won't the action be going on that late? Nothing worse than knowing that a tournament is still in full swing without being able to find out what happened to that 8K stack your buddy had an hour previously...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭eddiehead

lee_arama wrote: »
    Well won't the action be going on that late? Nothing worse than knowing that a tournament is still in full swing without being able to find out what happened to that 8K stack your buddy had an hour previously...
    I think he means midnight is a bit early...
    last year we played til like 1-2am for the 3 days i was in anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

I strongly recommend that anyone applying for this position do their best to negotiate 24 hour control of the doomswitch for the duration of the event.

BCB will be too busy talking awkwardly to the promo girls to use it.

LOL!

Of course; in that case.. MIDNIGHT!!!??? WHAT?!?!?! Are you crazy? The internet will crash if noone's blogging.

Omega Man and Planet of the Apes will seem idyllic in comparison to the apocalyptic nightmare which would befall the poker community of Ireland!!!!

Ignore the Rapture, the Flopture would be upon us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

Bloggers wanted for the 2008 Irish Open!]

Working with our Communications Manager candidates who meet the necessary criteria will receive free food and accommodation at the event as well as payment of €150 per day.

Hours: Bloggers will be required to blog from 1.30pm until Midnight each day (except final table). Shifts include two 30 minute breaks and one 1 hour break.

150 squid? lol

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

This job is techincally a "Live Updates Reporter" is it not?

A blogger writes a peronsal post about their life approximately once a day, doesn't get paid and 8 times out of 10 is read by only 2 people.

A Live Updates Reporter wanders around a poker tournament asking poker players if their chip stack has changed size in the last 5 minutes, asks standers by what the table was laughing about just before they got there then reports on this with suitable embellishments while consuming their free bread and water.

[/pedantry]

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Live Reporters are able to submit their approximations of what happened at the tournament table nearest their cash game by PDA.

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Grafter

I heard that live reporters are better than many who play in Drogheda, but the person who told me that (my Mrs) also claims that girls are better than boys (and at poker too)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

NickyOD wrote: »
    You're going to stop blogging at midnight each night?

no we are not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

150 squid? lol

have you a point you wish to make? if so make it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

U have Mail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

Will there be a spellchecker available ?

Can one blog from the table?

What kind of font is permissable?

Can you post biased opinion...eg. I'd luv it if a chimp got knocked out right now luv it.....

have you a point you wish to make? if so make it.

I already have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

This place is getting so fúcking caustic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭strewelpeter

Noel, I'll probably be available after a couple of hours of Day1 :o

Upon further deliberation and out of the upmost respect for the response to my first post,I will elaborate a tad further.
    If one wishes to consider this position for the "experience" well then fair enough the money is probably irrelelvent anyway.
    As a wage for these working hours over a weekend(bank holiday?)well let's just use the term "bad".

And the hotel would be considered what? 150 notes plus bed and board seems quite reasonable.

I've already mailed applying and I'd have no worry doing this over a bank holiday. Only be drinking otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

karlh wrote: »
    This place is getting so fúcking caustic.

Even though I'm part of the clique :rolleyes:, I have to agree. It would be a novelty to have one PPP thread that didn't go mental. And we're always going on about how bad live-updates are in general in big tournaments (with the exception of AntesUp, when they have decent access to the floor), so this looks like a good way to improve things.

Disclaimer: I have no affiliation whatsoever with PPP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

I think its a great idea and if I dont win my ticket into the open, then I'll be free and deligted to help out.I'll probably head up anyway with the lads who qualify from the club.

Connie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,405 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Even though I'm part of the clique :rolleyes:, I have to agree. It would be a novelty to have one PPP thread that didn't go mental. And we're always going on about how bad live-updates are in general in big tournaments (with the exception of AntesUp, when they have decent access to the floor), so this looks like a good way to improve things.

Disclaimer: I have no affiliation whatsoever with PPP.
    why the fùck do you always defend them?

level obv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

connie147 wrote: »
    I think its a great idea and if I dont win my ticket into the open, then I'll be free and deligted to help out.I'll probably head up anyway with the lads who qualify from the club.

Connie

Was thinking on the same lines myself Connie. I think it would be a great way to be involved in the action, free B&B & €150.........how bad.

Danny, Don't think anyone will be doing it for the money but it would be a cheap weekend & a way to be involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Lplate

connie147 wrote: »
    ..and if I dont win my ticket into the open,
    Connie

lol..as if!

Last year people who came along to help AU to report uniformly expressed the opinion that is was a great deal more work then they had thought it would be!! Don't underestimate how much work it is :)

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,502 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

If people don't think the money is good enough, fine, don't apply. If you are interested then apply. I don't see what the big deal is about. Do you reply to want ads in the paper laughing at the wages offered? Or the same when you pass job agencies? I don't see the point to be honest.

People are required, details have been posted simple as. It is the same thing as regarrds people taking the pss out of structures and so on in events they have no intention of playing in. Why bother if it doesn't appeal to you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Meh it's great experience for anyone who would want to get into writing about poker and getting paid is a huge bonus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

auditioning for the job....

"Handsome and fearless Noel 'Nutter' Hayes just won a MONSTER pot versus some Hick from Fermanagh. Noel raised it up on the button pre-flop and the Hick called. The flop came AK7 and the Hick check-raised Noel's c-bet. Noel got all red in the face and started asking the Hick if he wanted to take it 'outside'. He then called monster bets on the turn and river and took down the ENORMOUS pot with 72off.
    Once the hand was over, the Hick asked the dashing Noel how he could possibly call with fifth pair, no kicker. Gorgeous Noel told the Hick that he was the 'worst player in ireland', ordered him to 'f**k off back to Hicksville', then proceeded to lean over the table and nut him one. The crowd went wild at this juncture with many women, both young and old, throwing their undergarments at their hero and the room had to be cleared. Tournament director, Liam Flood, dressed conservatively in a lime-green PPP leotard, said he'd never seen anything like it all his years of poker"

do I win?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 89Suited

auditioning for the job....

"Handsome and fearless Noel 'Nutter' Hayes just won a MONSTER pot versus some Hick from Fermanagh. Noel raised it up on the button pre-flop and the Hick called. The flop came AK7 and the Hick check-raised Noel's c-bet. Noel got all red in the face and started asking the Hick if he wanted to take it 'outside'. He then called monster bets on the turn and river and took down the ENORMOUS pot with 72off.
    Once the hand was over, the Hick asked the dashing Noel how he could possibly call with fifth pair, no kicker. Gorgeous Noel told the Hick that he was the 'worst player in ireland', ordered him to 'f**k off back to Hicksville', then proceeded to lean over the table and nut him one. The crowd went wild at this juncture with many women, both young and old, throwing their undergarments at their hero and the room had to be cleared. Tournament director, Liam Flood, dressed conservatively in a lime-green PPP leotard, said he'd never seen anything like it all his years of poker"

do I win?

Give that man the job!

NO WAY..I'll do it for free and I'll sleep in me car. ...Here is my application.

PPP would this be acceptable?.....(I'll surely go out in the early levels anyway)
    .....(*keep back chimps, keep back I tell you)

Blog 11.20 PM
    Joe from Donegal here, he is my latest update.
    Hoodie from Dublin raises from the Small Blind so he does, Hoodie from the rails hoots like a Killebegs fisherman.......Annette 15 turns up her Ipod and raises from the button so she does. Hoodie 3 bets (or is that 4..wtf)
    Annette pushes her stack in the middle so she does, Gotcha' shouts hoodie (SHD) I got the bullets so I have... Annette sighs and shoves over 1/8th of her stack. Next hand Annette raises, hoodie pushes, annette gently says, I think I'm ahead , hoodie shows K Q offsuit so he does, . Annette shows QQ and pulls in all hoodies stack so she does. Tony Flushdraw on adjacent table, drools and slips phone number to Annette,, Annette turns her head towards him and smiles then slips number into her blouse.. .Flushdraw faints and is left on the floor, lying beside a sleeping Padriag Parkinson who is still there from last nights drinking session, ...meanwhile hoodie tears up his notebook screaming like a LetterKenny knacker, the bleedin structure made me do it, ( he was down to 50 big blinds so he was) , leaving he gets group hugged by team of hoodies as they head over to rail last remaining hoodie . .
    * BLOG change over as Joe is gone to bed. Mick from TCD here. On an outer cash table Iammc forgets where he is and gets his nose rubbed into the felt by an Asian bloke who takes exception to Ian offering him 5 dollar to stay with him for the weekend. Devilfish gets dogfished and De Wolfe trebles up agianst 3 notable Irish players when his 56 suited dogs the Ak, AK, QQ all in. Liam Flood burns his hands on a crucifx handed to him by Wille (Van Helsing) Clynes. Noel hayes get his face slapped by *now sober* girl who was all over him in Galway. She claims to have no recollection of the whole thing.. Noel having having taken 4 months to drum up the courage to reciprocate her affections is devastated. Willie C spotted with bananna wounds and chimp blood on his knuckles...3 hoodies reported missing..
    ........Blog over it's midnight, back to my room in city west must get there before the other 8 occupants or I'll end up sleeping in the bath agian.....

My opinion is all and i'm entitled to it.Perhaps that's not allowed anymore?
    I believe i've already mentioned that's it's understandable why many people would want to do it,fair enough.
    As has already been stated i'm sure there's a hell of alot of work involved,it's a simple point that the wage being offered is poor and as expenses are costs incurred while working there is nothing "free" about the accomadation,food etc.
    It doesn't matter whether it's paddy power,pokerstars or donald duck offering the job the same applies.
    End of derailing.

Dave,how the hell did you manage a post without the prerequisite smiley faces-;)-;)-;)-;)-;)-;)-;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I think it's a grand idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Gillybean72

YULETIRED wrote: »
    screaming like a LetterKenny knacker,

WHY oh WHY of all the places in Donegal did you HAVE to chose that one! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

WHY oh WHY of all the places in Donegal did you HAVE to chose that one! :rolleyes:

Of all the places in Donegal?? Let me see...there's Letterkenny and erm......um.....ehhh..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

I loled hard and hurt myself reading el stunt and yuletireds posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Gillybean72

Flushdraw wrote: »
    Of all the places in Donegal?? Let me see...there's Letterkenny and erm......um.....ehhh..
    You have QUITE obviously never been to Donegal, have you now.... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Flushdraw wrote: »

I thought u fainted:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

MUFF is famous spot in Donegal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

hence the erm.....um....ehhh
    he's still woozy from the sight of annette's frilly bra strap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭hotspur

Fly Luckyjimm over obv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

I vote (this is a vote right??) for El Stunterino and Willie/YULETIRED/ROONEY_DIVES/Marcel Luske/HectorJelly (They're all the same person) to do the blog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,472 ✭✭✭Lazare

Noel, if I don't qualify (likely since IBB making it tough for me online), I might give a dig out FOC, I live 5 minutes from Citywest, so don't need a room.

I'd enjoy helping out in between side action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

Upon further deliberation and out of the upmost respect for the response to my first post,I will elaborate a tad further.
    If one wishes to consider this position for the "experience" well then fair enough the money is probably irrelelvent anyway.
    As a wage for these working hours over a weekend(bank holiday?)well let's just use the term "bad".
    I think it's a decent offer and they'll definitely get people to do it at that price. Normally I wouldn't bother saying this but apparently if I don't comment it looks like I only ever have bad things to say about PPP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,170 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I would just like to recommend someone for the position.
    He has experience, excellent writing skills and a really loves Poker.
    He is also a big fan of all things Paddy Power.
    He uses the name Lucky Lloyd on here. :D

RoundTower wrote: »
    I think it's a decent offer and they'll definitely get people to do it at that price. Normally I wouldn't bother saying this but apparently if I don't comment it looks like I only ever have bad things to say about PPP.

I'd be amazed if they couldn't find someone to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

Dave,how the hell did you manage a post without the prerequisite smiley faces-;)-;)-;)-;)-;)-;)-;)

only use em when I'm not really serious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

Bravo Sir.

Sorry Gil, to make up for it, you can hum this to yourself in work today...(well it's Friday) The Live version by PB recounts every bloody town in Donegal...

The Homes Of Donegal ... I've just dropped in to see you all
    I'll only stay awhile
    I want to hear how you're getting on
    I want to hear you smile
    I'm happy to be back again
    And greet you big and small
    For there's no place on earth just like
    The homes of Donegal
    I long to see your smiling children
    Standing by the door
    The kettle boiling on the hearth
    As I walk up the floor