Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards poker drinks? (Low Content)

• 19-02-2008 8:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭

Hey all,

We've organised nights out before with varying degrees of success. One time a group of us met in The Palace on Camden Street for pints and pool, another time we met in a bar around the corner from the Fitz. Nights organised after tournaments never work as people get knocked out at different times and are unwilling to hang around for others, pretty understandably. Any interest in meeting up for drinks and banter in Dublin city some Friday on March 7th. Obviously a serious live cash session would be planned for later in the night! I mentioned organising something to Olly and Rounders123 over the last few days and they seemed on for it. Loads of us will be around for the Irish Open I am sure...but what with some of us playing, some of us watching and some of us working, it might be easier to do in a non-poker environment.

Where to start the Boards Poker Drinks night? 9 votes

The Bull & Castle
    0%
    The Palace
    100%
    RasTakarlhionapaulcalifanoLazareJesus WeptscunnerConbroDONK! 9 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

Both dates suit me Paul and I'm on for almost anything (including my outstanding prop bet to Ollieboy and BigD for a race around Merrion Square!). :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

The Palace
    ollyk1 wrote: »
    Both dates suit me Paul

I'm on for almost anything
    I wouldnt want there to be to much messing, were not a bunch of english yobs in tempu bah you know. The pool was very good last time i remember and then the drinks in Flannerys after. NTLBell has the pool stance down although he did go into Christopher Walken in Deer Hunter mode later on in the nite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

The Palace
    March 7th then

I wouldnt want there to be to much messing, were not a bunch of english yobs in tempu bah you know. The pool was very good last time i remember and then the drinks in Flannerys after. NTLBell has the pool stance down although he did go into Christopher Walken in Deer Hunter mode later on in the nite.

Are there not a bunch of pool sharks on the poker forum rounders? I'm going to have to stick clear of pool prop bets I reckon.....:p .....I'll have to get a special t-shirt for Ntlbell if he makes it this time.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

The Palace
    The German beer hall, upstairs in the Bull & Castle in Christchurch would be perfect for this, they do savage steaks too..

www.bullandcastle.ie

I'm in regardless.

No guns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Come to Belgium. Beer is cheap and lovely, and I've just finished building my poker table :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

Both dates suit me Paul and I'm on for almost anything (including my outstanding prop bet to Ollieboy and BigD for a race around Merrion Square!). :)

I've told you Olly, I'm not into a threesome with you and Dave.

Due to the expect new arrival, I'm sure I wont be around for these plans, but keep me in mind.

The Palace
    karlh wrote: »
    The German beer hall, upstairs in the Bull & Castle in Christchurch would be perfect for this, they do savage steaks too..

www.bullandcastle.ie

I'm in regardless.

No guns.
    That place looks cool, beer + steaks = good night

The Palace
    Are there not a bunch of pool sharks on the poker forum rounders? I'm going to have to stick clear of pool prop bets I reckon.....:p .....I'll have to get a special t-shirt for Ntlbell if he makes it this time.....

Yeah but they give themselves away by bringing their own pool gloves and chalk:rolleyes:

poor ollieboy eh, he wont be seen in publc again for some time:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

ionapaul wrote: »
    That place looks cool, beer + steaks = good night
    Some friends of mine run a club night every saturday in the bierhall in the bull and castle. It's called Fatty Fatty - mainly excellent soul and funk music. It's a great venue, but I prefer the palace for the opportunity to pwn boardsies at pool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭digiman

Yeah Bull and Castle is a nice spot, upstairs is cool as it has really big long tables which would be good for such an occasion. Most people will feel right at home as they are about the size of a poker table!
    I would like to go to this and would be on for it in the Palace either as I like the odd game of pool as well, its a nice spot as well, also close to the Jackpot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

I cant recall, did I beat you in a frame? at lesst one?

i'll have to research the walken mode :)

The Palace
    ntlbell wrote: »
    I cant recall, did I beat you in a frame? at lesst one?

i'll have to research the walken mode :)

We mostly played together at doubles against Culchie and DubTony. We did play against eachother in one frame. We were both missing straight forward shots, its best forgotton!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

We mostly played together at doubles against Culchie and DubTony. We did play against eachother in one frame. We were both missing straight forward shots, its best forgotton!.

ah it all floods back, i belive a famous irish poker player made an appearance also :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

I 2nd the bull and castle.

I'm mostly djing there one of the saturdays in march

MArq, that were me who grabbed you on saturday night.

The Palace
    Maybe a poll then for which venue for Friday, March 7th...as I don't mind as long as there is vodka of some sorts. Flannerys at some stage is an excellent idea, I've spend hundreds of hours there over the years and the memory of each and every moment in there has become precious to me...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Theresalwaysone

If I am going.... I am going to apologise now.

Im sorry. I didnt meant it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

The Palace
    If I am going.... I am going to apologise now.

Im sorry. I didnt meant it.

Make sure to bring one extra shoe.

I'm in btw.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Should have a joint beer session with the fat bald lads of BGRH on March 7th :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

im sure i may be able to find some free time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

sounds good.

5starpool wrote: »
    Should have a joint beer session with the fat birds of AfterHours :)

FYP

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Fat chicks are cool.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Fat bottomed girls they make the rockin' world go round ...

DeV.

I never implied otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭HoLLLLLaments

sounds like fun but people have to gamble on things apart from pool. i cant play pool but like to gamble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

liars poker?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭R__J

sounds like fun but people have to gamble on things apart from pool. i cant play pool but like to gamble

you not know the palace is right around from the jackpot? Whip IT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

5starpool wrote: »
    Should have a joint beer session with the hot chicks from ladies lounge :)
    Yeah QFT - although no bald guys allowed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭HoLLLLLaments

R__J wrote: »
    you not know the palace is right around from the jackpot? Whip IT!

no table games lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

The poker paintballing trip and the beers that followed was great craic.

Won't make this one as I'll be out of the country from the 6th though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

rb_ie wrote: »
    The poker paintballing trip and the beers that followed was great craic.

Won't make this one as I'll be out of the country from the 6th though.

is you're memory as patchy as mine was for that day rb?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Trippie wrote: »
    is you're memory as patchy as mine was for that day rb?
    Yup, that was probably the most drunk I've been in the past year. Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

The Palace
    Are people still up for this on Friday? Looks like the Palace won the popular vote, of course that is assuming those who voted are still planning to turn up! :) With the Wales match on Saturday afternoon the Friday is needed to have a few and be properly prepared for a full day! I'm thinking a start time of 8:30 or 9, maybe earlier for the pool sharks.

ionapaul wrote: »
    Are people still up for this on Friday? Looks like the Palace won the popular vote, of course that is assuming those who voted are still planning to turn up! :) With the Wales match on Saturday afternoon the Friday is needed to have a few and be properly prepared for a full day! I'm thinking a start time of 8:30 or 9, maybe earlier for the pool sharks.

Where are we meeting for pool and what time? I'm good from 7.30 onwards for pool etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

I'd love to go but will be in the less-than-salubrious location of Glasgow for the w/e

enjoy, looking forward to the stories of drunken cash games and 'tiddlywinks for houses' challenges

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

I'd love to go but will be in the less-than-salubrious location of Glasgow for the w/e

enjoy, looking forward to the stories of drunken cash games and 'tiddlywinks for houses' challenges

Please update your blog before you go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

Killme00 wrote: »
    Please update your blog before you go

yeah I have to work out some sort of hilarious ending to that story that I wish I'd never started

I'm sure I can copy and paste from somewhere obscure, plagiarism rocks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

yeah I have to work out some sort of hilarious ending to that story that I wish I'd never started

I'm sure I can copy and paste from somewhere obscure, plagiarism rocks

Colmcille would be so happy its caught on :D

The Palace
    Where are we meeting for pool and what time? I'm good from 7.30 onwards for pool etc.
    The Palace on Camden Street provides both pool AND pints! How about 8pm so, as I remember you go to the upstairs bar, put your name on the list for a pool table, and can sit around drinking until one is free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

liars poker?
    that the one with the dice? My mum has a really old set, and we've played it at christmas a few times. Could be a very good pub game!

this is the one I'm thinking of http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Liar's_dice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

ocallagh wrote: »
    that the one with the dice? My mum has a really old set, and we've played it at christmas a few times. Could be a very good pub game!

this is the one I'm thinking of http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Liar's_dice

Did 150 quid in 20 minutes playing that at a tenner a hand. Throw a dozen degens in and I reckon it'll get messy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

lol, hold a grudge or wha'?:p

The Palace
    Anyone plan on coming who doesn't know what the rest of us look like? Shouldn't be a problem as some of us are 'unique' looking! But let us know and it'll be sorted out.

Is there anyone who isn't great at pool attending, as I suck and don't care to be drubbed at pool by people who already humiliate me at the poker table! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

won't be there - working friday.

The Palace
    Roll call, who is definitely / probably / possibly coming to the Palace tomorrow evening?

- Me, representing the PPP marketing department massive
    - Olly, flying the flag for the SE NL cash game gangsta's
    - ???

The Palace
    holding off on posting until now but still feeling miserable and just gone on antibiotics so i cant even drink.
    apologies but crying off im afraid:o.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Might pop along. What time? Killers?