Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First date without booze

• 19-02-2008 1:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2

Want to ask girl i get on well with/kissed recently, on date.
    The last time i met her she commented that i was too drunk. She had a point.
    The cinema is out due to lack of conversation.
    I was thinking of Bingo. Or is that as bent as it sounds?
    Any suggestions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Yes, bingo is as bent as it sounds.

What are you, an elderly woman?

Picnic and make some effort with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

suit wrote: »
    I was thinking of Bingo. Or is that as bent as it sounds?

What age is she? 70?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭thecheese

Nothing more magical than a night at the owl bingo. It'll be a night they'll never forget.. :rolleyes:

*Insert clever joke about bingo ball numbers*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭ThE_IVIAcIVIAIV

i can't believe he said bingo. what a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Local methadone clinic? You can't beat a bit of cross addiction/substitution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭ems_12

not bingo, you'll just get distracted by the two fat ladies
    (clever enough bad bingo joke?!)

Anywho how about (depending on location....) ...bowling, ice skating, mini golf, play pool, walk (find nice location), theatre, something in local area like aquarium or other attraction....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

You could go to the pub and not drink so much!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

How about a meal. You can do that without booze. Its a nuetral venue. If its not going well you can climb out bathroom window and stiff her for the bill*.

*Worst Boyfriend of the year 2008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

go bowling or playing pool, easy peasy

bingo:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭Donegal Lass

what about bowling/arcade typy thing? I wouldnt even suggest bingo if you actually want her to turn up, but that said, you must think she'd be interested if you think its appropriate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Bring her to the bingo and please please let us know how it goes. I foresee a very weird PI in your future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Bingo? Who are you asking out ... Glenda?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

6th wrote: »
    Bingo? Who are you asking out ... Glenda?

Maybe its Shirley Temple-Bar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭moco

Lol @ bingo:D

Why not just go to a pub and not get hammered?

You need alcohol for a first date! I do anyway...:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭halfinch

Whatever you do dont bring her to bingo, the cinema isnt so bad if you go for something casual like a pizza beforehand....

But like the other posters said, a walk or play pool or bowling or whatever

What in the name of god made you think of bingo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

Why not Coffee and lunch ? Does it have to be at night time ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

I'm going to assume you're in Dublin.

Why not a stroll (with Coffee/Hot Chocolate) in the Iveagh Gardens (behind the National Concert Hall), followed by a pre-Theatre dinner and a trip to an opera or something in the National Concert Hall? Women love that stuff.

Or for something different you could do the Ghost Bus thing in Dublin.

You could play pool in the Palace on Camden Street?

Sorry OP but I cant believe you said Bingo!!!!!!????? HAHAHAHA

Thats one of the funniest things I've seen on here in a while and thank you it made me LOL .

dublindude wrote: »

Why not a stroll (with Coffee/Hot Chocolate) in the Iveagh Gardens (behind the National Concert Hall), followed by a pre-Theatre dinner and a trip to an opera or something in the National Concert Hall? Women love that stuff.

Eh.. not all women...

Really depends on her tastes and this is a little "coupley" for a first date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

QUOTE]

All of them seem interesting but I reckon the Ghost Bus could be good craic and then if things go well you may end up in the pub afterwards.

@Dublindude Boy the woman who gets taken out by your is very lucky, your full of ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭moco

That's a bit much, I'm still laughing at bingo though.

I want to go on the ghosty bus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭NeMiSiS

The Zoo.

****ing Bingo omg lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

OP Bingo is pure brilliance but don't do it I want this one.
    I promise for the next time I go on a date its bingo I'm bringing the lucky girl too.
    Then I'll play it as straight as can be and continuously tell her how I come here all the time and love the place.

Reaction will be supreme and if I can still keep her interested after that I'll be a feckin hero:cool:

Women always say they want something different, right here the OP has something so different no one ever thinks of it well spot on buddy its a funny way of taking the piss out of her for slagging your drinking and also makes for a very easy conversation starter and shared funny memory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭'Ol Jack Chance

q-zar in the high class establishment that is "da lesuireplex" ftw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Bring her over for a game of counter strike and some tortillas ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭sunny2004

the Pub !
    get her hammered and tell her she is too drunk !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

Ice skating,bowling ,use your imagination man !

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Greyhound track, you can have food and not drink, or as someone suggested have a drink but don't get slaughtered :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

Lux23 wrote: »

QUOTE]

All of them seem interesting but I reckon the Ghost Bus could be good craic and then if things go well you may end up in the pub afterwards.

@Dublindude Boy the woman who gets taken out by your is very lucky, your full of ideas.

ha ha this man's middle name is player ( I like yes !)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Invite her to your house and show her your star trek dvd collection :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I saw a trailer for the new James Bond film, he is wooing some Brazilian female spy in the old bingo hall, she can't resist "leggzzhh eleven Miss Moneypenny".

How about the casino if you like a gamble? or the horses. You can have a normal drink at them too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭halfinch

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    Invite her to your house and show her your star trek dvd collection :D

Guessing there hasnt been some action in the castle as of late ross

*shortle* :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭boardinwork

I had the same situation lately well kinda. I was meeting up with a chinese girl that i knew didnt drink much... I went to see No Country For Old Men in the cinema and a few drinks in Temple Bar. Just have about 3 or 4 pints and you'll both losen up and have a bit of fun but not be a drunken mess in front of her! I ended up having a great night :o

****ing Bingo LOL . Cant get over that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭sidneykidney

Calm down KaG .

/laughing uncontrolably at bingo LMAO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

You could go to a comedy night, yeah they tend to be held in pubs but you could always get a meal there and have maybe just a pint or two, she'll be impresed that you're holding back for her, and everyone likes comedy, even if it's terrible you can laugh abou how awful it was!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

Zoo, definately, especially if you can time it for when some cute baby animal is born, or you could meet her for lunch from work some day,and do the whole picnic thing, or take her to your special place, and i don't mean you bedroom, take her to the place you like to go to think, my place is the north bank of the shannon river at home in limerick, great view of the city especially at night, and its really quiet down there, picnic and chat will do wonders for your opportunities of a second date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭IanCurtis

suit wrote: »
    Want to ask girl i get on well with/kissed recently, on date.
    The last time i met her she commented that i was too drunk.

Be careful mate, the last girl I asked out who I met when I was "too drunk" turned out to be about 4 stone heavier than I thought.

What a night that was.

Bring her somewhere you can make a quick exit from.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Bring her dogging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Bingo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

foinse wrote: »
    Zoo, definately, especially if you can time it for when some cute baby animal is born.

Yep, great plan.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Bingo? Yawn... There is so much to do besides booze it up, too. Walks in the park, picnics, day at the beach, lunch, dinner, hanging out at a javahouse, theatre, cycling, hiking, sports events, music concerts, horseback riding, sailing, skiing... the list goes on and on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

lol

See here

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=54807744

Personally I prefer to get her round for a DVD. I cant have a convo with a new bird in a crowded pub or restaurent.

In fact if it was up to me Id never go out anymore with herself. DVD, beer, smirnoff ice, bed, sorted. Im just that lazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Why would you assume he's in Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Ruthie-Roux

****ing Bingo???
    I`m in work screaming laughing and everyone thinks I`m mad thanks to readingyour post

HAHAHAHAHAH
    Sorry but

HAHAHAHAHA

Ok, I have your problem in that I can drink more than a bit too much at times, particularly when I`m nervous. I suggest going for dinner. You can have a glass or two with that but the food and conversation will distract you so you don`t drink too fast and get hammered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

BINGOOO, HAHAHAHA!

HAHAHAHA
    Hahahaha

But really in my opinion you should bring her to a nice arcade or something, playing Pool with a woman does wonders! It's all the balls!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

kraggy wrote: »
    Why would you assume he's in Dublin?

His location says nothing and around a third of the population live in Dublin. It's the most likely assumption.

****ing Bingo???
    I`m in work screaming laughing and everyone thinks I`m mad thanks to readingyour post

HAHAHAHAHAH
    Sorry but

HAHAHAHAHA

Ok, I have your problem in that I can drink more than a bit too much at times, particularly when I`m nervous. I suggest going for dinner. You can have a glass or two with that but the food and conversation will distract you so you don`t drink too fast and get hammered.
    FunkZ wrote: »
    BINGOOO, HAHAHAHA!

HAHAHAHA
    Hahahaha

But really in my opinion you should bring her to a nice arcade or something, playing Pool with a woman does wonders! It's all the balls!

Yeah I got a good laugh out out of it too. ****ING BINGO