Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I got assaulted last night!

• 17-02-2008 3:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Okay, here's the scoop.

Was in a bar last night having a few drinks with a few friends. On one of my trips to the bar, I ran into a girl who was in my class in college. I had a bit of an on off thing going with her for a good while.

Anyway, after chatting for a few minutes, catching up, she makes a comment like "we decided to buy a house in..." So I ask if she's married. She says she's engaged, and points to some guy behind her. (he's paying no attention by the way).

This is when the weirdness starts. She makes a comment like, "that's why I haven't introduced you"

This seems odd, and I kinda jokingly say "what!, he knows about us?" To this she says, "yes, I've told him everything". I'm flabbergasted to say the least.

I leave with the drinks.... a bit confused. I get back to the table and tell the story to the few friends that are there. One of the girls reckons this girl must have had a serious thing for me and that I was still on her mind or something similar.

Anyway, had another few drinks and decided to head home. I was walking down the stairs, prob on the 4/5th step from the bottom, when I get pushed from behind. I stumble, and fall against the wall. I'm literally on my ass when he comes in swinging.... he clocked me a few times and kicked me in the ribs as someone was pulling him off (not sure if it was one of his friends or a bouncer).

I'm totally disorientated at this point, really didn't know what had happened. It was only when I was been picked up and been brought onto the street that I looked up and saw that it was the guy she had pointed at earlier.

I just stumbled off and got a cab home.

I've been trying to figure it out since. I really cant think of what reason he (or she for that matter) could have had for acting like this. I was probably a jerk to her... in the not call her after been with her kinda way. Probably the worst thing I did was to kiss her and her best mate on the same night at one of the class parties.

But no matter what, there was never any major tension... we never had a big fight. it was all just a bit of foolishness. i thought we had left college on pretty friendly terms.

Either way the situation was ridiculous... I mean, I haven't seen or heard from this girl in 7 years. 7 years, and her now fiancé who I've never met decided to punch the living daylights outta me for fcuk all.

I know I'm rambling a bit.... a lot... but it's freaking me out. I wonder who the psycho is... him or her... I mean, what has she told him to get him all worked up?? very strange.

My big question here is should I do something about it... or just leave it. Whatever about punching someone…… pushing a guy down a stairs from behind is pretty ****ty, and dangerous. He’s obviously nuts.
    Since it was on the stairs, there could be footage of it….

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Go to the Guards - give any details you know and make formal charges.
    I'm sorry but you don't just owe this to yourself, you owe it to everybody to do this. I had my nose busted open once (lucky it didn't break, but blood everywhere) because I didn't give away my friends chair when he was in the toilets - too many of these scumbags around ruining Everybody's night.

And trust me, you'll be annoyed at yourself for a while if you let this slip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

davyjose wrote: »
    I'm sorry but you don't just owe this to yourself, you owe it to everybody to do this. I had my nose busted open once (lucky it didn't break, but blood everywhere) because I didn't give away my friends chair when he was in the toilets - too many of these scumbags around ruining Everybody's night.

If u were still in the premises,,they shud have footage also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭wba88

Search bebo, myspace, facebook etc and see if you can find her then see if you find him, then you have a name to go on (for the guards)

+1 to davyjose's comment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

post edited to appease the mod gods,
    I'd say definiteky push for a criminal conviction,don't let him get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Call her and tell her that you don't know what she said but it got you punched. and let her know that you're really ****ing pissed off about it!he had no right to even say anything to you,never mind beat the living snot outta you. I'd hazard a guess that they have a pretty insecure relationship...he's probably jelous or something!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭Sniipe

+1 to davyjose's comment as well. If victims don't report/log a crime (which is what it was; no matter what was said) then more people will suffer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31 NortSoide

"I wonder who the psycho is... him or her... I mean, what has she told him to get him all worked up ?? very strange."

There is probably a pair of them in it !!!
    Probably one of the "Howya Bud" Brigade.

If you have the evidence, I would say you should go to the guards.

That was a dangerous thing he did - to push you down those steps. You might not have been so steady on your feet - especially after having the few drinks. What if you stumbled and broke a bone (maybe even your neck) ? :eek:

Go to the guards and put this foooooker out of business !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 480 ✭✭Barlow07

davyjose wrote: »

I was a little confused at the start, at first i thought this was a female telling the story until the last couple of lines, maybe just me.

+2, Go and report this and get him done for assult. What a coward to as well to hit you from behind, if it was me........

I wouldnt let him/her away with this, what happens next time you bump in to her or him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Call her and tell her that you don't know what she said but it got you punched. and let her know that you're really ****ing pissed off about it!he had no right to even say anything to you,never mind beat the living snot outta you. I'd hazard a guess that they have a pretty insecure relationship...he's probably jelous or something!

Skip that, just go straight to the gardai. There's no point in him letting her know he's annoyed when he just got assaulted for no good reason, what's that going to solve?.. Let the gardai deal with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭patrick2007

Hi OP,

You really need to make a complaint to the guards about this incident ASAP. You did nothing wrong to provoke this attack. I'm gona assume there is footage of this incident, if there are any marks or bruises on your body you need to take pictures for evidence and it may not be a bad idea to go to the doctor in the morning to get them checked out (again evidence). If this guy works behind the bar I would hope the footage will be able to show him coming from behind the bar and assaulting you and will show if the bouncer witnessed the incident.
    Regardless of what happened 7 years ago this attack is way over the line, also regardless of what the girl told her fiancee he has to answer for his actions.
    It sounds like your trying to think of reasons for this attack. This will wreck your head if you dont follow it up and get this guy in court to explain his actions, I suppose you might get closure then, also you might get a few quid outta this halfwit if he doesnt wana go down for ABH.
    P.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31 NortSoide

I'm afraid, I don't agree with 'Lollipops23'.

Have no more contact with either of them - except in a court of law for assault.

'Howya Bud' - might even try to buy you off by offering to buy you a pint to make amends ; and let's all be 'palsy walsy' ...

What he did is dangerous.

If you have the evidence, either go to the GUARDS or forget about it. It's upto you.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

NortSoide wrote: »
    Probably one of the "Howya Bud" Brigade.

That's quite a leap.

OP - report this incident - today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Sqaull20

Go to the guarda station now....

That fella could have killed you...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭small

defo go to the guards asap. If there is footage they need to get it before it is wiped/deleted. I had a nasty incident happen me on a nitelink home and went straight to the guards thankfully as apparently dublin bus wipe their footage every 3 days!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 wotisthere

He is jealous of course ! who was first in there ? you of course .Take it on the chin , hold your head high and think to yourself , Do I really have this effect on some people . Your man who hit you, only a big girls blouse would hit ye from behind.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 blain

You really should inform the authorities immediately as the longer you delay the less chance there'll be of a conviction.

Remember, too, by doing so you could be saving someone else being on the receiving end of a similar beating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Firstly, I don't know how someone could think I was a girl... crazy!
    Secondly, he was not working behind the bar... I presume the mistake is made from my comment "behind her"

I might ring the bar, see what they know about what happened.

wotisthere wrote: »
    He is jealous of course ! who was first in there ? you of course .Take it on the chin , hold your head high and think to yourself , Do I really have this effect on some people . Your man who hit you, only a big girls blouse would hit ye from behind.:cool:

lol, good way to think of it i guess.
    I aint exactly mister macho.... i've no doubt he still woulda beat the ****e out of me if we were face to face, but at least I woulda had the chance to try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

If there were witnesses, then you should absolutely go to the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

Bad idea. Don't contact her directly, go to the Gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

"I just stumbled off and got a cab home."

Hard luck, you got digged.
    Either 'press charges' and be a pussy or chalk it as one of that those ones.
    Call the Gardaí as others have middle-classly said or sort the wanker out yourself. Or forget it. Or tell the womqn involved and hopefully fcuk it all up for him/her.
    So many choices.

Personally, I'd kill the fcuker.

But there you go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Sqaull20 wrote: »
    Go to the guarda station now....

That fella could have killed you...

how do you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭SarahSassy

gambiaman wrote: »
    Personally, I'd kill the fcuker.

With your own manly bare hands no doubt :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

gambiaman banned for a week for advocating violence. No more of that from anyone else, regardless of how heated up about this you feel. Last warning.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Go to the guards. At the very least it well help her realise who she's with: if this guy has a history of violence... If I was her friend or her ex I would definitely press the charges. For all you know it could be only a matter of time before she gets assaulted by him.

Overheal wrote: »
    Go to the guards. At the very least it well help her realise who she's with: if this guy has a history of violence... If I was her friend or her ex I would definitely press the charges. For all you know it could be only a matter of time before she gets assaulted by him.

she obviously knows though. I just re-read my op and realised that I left out an important part of the story.

There was a second interaction with the girl. When I went up to the bar for drinks again she was sitting there on her own.
    I said "hey mary, u having a good night?" She told me to move away... go further up the bar. I laughed, again thinking she was joking... but she replied "I'm not joking... move away". So I did.

there shoulda been alarms bells rining... well there was....but I was tipsy and in company, so it slipped my mind after a while.

But thinking back on it now, she obviously knew yourman was going to go for me given half a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

"I just stumbled off and got a cab home."

Hard luck, you got digged.
    Either 'press charges' and be a pussy or chalk it as one of that those ones.
    Call the Gardaí as others have middle-classly said or sort the wanker out yourself. Or forget it. Or tell the womqn involved and hopefully fcuk it all up for him/her.

Hmm....so it's only "middle class" people who report violent crimes,eh?if more people let the guards deal with stuff like this, violent assholes like this might learn their lesson.
    Your bad advice astounds me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭beglee

Id have to agree, Gardai all the way. Theres no call for that, whatever happened between you and this girl in the past. And its not good when people get away with this kind of thing, believe me im speaking from experience. a mate n myself were attacked by some scumbags one night a few years ago, literally not a word was said before they started laying into my mate. I tried to intervene, copped a single punch to the face, and they ran off...

long story short, i had 4 fractures in my cheekbone/eye-socket, surgery a few days later and a permanent metal plate! :mad:
    There was no cctv, and we were drunk at the time so couldnt provide a decent description for the garda report, so the ****ers got away scott-free

You could probably easily find out who it was and press charges, which i think would be the best thing to do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

fsgewg wrote: »
    I've been trying to figure it out since. I really cant think of what reason he (or she for that matter) could have had for acting like this. I was probably a jerk to her... in the not call her after been with her kinda way. Probably the worst thing I did was to kiss her and her best mate on the same night at one of the class parties.
    Why look for a reason?

Twice I had women trying to start fights between their boyfriends and me after no conversation beyond the sort of "is this seat taken" thing that is normal enough with strangers in pubs. Luckily for me, one guy was clearly not up for it, and the other while very tall and very well built just said "sorry mate, only been with her two weeks and didn't realise she was a mentaller" before walking away. (Must thank the OP for bringing that to mind, I'd completely forgotten about that and it was hilarious). Point is, there doesn't necessarily have to be a reason.

Just call the cops and have no more contact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭The G Child

While I'm not condoning what this sham did to you, I would say to forget it and move on. It could cause more trouble than its worth. This fella could be a proper head case and involving the Gardai could make things worse for you. I know people will say this isn't the right thing to do but if you do report it, theres no guarantee that anything will come of it. I've seen this happen before. I know of serious assaults were people were hospitalized, but nothing happened to the people who done it. The only thing that came of it was a load of abuse and intimidation for the people who reported it. While your man does sound like a scumbag, do you really want the hassle? All I'm trying to say is to be sure before you report it. While he could have done serious damage to you, thankfully he didn't. As I said, this is just my opinion and what I think you should think of before reporting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭RealJohn

Go to the Gardaí.
    G Child, I can see your point but at the end of the day, if people have to wait to get badly hurt before reporting something, how bad is it likely to get. At least if this jerk gets reported and investigated this time, he might think twice next time.

Report it. The only reason he did it is because he thinks he can get away with it and you can be sure he's done it before.

There are a lot of head cases out there. I had something similar happen with a guy I used to date. I finished with him because he had serious issues that weren't immediately apparent. Anyway, months later he started seeing someone else (much to my relief). However, he was obviously telling her stories because every time I was out I'd get the evil eye from her or they'd both be talking about me. Everywhere I went, this one was making a big issue about me being there.

I let it go, but it went on for weeks and weeks. One weekend I was out with my new boyfriend and she had "words" with him about me. I was so annoyed. I went over to the pair of them and said to her "I finished with him because he's head case and you are more than welcome to him. I don't know what he's telling you but I'm not even thinking about him. I moved on and I suggest he does the same"
    She was a bit aghast, but I saw them having a massive row shortly there after and I guess the penny finally dropped with her.

While I'm not condoning what this sham did to you, I would say to forget it and move on. It could cause more trouble than its worth. This fella could be a proper head case and involving the Gardai could make things worse for you. I know people will say this isn't the right thing to do but if you do report it, theres no guarantee that anything will come of it. I've seen this happen before. I know of serious assaults were people were hospitalized, but nothing happened to the people who done it. The only thing that came of it was a load of abuse and intimidation for the people who reported it. While your man does sound like a scumbag, do you really want the hassle? All I'm trying to say is to be sure before you report it. While he could have done serious damage to you, thankfully he didn't. As I said, this is just my opinion and what I think you should think of before reporting it.

that's the main reason that I haven't reported it yet.

The other problem is that although I haven't seen this girl in years, she is now living in cork and i will undoubtedly run into these people again. I'm not sure I'd even recognise your man if I saw him.
    And if I get hassle from him again, it might not be so soft next time. I also have a lot of friends who would like me to point this guy out to them when next in town.

I don't want to turn this thing into a fiasco, and I'm tied as to which is the best way to do that.... cops or just forget it.

I did ring the bar though. There was no manager ther, but I asked the girl if they would have footage of the back stairs and she wasn't sure. She took my name and number and said she'd get the manager to call me tomorrow. So, Ill see what he comes up with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭The G Child

I just wanted to say to be sure before reporting it. While going to the Guards is the right thing to do, you also have to think of yourself and what sort of reprocusions there can be. Everyone can say to report it, but each situation is different. Like I said I just want the OP to be sure before doing it. There are too many muppets out there who look for trouble and unfortunately a slap on the wrists by the law doesn't deter them and could just bring more trouble to yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I just wanted to say to be sure before reporting it. While going to the Guards is the right thing to do, you also have to think of yourself and what sort of reprocusions there can be. Everyone can say to report it, but each situation is different. Like I said I just want the OP to be sure before doing it. There are too many muppets out there who look for trouble and unfortunately a slap on the wrists by the law doesn't deter them and could just bring more trouble to yourself.

Hmm. I may have to agree here. From what the OP added in, she is at least aware of this guy's violence. The fact that she was worried about you being in the proximity says a lot. The fact that this guy attacked you from behind says a lot more. No honor among psychopaths, eh?

But at the same time OP I get the feeling you're leaving out some more data here. This guy must have had some reason to attack you the way he did: its very probable he knew your history with your ex. Is there anything in there that would provoke that attack? I get the hunch theres more to this than kissing her best friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

A - you NEED to report this, you could end up suffering with any implicit long term effects aswell . It should be nothing to do with what happened 7 years ago, you got assulted plain and simple.

B - Doesnt matter how phsyco the guy is, chances of him risking it and 'going' after you for reporting him are fairly slim, as slim as you winning the lotto tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭IanCurtis

be a pussy . . . .Personally, I'd kill the fcuker.

But there you go.

I'd say report him too, but you should think about this a lot more.

Like I say, he may have misread things, he may lose his job and eveything over an assault charge, maybe he deserves it though - only you know.

Overheal wrote: »
    But at the same time OP I get the feeling you're leaving out some more data here. This guy must have had some reason to attack you the way he did: its very probable he knew your history with your ex. Is there anything in there that would provoke that attack? I get the hunch theres more to this than kissing her best friend.

You would think so, and I've even had some doubts myself... I've been trying to rack my brains, but there definitely isn't any more to it. I was with her a good few times.... all through college. It was always just random one night stands. I was never dating her or anything like that. I can't think of anything except for her maybe feeling I treated her like a prick... allthough I didn't really think I had been that bad...
    I don't have the best memory, and maybe there was some bad blood between us or something, but I would remember if it was anything I thought was serious at the time.
    The only conclusing I can reach is that she really really liked me and felt jilted. Maybe this had a bad effect on her.
    Placebo wrote:
    A - you NEED to report this, you could end up suffering with any implicit long term effects aswell . It should be nothing to do with what happened 7 years ago, you got assulted plain and simple.

B - Doesnt matter how phsyco the guy is, chances of him risking it and 'going' after you for reporting him are fairly slim, as slim as you winning the lotto tbh.

A, I'm not really sure what you mean by this? I didn't get that bad a beating. only have a slight bruise on one eye, and a lump on the other side of my head. My rib is a bit sore, but nothing serious.
    B, it's not really him "going after" me, but what happens if I do meet him again, and this time there's no one around, or he's with buddies and there's no witnesses. Thats the type of thing the cops can do very little about. Probably just been over paranoid here.

Also, I have to go to work in the morning... and I'm not sure what I'm going to say. Should I just spout it, or should I keep quiet about it. I hate this sort of thing, cause even though Ill be telling the truth, you know there will be people who just dont believe me, think I was out fighting and what not. And where I work, the ol purple monkey dishwasher is in abundance.
    So, should I make up something else for work, and if so, what?
    I'll most likely just end up telling them anyway, some of them are close enough friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Report to the police. Let the courts decide.

But exact your own revenge as well. Mess with him (non-physically), have some fun toying with his emotions. But don't become obsessed. Always tell yourself 'I am not obsessed with revenge, I can walk away anytime'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

report it to the gardai, he deserves everything he gets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭denhaagenite

OP, my boyf was in a bar one night a couple of years ago with some friends when he met his ex and her new guy. She introduced them and he thought the guy was familiar but didn't say anything. She was with some other people that he new she worked with because his father worked in the same place. He thought they were acting a bit strange (passive aggressive) towards him but didnt think anything of it.

Later on in the night, just as he was about to leave, one of them approached him and said- "You're sick mate, for what you did to X, bla bla bla". He just went home and had a think about it but came up with nothing. The relationship didn't end all that well, they were together for two years in which she cheated numerous times and after it ended she kept trying to sleep with his mates.

Anyway, he spoke to someone from that office and they said that every morning after he dropped her to work she used to go into the canteen and have a cry about how he was beating her up etc etc. Really awful stuff because as I said his father worked there.

Some women cause these problems just for the attention they get and while I suspect she didn't mean for it to go that far, she must have known her fiancé had it in him. Both of them need to take responsibility for their actions. Nothing you did was wrong, it was normal college behaviour for any red blooded irish man.

Report it as soon as you can, and good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

A, I'm not really sure what you mean by this? I didn't get that bad a beating. only have a slight bruise on one eye, and a lump on the other side of my head. My rib is a bit sore, but nothing serious.
    B, it's not really him "going after" me, but what happens if I do meet him again, and this time there's no one around, or he's with buddies and there's no witnesses. Thats the type of thing the cops can do very little about. Probably just been over paranoid here.
    You said in your opening post that you were 'assaulted' so assault is assault no matter how badly you were beaten or not.
    Next time you could be lying in the gutter after having the life kicked out of you. Be thankful that someone came along when they did.

I'd advise you to go to the guards and make a formal statement. It is up to them to review camera footage in the bar. What happened was wrong and it is only luck that you weren't more seriously injured.
    Also, I have to go to work in the morning... and I'm not sure what I'm going to say. So, should I make up something else for work, and if so, what?
    Tell them the truth. Yes it looks suspicious arriving into work on Monday with a bruised eye but if you start telling lies they will know and then think you were in a scrap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Dont tell work anything imo, if someone asks, you and your best mate had a drunken punch up over football or something silly, unless you were in the bar with the "work crowd" when it happened.... then youll have to think of something else....

In regard to the crazy ex, id say it was her talkin cr*p to him to rile him up over something, maybe she said "oh theres my ex who beat the sh*t outta me" or something to that effect, she had to say something for him to start like that on ya.....

What a b-itch!

Sorry to hear that OP....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

Fieldog wrote: »
    Dont tell work anything imo, if someone asks, you and your best mate had a drunken punch up over football or something silly, unless you were in the bar with the "work crowd" when it happened.... then youll have to think of something else....
    If you give a cock and bull story no-one will believe it.

The 'I was standing in a bar with my mate when a fight broke out behind me and I got caught in the crossfire' is the oldest excuse. No-one believes it even if it was true.

Well, I decided to tell the truth at work... funnily enough no one has asked me anything about it. It's not that noticeably a black eye... my temple is kinda grazed and a small bit swollen, but not that black. The other point is I had forgotten my two best mates at work (the guys that would ask straight out, and would blab it also) are on holidays this week... so there's only one or two others I'm close enough that might ask.... and if they do Ill just tell them.

I really can't imagine she told him that I beat her up... that would be a bit mad.....but ya never know I guess.
    Either way, it obviously wasn't something that she said on the night. Due to the conversation that was had, she said this to him before that night.... and whatever she was saying, it was a big deal to him.
    Her comment for me to "move away" from her incase he spotted me makes it look like she knew what his reaction was but didn't exactly want anything to happen about it.
    But if that was the case, why did she even tell him I was there.... she coulda said anything.
    I'm still really confused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭ciotog

Have you spoken to the Gardai yet then?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 400 ✭✭ruskin

OP, you have to report this, dont let it lie. The very least you deserve is to know what 'reason' this scumbag attacked you. Go to the gardai now, dont wait until your wounds heal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 WannaST

You have to go to the Gardai, even just to file the complaint. If the pub doesn't have security camera's on that exit now, then the Gardai might persuade them to install one… so that it catches the guy when he goes at you the next time. And given the same opportunity, he will.

Picture it, you don’t report it and next Fri night or in a few weeks time, ye bump into each other again. He now knows what you won’t do, so whats stopping him from taking another cut at you and getting away it AGAIN. He’ll have you pegged as not having the balls to go to the cops, so he’ll be thinking let’s have another go, for the fun of it. Report him and at least have him think twice… It doesn’t need to go the lengths of charging him and going though the courts, if he knows you are at least going to contact the cops then it could be the deterrent needed to keep him off your back in the future (or for how ever long he goes out with that other nutter for). At the very least the pub should bar him.

In hindsight, telling your friends at the time was not the best move. She was bound to tell him who you are, so he’s watched you return to your table and now has your buddies eye balling them from across the pub, your friends would all have wanted to check her and him out, that’s the nature of us nosey humans… So he probably thought you were spreading the gossip (i.e. the imaginary story your ex made up for him), which would piss him off even more… and then later on you approached the bar where she, sorry mate but I’d say you lit that fuse yourself, wide berth for any ex-gf… still doesn’t validate any attack, and you couldn’t have seen it coming… so report it… today!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 w0rm

Okay, here's the scoop.

Was in a bar last night having a few drinks with a few friends. On one of my trips to the bar, I ran into a girl who was in my class in college. I had a bit of an on off thing going with her for a good while.

Anyway, after chatting for a few minutes, catching up, she makes a comment like "we decided to buy a house in..." So I ask if she's married. She says she's engaged, and points to some guy behind her. (he's paying no attention by the way).

This is when the weirdness starts. She makes a comment like, "that's why I haven't introduced you"

This seems odd, and I kinda jokingly say "what!, he knows about us?" To this she says, "yes, I've told him everything". I'm flabbergasted to say the least.

I leave with the drinks.... a bit confused. I get back to the table and tell the story to the few friends that are there. One of the girls reckons this girl must have had a serious thing for me and that I was still on her mind or something similar.

Anyway, had another few drinks and decided to head home. I was walking down the stairs, prob on the 4/5th step from the bottom, when I get pushed from behind. I stumble, and fall against the wall. I'm literally on my ass when he comes in swinging.... he clocked me a few times and kicked me in the ribs as someone was pulling him off (not sure if it was one of his friends or a bouncer).

I'm totally disorientated at this point, really didn't know what had happened. It was only when I was been picked up and been brought onto the street that I looked up and saw that it was the guy she had pointed at earlier.

I just stumbled off and got a cab home.

But no matter what, there was never any major tension... we never had a big fight. it was all just a bit of foolishness. i thought we had left college on pretty friendly terms.

Either way the situation was ridiculous... I mean, I haven't seen or heard from this girl in 7 years. 7 years, and her now fiancé who I've never met decided to punch the living daylights outta me for fcuk all.

I know I'm rambling a bit.... a lot... but it's freaking me out. I wonder who the psycho is... him or her... I mean, what has she told him to get him all worked up?? very strange.

My big question here is should I do something about it... or just leave it. Whatever about punching someone…… pushing a guy down a stairs from behind is pretty ****ty, and dangerous. He’s obviously nuts.
    Since it was on the stairs, there could be footage of it….
    You should probably carry a knife around with you for situations like this. I do, but thankfully I've never had to use it any more than whipping it out to show aggressors exactly where the power lies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

w0rm wrote: »
    You should probably carry a knife around with you for situations like this. I do, but thankfully I've never had to use it any more than whipping it out to show aggressors exactly where the power lies.

Brandishing weapons is illegal. Banned 1 week.