Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Open Satellite.

• 17-02-2008 5:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭

Tuesday 26th February.

€150 + €15 "No Limit" Hold'em Super Satellite.

1 x €150 Rebuy or Top-up.

Doors open at 8pm for a 9pm Start.

Starting Stack : 3,500.

Rebuy/Top-up : 5,000.

Clock : 20 Minutes for 5 Levels, 25 Mins from then on.

Structure.

25 - 50 - 0 - 20 Min Clock
    50 - 100 - 0
    75 - 150 - 0
    100 - 200 - 0

20 Minute Break

150 - 300 - 0
    150 - 300 - 25 - 25 Min Clock
    200 - 400 - 25
    300 - 600 - 50
    400 - 800 - 50
    500 - 1000 - 100
    600 - 1200 - 100
    800 - 1600 - 200
    1000 - 2000 - 200
    1500 - 3000 - 300
    2000 - 4000 - 500

Entry into the 2008 Irish Open for every €4,500 collected. The tickets will be a must take, cash alternative will not be allowed.

31 Tickets have been given out for this Satellite with another 5 not using their tickets from January so with just over a week to go, there should be at least 45 players in before the day of the Tournament.

Last year, our final 3 Irish Open Satellites each had over 100 runners and we expect the same this year so if you would like to reserve a place in any of our Satellites feel free to send me a pm or phone the Poker room on 01-7030679 between 8pm -6am. For full details of the Satellites please visit our website www.thesportingemporium.com

Alex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭S.Emporium

41 players have now registered for Tuesday's Satellite with another 8 on the reserve list. Just a reminder to those that are on the list if you are in before 8.30pm then a place will be kept for you, after that we will give your seat away ! Capacity is only 120 so if anybody is coming from a distance, I'd advise them to put themselves on the reserve list by either sending me a pm or phoning the Poker room.

Alex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

A couple of Qs.
    I've already got a ticket for this years Irish Open and I'm definitely playing in it. (well 1st 3 levels anyway) however, as these Sats are EV+ I might head in to add to the prize pool.
    If I win a ticket I'm presuming I can't take the cash. ?
    What would be a reasonable selling price if I have a spare ticket?
    [SIZE=+0][/SIZE]I also realised after that when I won a ticket last time but I didn't leave a tip in the SE as I received no cash, Is this bad? normal? What do you do in these situations?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

YULETIRED wrote: »
    A couple of Qs.
    I've already got a ticket for this years Irish Open and I'm definitely playing in it. (well 1st 3 levels anyway) however, as these Sats are EV+ I might head in to add to the prize pool.
    If I win a ticket I'm presuming I can't take the cash. ?
    What would be a reasonable selling price if I have a spare ticket?
    I also realised after that when I won a ticket last time but I didn't leave a tip in the SE as I received no cash, Is this bad? normal? What do you do in these situations?

Yeah i am in the same boat, would play if i knew cash would be given as i have a tic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,502 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

You should tip for a sat. A reasonable tip for a €4500 prize would be in the region of €135 - €225 (3 - 5%). In my opinion of course.

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    You should tip for a sat. A reasonable tip for a €4500 prize would be in the region of €135 - €225 (3 - 5%). In my opinion of course.

I agree, I shall remedy the malady when next I'm in. It was 5 am and I never gave it a thought...plus I'm a known skinflint....:o

My apologies to the SE dealers...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

My apologies to the SE dealers...

it's OK, I think they got their own back last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

so anything from 3 to 5 tickets generated?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭The Al Lad

DeadParrot wrote: »
    so anything from 3 to 5 tickets generated?

generated by degenerates :D

it's OK, I think they got their own back last week

I knew I was in trouble when the overdressed bouncer confiscated my bottle of pepsi max. "You can't bring that in there govenor"
    Damn him, I had planned on lobbing it into the 2nd floor games rooms to see if I could skull a politicians brat of a son.. ..routette rage ftw

Unfortunately there is no cash alternative for our Irish Open Satellites. If a player that already has an Irish Open ticket wins another one then they are more than welcome to sell on their ticket or transfer it to another player.

Last year, quite a few of our qualifiers sold their tickets for €3,000 so just a little less than face value.

There has been a lot of enquiries about tonight's Satellite so we can expect anything between 90 and 120 runners which would hopefully give us at least 6 tickets.

See some of you later,

Alex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,405 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

This is a prime example, in my opinon, why cash alternative should be allowed, as there are a no. of people who would add to the prizepool if they were offered a cash alternative. The fact they already have tickets should mean they could take the cash, maybe come to a compromise for those people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

This is a prime example, in my opinon, why cash alternative should be allowed, as there are a no. of people who would add to the prizepool if they were offered a cash alternative. The fact they already have tickets should mean they could take the cash, maybe come to a compromise for those people?

I dont agree Joe...How are they to know whether people have tickets or not? Someone could easily decide that 'they have a ticket' and demand the cash. How is Alex or John to know? IMO all prizes should be given out in ticket form and its up to the individual to flog the ticket if they already have one

Flushdraw wrote: »
    I dont agree Joe...How are they to know whether people have tickets or not? Someone could easily decide that 'they have a ticket' and demand the cash. How is Alex or John to know? IMO all prizes should be given out in ticket form and its up to the individual to flog the ticket if they already have one

agree

if you don't want a ticket prize, don't play

I wanna play as it's not too difficult a way to get a prize of 4.5K. I have a right to play if I payz me 300 quid, and I have a right to sell ze ticket for what I can get.

I would like a cash prize of course but if not I'll play for the ticket. Now to convince somebody to let me go out to play...............failing that Lukes will be me only outing this week.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

I agree with you as regards the prizes should be open tickets not cash, however I dont agree with the way the balance of the prizepool is given out in tickets to other satelites. The last thing I want to do after getting close to a ticket is to then be forced to play another tourney.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Alex,

Stick myself, Baz Hand and Paddy Tobin down for tonight. I am sure i will have no problem selling the ticket if i luckbox one:rolleyes:

Fran

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

i might buy one if anyone wins one and is looking to sell it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

i might buy one if anyone wins one and is looking to sell it.

I will win one tonight, and will be looking to sell it tomorrow.
    I'll pm you then.
    [/overcondfident]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

any chance i could just buy a % of you now? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

any chance i could just buy a % of you now? :)

Of course, I am selling in 500% increments.

Ship me €1575/$2349.21 on pokerstars plz thank yoo!

The-Rigger wrote: »
    I will win one tonight, and will be looking to sell it tomorrow.
    I'll pm you then.
    [/overcondfident]

^^^^^^^^^^^^

Bad players overestimating their edge (or incorrectly perceiving that they have an edge) = my edge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 571 ✭✭✭smoothcall

Its easy enough to find out if they are registered are not. They can hold the cash until they get in contact with paddy power. The numbers will be down id say because of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭Russh

...Sell the ticket if you don't want it....

Russh wrote: »
    ...Sell the ticket if you don't want it....

or take the cash in stead of the hassle, if you can sell it then what odds if you get the cash?

smoothcall wrote: »
    Its easy enough to find out if they are registered are not. They can hold the cash until they get in contact with paddy power. The numbers will be down id say because of this.

er, they got 130 runners

• Closed Accounts Posts: 571 ✭✭✭smoothcall

and i was one of em

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭DocO

smoothcall wrote: »
    and i was one of em

so what - blue peter badge??

seeing that your home so early - you obv didnt do much good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Wisesmurf

DocO wrote: »

Get out of the wrong side of the bed grumpy doc?

Just a quick report.

130 runners. 112 Rebuys.

8 Irish Open Tickets.

Next Tuesday looks as though it will get the same amount of runners as tonight so please do not forget to reserve yourself a seat if you're coming from a distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,192 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Any boardsies win a ticket?

DocO wrote: »

lol, needle.

I was also one of the bad players who made brief appearances in this. When I left with circa 50 left The - Rigger had just over twice the average with 40ish BBs. I'd say he's about a 50% shot from there for a seat.

So Paul? Seat no.2? Or did you donk out like the donk you are?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I managed to luckbox my way into one, as did the sadly absent Gholomoli. Thechamp87 won another one to go with his online one. I don't know if there were any other boards players among the tickets. Rigger sadly got a bad beat when his K3o was no good against 44 and another one too when his Q5 got cracked.

nice one lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,192 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

5starpool wrote: »
    I managed to luckbox my way into one, as did the sadly absent Gholomoli. Thechamp87 won another one to go with his online one. I don't know if there were any other boards players among the tickets. Rigger sadly got a bad beat when his K3o was no good against 44 and another one too when his Q5 got cracked.

Well done lads...

Well done lads!! Time for the BIG SPIN Dom. Also, Adam seems to be pretty sick at the sats.

Adam was in good form last night alright. thankfully I was only on his table for the final 2 hands when we went from 9 handed to 8 handed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

well done lads

why is gholli not on here? is he banned? self excluded? etc??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

wp lads,

why's Gholomoli absent?

I think his answer last night was "Nah, I'm keeping away from there". I didn't ask him to elaborate, but he is not banned anyhow. Probably got tired of arguing, and couldn't stop himself entering the arguments in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,312 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Well done Dom! Good work the other lads too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Marq

wd

I went in to play this. I rang to say I was playing and would be late so put me in for it...told ok..... When I got there I was told it was 1st come 1st served. Just a reserve list would I ilke my name placed on it? :eek: WTF? I wish I could have been told that before I drove from Newcastle .......not impressed at all I have to say. .. so took my name off the reserve list and went elsewhere.......
    well done to the ticket winners see ye in City West.....

You were called just at the break Willie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

Congrats on the tickets guys.

What time did it finish?

About 5.40 or so. There was brief talk of 'next day' play which would have been ridiculous.

Well done gentlemen, you run goot!
    Any ideas on who the other 6 people were?

You were called just at the break Willie.

the break? Jayz, a wise move to leave so.....WD on the ticket, so nearly had a piece of your ticket.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭califano

wp lads

There were 5 others apart from the 3 I mentioned, 2 of which I knew from the Fitz but not sure if you would know them, I'll describe them to you next time I see you. The other 3 I didn't know.

the break? Jayz, a wise move to leave so.....WD on the ticket, so nearly had a piece of your ticket.....

No, I was never even contemplating selling any of my IO ticket, esp in a sat. Other tournies might be a different thing though.