Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Stables 21st

• 14-02-2008 11:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭

Ok so,
    The Stables 21st Birthday is coming up this semester. According to Declan and Brendan [the managers], a big band will be playing live for the occasion.
    However, I don't know the date for this event! I was told but have forgotten it. :o Does anyone know??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Nutty

its April from what i remember.. the band are a popular band for the last while from Mayo i think..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Galway actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

"We do do's and functions and weddings and wakes
    Boomshakkalakkalakka, weddings and wakes"

Surely one of the greatest lyrics ever? Up there alongside "I'm as serious as cancer when I say rythm is a dancer"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

kaimera wrote: »
    Galway actually.
    And the name of this Galway band would be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

cooperguy wrote: »

The name has been removed due to the legal MCD thingy...:rolleyes:

Mossin wrote: »
    The name has been removed due to the legal MCD thingy...:rolleyes:

Bingo. They are promoted by said crowd so we don't give them a mention.

Boomshakkalakkalakka Parish Hall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Rineanna

Can you say something that rhymes with the name?!! :D

Past tense of 'see' and 'not a nurse'.

Enough with the who is it from now ok :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭slickmcvic

...are they the band that might have medical knowledge of a cutting instrument?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭slickmcvic

22844972.jpg

doctor.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭bada-bing

OMG!!!! WOW!! thats so class... and when will tics be available..

Subtle slickmcvic veeerrrry subtle:D

Apparently its a free gig. Not a ticket affair!! Woohoo.

That info came straight from a staff member today at 4:30.
    He believes it will be a bigger event than Rag Week or Xmas Daze....

Heres hoping for a great night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭The Don

I heard that its going to be on the 23rd April. May have to take a few days off work for it.

Mid week?

Arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭bluedolphin

I have it on good judgement that it's the 17 April. Pretty reliable. :)

I heard that one of Shannon Dohertys eyes is off centre cos it's trying to escape.

Excellent, that'll lead nicely into a weekend away at a footy match!!
    kaimera wrote: »
    I heard that one of Shannon Dohertys eyes is off centre cos it's trying to escape.

Eh wtf ?? :confused:

See below:
    The Don wrote: »
    I heard that its going to be on the 23rd April. May have to take a few days off work for it.

Shame on you for not knowing where the quote is from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭rmacm

Family Guy I do believe, I think Peter said it although I'm not certain. I'd believe bluedolphin sooner than I'd believe that Don fella.

rmacm wrote: »
    I'd believe bluedolphin sooner than I'd believe that Don fella.

Should I be flattered? I am, sort of! :eek::o:D

rmacm wrote: »
    Family Guy I do believe, I think Peter said it although I'm not certain. I'd believe bluedolphin sooner than I'd believe that Don fella.

Difficult to disagree with ya there Rory. Nah Don I'm only messing, I'd believe ya if it wasn't a woman disagreeing with ya. :p

Flattered by Rory, thats something never previously achieved by a woman with Rory. ;)

I'd be more scared than flattered though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭rmacm

You're welcome....although flattery wasn't my intention.
    Difficult to disagree with ya there Rory. Nah Don I'm only messing, I'd believe ya if it wasn't a woman disagreeing with ya. :p

lol :)
    Flattered by Rory, thats something never previously achieved by a woman with Rory. ;)

Quiet you.

I'm that too... :rolleyes:

Anyway my source of information comes from being a Crew member and that's the date that the roster says as being the Stables' 21st... And I currently have that night off \o/ (although that's probably likely to change *sigh*)

Off back home for NUIG Rag week tomorrow. Should be a laff. Speaking of Rag week, anything organised for our one? Any bandio's in the running? Rilo Kiley per chance? Elvis even?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

cson wrote: »
    Off back home for NUIG Rag week tomorrow.
    but......you're from.......:confused::confused::confused::confused:

*whispers* Galway *whispers*

Or Gall-Weey as some of you Cork/Kerry hicks refer to it as. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭The Don

Ouch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭ImDave

Off back home for NUIG Rag week tomorrow. Should be a laff. Speaking of Rag week, anything organised for our one? Any bandio's in the running? Rilo Kiley per chance? Elvis even?

Just saw the line up there now - Includes a certain band managed by a certain management group which cannot be discussed, Future Kings of Spain, and David Kitt (TBC). Should be class.

I received an update on this at the weekend, but maybe some people know about this already.

The Stables 21st birthday is going to be held next Monday the 14th April.
    Tickets are €15.
    On sale tomorrow for 1st and 2nd years, and Wednesday for 3rd and 4th years.
    Tickets include free food voucher and a free drink voucher, which have to be redeemed on the night only, non-refundable. Must also be redeemed between 6 - 8 p.m.

There will be a DJ playing between 6 - 8 pm, followed later by a band.:)

Tickets are limited to ONE per person, and only valid student ID will be accepted, with the Stables Club sticker on the reverse side.

damn damndamn so cant get anyone to get my ticket for me cause that was my plan damn damn damn damn.. i want to sleep on wednesday..

Not exactly.
    I'm on co-op and I wont be able to queue for a ticket, but I have my sources behind the bar...One of the benefits of being an alcoholic I suppose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 kram_araman

Did ye get that email today about the 21st? Didnt say anything about it being limited to one per person so hopefully people can get at least two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭ImDave

Tickets are limited to ONE per person.

Oh no, that means I have to queue :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Funkstard

€15 for a ticket?! See you later!

Did ye get that email today about the 21st? Didnt say anything about it being limited to one per person so hopefully people can get at least two

The Stables Club 21st Party - Ticket Info
    Thursday, April 3rd, 2008
    Everything has been booked, arranged and confirmed: so now we can give you all the details of the Big 21st Birthday Bash! The ********** will be playing the Main Stage on the 14th April 2008! Tickets will be going on sale on the 8th and the 9th of April in the Students Union.

Due to phenomenal interest in this event, we are applying a quota system to the ticket sales. At 10 am on Tuesday 8th April, a percentage of the tickets will go on sale for First & Second Years only.

The rest of the tickets for this event will go on sale at 10 am on Wednesday 9th, and will be available to Third & Fourth Years only.

In order to purchase a ticket, the following conditions will apply:

You MUST have a valid UL ID Card, with a Stables Club membership sticker on the back.
    Each Ticket will incorporate a Food & Beverage Voucher. These vouchers are valid on the night only between 6pm and 8pm. There are no refunds on either the full ticket or unused portions.
    Tickets are limited to one per person, and tickets are non-transferable.
    The Stables Club reserves the right of admission, and no refunds will be made in the event of being refused admission.
    Any queries regarding this event can be directed to info@stablesclub.com

I gots my ticket :cool:

I'm working. But of course. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 kingkane

Do you get a discount if you were here when it opened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

AAWWW....wish I got into Limerick last year. I'm trying to beat my record of 5 gigs to see the *** *******(why won't anyone just mention their name?), have seen them twice so far this year bringing my grand total up to 14!
    God damnit, it sucks. They are playing Limerick again on the 4 May at some festival...

I forgot to get tickets. Are they still available does anyone know?
    mars bar wrote:
    why won't anyone just mention their name?
    Because they are promoted by the lovely people at MCD and we are not allowed by boards due to the chances of boards getting sued. See the sticky at the top of the forum.

Nope, sold out I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Because they are promoted by the lovely people at MCD and we are not allowed by boards due to the chances of boards getting sued. See the sticky at the top of the forum.

Ah right...Well to all of ye going, enjoy!

i wish i could do but i cant due to a little thing we call the FYP

After all my talk, I even started this thread, I dont have a ticket. :rolleyes:
    I'm gonna have to do a lot of begging/bugging the staff all day to try get a ticket now. It shouldnt be too much of a problem.

From what I heard last night however, the SU oversold tickets by 400 :eek::eek:

Apparently they were only supposed to sell 900, but they sold 1300 tickets.....

What a fcuking mental night! They who shall not be mentioned were pretty damn class; savage act! Have to say even though I was working twas somewhat enjoyable bar the one or two ejections and the minor injuries needing attention :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

funniest part of the night was the stage diver coming from behind mairtin the look on his face as your man jumped passed him was like "were the **** he come from?"

im still drunk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

why am already awake......*owwwww*.... good night, bar tenders in stables r sum retarded fockwads, didnt buy a single pint there last night, never will again either. theyre the most ignorant spanners anywhere (not only last nightm theyre always fockwads IMO)

good craic all the same, the womenzez were NICE.....(remembers now....sum girl stole my free t-shirt....:pac:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Mr Seven

BEST GIG EVER!!!!

must say the staff at the lodge were pretty shocked when all the students showed up after the gig- they were expected a quiet monday evening