Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

babysitting hell - advice

Options
2»

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

She's taking advantage of you OP. Just get out of there. Make an excuse. There are a million babysitters in Ireland, she will have no trouble finding another one -- she just doesn't want to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I'm 25 and I work part time as a childcare worker caring for a child with a disability (which i absolutely love doing). Due to start full time soon within the next few weeks.

Well, that makes you a professional at this. I realy hope you are getting paid a proper rate, certainly more than a teenage babysitter gets.

Like the others, you need to quit this job 100%. You can always find another local couple and do the odd night for them if you need cash.

And if you don't want to quit, treple your rates and ask them to register you for tax since they want you permantly every weekend. They definitly won't ask you again.

Edit: If you are going to working in childcare as your full-time job maybe you need a break from that at weekends. Consider a job in a pub if want more cash, it's good to have a change

• Registered Users Posts: 22,764 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

milk.coffee - You are 25 & never get to go out on a Saturday night! Even if this woman wasn't taking advantage of your good nature I would strongly advise you to quit baby-sitting & get the hell out there & have a social life before it passes you by.

Get your glad-rags on & have yourself a good time! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 Garda_boss