Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best shop for buying trainers/runners?

• 12-02-2008 8:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭

I'm relatively new to the fitness scene (been exercising regularly for the past 3 months - and the results are great!) but my runners are falling apart. I've also been doing some research on different types of runners suited to different activities and my foot type. Turns out I underpronate, so will be needing extra cushioning from my runners, but will also need lateral support aswell, for to my aerobics classes. I know what I want in a runner, but unfortunatley, the sports shops I've visited don't seem to know - the staff seem only to know colours and sizes, and how to wear baseball caps on the very backs of their heads.

Can anyone suggest a decent shop where the staff know their stuff?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Where in Ireland are you based, your post doesn't say?
    I hope you're not a Dub and assuming everyone on Boards is too. This is very, very common on Boards :rolleyes:

http://www.amphibianking.ie/
    Excellent store in Bray, Co. Wicklow. I've used them and are highly recommended by other posters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭maradona10

amphibianking is excellent but expensive. they will test your feet for pronation etc

elverys is the best main stream high street shop for runners and stock asics and new balance which are among the top brands for running. they are also cheaper than the others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Reg'stoy

maradona10 wrote: »
    amphibianking is excellent but expensive. they will test your feet for pronation etc

The expense is subjective Maradona, I found the runners to be roughly the same price as elsewhere but when you add on the fact that the runners you have just bought are 'perfect' for your!! feet then I consider them to be cheaper.
    The expense is like everything in life Maradona you pay the higher price for asics rather than saving money by using a cheap pair of runners because they are a tried and tested brand name. This is the same reason I would suggest people visit AmphibianKing, because of the quality and standard of the service you get there, by that I mean, getting runners suited to your feet which in the end also means suited to your pocket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭maradona10

you mis-interpreted what i said. i just meant they were expensive

i didnt mean they were expensive cos they test your feet for pronation and then charge you for it.

the testing is great but the shoes could be bought cheaper elsewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Are you sure I have brought a few pairs there and the prices were similar in most other shops. Can remember the prices but I generally check around after purchasing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I would recommend amphibianking too, excellent service, they really know their stuff, while the lads in champion sports etc could have been flipping burgers the week before, these lads are qualified in what they do. I got to try on loads of pairs and was let out for a run in the carpark. they take videos and examine your running style and determine what type of shoe will suit you best. An AFAIK none of their shoes are above the RRP. The cheapest shoe there is probably €80-90, but that is since they do not stock crap, or "fashion shoes".

Check the athletics forum too, they will all recommend them too.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=322

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭cats-pyjamas

micmclo wrote: »
    Where in Ireland are you based, your post doesn't say?
    I hope you're not a Dub and assuming everyone on Boards is too. This is very, very common on Boards :rolleyes:

If you must know, I'm in Donegal one week and Meath the next, so I'm well used to having to travel to get what I want. I didn't disclose a location because I'm prepared to travel to a good shop. Just because someone doesn't disclose a location doesn't mean they're from/in Dublin -:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Corksham

John Buckleys in Cork are very knowledgable and helpful, they have a website and deliver over the post as far as I know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭fatmammycat

Amphibian King for me too, they were super helpful when I was looking for shoes before my marathon, and I didn't find them any more expensive than anywhere else, and of the three different styles of trainers I tried that day the assistant thought the cheapest suited my running style more. So no pushing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭serfboard

Corksham wrote: »
    John Buckleys in Cork are very knowledgable and helpful, they have a website and deliver over the post as far as I know

+1 Absolutely second this one. A friend of mine recommended them to me and they were excellent. Got a pair of Ascis which he said would be right for me - and they were. Apparently yer man that owns it is a former runner himself. I've had mine a year or so now, and it's time to replace them. Do you know, Corksham, if he charges for delivery, and if so, how much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Corksham

serfboard wrote: »
    +1 Absolutely second this one. A friend of mine recommended them to me and they were excellent. Got a pair of Ascis which he said would be right for me - and they were. Apparently yer man that owns it is a former runner himself. I've had mine a year or so now, and it's time to replace them. Do you know, Corksham, if he charges for delivery, and if so, how much?

Here you go sir:
    postal Rates Ireland-Nth of Ireland. 6.00-- UK 10.00-- Europe 20.00-- Rest of the world 25.00

I got them from http://www.johnbuckleysports.com/ but might be worth a ring in case they changed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Well....I went to Amphibian King based on the recommendations in this thread and I have to say the trip from Skerries to Bray and back was well worth it.

Absolutely class customer service. Prices didn't seem OTT to me. My feet are already thanking me. Highly recommended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

How much do they charge for the gait analysis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

It's free. I presume it's done with the notion that you're going to buy there mind you.

Thanks, I'll be heading out there on Monday so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

I got some New Balance for 50 euro...they are class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

tribulus wrote: »
    Thanks, I'll be heading out there on Monday so.

It best to give them a call first as they book people in for the analysis. They can really only do one person at a time and it takes about 20-30 mins. Well worth it though I was back for my third time last Thursday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,870 ✭✭✭mikeruurds

I went in to Amphibianking today and got kitted out. I thought the service was great and I'm very happy with my purchases :D

Beats Champion, Elverys or Lifestyle any day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Todoquetengo

mikeruurds wrote: »
    I went in to Amphibianking today and got kitted out. I thought the service was great and I'm very happy with my purchases :D

Beats Champion, Elverys or Lifestyle any day!

I went in there at the start of the year and the advice and help was great. Not to mention I spent less than I had spent in Elverys on my previous pair :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭lolo2

Defo AmphibianKing, I had gotten myself into such a state of overuse injury (from not having a clue about running!) that I could barely walk. The guys in amphibianking totally sorted me out. Best customer service I have ever come across. I haven't had any injuries since. Also noted that it was one of the cheaper pairs that the guy recommended to me, and it was plain obvious from the video that they stabilised my feet the most. Liked it so much I actually left my old ones in the shop by accident! Anyone who is starting running should go here to get their first pair runners, you will probably save yourself alot of pain and physio bills!

Odysseus wrote: »
    It best to give them a call first as they book people in for the analysis. They can really only do one person at a time and it takes about 20-30 mins. Well worth it though I was back for my third time last Thursday.

Bumpedy bump. Thanks for the heads-up. Went out there today and got myself a pair. Very friendly and thorough. Would recommend to anyone wanting to get a good pair of runners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 runlindarun

Hey do you mind me asking how much you paid for the runners. I'm looking to do the womens mini marathon this year and wanted to get a decent pair of runners.

I went in to Lifestyle sports in Blanch but the guy there was telling me the only shoe for me was an Asics Kayano. I'm a little heavy at 12.5 stone and he reckoned I'd be doing myself damage if I ran in anything cheaper they were expensive at €150.

I got a pair of Saucony Omni 6 Moderate for 115 euro.

A quick glance at the website has Kayano's at 135E http://www.amphibianking.ie/product_info.php?cPath=29_31&products_id=71 .

So not only are they cheaper there you'll get your gait analysed and have several shoes recommended to you based on what you need, which could well be cheaper than that pair in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

It's funny, a bloke I know would easily spend €300 on a jacket or whatever but when I recomended boxing gloves that were about €80 instead of the standard pair for €50, he wouldn't pay it. A year later he was buying the expensive pair. False economy.

Same for runners. Usually, you get what you pay for and you'll save by either not buying 2 pairs of Nike in the same time or by not having to visit the physio. €115 is nothing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭eclectichoney

The difference proper running shoes make versus general cross trainers is unbelievable. It's definitely worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

There was a guy on TV3s morning program the other day. He had made these inserts you put in your shoe, then walk around and it records pressures etc, and then they use the info to make a custom insole for you. He was on dragons den too. Think they might be in some places now. Can't remember the name though...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

Have to check out the AK, I'm having huge problems getting runners that don't rub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭theboytaylor

Was in Runways on Parnell St. this week and got the gait analysis (underpronate) and new runners and everything (€105).

Good service/knowledge, just thought it deserved a mention
    as an addition to the other shops.