Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PS3 Connection problem!

• 11-02-2008 1:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭

Hi ive searched the net and found plenty of guides including some on boards, but im about to pull my hair out at the fact my ps3 wont go back online... I have set up a static ip and port forward everything, in net connections on ps3 it gets to obtain ip address succeded, internet connection failed error 80710102...

Ive looked at guides followed them word for word and still no success!

im using eircom netopia router, are my dns servers wrong i left them at default, then changed them to different eircom ones and still no luck! please help!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Which netopia router?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭DILLIGAF

yeah we had a serious problem with this for ages, then we fixed it! would you like to know how???

We bought a 25 meter long ethernet cable!hahahaha seriously,it was getting on my tits so much! I had done everything I could think of in all my years computing and this thing wasn't budging! I finally sorted my IP address issue but then internet connection wasn't going to work at all! So like I say, a bloody long cable, and viola!10 seconds later I was online!not exactly great advice but its still advice! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭guil

he never said he was tryin to connect wirelessly
    flynner did ya put the same dns as the one on the netopia home page

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭Clover

the firewall on the eircom router may be your problem , set it to low .

that shouldnt matter cos i set up a friends ps3 the other day and its connectin wirelessly with nat 2 and the firewall is still on medium on a netopia router

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭Super Sidious

Ive had it working before without using a static ip address, but ever since i made it static it dont work, ive followed guides to a T and it still dont work!

Im connecting it wirelessly through eircom netopia 2247nwg, it says the dns error after it says ip connecting, then it stops at internet connection!

Basically just wana know, when i make the ip settings on ps3 i use 1 ip higher than what my laptop is set too, eg. xxx.xx.xx.136 & xxx.xx.xx.137...

What DNS servers do i use for ps3 and laptop, should i make them the same, is there any special dns servers i should use? I have upnp set to enable on router and ps3, dont wana use any wires as theres enough going around the room as it is!

Cheers for any help!

yeh make the dns the same as it is on the laptop , if your isp is eircom use these

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭eioneill

Folks I robbed this off some other site. Used the guide to set up both mine and my brothers routers. Fairly straight forward.

hey guys, heres a guide to having absolutley FLAWLESS ps3 online, very important parts shall have an asterix (*) to the left hand side of the post,
    i shall also give brief explanations of why youre doing these things, and what they actually DO:

basically your ps3 connection has a NAT type , this basically says how your connection to your router is, TYPE 1 means its directly connected to the internet so its perfect, TYPE 3 means it can connect to the internet but the connection isnt perfect/very laggy, a result of this is not being able to go into chat rooms, ea nation games not working etc. well we try to get NAT type 2 which is wirelessly connected to the internet , but perfectly connected here we go!!

*give your ps3 a static ip address*
    *okay this isnt too complicated, see every time a router gets accessed by a device (ps3, desktop, laptop etc.) it assignes it an ip address randomly depending on who logs in first,

on ps3
    disable the media server function in 'network settings'
    do an 'automatic' network connection and see if nat type 3 comes up at the end, if so, were on track

we need our ps3 to have an ip address that isnt given out randomly, as we will need it to have the same address,so you write down a new ip address, say 192.168.1.150 we use .150 because you probably will never have 150 devices on your router at any given time!

*find out our internets ip details*
    i had awful guff with this online because bad wording of ip addresses and such was used , SO I WILL MAKE THIS CLEAR

*run a command prompt, on your desktop click 'start'-'run'-'cmd' in the command prompt , type ipconfig/all and click 'enter'

*now, write down the numbers for these addresses: IP GATEWAY,DNS SERVER 1, DNS SERVER 2 they will be used later on.

*fiddling with your router*(in the good way!)
    *okay , now we are going to open some ports on your netopia router, DONT WORRY ITS NOT DANGEROUS, because we will only let these ports be opened when your ps3 'asks for them' so to speak, and considering your ps3 doesnt get viruses, you are safe!

*in your internet address bar type in your 'IP GATEWAY' you just got from the command prompt, just the numbers and dots, no need for a 'www' or any of that! on netopia routers the gateway is generally 192.168.1.254 so i will use that for now.

type 192.168.1.254 in the browser address window. and your netopia router page should appear, im gonna make this as easy as possible , so bear with me for a minute, were now going to 'open' and 'enable' the ports and 'enable' your ps3's ip address to know to recieve these ports.

*okay click EXPERT MODE on the left hand column, click 'YES , ENTER EXPERT MODE', double click the word 'configure, go down and click on 'NAT' click 'STATIC NAT' click ythe dropdown icon, see if your ip address is there, if so click it, click on done, if this works, igore the paragraph in brackets

(if not i think you have to sign into psn using the new ip beforehand, im not sure, to do that just use the custom ip and use the same settings but use you GATEWAY as the bar saying DEFAULT ROUTER , then come back to this step)

now im going to list a range of ports and what to do with them , we will call the example port aaaa .
    click on NAT as you did earlier,(notice how the ps3 ip is there , listed under static ip? thats good)
    click DEFINE CUSTOM SERVICE click in 'PORT FORWARDING' , select next , type anything in the service name, something that you will know its related to the ps3,

see the settings for 'global port range' if its only one port thats being entered enter the same port in the left and right hand boxes, in every case , enter the lower port in the box below saying 'base port' even if theres only one port, and chage the TCP/UDP settings according to every port.

heres the ports , repeat the same process for each one, after that window, select the static ip address you made in the drop-down list so it gets forwarded only for the ps3

* TCP port 80
    TCP port 443
    TCP port 5223
    UDP port 3478-3479
    UDP port 3658-3659

*now we 'enable' them all, when your done, click NAT on the left hand side, click the dropdown menu that has 'age of empires' written on it and scroll to the bottom, click on the ports you made with the asterix beside them (*) and click enable , then enter the ps3 ip address in the bar , to 'enable them just for the ps3' okay ,

*now click 'configure ' on the left and then click 'connection ' and tick the box that says "upnp"

now,to summarise, we should have , when we click NAT on the left hand column, a:

static NAT address, enabled, thats the ip youre going to use on your ps3
    7 ps3 ports, all enabled to the 'host device' of your ps3's ip

*now , enter basic mode, click firewall, and set to low, this isnt dangerous as long as you have a desktop firewall such as windows or mcafee etc...
    save changes, and RESTART YOUR ROUTER!

now, turn your ps3 off, then on again , now go to Network settings and click network settings, im putting this in bullet form for easiness

-wireless/wired(though this guide is based on a wireless connection)
    -CUSTOM
    -enter security settings
    -now for your ip info CLICK MANUAL
    -where it says 'ip address' enter the STATIC IP ADDRESS YOU MADE UP
    -subnet mask is normally 255.255.255.0
    -DEFAULT ROUTER, this wants you to input your GATEWAY number you wrote down
    -DNS 1/primary , enter the one you wrote down,

i dont think the ps3 needs it , try it without using the 2nd one,

-cick NEXT
    -'proxy server' DONT ENABLE THAT
    -upnp , enable if you could in your router

thats all , save settings and do connection test, see what nat type comes up at the end, if its 2 , its perfect! dont do anyhting to your router and congratz! if not , perhaps a bit of the guide was overlooked, if that isnt the case either leave me a post and ill try and help,

eioneill

i tried my ps3 there a few moments ago and i was getting dns errors also ( bt connection ) i went into the netopia router and it said dns unavailable.

so i hit disconnect and the reconnected and i got the dns again from my isp and i ran the internet connection test on the ps3 and it was back to normal.

How do you assign static IP to ps3 when your starting guide above?

and should i have static nat enabled on router...

all my nats are going to my ip address thats right ye?

flynner13 wrote: »
    and should i have static nat enabled on router...

all my nats are going to my ip address thats right ye?

yes , your ports should be open for the ip # the ps3 is getting from the router.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭eioneill

IN ADDITION TO ABOVE GUIDE

I would advise to do your settings on PS3 1st. Then when you are opening the ports on your router you will b given a drop down menu to select the static IP you gave to your PS3

I connected yesterday, but got kicked out mid game of tiger woods...even opened up ports for tiger... how do i set up an ip for the ps3? like it says i can direct my browser to 192.168.1.xx = ps3 ip...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭KoA-Ollie

I have this Nat 3 problem aswell. I have 3G Broadband set up to my PS3 by a cross-over cable and have tried lots of different things to fix it. Anyone have any ideas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭311

Is there anyway that the firewall errors people are having ,are caused by the ps3's architecture ?

Is the ps3 designed with the networking at it's core ?

Sorry if it's blubberish I'm speaking :eek:

flynner dont click static nat i couldnt even sign into psn when i enabled that just follow the guide above and it will work i done it in november and never had a problem since

This link is another posted about the nat issues ,but I still can't get NAT2.

http://www.portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/Netopia/2247NWG-VGx/PS3_NAT_Type_3_to_2.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭thewheel2.0

eioneill wrote: »

I ticked this box in the router settings and went to my PS3 and its says upnp - not available...
    Any one have any ideas?

EDIT : Also is this important for online gaming?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

ok whoevery said type 2 is wireless is wrong, ive had type 2 on wired before but as of a few days ago it seems to not be working(probabaly overlooking somthing) so at the moment ive got ip passthrough enabled (TYPE1 )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭087dannyboy

I originally had a NAT 3 then opened some ports and got NAT 2 and all games were working fine but now after the latest PS3 firmware update its put itself back to NAT 3 and i cannot seem to change back. So im just wondering has this happened to many other people and has anyone solved it and got back to Nat 2? And if so how? Cheers .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

*run a command prompt, on your desktop click 'start'-'run'-'cmd' in the command prompt , type ipconfig/all and click 'enter'

*now, write down the numbers for these addresses: IP GATEWAY,DNS SERVER 1, DNS SERVER 2 they will be used later on.

My ones are all the same, what am I doing wrong?

Folks I robbed this off some other site. Used the guide to set up both mine and my brothers routers. Fairly straight forward.

hey guys, heres a guide to having absolutley FLAWLESS ps3 online, very important parts shall have an asterix (*) to the left hand side of the post,
    i shall also give brief explanations of why youre doing these things, and what they actually DO:

basically your ps3 connection has a NAT type , this basically says how your connection to your router is, TYPE 1 means its directly connected to the internet so its perfect, TYPE 3 means it can connect to the internet but the connection isnt perfect/very laggy, a result of this is not being able to go into chat rooms, ea nation games not working etc. well we try to get NAT type 2 which is wirelessly connected to the internet , but perfectly connected here we go!!

*give your ps3 a static ip address*
    *okay this isnt too complicated, see every time a router gets accessed by a device (ps3, desktop, laptop etc.) it assignes it an ip address randomly depending on who logs in first,

on ps3
    disable the media server function in 'network settings'
    do an 'automatic' network connection and see if nat type 3 comes up at the end, if so, were on track

we need our ps3 to have an ip address that isnt given out randomly, as we will need it to have the same address,so you write down a new ip address, say 192.168.1.150 we use .150 because you probably will never have 150 devices on your router at any given time!

*find out our internets ip details*
    i had awful guff with this online because bad wording of ip addresses and such was used , SO I WILL MAKE THIS CLEAR

*fiddling with your router*(in the good way!)
    *okay , now we are going to open some ports on your netopia router, DONT WORRY ITS NOT DANGEROUS, because we will only let these ports be opened when your ps3 'asks for them' so to speak, and considering your ps3 doesnt get viruses, you are safe!

*in your internet address bar type in your 'IP GATEWAY' you just got from the command prompt, just the numbers and dots, no need for a 'www' or any of that! on netopia routers the gateway is generally 192.168.1.254 so i will use that for now.

type 192.168.1.254 in the browser address window. and your netopia router page should appear, im gonna make this as easy as possible , so bear with me for a minute, were now going to 'open' and 'enable' the ports and 'enable' your ps3's ip address to know to recieve these ports.

*okay click EXPERT MODE on the left hand column, click 'YES , ENTER EXPERT MODE', double click the word 'configure, go down and click on 'NAT' click 'STATIC NAT' click ythe dropdown icon, see if your ip address is there, if so click it, click on done, if this works, igore the paragraph in brackets

(if not i think you have to sign into psn using the new ip beforehand, im not sure, to do that just use the custom ip and use the same settings but use you GATEWAY as the bar saying DEFAULT ROUTER , then come back to this step)

now im going to list a range of ports and what to do with them , we will call the example port aaaa .
    click on NAT as you did earlier,(notice how the ps3 ip is there , listed under static ip? thats good)
    click DEFINE CUSTOM SERVICE click in 'PORT FORWARDING' , select next , type anything in the service name, something that you will know its related to the ps3,

see the settings for 'global port range' if its only one port thats being entered enter the same port in the left and right hand boxes, in every case , enter the lower port in the box below saying 'base port' even if theres only one port, and chage the TCP/UDP settings according to every port.

heres the ports , repeat the same process for each one, after that window, select the static ip address you made in the drop-down list so it gets forwarded only for the ps3

* TCP port 80
    TCP port 443
    TCP port 5223
    UDP port 3478-3479
    UDP port 3658-3659

*now we 'enable' them all, when your done, click NAT on the left hand side, click the dropdown menu that has 'age of empires' written on it and scroll to the bottom, click on the ports you made with the asterix beside them (*) and click enable , then enter the ps3 ip address in the bar , to 'enable them just for the ps3' okay ,

*now click 'configure ' on the left and then click 'connection ' and tick the box that says "upnp"

now,to summarise, we should have , when we click NAT on the left hand column, a:

static NAT address, enabled, thats the ip youre going to use on your ps3
    7 ps3 ports, all enabled to the 'host device' of your ps3's ip

*now , enter basic mode, click firewall, and set to low, this isnt dangerous as long as you have a desktop firewall such as windows or mcafee etc...
    save changes, and RESTART YOUR ROUTER!

now, turn your ps3 off, then on again , now go to Network settings and click network settings, im putting this in bullet form for easiness

-wireless/wired(though this guide is based on a wireless connection)
    -CUSTOM
    -enter security settings
    -now for your ip info CLICK MANUAL
    -where it says 'ip address' enter the STATIC IP ADDRESS YOU MADE UP
    -subnet mask is normally 255.255.255.0
    -DEFAULT ROUTER, this wants you to input your GATEWAY number you wrote down
    -DNS 1/primary , enter the one you wrote down,

i dont think the ps3 needs it , try it without using the 2nd one,

-cick NEXT
    -'proxy server' DONT ENABLE THAT

thats all , save settings and do connection test, see what nat type comes up at the end, if its 2 , its perfect! dont do anyhting to your router and congratz! if not , perhaps a bit of the guide was overlooked, if that isnt the case either leave me a post and ill try and help,

eioneill
    Lads, would someone please be able to write that out in more user friendly way. Im having a difficult time doing it. Im a noob when It comes to this kind of stuff. PLEASE!

I dunno if this will help but it worked for me . My NAT also changed to type 3 after the update but i just start messin around with it and now have type 1 (wireless) .

Here's what i done I disabled all the ports i had opened to originally get type 2, Then went to PS3 network settings - internet connection settings - custom - wireless, at WLAN settings select Enter Manually and enter SSID and WEP key.

Then comes IP Address Setting And I selected PPPoE and it brings you to enter a user name and password And i entered the user name and password from my router when i restart connection Then DNS automatic and i entered MTU manual at 1500.
    Then just Keep going to the end Proxy server Do not use UPnP enable. Test connection and type 1 Might not work for everyone but it worked for me .

I originally had a NAT 3 then opened some ports and got NAT 2 and all games were working fine but now after the latest PS3 firmware update its put itself back to NAT 3 and i cannot seem to change back. So im just wondering has this happened to many other people and has anyone solved it and got back to Nat 2? And if so how? Cheers .

It's bollox, i reseted my router cause i was having PSN connection problems and started the whole process from scratch and it's still on NAT 3, basically no other way from my point of view of changing it now!!. Is everyone here Eircom?. I'm getting sick of there router boxes now tbh, even if somebody rings the house phone my connection will go!!.

Im with eircom:mad: I followed that guide and all i got was Nat -
    Does anyone know a basic way of doing things. I don't even know what half the fcuking words on that guide mean. Its double dutch. Please will someone help.

Plug wrote: »
    Im with eircom:mad: I followed that guide and all i got was Nat -
    Does anyone know a basic way of doing things. I don't even know what half the fcuking words on that guide mean. Its double dutch. Please will someone help.

Plug did you try what i did its just a couple of posts above this one

Whats the eircom password ?

311 wrote: »
    Whats the eircom password ?[/quot

broadband1 is mine id say its the same for all

I'm getting a pppoe ,name or password incorrect.

Yea thats what i got aswell the first or second time but i kept tryin it and reentered user and password an got it after a couple of tries . It seems kinda tempremental .
    I done the same thing on my brothers ps3 (same house) and got Type 1 aswell.

Got Nat1 ,fair play mate.

I had put my router back to WPA when it didn't work the first time.

Works like a charm!:pac::D

Got Nat1 ,fair play mate.

I had put my router back to WPA when it didn't work the first time.

Works like a charm!:pac::D

I know i couldnt believe it when it worked and NAT 1 came up I thought you needed an ethernet cable to get NAT 1.

I have an ethernet cable hooked up to the ps3 aswell

But if it says nat 1 and it's nat 1 ,wireless will do for me ;):cool:

Edit: I've just tried it on ethernet ,using the same settings and automatic DNS
    I'm getting a NAT1 there aswell now.

I have an ethernet cable hooked up to the ps3 aswell

But if it says nat 1 and it's nat 1 ,wireless will do for me ;):cool:

Edit: I've just tried it on ethernet ,using the same settings and automatic DNS
    I'm getting a NAT1 there aswell now.

I was forever tryin to open up ports and change it before I nearly would of paid someone to change it but theres no need for any of that this way and it works fine

The great thing about this is ,the router has it's settings unchanged.
    So all thats needed is to input the info on the ps3:)

Where did you get the PPoe username?.

Here's what i done I disabled all the ports i had opened to originally get type 2, Then went to PS3 network settings - internet connection settings - custom - wireless, at WLAN settings select Enter Manually and enter SSID and WEP key.

Now this is the part I don't understand. What or were is the port? how do I disable al the ports?
    Then comes IP Address Setting And I selected PPPoE and it brings you to enter a user name and password And i entered the user name and password from my router when i restart connection Then DNS automatic and i entered MTU manual at 1500.
    Then just Keep going to the end Proxy server Do not use UPnP enable. Test connection and type 1 Might not work for everyone but it worked for me .
    What is the username and were can I find it? I have eircom broadband, netopia or something. Restarting the connection? Again how?:o
    please help. cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭tomdadude

great find danny.

I had Nat3 now i have Nat1.

thanks a lot for the advice.

tomdadude wrote: »
    great find danny.

I had Nat3 now i have Nat1.

thanks a lot for the advice.

No bother tomdadude

Plug if you never opened any ports or dont know what they are dont worry about that .
    but as for the user name and password . Do you know how to get onto your router homepage ? when you open that your user name should be there it ends in @eircom.net and then the password should be broadband1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 steve staunton

flynner13 wrote: »
    Hi ive searched the net and found plenty of guides including some on boards, but im about to pull my hair out at the fact my ps3 wont go back online... I have set up a static ip and port forward everything, in net connections on ps3 it gets to obtain ip address succeded, internet connection failed error 80710102...

Ive looked at guides followed them word for word and still no success!

im using eircom netopia router, are my dns servers wrong i left them at default, then changed them to different eircom ones and still no luck! please help!

YOU MAY NEED A WEP KEY , ITS 14 DIGITS LONG. RING EIRCOM FOR IT.

Plug if you never opened any ports or dont know what they are dont worry about that .
    but as for the user name and password . Do you know how to get onto your router homepage ? when you open that your user name should be there it ends in @eircom.net and then the password should be broadband1.
    Right I have it at nat 1 thanks;)
    Though, it still disconnects just not as much. Any idea's people?

I had a snoop around for the ip of the playstation ,but I can't find one.

does this protocol mean that the ps3 doesn't have a standard IP address ?
    If so ,does this mean that you can't nominate an IP adress ,to open ports?

Or does NAT1 make putting in ports ,redundant.

Sorry for all the questions.

Yea its the same with mine if you go to Settings and Connection Status List on PS3 it gives an IP address but then if you go to NAT settings on the router as if to open ports that IP is not there.

I dont know to be honest with ya i just stumbled upon that and happened to come up with NAT 1, but all my games seem to be working better now like Tekken5 I couldnt play that online with NAT 3 at all and now it works fine with NAT 1 .

All you can really do is wait and see, there might be other games that come out that you have to open ports. But it works grand for now anyway.
    Unless maybe the next update will sort all this out once and for all .

I'm happy with it as it is. It's just the thoughts of hitting more trouble down the line and not having tried to firgure something else.

Thanks again for the heads up on it:)

Just bothered my arse to try it there now since i was having trouble connecting with COD(don't think i tried it since the update changed my NAT) and it worked!

Can't see how just entering the username and password changes it to NAT 1?!.:)

Good find

I've not had any trouble since ,thanks dannyboy!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭thewheel2.0

A+ dannyboy it works and ive got no lag at all compared to before!

it takes a while to sign in to PSN but its still great... finaly NAT 1!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 lamar101

i swear the ppl one here or so dumb here is wot u do if u want 3 mobile broadband on the ps3 go on ur pc/laptop then click on sharing on the 3 mobile the buy an ethernet cable and plug it in the ps3 and the laptop then network update then go on wired connection and then set everything to normal and then test the connection it will say dns error but do not worry about that to sort that out all you need to is turn the pc/laptop of then turn it back on and then u have the internet the only bad thing is that that connection is quiet bad