Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tips on Carrauntohill.

• 08-02-2008 5:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭

A mate has just suggested "doing" Carrauntohill on Paddy's weekend this year. Anyone have a tip on what fitness level is required? Also he is suggetsing the north-west approach, anyone familiar with this?

E.

hi

could you find out some more info?

I haven't heard anyone mention the "north west route".
    Does he mean the route via Beenkeragh?, which entails a narrow ridge between Beenkeragh and Carrauntoohil, and I certainly wouldn't recommend for anyone inexperienced.

Word of caution, there is no easy route up Carrauntoonhil, but the route via Caher is less exposed, and fairly straightforward, but the descent off the summit can be very tricky.

Do either you or your pal have map reading skills?, do you have the proper gear? boots? etc

the weather in March could be terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 nilim

I can't agree with dursey enough. Going up there anytime of the year can often be tricky when visiblity closes down (there are places where you'll want to know just when to turn and what direction).

Going up there in March with little experience could be very risky.

Great if you both know what you're doing and have experience.

As for route, I've bee up there a few times but always taken the walk thru the glen and up the ladder. Never went any other way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭mayhem#

It's the Caher route alright.
    We're not complete novices having done a fair bit of hiking and hill walking in the past. I have just been "desk bound" for some time and have only re-started my fitness regimes a month ago.
    We're also not complete nutters and have also decided that it's a no-go in bad weather..

hi

could you find out some more info?

I haven't heard anyone mention the "north west route".
    Does he mean the route via Beenkeragh?, which entails a narrow ridge between Beenkeragh and Carrauntoohil, and I certainly wouldn't recommend for anyone inexperienced.

Word of caution, there is no easy route up Carrauntoonhil, but the route via Caher is less exposed, and fairly straightforward, but the descent off the summit can be very tricky.

Do either you or your pal have map reading skills?, do you have the proper gear? boots? etc

the weather in March could be terrible.

Hi

Fair enough, the Caher route, from Glencar is ok, bit of a ridge, after Caher, but nothing too bad.
    It is a longer route than the Devil's ladder, and entails a drop down and then a climb after Caher.
    Recommend "Carrauntoohil & MacGillycuddy's Reeks" guidebook, written by Jim Ryan, and published by Collins, also if you can get your hands on the Harvey's 1:30,000 map of the area.
    It's very good and far superior to the os map, the summit of Carrauntoohil is given in extra detail, with compass bearings etc.

http://www.harveymaps.co.uk/acatalog/Ireland.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭fergalr

also if you can get your hands on the Harvey's 1:30,000 map of the area.
    It's very good and far superior to the os map, the summit of Carrauntoohil is given in extra detail, with compass bearings etc.

Seconded. I was using both the Harvey's 1:30k and the OS 1:25k there recently, and I have to say I found the Harvey's to be the much more useful map; the terrain highlighting and features are hugely useful, and the contour detail seems practically as good as the OS map, despite the slightly larger scale of the OS map.

Thanks for the tip lads!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 mountaingoat

Here is good route descriptions from Kerry Mountain Rescue:

http://www.kerrymountainrescue.ie/routes/index.html

I recommend the Harvey's map also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

Carrauntohill is not like other mountains in Ireland. I used to do a lot of hiking with An Oige. Went to Carauntohill a few days ago with a group. We went the route that goes up the devil's ladder. The Devil's Ladder is more of a climb than a walk. It's very steep and there are loose rocks. It was also slippy because it was wet and very windy. Went most of the way up there, then my gf's friend got a bit freaked out so we came down again. Even below there it was so windy that I was blown off my feet on one occasion (and I weighed over 15stone last time I looked), and it happened others several times.
    You have to cross rivers that are not easy to cross. It is difficult to choose a good point to cross (in the sort of weather we had anyway).
    I'd recommend keeping your backpack as light as you can, without neglecting anything you need. I had a heavy bag and I really noticed the difference it made to my balance in places.
    It was good fun though. Hope I don't sound negative or dramatic, but I was just very surprised how much more severe it is than any other hike I had been on. It's a completely different league to Lugnaquilla for example. I would definitely go again, but I would go better prepared and rested and in better weather.

would have to agree and disagree with you there.

Walking in Wicklow with a large group such as An Óige or Glenwalk is very different to Kerry or Connemara.
    People get a false sense of hillwalking. I would say to people you would have to really go out of your way to injure or kill yourself in Wicklow, while Kerry is very different.

If the weather is bad, you have to change routes, stay low or simply not go out.
    It's up to the leader of the group to make a call judging the people in the group and the weather etc.

I've climbed Carauntoohil in fine weather, and it was a bit of a slog, but nothing too difficult, and there have been times when we called it off because conditions were too bad.

Having said that, the river crossings can be particularly dangerous, and the devils ladder can be dodgy with loose stones and mud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

would have to agree and disagree with you there.

Walking in Wicklow with a large group such as An Óige or Glenwalk is very different to Kerry or Connemara.
    People get a false sense of hillwalking. I would say to people you would have to really go out of your way to injure or kill yourself in Wicklow, while Kerry is very different.

If the weather is bad, you have to change routes, stay low or simply not go out.
    It's up to the leader of the group to make a call judging the people in the group and the weather etc.

I've climbed Carauntoohil in fine weather, and it was a bit of a slog, but nothing too difficult, and there have been times when we called it off because conditions were too bad.

Having said that, the river crossings can be particularly dangerous, and the devils ladder can be dodgy with loose stones and mud.

Well said Dursey. I was down in Kerry there a couple of weeks back walking with a friend and we really had to work to stay on our feet and 'summit' Carrauntoohil. Both of us were well equipped and are experienced and confident walkers/scramblers, but there were times when things felt a little hairy. The combination of heavy, gusting wind (50kph steady, gusting to 90ish), rain and a badly eroded 'ladder (especially that treacherous section right at the top) was enough to leave us feeling very exposed at times.

I was wearing full winter mountain kit and by the end of the day was soaked through to my skin. No amount spent on Goretex and what-not would have kept us dry in those conditions.... That was fine as we kept moving so I stayed warm, but if one of us became injured it would have completely changed the experience and possible outcome.

If you're planning on heading down any time soon, make sure you leave plenty of time to get back, and ALWAYS carry a headtorch with spares. Leave a route description (with your exit/retreat options) clearly visible on the dashboard in your car. Make sure you carry a walking pole or two to help on those river crossings - But NEVER take a chance if it's heavily swollen.

Gil

there was a proposal a couple of years ago to build a cable assisted zig zag path to the right of the Devil's Ladder, a feasability study was done by mountain meitheal.
    I think it ran into difficulty over lack of funding, 70k euro ,and an issue over rights of way.
    I think it's a pity as I've used similar paths in the Dolomites, in Italy, and found them to be good.
    Again, I would say there is no "easy" route up Carrauntoohil, and you really have to know what you're about.
    There have been a fair few accidents on the ladder, and if I was bringing a group up, I would go via Caher, but even this is not without difficulty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

1 of the 4 owners (the ladder is held 'in commonage') wasn't consulted about the proposed works, the result of which was that the MCI pulled 10k in base funding which was to be joined by 60k in funding from Kerry County Council, or so I believe.

Apparently a few years later and much more damage done, the cost to repair the route is now in the region of €250k....and nobody's stepping up to pay *that* kind of bill should the works be carried out.

What a shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Wasn't there also some 'row' about whether the works needed planning permission, or some such rubbish?

Any indication on the average time it would take to go up via the caher route and back?

Thanks again for all the tips. Made it up via the Caher router yesterday.
    Cloud cover and snowy patches on the ridge and top but well worth the effort!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

there was a proposal a couple of years ago to build a cable assisted zig zag path to the right of the Devil's Ladder, a feasability study was done by mountain meitheal.
    I think it ran into difficulty over lack of funding, 70k euro ,and an issue over rights of way.
    I think it's a pity as I've used similar paths in the Dolomites, in Italy, and found them to be good.

Are you talking about Via Ferrata?

In the Dolomites, as well as full blown via ferratta paths, where you would normally clip onto the steel cable, many paths have a steel cable to hold onto in places where there is exposure or steep descents/ascents.
    These are of great help, but no need to clip on.

I'd also reccomend the Jim Ryan book to anybody.There are some great walks listed on and around Carrauntoohill.

I climbed it last week via O'Sheas Gully.The surrounding ridges are still covered in snow which makes a great sight.The O'Sheas gully route was more scenic than the Devils Ladder but definitely a bit tougher.The path from the top of O'Sheas was lost in snow so a scramble up the icy boulders on a steeper lesser trodden path was required.Still a great climb though and a fantastic view from the top :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 crackedactor

Went up Carrauntohill last week via the Heavenly Gates - It was a beautiful morning with little or no wind, and the walk accross the little path, which brings you out not far from the top of the devils ladder, was absolutley beautiful - far more scenic than the devils ladder and the scramble up to the heavenly gates is not too difficult at all. On a nice calm day I would definately recommend this route as the views were amazing.

Yeah, that's a great route, was up it for the first time around new years.
    Maybe not the best route for beginners though, especially in poor visibility, we found the navigation tricky, trying to find the heavenly gates on the way back down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭paulocon

Looking to take a hike up Carrauntoohil this summer. I have some experience of hill walking but not anywhere near enough to take on a climb on my own.

Is anyone aware of any guided/organised walks up the mountain over the spring/summer?

Also, anyone have any suggestions on somewhere to stay in the area?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

http://sctonline.wordpress.com/2008/09/20/corran-tuathail-guided-ascents-every-saturday/

I've never been out with them so I can't comment on what it's like, just remember seeing the poster the last time I was down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 crackedactor

Also check out www.outdoorsireland.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

just a note - The mighty Kerryman John Lenihan ran up AND down the Caher route you describe in 71 minutes in his pomp and still won the race last year with a time of 83 minutes.
    I thought the devil's ladder route was discouraged due to the erosion anyway?

just a note - The mighty Kerryman John Lenihan ran up AND down the Caher route you describe in 71 minutes in his pomp and still won the race last year with a time of 83 minutes.
    I thought the devil's ladder route was discouraged due to the erosion anyway?
    He's a legend. Never met him, but he's a legend alright - some great photos of him turn up on the imra material/website now and again. It's almost a pity, as he's quite a sporting hero and relatively few Irish people know about him - we don't exactly have a whole heap of world champions in sport...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭Ryanzo

I climbed it about 2 years ago.

Got to the top, not too stressful at all, but at the top couldnt see 1 foot in front of me, got lost , went down the wrong way, phones didnt work becouse of the remoteness. The result was wandering through valleys for ten hours, none of us a clue where the f**k we were. Eventually managed to get through to the hostel who ran a mountain rescue service. Grand right? NO! We didnt know where we were so how could we tell them??? It was mad but we found a road few hours later in the middle of nowhere and found a signpost pointing to arklow, mountain rescue guys had a vague iidea where we were and eventually found us.

Best thing about Carantoughil = The shower afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Zo3

If you are looking for guided climbs up Carrauntohill keep an eye on the following website
    www.killarney.ie/walkkillarney
    there were some guided climbs on for Paddy's weekend and also keep on eye on the discoverireland.ie website

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 PFiddy

A friend of mine is going to climb Carauntoohil with a group AT NIGHT on June 21st, the Summer Solstace. The idea is to start climbing at midnight or so at be at the summit to watch the sun rise on the longest day of the year. The descent will start at full dawn and the desent will be in daylight. Sounds fairly amazing and he has recommended that I come along. From what I gather the ascent will be up the Devil's Ladder, but down by another route. The group will be led by experienced hikers/climbers but I'm hesitant for a couple of reasons -
    1. I reckon I'll miss the views - since it will be dark and all!
    2. If the climb is as trecherous as many posters have made it out to be then surely a novice like me attempting it in the dark/by torchlight would be crazy
    3. Even though I'm fairly fit, most of the group have hiked/climbed before and I would be anxious about holding others up and making it a chore for them.

Anyone attempted climbing Carauntoohil at night? Any advice is welcome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

What is it like coming down the bone? Is scrambling required at any point? And is the ground good enough that we can take a direct bearing back to Cronins from the base?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Would Carrontuhill be much more difficult than Croagh Patrick? I have done that one but would like to try this one in the Summer.

My main advice is do not, do not, do not try and get down Central or Curved Gully. The guidebooks and websites all say that, and unfortunately I have found out why. No harm done, but it was inch by inch stuff, the world's slowest scramble. Would go up one alright, and go around by Beenkeragh and back down Stumpa an tSaimh ridge next time.

Ok, which is the easiest/ safest route for this climb, for during the Summer in fine weather? Thats if we ever get fine weather.

Anyone?

Haven't tried either the Bone or the Black Valley side, but by all accounts they're not too difficult - if the Devil's Ladder is still inadvisable. The Bone takes you up to Maolan Bui to the east.

http://mountainviews.ie/mv/index.php?mtnindex=6

Would imagine both are fairly lengthy treks, but you'd get it done anyway. In fact, nothing that difficult with Stumpa an tSaimh ridge either, and going across from Beenkeragh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭keenan110

mayhem# wrote: »
    Anyone have a tip on what fitness level is required?

E.

From my experience one does not need a great level of fitness for carrauntoohil.

My school run two trips up Carrauntoohil every year with 30 students on each and many of the students would have awful fitness but they still climb it.
    But a relatively level of fitness obviously makes it less taxing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭cheapskate

In my opinion you shouldn't really be going up unless you're being led or can work that out for yourself i.e. Map read; Navigate in poor conditions and pace 100m (Naismuiths rule is only a guide)

Guidebooks give you an indication but everyone walks at their own individual pace and fitness level i.e. how many stops needed etc.

Having said that I did and learned the hard way, I've gone up it on my own several times and would still go up solo regardless of weather conditions afterall it's only a hill

CS

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Anybody want to go up on Sunday, August 2nd? Looking to go up with someone that has been up before.

Or any recommendations for a guide that might be going up that day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

My first time there recently and we did the zigzags route. An easy up and down once you find the yellow rocks, we had a GPS reference from the Jim Ryan book but the start is not very obvious from the path. It's a longer walk than the devils ladder but after seeing the worried faces of those who came up the ladder it is clearly much more enjoyable.

The route from the top of the zigzags to Carr. itself was an easy ridge in clear weather but there is a somewhat airy shoulder which necessitated care with navigation when the visibility was poor.

A helpful cairn marked the top of the zigzag path.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭concussion

Hi all, I didn't want to start yet another thread on Carrauntoohil so I dug up this old one.

I'm thinking about heading to Killarney for a few days next weekend and I'm wondering if anyone can tell me what the current conditions on Carrauntoohil are like? I'm looking to do the Caher - Carrauntoohil - Beenkeragh loop but I reckon crossing to Beenkeragh might be too dangerous at the moment.

Stay safe out there,
    Concussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭NathanKingerlee

I'll get some photos and video tomorrow to give you an idea of conditions up there, but I think that even for the simple Caher Ridge, you'd want crampons and ice-axe; while Beenkeeragh Ridge at the moment is a proper Scottish-type winter scramble. It was -5 degrees this morning in Glencar valley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭concussion

I've virtually no crampon experience so that's a no-go! I don't suppose there will be much of a thaw (sufficient to allow access without ice-equipment) by next week? Would O'Shea's Gully be similarly treacherous without crampons and ice-axe?

Thanks very much for the quick response, I really appreciate the info.

Edit - just had a look at the link in your sig and saw the ice-climbing days, that might be a good alternative.

I would have thought that O'Sheas would def need an axe and probably crampons. Will let you know tomorrow. According to the MET forecast there's no major thaw coming, which is great for us down here!

It looks fabulous, as do the Eastern Reeks, but I'd imagine pretty tough going up there. Went up in the flurry of snow a few weeks back and was a little anxious in one or two places, and it's much colder now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,468 ✭✭✭Evil Phil

concussion wrote: »
    Hi all, I didn't want to start yet another thread on Carrauntoohil so I dug up this old one.

Starting a new thread isn't a problem, in fact you're probably better off starting a new thread.

This link has a video clip and a couple of photos from the MacGillycuddy Reeks on Sunday. Conditions are very good and getting better. Crampons needed from The Pinnacle onwards, as you ascend up towards O'Sheas Gully. Even the Devil's Ladder ideally needs axe and crampons.
    http://tinyurl.com/y9x2zfd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Wow, that looked "interesting" !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭^whitey^

Hey Nathan,

What route did ye take on Sunday?

Cheers,
    Eoin.

Hi Eoin, The Step - on Sunday. Fab climb cutting across the NE face of Carrauntoohil. Great day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Takeshi_Kovacs

Todays article on those 4 fellas caught out on Carrauntuohil, and a very nice picture of some ice climbing as well

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/hillwalkers-rescued-from-devils-ladder-in-eighthour-operation-2008169.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

hmmm wrote: »
    What is it like coming down the bone? Is scrambling required at any point? And is the ground good enough that we can take a direct bearing back to Cronins from the base?

I've gone down the Bone once when it was very slippery and it was ok. I was going along on my a*se for a while, but it was my first time going down that route.

A question...I haven't gone up (or down) the Devil's Ladder in about 2 years...has it significantly changed? I've gone by the horseshoe the last few times.

I used to enjoy scrambling/climbing up parts of it...is it still relatively safe a fellow on his own in fine weather?