Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Damien McGrane

• 08-02-2008 2:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭

McGrane is two shots clear in India. Hope he holds on for the weekend. McDowell tied for second as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

pd101 wrote: »
    McGrane is two shots clear in India. Hope he holds on for the weekend. McDowell tied for second as well.

I'd love to see McGrane get a win. He hada superb week last week in Dubai but struggled on Sunday and all he had to show for it was a tie for 22nd - makes it seem like an ordinary week ya know.

Never met him, but comes across as a top bloke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

Yeah, another very good performance by McGrane. He was in the top 10 after 3 rounds in Qatar and again last week in Dubai but poor final rounds left him with little to show for it. Let's hope he capitalises on his purple patch with 2 good rounds this weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭jph100

yeah mcgrane seems to have at least one bad round a week but if he can overcome that then he may well win a tournament soon.

would love tosee mcdowell win this week or very soon. i think he'd make ryder cup if he gets a win under his belt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

One of the first names i always look for each week is Andrew Coltart. He lost his card this year and is replying on sponsors invites. He fired 5 birdies on the back nine today to make the cut! Great to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭irishtoffee

A good friend of mine is Damien,i really hope he can do it.His putting has really hampered him for a long time but he seems to be on top of it now.A really nice fella who has done it the hard way,ie assistant,club pro and finally made the european tour after a few agonising times at tour school.Lets hope he just gives himself a chance come the back nine saturday, and it will be party time here in wexford.

yeah he comes across as quite an admirable guy who has worked hard to get where he is.

why does he leave his glove on while putting? always wondered that!

and is it just me or does he resemble an older looking graeme mcdowell?
    they might be playing together tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭pd101

jph100 wrote: »
    yeah mcgrane seems to have at least one bad round a week but if he can overcome that then he may well win a tournament soon.

A 75 today means he's tied for second. Hopefully thats his bad round out of the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭golfbgud

Thanks for all the positive words folks (on behalf of Damien). He trys hard but often gets negative criticism from those who know little about him or golf in general.

He has lots of support up and down the country and flies the flag with pride. An ordinary individual just trying to better himself each week on tour....

I will check out the "glove while putting" question when he's back home!

Read and see on:

www.damienmcgrane.com

Thanks.

golfbgud wrote: »
    Thanks for all the positive words folks (on behalf of Damien). He trys hard but often gets negative criticism from those who know little about him or golf in general.

He has lots of support up and down the country and flies the flag with pride. An ordinary individual just trying to better himself each week on tour....

I will check out the "glove while putting" question when he's back home!

Read and see on:

www.damienmcgrane.com

Thanks.

Were all rooting for him down in wexford golf club.I think he just feels a bit more comfortable putting with the glove on.I'll find out tomorrow off his old assistant now the head pro of wexford Liam bowler.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Not quite going to make the breakthrough today but a super week for him again.
    Currently tied 2nd playing the last - the cheque today will almost secure his card which will allow him to shine I hope on the season ahead.
    Well done.

Closing birdie for Damien, a 70. 2nd place on his own and a cheque for €187,038 which will take him to €240k for the year so far :) So the card is secure already :D

yeah fair play to him,he seems to be in great form at the minute so long may it continue.

as i said earlier in the thread, does anyone else think he resembles an older looking graeme mcdowell?

jph100 wrote: »
    yeah fair play to him,he seems to be in great form at the minute so long may it continue.

as i said earlier in the thread, does anyone else think he resembles an older looking graeme mcdowell?

Yes, I'd agree with you there actually. I don't think he's as tall but they do look similar...

Well done this week Damien and best of luck for the rest of the year... and Graeme too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

Damien did very well but couldn't stay with Chowrasia who was superb. It looked a very tight course and unfortunately McDowell found out how punishing it can be.......pity buty nice to see two Irish men playing together and helping each other out.

Hopefully this will help the game in India as I'm sure there are lots of potentially good golfers there. Chowrasia seemed to be genuinely delighted and proud........good luck to him in the future as he looks a very tidy player. I'm not sure how he'll play on the longer courses as he's not a big guy but he certainly is a good player.

Good luck to McGrane, McDowell, McIllroy etc. over the summer and hopefully we will see them all getting into the Ryder Cup team - hope Darren gets back to his best too.

Great result for McGrane alright. Held it together very well on sunday and now secured his card. If he keeps getting into contention like he has been it's just a matter of time before he wins. He showed over the last 3 weeks and last year in France that he's capable of shooting low scores on tough courses in these tournaments. Well done to Chowrasia too - great final round.

There's a nice little piece with McGrane in today's Indo... Comes across as just about as everyday a guy as you could find...

I always like to see the kinda 'everyman' players do well on the Euro Tour - the likes of Simon Dyson and John Bickerton, two English fellas with real gruff English accents and David Higgins from Waterville, real thick Kerry accent. Refreshing change from Monty's uncontrollable lips and Padraig's "Ehhhhhhhhhhhhhh....."

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    There's a nice little piece with McGrane in today's Indo... Comes across as just about as everyday a guy as you could find...

I always like to see the kinda 'everyman' players do well on the Euro Tour - the likes of Simon Dyson and John Bickerton, two English fellas with real gruff English accents and David Higgins from Waterville, real thick Kerry accent. Refreshing change from Monty's uncontrollable lips and Padraig's "Ehhhhhhhhhhhhhh....."

Did you ever hear the lads on Today fm take the piss out of Harry,it's just so funny.Yep Damo is jusy a normal down to earth lad who is doinng very well for himself.I caddied for him on a few occasions in winter series golf tournaments a few years back and just watching him hit the ball was something else.The glove on while putting was something he always does,some sort of concentration thing.I remember before Wexford gc was redesigned Higgins shooting 12 under par in a pro am, another very good player.

6th on his own in Portugal in recent weeks. The crusade goes on.....

Recent good form continues in China. 1 off the lead after Day 1. Still up there in Round 2 with 4 holes to go.....

Yeah another great showing from Mcgrane. Only one dropped shot so far too and tied for the lead..

Just put it in a bunker on 17 though - hopefully he'll get it up and down.

C'mon Damo ! (bet he'd love bein called that!)

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Just put it in a bunker on 17 though - hopefully he'll get it up and down.

C'mon Damo ! (bet he'd love bein called that!)

Heck of an up-n-down right there... Which reminds me - I was in three bunkers last night and only played 13 holes. God I loathe them soooo much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

He hold a 40 foot putt this morning on the 11th green (I think) for birdie when a 2-putt would have been more than acceptable, especially with his playing partner inside 10 feet in two. Hope he keeps it together over the next 26 holes....I've got him in my Irish Times team!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭leiwand

go on the damo.3 ahead and last day to play!
    i hope he can keep it together.I'd be sh...ing myself
    have to get up and watch it tomorrow morning to egg him on
    b.

Fingers crossed this is the week that he wins (for himself and for Ireland)! His golf is good and he's playing well in recent weeks. New putter is working well so it's time to finish the job!

The caddies on tour will tell you that he is one of the best for getting up and down so even if he makes a mistake he can still recover.....

Please lend your support..................

Were all rooting for him.

madds wrote: »
    Hope he keeps it together....I've got him in my Irish Times team!!

Me too! Go on that man!!

Fantastic run of form lately, hope he makes the best of it now with a (first) win...

Yeah he has a great chance tomorrow, hope he does it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

He's 7 shots clear leaving the 14th green.

Weather there is horrid, Damien is level par for the round while everyone else is falling away.

Fantastic win, holed some amount of putts while nobody else could get even close to the hole :D
    Well Done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

Good win, glad for him.

Well done to Damien, that was a great win. To win by nine shots is some achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭ImDave

Excellent win. Great to see it. He got himself a nice few euros for that. €232,121 to be exact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭A.Partridge

brilliant win Damien. Well done!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

Well done and hopefully this is a sign of things to come. Let's hope the other Irish players do the same.

Fantastic Damo,Marty is wondering if you will pay him that euro you owe him now:).Well done again and to think i caddied for ya before,now i can say i caddied for a european tour winner.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Fantastic Damo,Marty is wondering if you will pay him that euro you owe him now:).Well done again and to think i caddied for ya before,now i can say i caddied for a european tour winner.:p

Where did you caddie for him? How do you get into caddying?

Delighted for Damien ... monkey off his back .. onwards and upwards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭Dingatron

Congrats and a job well done!

I gotta say, that is as good a final-round performance as you will see anywhere from anyone. Atrocious conditions.

Congrats Damien - first of many.

GBX wrote: »
    Where did you caddie for him? How do you get into caddying?

Delighted for Damien ... monkey off his back .. onwards and upwards!

I am a member of Wexford golf club and became a friend of his,I was out of work for a couple of months and he asked me to caddy for him in a couple of tournaments on the Irish pga.Look out for another friend of mine who has qualified for the Irish open Glen Robinson,who just missed out on his tour card after getting injured at tour school.

Handy win for him. Sure, isn't he used to playing in those conditions at this stage? A normal days weather back home. ;)

Funny to see him get his wets off before walking onto the 18th green...his sponsors will be happy!

They sure will but now i hope the big sponsors come knocking on his door.

Delighted for Damien too! Couldn't believe it when I swtiched on the live coverage and he was so far ahead. Holed so many ten footers all week - seemed so confident. It's a great reward for his brilliant play all season. He must be over the moon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭nessymon

absolutely delighted for Damien - know him since i was two - we've all been wishing for this for god, since we were kids - soo so proud of him!

Just looking on the European tour site and i see he's now playing out of Knightsbrook. Am i right in saying it was Headfort last year?

According to SS commentator last Sunday Damien was no playing out of "Knightsbridge" :D

Graeme1982 wrote: »
    Just looking on the European tour site and i see he's now playing out of Knightsbrook. Am i right in saying it was Headfort last year?

Headfort has not sponsored him to date. He is an honorary member of the Club.

He has an attachment with Knightsbrook GC in Trim. This attachment will expire soon......

Thanks to all the kind words and support shown on here to date.

Damien is on a high and is now back in Kells for a period before he heads off to Adare.

Hectic schedule with Sponsors etc etc this week but hopefully this will be finished by end of this week so that he can settle down and get back to preparations for the Irish Open!

golfbgud wrote: »
    Thanks to all the kind words and support shown on here to date.

Damien is on a high and is now back in Kells for a period before he heads off to Adare.

Hectic schedule with Sponsors etc etc this week but hopefully this will be finished by end of this week so that he can settle down and get back to preparations for the Irish Open!

I'd say he'll be on the p*ss something serious in Kells this week! :D