Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[US/IRL] 4X02 - "Confirmed Dead" [** SPOILERS WITHIN **]

• 08-02-2008 12:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭

- WARNING: THIS THREAD WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS FOR THOSE WHO HAVE NOT YET SEEN "CONFIRMED DEAD" -

Episode Title: "Confirmed Dead"
    Airdate: February 8th 2008

Synopsis (from TV.Com):
    The survivors begin to question the intentions of their supposed rescuers when four strangers arrive on the island.

Next New Episode: 4X03 -
    "The Economist"
    - February 14th 2008

SPOILER WARNING:

From now on, this thread shall reveal details of the episode mentioned above. If you have not yet seen this episode, please do not move any further down the thread.

This episode shall air on:

ABC (US) - February 7th 2008
    RTÉ (IRL) - February 11th 2008

If you are sure you have seen the episode as mentioned above (on the channels on those original airdates), you can move down further in order to discuss the episode.

Otherwise, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED - there shall be major plot details of the episode revealed and discussed below with no spoiler tags used!

What did you think of "Confirmed Dead"? 161 votes

An exciting as a "slo-mo" flashback to Kate mud-wrestling Juliet
    0%
    Enjoyable enough - like seeing the smoke monster having a cup of tea and a sponge finger
    36%
    Sir Digby Chicken CaesarDEmeant0rkaimeraGavin WV9ChongHelixPsychedelicChevano RileymatrimmonkeyfudgeJBoyle4evadead airUnearthlydoonothingSnake PliskenMr.Nice GuyqzHungryJoeyKillaqueen!!! 58 votes
    Average - like the smoke monster's inability to appear when there's more than one person looking
    47%
    VolvagiaBKtjeAnimaGoodshapeMr EWashoutDrag00n79LFCFanFaithAdMMMHugh_CPullMyFinger!ChazweemcdEKRIUQixoyAthAnRipigeonbutlerUser45701Stephen P 77 votes
    Drab. And about as unconvincing as Libby's attraction to Hurley
    14%
    KulganBounty Hunterjor elMisterAnarchysnickerpussmijuKur4mAfjonyom 1fergmcded6hellsfreshfobsRuskie4RentCharlieIrishdudedaveNalzPrincess Consuela BananahammocklowdenclearrizzlaGran Hermano 23 votes
    Get them off the island so I don't have to watch this drivel anymore!
    1%
    Kid Icaruspickarooneyyoucancallmeal 3 votes

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I know a lot of people would have been glad to see that airdate a couple of months ago. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Average - like the smoke monster's inability to appear when there's more than one person looking
    I know a lot of people would have been glad to see that airdate a couple of months ago. :D
    Eh? I have absolutely no idea what you're talking about. :o Ignore the 'Last edited by' bit in the original post - darn servers acting up again.

My discussion threads are completely fool-proof and hence I'm infallible.. so there!

** slips AC a brown paper envelope... **

** opens it to reveal a large hand popping out and happy-slapping him **

EDIT: Due to demand, poll options have been shortened to 5. Apologies for the unwitty (and occasionally bizarre) poll options but it's late, i'm tired and me no think good!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭Skyuser

The rescuers come for Ben because he ruined the Dharma project

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Chevano Riley

Enjoyable enough - like seeing the smoke monster having a cup of tea and a sponge finger
    great ep. class A and really makes me think this season will be something special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,725 ✭✭✭oleras

its back baby. LOST IS BACK !

Where is the option for 11/10 ?

10 will have to do !

edit: basquille, go back to the 1-10 poll. need to go to bed !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭abelard

Enjoyable episode, though I still personally preferred the last one.

Flashbacks were a bit meh, the usual "this is the main idiosyncracy of the character" that we get for a character's first flashback. So we know we have a man who cries, a man who can apparently talk to the dead, an anthropologist who knows of Dharma and a pilot who knew the cover-up story. I'm assuming that they were put together for their collective knowledge (Dan and Miles must have some knowledge of the island/Dharma/815, or else for Dan's physics and Miles' ghosty stuff), we know they aren't soldiers or mercenaries anyway. Big question surrounding them is, I guess, why they want (or even know of and have a recent photo of) Ben. And why would these specific people be useful if it's a simple search and extract (or even destroy) mission? I think there's another, bigger goal again.

Didn't like the way that Ben had a man on the ship - it seems a bit too convenient from a writing point of view just so Ben could remain mysterious and kind of omnipotent. I guess it might have more significance later on but I just felt it was a bit lazy.

So, given that it seems it's Ben they want, was his "every person on this island will be killed" thing just scaremongering to protect himself? Surely these 4 people can be little or no threat to the well armed, numerous losties.

ANd finally for now, since it will probably be brought up a hundred times
    > Daniel Faraday. Not too surprising at this stage of the show I guess, given the rpevious characters.

edit: Didn't think it was good enough for the mudwrestiling option, I'll go with the smoke monster/sponge finger thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,470 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Oh yes :) That was fecking brilliant, Thanks Basquille for changing the poll :)
    Now we know the team arrived to find Ben for possibley destroying the Dharma Project.
    Interesting how Ben seems to have full knowledge of who was in the Helicopter.
    Looks like the Oriental guy might be there to get rid of Jacob.
    The archaeologist brit finding the Polar Bear in the desert with the Dharma collar.
    John and Ben surprised when Hurley spoke about the cabin being in the other direction.
    The Black guy who visited Hurley in the Hospital giving Naomi instructions, if you recall he asked Hurley was there any other survivors on the island (I think) that would suggest to me that the extraction team did not make it back, I'm thinking that Sayyid is one of the Oceanic 6 and he piloted the helecopter out.
    Anyway Great episode and the writers have added a couple of new layers to the story so happy days :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭eddiehead

I thought it was a great episode, really gave me the impression that some big answers and revelation are just around the corner! (or maybe thats what they want me to think:rolleyes:). I just wish ben could have answered johns question about the monster, that really came out of the blue. I like the idea of ben having a man on the boat, since the start he's always been one step ahead of the rest and i think it suits him. I went for the top option, probably because i just watched it,so it might wear off in a bit:D.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

fantastic, absolutely ****ing brilliant.. except for one thing

ghosts

really Lost? Ghosts?

that's lame.

fantastic, absolutely ****ing brilliant.. except for one thing

ghosts

really Lost? Ghosts?

that's lame.

Yeah but Jacob looks like he was a Ghost or some kind of spirit, when you saw Locke see him last season wasn't that the first thing to pop into your head? Looks like the Freighter folks knew about him and want to eliminate him as they see him as a threat thus bringing the Ghostbuster along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭spockpower

was a brilliant episode:p:p

anybody else think maybe michael is bens spy??:eek::eek:

i liked the freighters gang except for charlotte, she was annoying , i wish ben had really killed her.

always like ben to be one step ahead.

sawyer asking about walt was hilarious, "what you mean like a giant??":D:D

miles is crazy though haha
    i thought he was gonna kill juliet until jack intervined:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭PullMyFinger!

New rating system sucks :p

And its sexist. 1 - 5 stars ftw.

Need to watch this again as I was half asleep the first time. It was good to great. Not as great as last week but still, that opening gave me mild shivers!

spockpower wrote: »
    was a brilliant episode:p:p

anybody else think maybe michael is bens spy??:eek::eek:

i liked the freighters gang except for charlotte, she was annoying , i wish ben had really killed her.

always like ben to be one step ahead.

sawyer asking about walt was hilarious, "what you mean like a giant??":D:D

miles is crazy though haha
    i thought he was gonna kill juliet until jack intervined:rolleyes:

You could be right about Michael, Its strange that he is back on the credits and I always thought Ben was too quick to release him.

Also Charlotte is annoying as was Naomi and had to look at her again this week feckin flashbacks, they seem to be a good few brits on the Freighter too, may be a connection with Desmond's Penelope, maybe her father is trying to find the island as well?

As for Miles, bit of a scumbag ripping off the Grandma, I can see him and Sayiid having a decent scrap at some stage in the future.

Intriguing so many new questions with so few answers I love it :D

P.S. Lets keep these ratings and if folks come up with funny alternatives send them on to Basq for consideration :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭randomchild

Great episode. Like how locke asked what the monster is too...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Another brilliant episode! I love all the new characters. Things are moving so fast this season. I never expected to learn about the boat people so soon. From the looks of it the truth about them lies somewhere between the extreme views taken by Jack and Locke, i.e. they're not there to rescue them but not to kill them either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Cracking episode. It almost made up for the bore-fest of last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭anotherlostie

I enjoyed this episode but preferred last weeks.

It was good that they mixed it up again with the flashbacks; we never had multiple characters in one episode before. And it allowed each of the characters to be introduced while not slowing the pace too much. Daniel's was crap, while Miles came across as seriously unlikeable in both this and his subsequent scenes.

Favourite bits were Charlotte finding the Dharma polar bear in Tunisia, and then Ben shooting her -a real WTF moment; I thought Darlton were playing with us there by killing of a new regular in her first episode. And I recognised her from Devil Wears Prada.

I liked the Naomi scene (how much longer can a dead chick hang around on a weekly basis?!) with Lance Reddick, and of course this creates the questions about the new gang ever getting home.

The overall premise is becoming clearer now; Ben is the villain as far as these guys - maybe Dharma - are concerned. But what is Ben's motivation for allowing Richard Alpert's group take over, and continue research under the Mittelos Bioscience name - maybe he thought Dharma were being mean to the bears! And with Nestor Carbonnel busy with a new successful show, I guess we might not get an answer to this any time soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

I enjoyed this one a lot more than last weeks.

The "like a giant?" moment was amusing and the whole pace of the episode seemed good.

I'm hoping though that they won't get into the mindset 24 did for a couple of series where they'd have one main storyline and then wrap it up in the next 2 hours and then start another one just keeping the same bad guy like "Oh yeh, you've spoiled my plans this time but I knew you were going to do that so I prepared 6 subsequent backup plans in case the first 6 were foiled..."

A nice balance between quick pace, a few smaller questions being answered and the main questions being built up to an actual conclusion would be just super

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

And with Nestor Carbonnel busy with a new successful show, I guess we might not get an answer to this any time soon.
    Last I heard the strike has cast a bit of a question mark over the future of that show. Even if if it isn't cancelled it may not resume until next season which might give the writers time to negotiate something with NBC.

Did anyone else notice the picture of Greg Grunberg with a mustache during Frank's flashback? It definitely looks like him but they probably had to add the mustache to make him look different from his Heroes character.

EDIT: Oh and Damon posted the following over at Fuselage earlier today:
    Gang,

Sorry to do such a quick buzz by, but wanted
    to thank you all for your continued fandom.
    We're all crossing our fingers that the strike
    will soon be over and we can back to
    screwing with your collective brains.

Big props to all the new actors on the show -
    - Ken Leung, Rebecca Mader, Jeremy Davies
    and Jeff Fahey... if you guys like them as
    much as we do, you ain't seen nothin' yet.

Also, big love to Drew Goddard and Brian K.
    Vaughan who penned this bad boy. Stellar
    work. I am jealous.

Stay tuned, my friends, the ride is just
    starting to get interesting.

Hugs,

Damon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I thought it was great, if this much happens every week i'd settle for 8 episode seasons :) I hope it's not Michael on the boat, I was glad to see the back of his moany ass. Dharma seems to be alive and well and judging from the dig not just confined to the island. Ben will escape eventually and it'll be interesting to see who stands with him and who will be against him. There could be more people joining the hunt from the freighter but that's doubtful since the original plan was for Naomi and the team of four. They each have their purpose which i'm sure we'll see in more detail in the next eps.

Since the poll options suck i'll give it an 8.

Pffft... the majority of people whined about the old rating system, and now the majority whine about the new rating system - there's no pleasing ye!

Great episode but not as good as last week.. i'll give it a 7.

The new characters are interesting in an under-developed kinda way - once they get more of a backstory, I might warm to them more. It would have been great if Charlotte was killed by Ben.. helluva introduction just for her to be shot. That combined with the British accent which was annoying enough on Naomi but Charlotte's is worse!

Was thinking where I knew Daniel from.. realised he played Upham in 'Saving Private Ryan' - great performance in that and himself and Kim Leung (Miles) will definitely be the most interesting of the new characters. But Christ, doesn't Jeff Fahey look old?! :eek:

Anyways, I'm enjoying the whole divide between Locke and Jack. And sending Charlottes transponder on Vincent was a nice little touch - seems to be getting a bit competitive between them now.

Roll on episode 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

Was thinking where I knew Daniel from.. realised he played Upham in 'Saving Private Ryan' -
    ! Thats where he's from. Thanks!

Must say im really enjoying the pacing of this season. It hasn't gone at all how i expected it to go but it's probably better for it :D

basquille wrote: »
    Pffft... the majority of people whined about the old rating system, and now the majority whine about the new rating system - there's no pleasing ye!

Great episode but not as good as last week.. i'll give it a 7.

The new characters are interesting in an under-developed kinda way - once they get more of a backstory, I might warm to them more. It would have been great if Charlotte was killed by Ben.. helluva introduction just for her to be shot. That combined with the British accent which was annoying enough on Naomi but Charlotte's is worse!

Was thinking where I knew Daniel from.. realised he played Upham in 'Saving Private Ryan' - great performance in that and himself and Kim Leung (Miles) will definitely be the most interesting of the new characters. But Christ, doesn't Jeff Fahey look old?! :eek:

Yeah I know what you mean about the British accent, I just can't stand the English women they've put into Lost, seems to take some of the magic away somehow, it was the same with Lyla in Dexter.

Jeez was that really Jeff Fahey from Lawnmower man :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

Savage ep! This season is shaping up to be awesome!
    Ghosts though..... Meh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

tvnutz wrote: »
    Let's hope the strike ends this weekend because if it does there is a possibility we might get at least 4 more episode added to the 8 this season.

Don't tease me :O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Good episode but so many more questions. I like the theory that Michael is Ben's man on the boat,makes sense considering he is back this season.

When I first saw Miles I thought Oh my God,wasn't he in the mental hospital with Hurley???? :eek: :eek: Only to quickly remember he was actually in the mental hospital with Junior Soprano in the Sopranos! :p

I presume they want Ben because of "the purge" and we also know Ben must have left the island at some stage because of the photo. it is all just a bit mad! You know it will involve Pen Widemore's father,possibly Sun's father as well.

Let's hope the strike ends this weekend because if it does there is a possibility we might get at least 4 more episode added to the 8 this season.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

isnt there just going to be a mid season gap and then another 8eps... it wont be a different season post strike.

good episode, with only 16 planned episodes per season now it moves at a better pace with slightley more revealed each episode.

If I had to guess i would say Micheal is Bens spy on the freighter and his Boy Walt was the other person with Jacob (Christian Sheppard) in the cabin in the previous episode.

The whole ghosts thing doesent really appeal to me and apart from the supernatural being that is Jacob and the hints at the old "their all dead" conspiracy I hope it doesent play a huge part.

My favourite part was when Ben says he has Answers Lock imediatley enquires what the hell is the Monster? Ben: I dunno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Great episode. I'd rate it a 9/10.

The idea that Michael is the guy on the boat is a great shout and would be a cool twist. Don't think that's the case though. Remember this bit of dialogue...

"Who are you people?"

"We're the good guys Michael".

Wouldn't really make sense if Michael was a spy to not know about them. His background isn't exactly geared towards that line of work either.

I reckon Minkowski might be the spy which is why he didn't come to the phone when Miles asked him to.

I'm very puzzled about Naomi. Why did she have a picture of Desmond and Penny? Was she really looking for Desmond or what? What's going on?! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

That whole episode was interesting but I preferred last weeks. I spent the entire episode just puzzled.

I liked the nod to the find 815 game at the start with the ROV finding the plane.
    It was quite an action packed episode, much quicker start to season in general then season 3.

Any thoughts on finding the polar bear with Dharma collar in Tunisia?
    Why the overall conspiracy, how did that plane land in indian ocean and who made sure it was there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭syboit

great ep allright. Finally feel we are going somewhere and getting some more answers. Interesting to see the guy who spoke to Hurley last week was the guy who hired naomi, and why did she ask if we'll find survivors. So does he work for Dharma, could Dharma have sunk a plane as a cover up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

great episode... plus I don't see peoples problems with the guy being able to communicate with ghosts... I mean people pretty much accepted the clairvoyant from season 2.

Loved the conversation between James and Locke "it was Walt... only... taller" "Taller?... Like a Giant?" :D

Also did anyone else think that weird black dude that Naomi was talking to reeked of a Morpheus rip off. Something about his dead pan expression and how he talked of "purpose"

Also, w00t! Great to see they've added the lawnmower man to the cast. I loved his acting in "Planet Terror"... although I have a feeling they've bloated the cast again like they did when they introduced people from the tail section. They are going to have to kill off some Losties now, I vote Jin and Sun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Liked the whole "you need to put the gun down", "my people are in the jungle aiming their guns at you"...

V much like season 1 with Jack and the others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭fergmcd

Liked the episode, but it wasnt anything amazing. Jack saying "I dont know how stupid are you?" was brilliant. I used to be more on Lockes side but Jacks getting more interesting. Didnt like the "walt only taller" bit that they're trying to excuse his growth with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

Very good ep, much better than last week's. 9/10

I have to say that I think that Michael is the spy too. It's possible that Minkowski has found out though and that's why he "couldn't come to the phone right now."

It's great to see Jeff Fahey in the show. I've got a feeling he's going to play an important part.

I don't believe that the Losties are ghosts. I don't believe that was why the ghost-buster was sent there. But then again.... I don't really know what to believe :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I thought it was good. Packed alot into one episode.

Don't know if it was mentioned already but i thought Greg Grunberg was the pilot?

orla wrote: »
    but i thought Greg Grunberg was the pilot?
    Yeah, Greg Grunberg played the pilot. Your point being..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,026 ✭✭✭✭adox

Up on Sky Anytime at the moment for those who havent seen it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

basquille wrote: »
    Yeah, Greg Grunberg played the pilot. Your point being..?

The guy that they showed on the news didn't look anything like him.

Edit.

Knew I wasn't going mad. Well I don't think it looks like him anyway.

4ztbug.png

orla wrote: »
    The guy that they showed on the news didn't look anything like him.

Edit.

Knew I wasn't going mad. Well I don't think it looks like him anyway.

4ztbug.png
    It does.. they just put a moustache on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Glasses required orla. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

The whole ghost thing is a real put off, just like the numbers being cursed were for me anyway... I like that theres something special about the island, the real world odd goings on doesnt appeal to me that much...

I'd assume the ghostbuster Miles(?) will have some sort of business to do with Jacob, seems like someone wants to take back the island from ben perhaps? afterall he is their target, maybe the dharma intiative want their island back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭csk

I thought it was okay this week. The flashbacks weren't great. And what was up with the guy from saving private ryan? was he crying, laughing, in pain? It just struck me as looking very stupid whatever it was supposed to be.

Also Ben getting the **** kicked out of him every epsiode is getting a bit tiresome. Although the ending hopefully signaled the comeback of creepy 'I know everything' Ben from the earlier seasons. Will be interesting to find out who his man on the inside is. Michael would seem the obvious(perhaps too obvious) guess?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭spockpower

yeah even though i said i think it might be micheal, i hope it isnt.

i hope it is someone more shocking or maybe someone new.

i dont know maybe its jacob or christian:confused::confused:

now that would be shocking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Sqaull20

What was the deal with the polar bear in the desert?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

it's lost, things don't make sense.

like the giant cow, perhaps the cow gave some milk to WAAAALLLTTTT!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,014 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Terrific episode, liked it much more than last weeks.

Seems like we're right back into it: lots of plot development, four new characters (all of whom seem interesting, except maybe the Ghostbuster) and just a really exciting, fast paced episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,264 ✭✭✭JBoyle4eva

Thought this week's episode was fantastic, much appraisal has to be how they skillfully wrote in the new characters, unlike planting Nikke and Paulo last year.

What provoked me most was the way Matthew seemed to be adamant in front of Naomi that there were no survivors of 815, but last week we seen how he was trying to "help" Hurley after the crash. I really think there is something they've witnessed before getting off the island that Matthew is trying to cover up.

All in all, 9/10 or "Excellent"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

So we know that they're looking for Ben now, which raises the question once again of why Naomi had Desmond's picture?

It occurred to me that I think Desmond is/was the last actual Dharma member working on the island, is that right?
    Also, the new anthropologist (according to Naomi) girl Charlotte found that Dharma collar beside the polar bear skeleton, and seemed happy to see it...
    Also, although Penny didn't know Naomi, maybe she knew Charlotte.
    Could be something to do with Penny's dad as well...
    Any ideas anyone?

Also, Desmond was conspicuously missing from this week's episode, giving none of the new arrivals a chance to see him and possibly shed some light on the situation...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭abelard

JBoyle4eva wrote: »
    Thought this week's episode was fantastic, much appraisal has to be how they skillfully wrote in the new characters, unlike planting Nikke and Paulo last year.

What provoked me most was the way Matthew seemed to be adamant in front of Naomi that there were no survivors of 815, but last week we seen how he was trying to "help" Hurley after the crash. I really think there is something they've witnessed before getting off the island that Matthew is trying to cover up.

All in all, 9/10 or "Excellent"

Actually that scene got me thinkin again on watching it for the third time tonight. What if Matthew actually believed there were no survivors?

And so when he talked to Hurley in the last episode and asked him "are THEY still alive?", he could either be referring to the rest of Oceanic 815, or (if he actually believes the rest are dead) just the team of 5 that he sent in, or even the "natives".

Another minor thing I wonder is, why did Naomi go in alone that time? I'd guess just a scouting mission or something, but who knows?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭Killaqueen!!!

Fantastic episode. We didn't get a huge WTF moment..and there wasn't huge revelations but the episode felt like it was going somewhere. It was very well structered with the introduction of all the new characters, but it was very fast-moving so there's a lot of stuff in there that we're probably going to come back to in the future.

Apart from that, there was classic Jack in there! Don't care what people say I love him, and I loved when he winked at Kate. I got the feeling that Kate and Juliet are getting on more, but I hope Jack makes his choice between them, and of course I'm up for Kate! Also, the Locke/Sawyer conversation about Walt! But what I don't get is why him being taller/older is encorporated into the show. Is that supposed to mean anything? We all know the actor has grown but I wonder if they'll actually go into that.

Haven't decided whos side I'm on, Locke/Jack-wise, but Locke was on great form. I'm glad he was going to kill Ben. A lot of fans are asking realistically why would they keep him, and as suspected it's for information. Also great to see people asking questions (Locke: What is the monster, the black smoke?)

Haven't even begun on the new characters. Miles is very unlikeable (as a person, but very interesting for us to watch!) I can see him getting killed off towards the end of the season. Don't really like the English girl. The other two are good. It'll be interesting to learn more about them.

Now that it's actually being addressed though, the whole idea of there being no survivors of the plane crash, is starting to hurt my head. I really don't understand it, or what the Freighter people have to do with it. :confused:

And great to see another polar bear reference! WTF???

EDIT: Oh and looks like some of us were right about Ben shooting Locke. His lack of kidney did save him!