Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bono ?

• 06-02-2008 11:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭

Do we still regard bono as irish or have we lost him to the rest of the world. Pope bono ????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

Who cares, he is a tosser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Bono's an ass and should be publicly flogged every fortnight on national tele.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

He doesn't deserve to be Irish, he doesn't pay his way. Tax evading hypocrite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

If we ignore him he might go away with any luck. His tongue is so far up G.W.B.'s ass he should just go the whole hog and take out US citizenship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭jazoo

good thats what i expected to hear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

He doesn't deserve to be Irish, he doesn't pay his way. Tax evading hypocrite.

too true.
    the artists tax exemption is a good idea, but u2 have messed up.

JIZZLORD wrote: »
    too true.
    the artists tax exemption is a good idea, but u2 have messed up.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/u2-move-their-rock-empire-out-of-ireland-133364.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

When Tom Hanks was on Jonathon Ross weeks ago - they had a shot from the da vinci code - Ross was slagging his hair. Tom turned around and said 'I think I look like Bono there'.... and he did!

star-pants wrote: »
    When Tom Hanks was on Jonathon Ross weeks ago - they had a shot from the da vinci code - Ross was slagging his hair. Tom turned around and said 'I think I look like Bono there'.... and he did!

Tee hee I know the guy that cuts Bonos hair. He flys him to gigs and everything because he thinks he does such a good job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭jazoo

Tee hee I know the guy that cuts Bonos hair. He flys him to gigs and everything because he thinks he does such a good job.
    everyone has a bono story

Typical hypocrite, he's all talk and no substance. The minute he's asked to pay he's way he leaves the country the fat greedy lump.

I wonder how much of his own millions he donates to charity. I get the impression he is literally all talk and does nothing other than bitch at everyone else to do something while he rakes in the cash and helps out fup all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

He likes trying to influence world leaders and ordering govts how to spend their money - but he seems to have no clue at all where this money is generated from. Wants nothing to do with it in fact. What me? I'm a non-resident/artist/important person don't you know. You can't tax me - I walk half an inch off the ground if you watch carefully.

How badly does Ireland need these 'international' rock stars? Tired of media kowtowing a long time ago myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Can't beat a good Bono-bashing thread :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

To balance the argument

- he's only acting as a spokesperson to raise awareness; it's not his job to actually sort these problems (say Africa) himself, nor can he
    - as an artist and businessman he's allowed to do what he wants with his money (the tax thing)
    - I reckon a lot of those who get off slagging him have been swayed by the negative media attention ("Yeah he's a prick" without thinking about why)

He's doing his bit, he may be a diminuitive, arrogant geebag but sure who cares? Leave Bono be Bono.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

beans wrote: »
    To balance the argument

- he's only acting as a spokesperson to raise awareness; it's not his job to actually sort these problems (say Africa) himself, nor can he
    - as an artist and businessman he's allowed to do what he wants with his money (the tax thing)
    - I reckon a lot of those who get off slagging him have been swayed by the negative media attention ("Yeah he's a prick" without thinking about why)

He's doing his bit, he may be a diminuitive, arrogant geebag but sure who cares? Leave Bono be Bono.

Yeah-A yeah-A yeah-A yeah-A yeah-A... YEAH!

(South Park anyone?) :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Dopey

To balance the argument

Yes he is but not when he asks the government and tax payer to allocate a percentage of the country's annual spend on third world countries.

Can't you see the hypocrisy?

I thought that Bono looked like a fool when they decided to move their music rights business to the Nertherlands to avoid paying tax.

He is a bigger fool for continuing to preach the same message.

Practise what you preach Bono!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

To balance the argument

cui bono? :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

To balance the argument

These issues are none of his bloody business.He's rich because others are poor.Either he should give his wealth away or shut his smirking,lipless face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Who says they are none of his business?

Plus, making money from music isn't exactly exploiting poor people is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

he asks the government and tax payer to allocate a percentage of the country's annual spend on third world countries

Personally I agree, I was just playing devil's advocate. To that end, would it be better if he kept all his money and did nothing to raise awareness? So at least he's doing something.

But is he doing more harm than good now? He's seen as something of a foolish character (isn't he?), do more people tune out now when they read a headline containing 'Bono' and 'poverty'?

I can't decide whether he's part of the problem, or part of the solution - bit of both I suppose, like us all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Who says they are none of his business?

Plus, making money from music isn't exactly exploiting poor people is it?

Course it is.Do you think CDs are manufatured in the developed world with unionised labour?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Bah, Begrudgery.

What exactly has he done wrong? sings in a band lots of people like, so he has made a lot of money. Now he is trying to give something back by using his fame to raise awareness of world issues.

I've come accross him several times and he always strikes me as being a decent friendly sort of guy. Trouble is, he is successful and people don't like that:rolleyes:

Bah, Begrudgery.

What exactly has he done wrong? sings in a band lots of people like, so he has made a lot of money. Now he is trying to give something back by using his fame to raise awareness of world issues.

I've come accross him several times and he always strikes me as being a decent friendly sort of guy
    . Trouble is, he is successful and people don't like that:rolleyes:

Another person with a Bono story.

Whether he is successful or not he is an arsehole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Another person with a Bono story.

Whether he is successful or not he is an arsehole

Sure, but there are plenty of unsuccessful arseholes out there and plenty of people who have made more money by being scumbags.

In the grand scheme of things, he is more good than bad and U2 aren't exactly the worse band in the world.

Bah, Begrudgery.

He uses world issues to raise his own fame. He is the only person I can think of that I'd love to slap, just seeing him annoys me and there's very little that gets my goat up but seeing that knob end prancing about the place drives me insane.

He's made himself out to be a figurehead for the poor but is he? Other than giving 5 minutes for the odd press conference or a publicity stunt with the pope what does he actually do? He's using the poor to promote himself, I'd say most of he's day is concerned with making more money for himself and keeping that money in his own pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Degsy wrote: »
    Course it is.Do you think CDs are manufatured in the developed world with unionised labour?

So, he shouldn't raise awareness of African poverty because many CDs are made in China?

By that reasoning, I shouldn't give money to Trocaire because I don't 100% know where each and every product I use comes from, and all the people involved in each step on the product's lifecycle?

Sure, but there are plenty of unsuccessful arseholes out there and plenty of people who have made more money by being scumbags.

In the grand scheme of things, he is more good than bad and U2 aren't exactly the worse band in the world.

U2 haven't released anything decent since the very early 90s. They're **** and overrated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭Gumbyman

Is it my imagination or is he getting fatter and fatter? I suppose charity starts at the home ("Feed the Woooooooooooooorld.....")

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I saw Bono this morning, but then I flushed and he was gone:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Bah, Begrudgery.

I've come accross him several times and he always strikes me as being a decent friendly sort of guy. Trouble is, he is successful and people don't like that:rolleyes:
    Indeed.
    I wonder how many of these begrudgers are also failed musicians. :)

Terry wrote: »
    Indeed.
    I wonder how many of these begrudgers are also failed musicians. :)

Nope not me. I just think he's knob and his music is intolerable. Who says I have to like him?

Nobody says you have to like him.
    Nobody actually has to like him.

I'm just amused by the vitriolic hatred.
    It just smacks of extreme begrudgery and jealousy.

I've always hated him, I can't say for sure what it is about him. I just hate him with a passion. The more I see of him the more I hate him. He's an ass.

So it couldn't possibly be the fact that he comes across as a twat everytime he opens his mouth?

Forget his money, his music etc. As a person he is an idiot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭Killaqueen!!!

When did everyone get the memo to jump on the bandwagon and hate Bono? If he wasn't Irish, I doubt half of yis would even be talking about him.

Not that we actually personally know any celebrities (I don't know why people have so much hate for people you don't actually know. I guess that's human nature for you - keep looking for someone to hate), but what are peoples problem with him? So he has a big ego. Humans are ego machines. So he's successful - we Irish aren't allowed to have a rich successful man? We must resent him for this.

I don't care how he does it but he raises awareness for third world country charities and people actually physically hate him? It's horrible..

Think about it in simple terms:

Fan sees Bono talking about Third World
    Fan is affected by this, decides to donate money to charity
    Fan decides to regularly give money to charity
    Charity sends people with food, supplies to Third World countries
    Food, health supples etc. help a young starving child
    Young starving child actually survives

...SURVIVES. The whole point is that every little bit helps, and if Bono raising awareness for chairity helps, whats the problem?

And let's not forget U2. U2 are a good band. I think they made better music when they weren't so commercial, but they're a great band and the Irish these days just jump on the bandwagon and find a scapegoat for their troubles and thats Bono.

"Oh yeah, Bono he's a ****in prick"
    -"Why?"
    "Oh...eh...he's just a feckin prick...he..eh, has a big..ego..****in prick"

WHAT THE HELL?

Oh and by the way, just because you don't read it on the front page doesn't mean he doesn't donate money to chairty. Believe me, he does, but these things aren't sold to the press. Last year, each member of U2 as well as their manager donated 1million (can't remember if it was euros they may have been in the US when this happened. You don't want to read about that do you though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

Good posk killaqueen, couldn't agree more with the point on hating somebody you've never met. What's it based on? the few media interview you've seen, the tabloid articles? his music?? I don't understand it.

The man is trying to make a difference, have any of you bono-haters done anything to help, how much have you given to charity? Regardless of his reasons, of which I'm sure are mostly genuine, he's making an effort to change people lives, I see no wrong in that.

So it couldn't possibly be the fact that he comes across as a twat everytime he opens his mouth?

Forget his money, his music etc. As a person he is an idiot
    Why is he an idiot?
    How are you qualified to call him an idiot?
    Do you know him personally?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Dopey

His actions make him look like an idiot.

As mentioned already, he lobbies governments to give a percentage of the country's tax intake to third world countries. The goverment get their tax intake from the public. Bono is a member of the public. Bono avoids paying his taxes.

His hypocritical act takes the focus off third world porverty and puts it on Bono.

Is there a problem with it? YES!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

He's a gimp.

I'd put him in the same league as Michael Jackson, so far up his own arse he has no idea whats going on around him.

Sure he gets attention for 3rd world charities, but he's not doing anything every other celebrity has been doing since celebrity began. That doesn't make him different or great it just makes him the lead sheep. Donating 1 million for a man of his wealth is just a publicity stunt.

He comes off as smug and two faced.

ScumLord wrote: »
    I'd put him in the same league as Michael Jackson, so far up his own arse he has no idea whats going on around him.

Sure he gets attention for 3rd world charities, but he's not doing anything every other celebrity has been doing since celebrity began. That doesn't make him different or great it just makes him the lead sheep. Donating 1 million for a man of his wealth is just a publicity stunt.

He comes off as smug and two faced.
    Where was the publicity about him donating money?
    I must have missed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Fair play to him. He's got tonnes of money, he can do what he wants with it. He's a great lyricist, I don't care what you say about that but listen to his lyrics, they're fantastic. If he wants to make people aware of the 3rd world countries, let him... It's better than some eejit in American trying to cure people from Cancer, being cripples, diabetes etc. by smacking them in the head and making money from them.

If I had his money, I'd be exploring most business aspects of life.

Lads and lassies... FAIR PLAY TO HIM.

I am NOT a U2 fan btw nor do I hang around Bono's house and pull up my t-shirt.

Where was the publicity about him donating money?
    I must have missed it.
    Me too.

Fair play to him. He's got tonnes of money, he can do what he wants with it. He's a great lyricist, I don't care what you say about that but listen to his lyrics, they're fantastic.
    No there not, all he does is "I'm Bono I'm really great and I'm in U2oooo.. I'm so cool because I'm Bono" There not cool lyrics, that's just ****e.

What song is this? Sounds like a number one hit for modern music. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

He's an idiot for protecting his money?

Sounds like a wise business move to be honest.

Exactly. People don't realise that 'famous' musicians are business men and women.

Nah. Bono sold out, maaaan. He made money and serious musicians aren't allowed do that, maaaaaaan.

Which is the problem. I don't think art and business mix well and the likes of bono that goes around saying he's an artist and loves his work but then wants to get payed sickening amounts of money just to appear and do what he loves that annoys me no end.

Really it's the whole industry I've a problem with and Bono is the focus of all my rage. He has made more than enough money, if he loves the poor so much why doesn't he turn over the rights to his music so they have a guaranteed large income for years. Why doesn't he work for the charity and let them pay him a very good wage. They don't try really it's all just lip service.

I'm completely biased when it comes to bono, I do hate him I've worked myself into a right tizzy just thinking about him.

I'm not a failed artist either, can't play an instrument or have ever tried to be in a band.

ScumLord wrote: »
    Which is the problem. I don't think art and business mix well and the likes of bono that goes around saying he's an artist and loves his work but then wants to get payed sickening amounts of money just to appear and do what he loves that annoys me no end.

Really it's the whole industry I've a problem with and Bono is the focus of all my rage. He has made more than enough money, if he loves the poor so much why doesn't he turn over the rights to his music so they have a guaranteed large income for years. Why doesn't he work for the charity and let them pay him a very good wage. They don't try really it's all just lip service.

I'm completely biased when it comes to bono, I do hate him I've worked myself into a right tizzy just thinking about him.

I'm not a failed artist either, can't play an instrument or have ever tried to be in a band.
    He's a musician, not a charity shop manager, Jim.

It's not his place to give away all his money.
    He's highlighting the plight of people living in extreme poverty.
    Would you despise him as much if you were one of those people?

He's a musician, not a charity shop manager, Jim.

It's not his place to give away all his money.
    He's highlighting the plight of people living in extreme poverty.
    Would you despise him as much if you were one of those people?
    Probably not as much because I wouldn't have tv and the media in general interrupting my day with his ugly mug. A better life in some ways.

At the end of the day though if he really wants to help why not put aside the "rock star Bono" and do some work, he has the time and money to do allot, instead of blaming everyone else and our governments.