Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reccommend me a classic?

• 05-02-2008 11:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭

Looking for something fast, classy, and under €8k

would prefer 6 cylinders minimum, rear wheel drive, not convertible, and with a manual gearbox. Must be over 30 years old, and be a good looking car (I know, fairly subjective)
    Was thinking BMW Six.

Anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Did you go check out the E3 from your previous post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Gonna try and get up there Thursday or Friday. just wondering if there's something better I haven't considered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Blue850

1/2 your budget would probably get you a concours Triumph 2.5PI or 2500S

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

How about this Alfa?

Interested in any 70's Mercs? Might be your best bet at that budget.

Tight budget for those criteria!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

If I didn't have ankle biters I'd be after something like this

0937233001180610308.jpg

Are you man enough for it though!!! I assume chest wigs are in the glove box :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Dusty1609

6 cylinders, rear wheel drive, not convertible, and with a manual gearbox, over 30 years old, and a good looking car, 38,000 miles from new and all at less than your budget!

Image_011.JPG

More details and pics here;

http://www.classiccar.ie/forsale.html

Jon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

If I didn't have ankle biters I'd be after something like this
    I was going to suggest that exact car too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

colm_mcm wrote: »

would prefer 6 cylinders minimum, rear wheel drive, not convertible, and with a manual gearbox. Must be over 30 years old, and be a good looking car (I know, fairly subjective)
    Was thinking BMW Six.

Anyone?

tut, tut.......you do know that what you'll save on the tax, you'll spend on running costs :D

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Spit62500

triumph gt6 -plenty of rwd thrills and great 6 cylinder sound. Not a grand tourer though - if you like your comforts then better look elsewhere

nothing really doing it for me yet! thinking big engine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭3ps

how much have you set aside per year for maintenance and servicing?

fiat 130? (great sound) Early Opel monza? Jag 4.2? There was an mbg gt v8 knocking around recently that wasn't miles off that money

Jag maybe, No set amount to spend on maintainance, I work in a garage..
    Don't want a car where i'd need another for spares!
    I like old jags, mercs, and beemers. want something fast, not necessarily a sports car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

galwaytt wrote: »
    tut, tut.......you do know that what you'll save on the tax, you'll spend on running costs :D

Meh. If it isn't your daily driver (or you don't have a commute) it can't cost too much to run.

and you should see the MPG on the FTO! i'll only be doing tiny mileage in it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭carlosfandango

Hi Colm,
    I can highly recommend a big six. Although I drive a later one ('89 635csi) I bloody love it. I've found it to be very reliable. I love it's street presence and pace. It is a raving alcoholic and the road tax is crippling.. However, I did see a '78 one for sale in Ireland recently and it made a lot of sense financially. I don't know what the condition of it was as I just glanced at the ad but it was around the 5k mark. Meaning small vrt and cheap road tax.
    I also always had a hankering for a 928. A good one is totally bullet proof and the look simply fantastic. One of these days..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭carlosfandango

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

The TVR's 3.0L V6 not big enough!! :eek:

3.0L v8? Most Stags are Auto, this one is manual w/ OD

0033077001186000828.jpg

Or perhaps Sir would prefer a 3.2L V6?

Depends what you want - big engines normally mean big cars and you've got quite a restrictive budget there and most Mercs and Jags (certainly in that price range) are Auto. Sounds like you have your heart set on a Beemer anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭manta mad

thats nice .

did ye check out what he has in his garage in one pic .
    a lovely red 911:)

& i cant make out what the other one is ?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

1960's XKE Jag... Timeless body with a long, sexy nose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭kfog

Datsun Z car????

Rover p6 v8? You won't beat the sound of that... Aluminium panels (bonnet & boot lid anyway, doors too I think. Get a later model in the right colour and vinyl roof and tinted glass and it'll look great too. Probably as fast as you'll need

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭spidersonmars

Thats what I have!!! 76 s model, manual, the roof etc....:cool:

The S model is the nicest looking one! I've only driven the automatic but I'd imagine that the manual S must be even more impressive. My dad had a white '73 V8 in white with vinyl roof, sundym glass and denovo tyres - it looked fantastic and I wasn't happy when he traded it for an SD1 :eek:

That's on my shortlist already! wonder what it'll look like with the 17's and leather mentioned in the ad, maybe the paint would come out well, it's between that and the red Six 3.0 at the moment, gotta go drive some!

Thanks for all the suggestions so far lads, food for thought!

This looks nice:
    http://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C31843

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭ds20prefecture

Porsche 928
    porsche-928-175.jpg
    Jaguar XJS
    xjs_models_green.jpg
    Alfetta GTV
    c_daily_78_alfetta_gt.gif
    Carina II
    4100501201.jpg

Citroen SM
    citroensm.jpg
    Or in it's slightly more conformist guise, the Maserati Merak
    e7.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

6 cylinder carina? Il have one in red please:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭starrywalsh

Get yourself a Mini Cooper and supercharge it, :eek:

I'm over 6' and want something big!

Ok, I've decided to go for a Mercedes SL, trip to the UK imminent! now to sort classic insurance....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

Ok, I've decided to go for a Mercedes SL, trip to the UK imminent! now to sort classic insurance....

Nice choice! Just look for rot and rust! esp the bulk head and legs!

Sure ya know yerself.

-VB-

Ok, I've decided to go for a Mercedes SL

Much safer choice than an E3. Let us know how you're getting on!

Great choice - snap!

Not a big fan of spoilers (front or rear) but I do like the cream interior. If it needs refurbing I can give you the website of a US company that ships colour coded MB-tex vinyl dye. Bundts are the business!

What's the actual month of registration? You don't want to be stung for VRT...
    Mileage? Looks good for whatever it has on the clock.

Good luck!

I love the front valance on that 78 soft top, not mad on the rear boot spoiler, but I could live with it. What sort of MPG do you get from yours (not a major factor, just curious!) and do you have it for long?

Dades wrote: »

Is that one yours, Atheist? It looks amazing!

I love the front valance on that 78 soft top, not mad on the rear boot spoiler, but I could live with it. What sort of MPG do you get from yours (not a major factor, just curious!) and do you have it for long?
    I have mine about a year. MPG is pretty bad! We're talking 18-19 for most of my driving - which would be cruising the 'burbs. Have done plenty of long trips though (drove up France!) and you'll get early 20's on those. (Hard to tell my MPG as the half empty mark on my fuel gauge acts more like 2/3rds empty, as the needle drops so fast after that point). Worth every cent though on a bright day. And you have an extra liter!
    unkel wrote: »
    Cheers unkel - that was 2 weeks ago - a combo of my new camera lens and the first proper wash since Christmas!
    (That's not my plate btw ;))

When you off to see it colm? Road trip!

the deal on my FTO went arseways, don't know if I can have 3 cars!
    As soon as the Mitsu sells, I'll be hopping on a plane!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭Dasilva94

unkel wrote: »

Ditto mate.
    I'm guessing it's a 350SL, going by the number plate.

It looks so cool in the summer sunshine reflecting on the body!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭Merrion

Was thinking BMW Six.

Anyone?

I recommend a Triumph GT6...great drivers car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

Maybe I missed something he said, but why wasnt the Mk1 Capri mentioned?3.0s are hard to get but with that budget it shouldnt be a problem.Maybe a Capri would be a bit common though?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Dirty-Old-Man

Triumph 2000/2500, Austin A110 Westminster, Vanden Plas 4L or Daimler Majestic (last 2 maybe over budget)

My uncle has an A110,its a fine comfortable car, big 3 litre 6, leather,and room for all the family!

Theres a big horse of a toyota crown on www.carzone.ie ,at least it was there yesterday, thats a big imposing 6 cylinder car:D Rare too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Dirty-Old-Man

Theres a big horse of a toyota crown on www.carzone.ie ,at least it was there yesterday, thats a big imposing 6 cylinder car:D Rare too!
    Or import a Toyota Century or Nissan President from Japan...

Yep, a car the size of a small country!:D

Had a look at an E3 today, must say I'm impressed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭accensi0n

Jaguar XJS
    xjs_models_green.jpg

Next door neighbour has one just like that and it looks amazing.

Where would you buy a car like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 navigatoroneill

Has to be a capri. You'll need a loud shirt, open to the mid nipple line, some jewellery, big ray-ban's and you're set. Go for the 3litre mk1....like me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Hifive

Has to be a capri. You'll need a loud shirt, open to the mid nipple line, some jewellery, big ray-ban's and you're set. Go for the 3litre mk1....like me

OK, OK, We're going to need a photo.:eek: