Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

20 pack of cigarettes!!

• 05-02-2008 11:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭

Since the shocking abolishment of 10 packs of cigrettes, I'm now smoking 20 a day instead of 10 and its starting to take its toil on the auld lungs. It also means I'm spending a small fortune a week on cigarettes. I really think that the government didnt think the banning through as more people are smoking more cigarettes now than ever before!
    Cough!!! cough!!!

Rant over!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

Since the shocking abolishment of 10 packs of cigrettes, I'm now smoking 20 a day instead of 10 and its starting to take its toil on the auld lungs. It also means I'm spending a small fortune a week on cigarettes. I really think that the government didnt think the banning through as more people are smoking more cigarettes now than ever before!
    Cough!!! cough!!!

Rant over!!!

that was the whole point, make it look like they were 'doing something' but still making more money out of it.

devious, devious bastards. That much you have to respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The answer is obvious: Stop smoking or STFU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,594 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

you could always buy 20, smoke ten one day, and the remaining ten the next day...unless bertie is in your front room with a gun to your head, theres no excuses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

seamus wrote: »
    The answer is obvious: Stop smoking or STFU.

QFT

Nothing like a hearty smokers cough to know you're ****ed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

I really think that the government didnt think the banning through as more people are smoking more cigarettes now than ever before!
    Sorry, are you blaming the government that your now smoking 20 a day?

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    you could always buy 20, smoke ten one day, and the remaining ten the next day...unless bertie is in your front room with a gun to your head, theres no excuses!

Yup, because smokers are all about the willpower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭garthv

Absoloutely typical Irish attitude,
    You disgust me.
    If you want to smoke 10, smoke 10..Dont go blaming the government for your downfall.

uh... cigarettes go stale fairly quickly

you leave ten in a pack overnight, they will taste like **** in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

If they sold a 5 pack, then you'd really cut down :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭deisedolly

You can get twenty boxes that split into to tens. The twenty fags are in one box but inside the two tens are individually wrapped so you can take ten with you and leave the other ten at home. The small box is fairly flimsy but it'll do the job in your situation, OP.
    I've seen Silk Cut Purple, Benson and John Player boxes like this but I'd say more brands do it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

OP, you need to move up once again to smoking 30 fags a day. Smoking 20 fags a day is very damaging but 30 a day can actually have some health benefits. My grandfather smoked 60 a day for years and he lived to the ripe old age of 22. He was hit by a bus on O'Connell Street, a bus full of fags funnily enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

Shoot yourself - its faster, cleaner to enviroment and at least your family cant see you suffering later on in life . Oh also cheaper in long run

uh... cigarettes go stale fairly quickly

you leave ten in a pack overnight, they will taste like **** in the morning.
    So put them in the fridge or a ziplock bag. It's like saying that because you can only buy bread in pans, you have to eat the whole thing at once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭armour87

garthv wrote: »
    Absoloutely typical Irish attitude,
    You disgust me.
    If you want to smoke 10, smoke 10..Dont go blaming the government for your downfall.

Bollocks.

If you stuck to 10 a day the 10 packs were fine but with having to buy 20s all the time your level will rise into the teens fast like it or not.

I've moved to rolling tobacco now because the price is unreal.

Was in Spain last year and a 20 pack of benson (which were the most expensive) was just €3.10!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Smoke crack instead - at least the politicians won't get any tax out of that to spend on Bertie's make-up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

Stop winging and give up the smoking then.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

and stop blowing smoke into our faces scumbags haha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

Is the rant about the cost, or the health consequences? Cause theres a pretty obvious solution to both probs...

sounds like some folks have problems taking personal responsibility for their own actions imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

So put them in the fridge or a ziplock bag. It's like saying that because you can only buy bread in pans, you have to eat the whole thing at once.

You can buy half pans

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

OP: PM DesF or Papa Smut for access to the smoking forum. There's literally no point whatsoever trying to discuss smoking in AH as there's an abundance of retards who lurk here who have absolutely no idea what they're on about who'll happily ruin the thread.

/thread

Wossack wrote: »
    Is the rant about the cost, or the health consequences? Cause theres a pretty obvious solution to both probs...

sounds like some folks have problems taking personal responsibility for their own actions imo

Sounds like some people have problem with considerate smokers who NEVER smoke near non smokers and have fully private health insurance.

-Funk

funk-you wrote: »
    You can buy half pans

-Funk
    Yes, but what if I only want two pieces with which to make a sandwich. I have to buy a whole half-pan and then eat it all before it goes stale!! :mad:

Those bastards! It's all a conspiracy to make me eat more bread and get more money out of me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Since the shocking abolishment of 10 packs of cigrettes, I'm now smoking 20 a day instead of 10
    What??!! You HAVE to/are forced to smoke 20 a day just cos they're there?! You got by fine on ten a day beforehand so you can make 20 last two days now.
    and its starting to take its toil on the auld lungs.
    Oh because ten a day wouldn't take its toll on your lungs?
    armour87 wrote: »
    Bollocks.

If you stuck to 10 a day the 10 packs were fine but with having to buy 20s all the time your level will rise into the teens fast like it or not.
    "Like it or not?" That makes it sounds like you don't have a choice in the matter...

Hilarious thread. And complaining about the price? Despite the fact you know what it will do to your health?!

rb_ie, it's one thing when people bitch about all smokers instead of just minding their own business, but I'd agree 100% with the anti-smoking lobby in this case.
    I'm a light smoker (mostly with drink and the odd one when sober) and the abolition of 10 boxes hasn't made any difference to the amount I smoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭dream brother

Eariler on during breakfast there was four smokers at the table. All of us had been smoking ten a day but now its up to between 15 and 20 since the banning. I know the easiest thing to do is stop, but I rather enjoy smoking sometimes, its just I dont want to develop a 20 a day habit! I suppose the government overlooked the health consequences or how addictive smoking can been!

Move this thread if needed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭armour87

Re: Dudess

Of course we have a choice but it's more a case of, "sure I may as well light up another seeing I have them" which will slowly raise ur average intake.

Imo anyway

Yes, but what if I only want two pieces with which to make a sandwich. I have to buy a whole half-pan and then eat it all before it goes stale!! :mad:

Those bastards! It's all a conspiracy to make me eat more bread and get more money out of me!

Thats a circular argument and you know it. What if i only want one crisp but am forced to buy a whole packet....come on! You don't smoke, we get it.

-Funk

Eariler on during breakfast there was four smokers at the table. All of us had been smoking ten a day but now its up to between 15 and 20 since the banning. I know the easiest thing to do is stop, but I rather enjoy smoking sometimes, its just I dont want to develop a 20 a day habit! I suppose the government overlooked the health consequences or how addictive smoking can been!

Move this thread if needed!
    armour87 wrote: »
    Re: Dudess

Of course we have a choice but it's more a case of, "sure I may as well light up another seeing I have them" which will slowly raise ur average intake.

Imo anyway
    You have the same opportunities during the day to smoke as you had before - in terms of work breaks etc. If you decide then in the evenings to "binge" on ciggies just because they're there, well that's your choice.
    Simple: keep sticking with the ten a day.

drug addiction... it's easy.

But this obviously ISN'T about the nicotine addiction because those guys say they had enough of a fix in ten a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Sure they have the handy split em in half packs for the primary school kids nowadays so they "can still go halves"....

Thats a circular argument and you know it. What if i only want one crisp but am forced to buy a whole packet....come on! You don't smoke, we get it.

-Funk
    Then you also get my point. Although bread is more apt than crisps. I often do only want one or two pieces of bread, buy a half pan, then the rest goes off. It's a pain in the ass but I don't somehow think I have a right to be accomodated or that I'm deliberately being discriminated against.

It makes me laugh when smokers somehow think that they're being persecuted or they're otherwise having their freedoms trodden on.

Can you buy cigarettes? Yes.
    Can you smoke cigarettes? Yes.

Then STFU. If either of these things changes, then I'll be right there with ye crying for freedom.

Dudess wrote: »
    But this obviously ISN'T about the nicotine addiction because those guys say they had enough of a fix in ten a day.

what?

you leave an alcoholic in a bar and tell him he can drink for free all day.. do you think he'll pace himself slowly sipping at a pint? or will he start knocking them back for as long as he can?

people don't act rationally at the best of times, but especially not when drugs are related. All drugs, not just the illegal ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Nice to see such a great understanding of addiction here.
    The OP obviously only bought 10 a day and made them last.
    Now with the 20, they have them there and the temptation is too strong.

Don't give me that self control crap. That doesn't come into it where addiction is concerned. It's all or nothing.
    Dudess wrote: »
    Hilarious thread. And complaining about the price? Despite the fact you know what it will do to your health?!
    €1.30 minimum price on a pack of 20. The rest is tax. The EU are currently trying to get the Irish government to abolish this.
    rb_ie, it's one thing when people bitch about all smokers instead of just minding their own business, but I'd agree 100% with the anti-smoking lobby in this case.
    I'd disagree with most of the people here, because I'm fairly sure most of them have never been addicted to anything, or are in denial.
    I'm a light smoker (mostly with drink and the odd one when sober) and the abolition of 10 boxes hasn't made any difference to the amount I smoke.
    Speaking of denial.
    How about you don't ever touch a cigarette again.
    See how long you last.
    Think of it as a challenge.

I have a friend who was a light smoker like you.
    !0 years just having the odd one with a drink and maybe one during the day.

He's off the drink now and smokes 40 a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

i discussed this with my fellow smokers and we all agree we are smoking more. the sensible thing to do would have been to ban 20 boxes keep 10 boxes but increase the price of 10's to 7euro but alas there is no thought put into anything in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

was in prague recently, 20 box 1.80euro

Terry wrote: »
    Nice to see such a great understanding of addiction here.
    Just because we don't care, doesn't mean we don't understand. :)

If someone is addicted to something, they got themselves into that mess. Their bitching is pointless, it's like blaming the wall for crashing your car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Archeron

I think the OP raises a perfectly valid point. This matter came into conversation when the idea of banning 10's was first proposed, and many people said that they would end up smoking more.
    The OP is an example that this IS the case with some people, so its perfectly valid for someone to want to raise the subject, as its a negative effect of the 10 box ban that many people fortold from the offset.
    Yeah, its easy to say "just give up" but I think everyone knows that it aint that simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Just because we don't care, doesn't mean we don't understand. :)

If someone is addicted to something, they got themselves into that mess. Their bitching is pointless, it's like blaming the wall for crashing your car.
    I blame myself and my own curiousity for my addiction.

However, I am completely baffled as to why such a pointless and harmful drug is still readily available.

money, and freedom
    and money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Terry wrote: »
    I blame myself and my own curiousity for my addiction.

However, I am completely baffled as to why such a pointless and harmful drug is still readily available.

If smoking was a thread it would be "Post in this thread to get permanently banned. (EXTREME STUPIDITY FILTER)" in TCN

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Stop winging and give up the smoking then.;)

Winging? He must be smoking those always ultras with wings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Get yourself one of those fancy tin booklet things - you can find them in headshops.

Buy a pack of 20, load the tin with what you'll smoke for the day, and leave the rest at home.

or y'know.... quit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭gillyfromlyre

I think there should be a "stamp out cigarettes on bertie day", at least smokers would get some satisfaction giving up their habit that way

what?

you leave an alcoholic in a bar and tell him he can drink for free all day.. do you think he'll pace himself slowly sipping at a pint? or will he start knocking them back for as long as he can?
    You're not comparing like with like. Because of the ban, the OP and others only have certain opportunities to smoke. Even without the ban that was the case.
    I'd disagree with most of the people here, because I'm fairly sure most of them have never been addicted to anything, or are in denial.
    "Fairly sure" isn't really enough to go on. It's more that people are kinda amused/bemused at the OP complaining about the fact that he can't help himself from smoking extra and "it's taking its toll on his lungs".
    Speaking of denial.
    How about you don't ever touch a cigarette again.
    See how long you last.
    Think of it as a challenge.
    Oh right... I don't exactly know what in my sentence indicated that I'm in denial. Like I said, I'm a light smoker and the amount I smoke hasn't changed since 10-packs were abolished. I've been a light smoker since I was 14 - that's nearly 16 years of light smoking (actually it's slightly lessened over the years). Anyway, like Mordeth, you're not comparing like with like. These guys are still able to smoke - in fact, that's what they're complaining about! As for me, I don't think there's any way I could ever completely stop smoking - no problem in admitting that to myself.
    I have a friend who was a light smoker like you.
    !0 years just having the odd one with a drink and maybe one during the day.

He's off the drink now and smokes 40 a day.
    Well if we're gonna down the road of using ONE example to make a point, how about this one: my best mate used to smoke between seven and ten B&H a day, then the ten-packs were abolished. I asked him if he finds himself smoking more now. Nope, he still smokes the exact same amount. I suspect it's because his routine hasn't changed and he doesn't think "Oh I've 10 extra ciggies tonight, better cram em all in before I go to bed..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,165 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Smoking is great for people who don't smoke.

The extra taxes brought in by the OP smoking 20 a day, and the fact that he'll hopefully die sooner due to the extra intake of cigarrettes (preferably before he costs anything on the health system), make abolishing the 10 packs a great idea.

Hopefully they'll bring it in so the minimum you can buy is 200 cigarrettes at the cost of €500 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

astrofool wrote: »
    Smoking is great for people who don't smoke.

The extra taxes brought in by the OP smoking 20 a day, and the fact that he'll hopefully die sooner due to the extra intake of cigarrettes (preferably before he costs anything on the health system), make abolishing the 10 packs a great idea.

Hopefully they'll bring it in so the minimum you can buy is 200 cigarrettes at the cost of €500 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭pookie82

I get what the OP is saying, though he's obviously taking the p*ss a bit!! If you were a social smoker before the ten pack ban and bought ten a night and smoked only these, you were grand. But now you buy twenty on a night out, and have ten lying around the next day, and the temptation to smoke them that day is far greater than if they were sitting in the shop, as of yet unpurchased. And the habit of smoking during the day takes hold and before you know it, you're permanently hooked.

I don't think anyone is genuinely saying "I'm so helpless in this situation and it's ALL the government's fault" etc. We all know we should stop but the truth is some of us simply enjoy them too much. My biggest problem with the ten pack ban is that when there are more left over in a box it's not that easy to "save" them for the next night out. Particularly when nicotine is so addictive, as is the mere habit of putting a cigarrette in your mouth and smoking it.

Most smokers don't blame the ban for their "poor lungs" but they do blame it for having to buy more than they need to at a time and inevitably consuming them faster/more frequently. I've seen it turn some previously social smokers into daytime ones too, due to the surplus!!!

And before I get attacked, I'm just making an observation, I'm not saying we shouldn't all give up. I'm saying it does inconvenience some people who have made a concious choice to continue smoking socially for pleasure, but have to buy more than they require.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

You can buy half pans

-Funk
    But what if half of the half pan goes off?!

0_o

OP, I'm a smoker, I still say STFU! Giving us all a bad name! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

Worse thing is when you're at the till in a shop after queuing for five minutes and you discover that you can't afford twenty ciggies so instead you decide to buy ten but you can't, so you've to go to an ATM and then all the way back over to the shop and queue up again and only then can you get your hands on the nicoretty goodness.

I usually need a smoke on the way to the ATM to calm my nerves. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭Deliverance XXV

I am off the fags since last Ash Wed after six years smoking, thank fcuk.

I know from my experience that if I had more I always smoked more. I always bought a 20 pack no matter what the circumstance was.

So, 7 o'clock one day I could have 4/5 fags left and I could smoke them all for the night and be satisfied as I would use them sparingly. Whereas if I had 7/8 fags left I would not use them sparingly and would smoke the lot. Not much in the difference you might say but that could be 21 fags in the difference over the whole week.

Just my experience and may not apply to other smokers. :)