Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PokerJacks Irish Open 2008 Satellites

• 05-02-2008 2:04am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭

Qualify to the Paddy Power Irish Poker Open €330 Double Chance Scalp (€270 + €30 Scalp + €30 Reg) Side Event taking place on March 24th.
    3 Tickets Guaranteed!!!

€50 + €10 Scalp + €10 Reg

1p.m. Sunday 17th February in The Club Bar & Lounge, Coliemore Road, Dalkey. Satellite - €15 starts at 12p.m.

Stack: 6,000 + 500 Early Bird + 6,000

**Fully Dealer Dealt**

Full Menu/Carvery Available

Seating Limited to 40 so book your seat early!!

From Monday the 18th, the usual Dalkey game (http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=55049092#post55049092) will act as a feeder to the Irish Open Double Chance Scalp Tournament.

More Information on the Irish Open and its Side Events are available @ www.irishpokeropen.com

Hope you all can make it!! Post here, email info.pokerjacks@gmail.com or call 0868832272 for more details..

Structure:
    Poker Jacks

Commercial
    Sunday the 17th of February, The Club Bar & Lounge, Coliemore Road, Dalkey

Reg from 12.00p.m Cards @ 1p.m. **Satellite @ 12.00p.m.**

3 Tickets to the €330 Paddy Power Irish Open Side Event
    Seat Reservations 0868832272 or info.pokerjacks@gmail.com - 40 Limit
    Hold'em Double Chance Scalp
    €70 max spend

9. €10
    100% Prizepool Payout
    6,000 Starting Stack + 500 Early Bird + 6,000(Double Chance)
    25-50
    50-100
    75-150
    100-200 (Break)
    150-300
    200-400
    300-600
    400-800
    500-1000
    1000-2000
    1500-3000
    2000-4000
    3000-6000
    4000-8000
    5000-10000
    etc.
    25 Minute Clock
    3 Tickets Minimum, Top 10% paid, min 3
    **Fully Dealer Dealt**

Will there be a documented list of rules, yes
    Is there a tournament director, John Roche
    Tournament Directors Decision is Final in any dispute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭poker-jacks

Book your seat for this now, by emailing info.pokerjacks@gmail.com or simply leave a post here. Event takes place on Sunday week, the 17th of February!!

Also, your opinions etc. are welcome...

John.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

one ticket for every 6.5 players?! cash option or ticket only? expected numbers (be honest! :p ) ?

i like this idea by the way...

Hi ditpoker,

The Club only holds 40 people, so I'd hope to get somewhere between 30-40, but I've no idea as yet. If there was higher demand, we're looking at the Red Cow Moran Hotel.

For this, there will be 3 tickets minimum + whatever surplus cash, there won't be a cash option, but every monday from the 18th there will be tickets available, but cash option too.

I figure that there should be high demand for this side game cos it sounds like such a good structure at a decent buy-in. I presume not everyone can afford the 4,500K buy-in of the main game, so the lure of playing Irish Open poker at a knockdown cost is there. I'd love to play it myself..

I hope this answers your questions..

nice one... i like the idea of spending 50 and having a shot at some irish open event... good man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭cuterob

i'm gonna try get some friends and play this aswell.. any idea of the structure of this side event at the irish open?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭TomPich

sweet! im there guys! nice structure :)

cuterob wrote: »
    i'm gonna try get some friends and play this aswell.. any idea of the structure of this side event at the irish open?

No idea of the structure, they told me that they're not realeasing it until much closer to the event. Hope to see you on the 17th!!
    TomPich wrote: »
    sweet! im there guys! nice structure :)

Great, see you then TomPich

pretty sure the €300 game is crapshoot-tastic... always is.. .trick is knock 10 players out cover your buy in with scalps then push and hope to get lucky! GAMBOOL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭cuterob

yea i'm pretty sure the structure of this satt will be better than the IO one tbh

i'll hopefully play it..if so i'll email yea

lots of interest for this so far, looks like being a great tournament!!

The Club Bar & Lounge is situated on Coliemore Road, 2 Minutes walk from the DART and 5 minutes from the 46N, 8, 59 & 7D busses and is also served by the Patton Flyer AirCoach which stops in Blackrock/Monkstown etc. There is ample car parking in the customer and overflow car parks. Links below...

Coliemore Road - http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=coliemore+road,+dalkey,+dublin&sll=37.0625,-95.677068&sspn=49.216923,114.082031&ie=UTF8&ll=53.28251,-6.100373&spn=0.009134,0.027852&z=15&iwloc=addr&om=0

http://www.dublinbus.ie/your_journey/viewer.asp?placeName=Dalkey

http://www.thepattonflyer.ie/

Tournament is this Sunday, in the Cub Bar & Lounge, Coliemore Road, Dalkey.

Cash games on demand.
    €20 Sit N' Go's

Book your seat in advance....0868832272 or info.pokerjacks@gmail.com

Trying to keep this thread as prominent as possible ahead of Sundays game. Registrations are flying through by email..

Its not too late to book your seat!!

text/call - 0868832272 or email info.pokerjacks@gmail.com

John.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭stuckinarut

stick me down for this please sounds like a great tournament.

Will ther be cash games? early birds for reg etc.?

i'm out :(

stick me down for this please sounds like a great tournament.

Will ther be cash games? early birds for reg etc.?

Yeah, each pllayer will get an extra 500 with their initial stack if registered before 12.50. Cash games and sit n' gos on demand.

See you Sunday

ditpoker wrote: »
    i'm out :(

Thats a pity Jeff. See you at Sean's next one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭PokerEventsSeán

Count me in!!

Great Sean, see you on Sun

Qualify to todays main game by Satellite @ 12p.m.!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭eoghan104

I couldnt make it and was just wondering how many runners there was in the end? I saw on another thread there was enough for 2 tickets? Is that right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Taxipete29

10 runners was all there was for this, which was a pity as the structure was very good and there was room for loads of play.

Taxipete29 wrote: »
    10 runners was all there was for this, which was a pity as the structure was very good and there was room for loads of play.
    So who got the 3 tickets?

He didnt meet the guarantee. He made up the shortfall to make two tickets but when it got 3 handed we decided to split the second ticket into 200 and 130 for 2nd and 3rd. I won it and took the cash as im not 100% the easter monday but will buy in myself if i can play.

He didnt meet the guarantee. .

hmmmmmm........ I thought as much. Rules me out of ever going to any of these games. Thats a bit of a joke really.

eoghan104 wrote: »
    hmmmmmm........ I thought as much. Rules me out of ever going to any of these games. Thats a bit of a joke really.

TBH I did feel it was a bit of a joke to relent on the guarantee and might of said something at the time but most of the small few there were regulars and knew each other and seemed to accept early on that he wouldnt meet the guarantee due to the small numbers so I didnt think I would get much backing.

i'm with eoghan...
    "didn't meet the guarantee" :eek: :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭thechamp87

thats a disgrace that 3 tickets were gtd and then withdrawn. i think the organisers should make up for this. absolutely unacceptable in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Idoubtit

I understand completely why you think this is unacceptable.

But he does run great tournaments, with a great structure. The best pub games in Dublin IMO.

I do think its a pity, the first and last guaranteed prize fund for pokerjacks I'm sure.

TBH I did feel it was a bit of a joke to relent on the guarantee and might of said something at the time but most of the small few there were regulars and knew each other and seemed to accept early on that he wouldnt meet the guarantee due to the small numbers so I didnt think I would get much backing.
    Well pete to be fair I can see where you are coming from but Id like to think i would have said something about it. It really is pretty bad to withdraw a guarentee and I would have insisted on getting my stake back.

The thing was no-one actually mentioned the prize fund till we got 3 handed and at that stage myself and another guy had very healthy stacks and the third player was short and happy to get 130 for his efforts and I suppose the fact that I was pretty much certain of 200 and wasnt taking the ticket anyway also aided in my silence about the guarantee. I know this is no excuse and Im in no way defending the withdrawal of the guarantee, Im just painting the picture of what actually happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭max_power

Pretty poor show not meeting the guarantee, bad for the reputation, something which is really imprtant in getting and edge in a diluted market. Can't understand why people didn't complain.

I appreciate all the comments made here, as a player I would have been disappointed with the withdrawel of 1 of the 3 tickets available but also I would be more understanding that it would be a pointless waste of resources to have paid out the third ticket. The attendance was dismal, helped by the fact that only 2 of 16 players who pre-booked a seat showed up and few gave notice of this.

Nine players showed up thus giving a prizepool of €450. The tickets amounted to €990. I took the hit on the second ticket and cancelled the third ticket (ultimately the wrong thing to do but it had to be done). The reg collected amounted to €90 which went straight to the pot. I paid €100 in dealer wages out of my own pocket and the additional €110 to the pot myself.

I absolutely agree with the dissappointment but I think some people should look somewhat realistically on this. Eoghan104 - I know you've been waiting for something like this to happen - and here's your opportunity.....

I can only apologise for only 2 thirds meeting the guarantee, and hope that those who are happy with the way I run tournaments will continue to play. This, I would argue, was the ONLY problem (although a critical one) with the tournament all day.

It would also be helpful to know which other thread this was mentioned on, so as to address any issues raised.

John - PokerJacks

(For clarity sake Peter, the tip you left for the dealer was paid in full to Kevin and was greatly appreciated)

[

I absolutely agree with the dissappointment but I think some people should look somewhat realistically on this. Eoghan104 - I know you've been waiting for something like this to happen - and here's your opportunity.....

Look if anyone else like JP or GJP had put up a guarantee and not met it then there would be people giving out all over the place. Its just a lesson for you to learn not to do a guarantee again. The whole point of guaranteeing a prizepool is to boost numbers because people know the minimum they will be playing for and theres a chance of an overlay. To just not meet a guarantee is a joke in fairness.

Im not trying to get at you but I hope for your sake you learn from the mistake. Its hard to build a good reputation in poker, by not honouring a guarantee its gonna be almost impossible.

Look if anyone else like JP or GJP had put up a guarantee and not met it then there would be people giving out all over the place. Its just a lesson for you to learn not to do a guarantee again. The whole point of guaranteeing a prizepool is to boost numbers because people know the minimum they will be playing for and theres a chance of an overlay. To just not meet a guarantee is a joke in fairness.

Im not trying to get at you but I hope for your sake you learn from the mistake. Its hard to build a good reputation in poker, by not honouring a guarantee its gonna be almost impossible.

I appreciate this, but where I'm asking for an understanding is that the likes of GJP, JP or the likes of the Casinos in town can afford the overlay. I'm the first to hold my hands up and say that I made a mistake in offering a guaranteed prizepool, as in the end I was shocked by the turnout (as a player, because of the structure alone and price) and eventually made the decision that I really couldn't justify putting up the cash for the third ticket.

I assure you that I have learned from my mistake..

Can you also tell me which thread (or link it here) where you saw mention of this tournament elsewhere? I wish to answer all concerns regarding this.

I appreciate this, but where I'm asking for an understanding is that the likes of GJP, JP or the likes of the Casinos in town can afford the overlay. I'm the first to hold my hands up and say that I made a mistake in offering a guaranteed prizepool, as in the end I was shocked by the turnout (as a player, because of the structure alone and price) and eventually made the decision that I really couldn't justify putting up the cash for the third ticket.

I assure you that I have learned from my mistake..

Can you also tell me which thread (or link it here) where you saw mention of this tournament elsewhere? I wish to answer all concerns regarding this.
    It was just the Tourney Discussion Thread where Taxipete said he won that it came up but wasnt discussed.

Thats fair enough that your not a big business and you couldt afford to meet the guarantee this time. Its understandable and I for one wouldnt hold it against you in the future but some might. You did the right thing to come on and explain yourself so as long as you dont make the same mistake again theres no real harm done I wouldnt imagine.

i'm pretty sure both GJP and JP Poker and Vegas Nights cut their teeth in the industry getting punters to their games by offering Guarantees. Vegas nights ran feeders to their first €10,000 GTD game a few years ago and I know nick lost money on that, JP offered a €10,000 GTD to a heads up tourney on his first big weekend game out in tallaght, think he lost money on that but got punters in the door to play the MTT game.

all these organisers have lost money on certain events. I'm pretty sure GJP lose money on feeder sats and guarantees in feeders but it builds a player base.

if you had gotten 40+ runners would you have decided to give us all back our reg fee? no. its a business, sometimes businesses lose money. if you put up a 990 guarantee then for that one event your potential losses are 990... it shouldnt be a case of i'll guarantee 990 and if i only take in 600 i'll just wipe 390...

eoghan has been quite forgiving, to be honest. but i'll put it to you this way, you offered a guarantee, i was going to play that game at the weekend (but had to go to a wedding :( ) and if 3 people turn up i was thinking WOOOO free ticket, i go to games wioth guarantees hoping there'll be small numbers, hoping there'll be an overlay... whether the organiser makes money or loses money is not my concern.

take winners card club in crumlin, joint venture between vegas nights and JP Poker, they have had 2k guaranteed every friday for WEEKS now , they have easily lost 5k on that game, and then they have offered 10k every friday for feb, on which they have lost at least another €5k, but they're getting more and more runners every week. that club will make them a fortune in time... if they cut their guarantees and came on here and apologised 95% of players wouldnt go back. you must remember that boards is a tiny % of your market, apologising to the tiny % will still leave the others pissed off... i know you have acknowledged the mistake but you may need to do more than that to succeed. JP and VN succeed cos they put their money where their mouth was and swam through the **** and came out smelling like roses... now JP is running the IRISH MASTERS , he'll make a FORTUNE on that, and fair play to him...

Thats all well and good Jeff, but I'm not stupid either.

The fact that Boards is a distinctivey low % of players puts me somewhat at ease, as I think poker players in general are more forgiving. Most of them don't need a soap box from which to shout (I refer to your complaint about the dealers uniforms at the Party Poker event being different colours!?!?!?!FFS, that's laughable). Word of mouth is huge in the business and that's where I'll take the hardest hit.

I had intended taking the hit on the loss had only the pre-registered players turned up, as I was hopeful of making some money back on cash tables etc. The turnout was too low to supply a cash table with any players.

The fact that you go into clubs in town and they can make a loss is, frankly, irrelevant here, as I run 1 pub poker game a week, which does not have the same facilities of making back losses as casinos or card clubs. Poker games in casinos are largely loss leaders - getting people through the door with the hope that they'll play table games and cash games which would enable the club to recoup losses.

I'm embarassed at what happened, but I couldn't justify the third ticket, because the turnout was so low my paying the third ticket wouldn't have created any positive publicity.

My main goal has never been to make large profits off the back of players. I am totally committed to improving structure and the game in the hope I might make a few euro over time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,502 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

The fact that Boards is a distinctivey low % of players puts me somewhat at ease, as I think poker players in general are more forgiving. Most of them don't need a soap box from which to shout (I refer to your complaint about the dealers uniforms at the Party Poker event being different colours!?!?!?!FFS, that's laughable). Word of mouth is huge in the business and that's where I'll take the hardest hit.

I had intended taking the hit on the loss had only the pre-registered players turned up, as I was hopeful of making some money back on cash tables etc. The turnout was too low to supply a cash table with any players.

The fact that you go into clubs in town and they can make a loss is, frankly, irrelevant here, as I run 1 pub poker game a week, which does not have the same facilities of making back losses as casinos or card clubs. Poker games in casinos are largely loss leaders - getting people through the door to play table games and cash games.

I'm embarassed at what happened, but I couldn't justify the third ticket, because the turnout was so low my paying the third ticket would have created any positive publicity.

By the sounds of it, you need to do something else as a nixer then. In the live gambling environment your word counts for an awful, awful lot. You shouldn't have guaranteed that ticket if there was ever a question in your mind that you weren't going to payout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Theresalwaysone

The fact that Boards is a distinctivey low % of players puts me somewhat at ease, as I think poker players in general are more forgiving. Most of them don't need a soap box from which to shout (I refer to your complaint about the dealers uniforms at the Party Poker event being different colours!?!?!?!FFS, that's laughable). This is petty, stupid and needless. Grow up. Word of mouth is huge in the business and that's where I'll take the hardest hit.

The fact that you go into clubs in town and they can make a loss is, frankly, irrelevant here, as I run 1 pub poker game a week, which does not have the same facilities of making back losses as casinos or card clubs. Poker games in casinos are largely loss leaders - getting people through the door with the hope that they'll play table games and cash games which would enable the club to recoup losses.

I'm embarassed at what happened, but I couldn't justify the third ticket, because the turnout was so low my paying the third ticket wouldn't have created any positive publicity.

My main goal has never been to make large profits off the back of players. I am totally committed to improving structure and the game in the hope I might make a few euro over time.

This is a joke. Ive only seen it now. Pulling a guarantee is a complete disgrace. It is false advertising, dishonest business and will only cost you in the long run.

You said the cost of the third ticket would not have created any positive publicity....flawed thinking considering the fact that you pulled it is going to cause you undue problems with future events and guarantees.

You sir have all the business acumen of a plank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,405 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Winner is Crumlin is funded purely by poker, they have no affiliation whatsoever from the table games AFAIK, Im sure he will confirm, so this is no excuse.
    This line is best not used imo. please dont patronise us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Tinytony

I played at a new card club in West Limerick last week where their 2nd 1k Gt'd €50 f/o only got 10 runners (mainly due to a big monthly game being held in one of the hotels), but their was never any question that the fella running the club wouldn't pay out the full 1k. So we basically got to play a €100 f/o for half the price.

It creates a bit of goodwill amongst the players and word will also spread about the overlay and good value and I'm pretty sure it'll be the last Friday night that there will be an overlay there.

Tinytony wrote: »
    I played at a new card club in West Limerick last week where their 2nd 1k Gt'd €50 f/o only got 10 runners (mainly due to a big monthly game being held in one of the hotels), but their was never any question that the fella running the club wouldn't pay out the full 1k. So we basically got to play a €100 f/o for half the price.

It creates a bit of goodwill amongst the players and word will also spread about the overlay and good value and I'm pretty sure it'll be the last Friday night that there will be an overlay there.

I've no doubt he did.

Please refer to my last post with regard to clubs/casinos and established poker companies vs me.

This line is best not used imo. please dont patronise us.

I've no idea who you are or you're involvement with this, I'm not trying to patronise anybody. Players can choose whether or not to accept my appology.

I won't be further drawn on any issue I've already addressed.

You sir have all the business acumen of a plank.

GFY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭thechamp87

GFY

wow, well worded response. well thought out. as i said already, pulling the ticket is a disgrace and for you to say that you are all for better structures is bs. if i was the guy in third you would be paying me my 330€.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Tinytony

I've no doubt he did.

Please refer to my last post with regard to clubs/casinos and established poker companies vs me.

This is a new poker only club not really a casino. I know you were put in tough a spot but so was this fella on Friday night, he could have said sure just play away amongst yourselves lads and we'll have the tournament next week, instead he put his hand in his pocket and forked over €500 as it will (hopefully) be good for the club in the long term.

Tinytony wrote: »
    This is a new poker only club not really a casino. I know you were put in tough a spot but so was this fella on Friday night, he could have said sure just play away amongst yourselves lads and we'll have the tournament next week, instead he put his hand in his pocket and forked over €500 as it will (hopefully) be good for the club in the long term.

I have accepted that I was wrong, people seem to be debating with me. Unfortunately, as a student, I couldn't justify handing over the extra cash. I don't really care about bad publicity on here to be honest. I've made one mistake and all of a sudden players are trying to bury me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Theresalwaysone

GFY

Cyber-Needle