Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where Are You Going On Holidays This Year?

• 04-02-2008 3:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭

My family go to spain every year, like lots of other Irish familys, you arrive at a hotel that looks nothing like the brochure, everything about the place is horrible. You sit at a pool all day, and then watch your parents drink at the pub all night, now this is an Irish pub that looks exactly like the one back home. This process is repeated throughout the two weeks with a visit to an over packed water park in the second week.

I want to go somewhere more colder this year, i was thinking a ski holiday. But prices seen to be very high, has anyone been on a ski holiday? And where is everyone going away to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Been on loads of ski holidays. Try Zakopane or Argentiere, both nice and not pricey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

Im going to trabolgan cork
    http://www.trabolgan.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I was skiing for Christmas. You can't beat Austria for the apres ski. I'm going again for Easter. Then I'm off to NZ in April with 3 weeks in Malaysia on the way. Will do trips over there e.g .skiing in queenstown for a week, a month in Autralia and Chrismtas in Fiji. It's a good year for me travelwise!

It's funny we never went on sun holidays when we were kids. My parents piled us in the car and we drove around loads of different places in Europe. I'm actually quite grateful now, I've seen a lot Europe I wouldn't have seen otherwise. I'm still not a big fan of just going to the sun for a week. I'm a bit of a tourist and like to see things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

watna wrote: »
    I was skiing for Christmas. You can't beat Austria for the apres ski. I'm going again for Easter. Then I'm off to NZ in April with 3 weeks in Malaysia on the way. Will do trips over there e.g .skiing in queenstown for a week, a month in Autralia and Chrismtas in Fiji. It's a good year for me travelwise!

It's funny we never went on sun holidays when we were kids. My parents piled us in the car and we drove around loads of different places in Europe. I'm actually quite grateful now, I've seen a lot Europe I wouldn't have seen otherwise. I'm still not a big fan of just going to the sun for a week. I'm a bit of a tourist and like to see things.
    Did it cost much going on a skiing holiday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    Did it cost much going on a skiing holiday?

It's pretty expensive. My parents own an apartment over there though and we have all our gear etc and don't need lessons so it's not too expensive for me. It's not a cheap holiday by any means though. I haven't gone on a proper package week in a few years but I believe bulgaria is good for cheaper holidays. My friend invited me on a trip this year that was gong to cost €1500. I laughed hollowly!

Maybe try the travel or winter sports forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

watna wrote: »
    It's pretty expensive. My parents own an apartment over there though and we have all our gear etc so it'w not expesive for me. It's not a cheap holiday by any means. I haven't gone on a proper package week in a few years but I believe bulgaria is good for cheaper holidays. Maybe try the travel or winter sports forum?
    Cheers thanks :D

Family wedding, Ibiza

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭Deliverance XXV

I wont be going anywhere this year....

If I went another lads holiday, I would be shot. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭armour87

Crete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,037 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Poland in March- Easter is bigger than Christmas there.
    Then Prague in July for 2 days, onto germany for 2 days and then Poland again for another 12 days or so. The first few days in Poland we're going to visit some friends and we'll go to a gun range, go quad biking and spend time in the countryside. The second week some friends of ours are flying over from Dublin and we're gonna take them to Krakow and Zakopane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

NY in 3 weeks
    Sun holiday hopefully in June
    Then who knows

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭da1&only

Heading to Lake Orta in Italy for the first week in june for my brothers wedding,then heading to thailand for the rest of the month to meet freinds over there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Probably Amsterdam in March!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I'm hoping to get away to the Antartic later on this year, but we'll see if I can be arsed organising it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

new york in april, dubai in may , and lanzarote in june, i do like the perks to my job!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Just back from NY.
    Off to Argentina in a few weeks.

No holidays or money left over to go skiing this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Rugby tour to China in march for me. Can't wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,363 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Possibly Lanzarote in March for a bit of a chill-out with the girlfriend. And a whole new adventure in August...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Canada in May, a few more places on the list this year too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

No plans yet, possibly spain over the next 6 months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

My flight leaves for Thailand in less than 12 hours - woohooo!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I never go on holiday

I can't afford it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭byrner88

crete for 2 weeks 33 of us staying in the same apartments cant wait ta get away from this kip for a while ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Was in NY in January for NY, now going to Egypt on March 6th, then probably France for a week and then two weeks in Portugal in August and will hopefully get a snowboarding trip in at the end of the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

byrner88 wrote: »
    crete for 2 weeks 33 of us staying in the same apartments cant wait ta get away from this kip for a while ha
    Hersonissos I presume?

I really wouldn't be calling Ireland a kip until you've got there, then you'll know exactly what a kip is. Good for a studenty type holiday as the price certainly reflects the quality of the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

Going to jam in the dam in March, westport during the summer and Florida in september or so.

I'm sure i'll add something else too. I didn't do anything major last year so am making up for it somewhat :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Mrs. MacGyver

Amsterdam next week. Canada in the last 2 weeks of March. Cumbria last week of February. Roscommon in July.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,397 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

Amsterdam for me too next week. Berlin and Moscow in March.

Don't know where to go in the summer yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Bros123

Lanzarote,first time going.Anyone been?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Thinkin about Bali or Vanuatu in October, might have a weekend break over in Sydney or Melbourne. Saving for a three hloiday next Feb though......in Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

In April.. Memphis, Vegas, Grand Canyon, Death Valley, Los Angeles.

London a couple of weekends during the year.

Possibly Thailand later in the year, haven't decided yet.

Slim chance I'll be going skiing for Xmas, but might just stay at home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Jaysus, yis all have a great life! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Slovenia the end of this month, NY the end of March, Rotterdam & Antwerp shortly after that, and Canada just after the summer. Wedding to shoot in Scotland too, I'll take an extra few days over there I reckon. Couple of trips to London I guess. :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Beaches!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭byrner88

rb_ie wrote: »
    Hersonissos I presume?

I really wouldn't be calling Ireland a kip until you've got there, then you'll know exactly what a kip is. Good for a studenty type holiday as the price certainly reflects the quality of the place.

ye well stayin in piskapiano. ha ive bein ther before, well i did pay €750 for 2 weeks so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

New Zealand to see a mate who emigrated there. London definitely. Need to get a bit of sunshine too. I'm fortunate enough to get six weeks holidays a year, always too busy to take them all though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Fajitas! wrote:
    Slovenia the end of this month, NY the end of March, Rotterdam & Antwerp shortly after that, and Canada just after the summer. Wedding to shoot in Scotland too, I'll take an extra few days over there I reckon. Couple of trips to London I guess.
    Damn your photography Al :p

Well for me I'm off to Gdansk in about 3 weeks, Berlin in April, maybe Holland in June, Ars Electronica in Linz in September, and Bali for Christmas. Gdansk/Berlin only for a few days though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

Off to the red sea on this baby for a week scuba diving...>>
    http://www.dolphinswims.co.uk/dive/dive_tb/dive_hurricane/hurricane.jpg

then san francisco,vegas and florida in sept!!

Happy days!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,729 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Mexico in july, berlin in 3 weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,037 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

rb_ie wrote: »
    Was in NY in January for NY, now going to Egypt on March 6th, then probably France for a week and then two weeks in Portugal in August and will hopefully get a snowboarding trip in at the end of the year.

Ehhhh rb, how the hell do you have the time to go to so many places?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Niamho!

going to Lanzarote on Sunday Week! yay! just for a week.

then im away to Mallorca for a week in May with the Fambly. that wont be too mad but a good laugh all the same.

then there'll possibly be one in Sept but not sure about that one yet.

oh... and supposedly NY in November but thats not 100% Either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

Thailand, Thailand, Thailand.

Only back from three and a half weeks over there for xmas and the new year, and will gladly sacrifice all my holidays during the year for the same thing this xmas.
    Unbeatably beautiful place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 ajbrowne

Dahab in Egypt. Very cheap with awesome diving. Then on to Jordan, Syria, Turkey and Greece. Then back home to Australia!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Conar

JCDUB wrote: »
    Thailand, Thailand, Thailand.

Only back from three and a half weeks over there for xmas and the new year, and will gladly sacrifice all my holidays during the year for the same thing this xmas.
    Unbeatably beautiful place.

I'll be going to Koh Samui in 5 weeks.
    Getting married there on the beach then on to an island resort in Malaysia for the remainder of the honeymoon.

Can't wait!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭big_show

San Diego on the J1 for the summer, can't wait! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Featherl

Maybe Italy in Summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭s_carnage

Just back from skiing so can't even think of more holidays for a while yet.

Well maybe Moscow for the champions league final!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭yaynay

Just got back for a week in Lanzarote. Getting married in Mauritius this August, heading to Dubai for honeymoon then off the Disneyland Paris for a week at Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Mexico, theres no better way to clean your system than a dodgy taco from a street vendor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

Either Iceland or the Shetland Islands... and a few days here and there around Ireland. Lying on a beach is my idea of hell. I'm a go-see-something person. Each to their own, I suppose...