Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beautiful women with ugly guys

• 04-02-2008 1:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭

OK Carla Bruni is a beautiful woman.
    Nicolas Sarkozy isn't a beautiful man. Some might even call him ugly.
    The two got hitched there recently as ye probably know.

Why do beautiful woman go out with average-looking men.
    (In the above case i'm guessing power is a big factor- i could be wrong).
    But how common is this actual phenomenon.

And what exactly are the attributes that such women look for in men if it's not looks...
    Is it humour/personality/generosity/compassion/financial security/intelligence or the aforementioned power?

Edit: OK let's get the "big c**k" response out of the way early. :)
    Although its validity may well be worth discussing as well. :p

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Simple,they like the money and Power.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭MoominPapa

As usual Sparks have the answer: http://youtube.com/watch?v=2_J2uIC7IOg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

I think Sarkozy is kind of handsome. Now, if you had of said someone like Van Morrison......I'd know what ya meant :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

cause their well endowed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

actually it's alot simpler than that, all guys are ugly and most girls are pretty beautiful.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

cos boys are shallow and girls are not, we look for the inner beauty:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭DaBreno

First you get the money, then you power and then you get the women

[\Scarface]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

MordÜff wrote: »
    actually it's alot simpler than that, all guys are ugly
    Speak for yourself, I'm a vision of loveliness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

^hmm... inner beauty of a bank account?????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

DaBreno wrote: »

[\Scarface]

Kinda made sense for the time i guess.
    But is this not a bit antiquated now what with the whole Girl Power/predatory female :rolleyes: thing.
    Scarface would be turning in his grave. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

tech77 wrote: »
    Kinda made sense for the time i guess.
    But is this not a bit antiquated now what with the whole Girl Power/predatory female :rolleyes: thing.
    Not really, powerful women tend to be attracted to even more powerful men, not losers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

money.

agamemnon wrote: »
    Not really, powerful women tend to be attracted to even more powerful men, not losers.

no, there is a certain type of woman attracted to money and its nothing to do with her own power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

no, there is a certain type of woman attracted to money and its nothing to do with her own power.

I dont think its the money, she has her own money she may attracted to the status and the power of these men I believe previous beau's of hers also include trump

but for the women who just like money in their men and thats all try
    www.sugardaddie.com/
    You'll find my profile there.

Rob_l wrote: »
    I dont think its the money, she has her own money she may attracted to the status and the power of these men I believe previous beau's of hers also include trump

but for the women who just like money in their men and thats all try
    www.sugardaddie.com/
    You'll find my profile there.

indeed, I was talking more in general than in this situation. I dont think Sarkozy is ugly really, quite good looking for a man of his age. Not my thing but I could see how she would be attracted to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭Baudelaire

Admitedly there are some women that date for money/status but you can't tar everyone with the same brush, some do actually date because the like the person. I've dated people that I didn't initally consider attractive but I viewed them in a different light as I got to know them. To assume attraction is solely based on looks is pretty shallow :rolleyes:

Baudelaire wrote: »
    Admitedly there are some women that date for money/status but you can't tar everyone with the same brush, some do actually date because the like the person. I've dated people that I didn't initally consider attractive but I viewed them in a different light as I got to know them. To assume attraction is solely based on looks is pretty shallow :rolleyes:

yeah yeah yeah to assume makes an ass out of u and me

but lets be honest a high percentage of women who date older wealthy men do it for the money status and security these are their driving attraction factors.

They get to know them because they have money they would never get to know them if they had no money eh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭ven0m

Where Carla Bruni is concerned, it is true. She is a leech. She always latches herself to very rich guys who are ugly (Mick Jagger & her current husband amongst many!).

The true telling of her is with the recent lawsuit by her & Nicholas against Ryanair, Sarkozy only wanted €1 in damages, withdrawl of the ad & an apology ... what did Carla want? €10,000 in damages ....... woman is a friggin leech & talentless to boot ...... her only talent would appear to being semi-pretty & probably being good in the sack ......

:::: ven0mous ::::

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

ven0m wrote: »
    probably being good in the sack ......

Still a good talent in my book

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Wouldn't really stop to think about it, but I do remember once in the cinema a good looking woman, dressed up and all made up, was holding hands with this fat, balding guy dressed like a knacker. Both me and the girlfriend were staring at them and both looked at each other once they sat down as if to say 'How did that happen....'

yeah yeah yeah to assume makes an ass out of u and me

but lets be honest a high percentage of women who date older wealthy men do it for the money status and security these are their driving attraction factors.

They get to know them because they have money they would never get to know them if they had no money eh!

I already agreed that there is a certain amount of women that do date for money/status but not all women are with their partner for that alone or even for that at all, if anything this is begining to sound like you resent these women simply because you're unlikely to have the status to attract them. I'd wonder if you were rich enough to be able to afford them would you still find them so dispicable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭BigBenRoeth

Money,Power,Respect,like multiple female Scarfaces :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

Not to sound big-headed here but.....;)

i have dated 2 stunning women in my day. And i am in no way good-looking but i am able to talk the hind legs of a donkey and give good head so, power, money and all that **** is crap. It depends on the persson what they consider attractive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Orlee

As far as I'm concerned - personality is what it's all about. End of story!

If you find someone with a wonderful personality that your really click with then that's what you become attracted to (IMO)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I find that my vast fortune encourages women to search for the wonderful personality that lurks somewhere beneath the surface of my ugly exterior.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

It's simple. It's very rare to find very good looking guys with very good personalities. Guys who are not-so-very-good-looking have to work harder & give women the attention and time they crave.

Women, on the other hand, will be b*tches no matter what they look like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I just dont know what my 'asolutley gorgeous page 3 , looks like a hollywood goddess with a fcuk off body ' ever saw in such an ugly fellah like me .I ask her every day and all i get is this masive pearly whites smile .

Tis no wonder i have to have the shades on:cool: when she gazing at me ,such lovliness .......sigh :rolleyes: ;)

I already agreed that there is a certain amount of women that do date for money/status but not all women are with their partner for that alone or even for that at all, if anything this is begining to sound like you resent these women simply because you're unlikely to have the status to attract them. I'd wonder if you were rich enough to be able to afford them would you still find them so dispicable.

huh were is my resentment?

was merely stating what I believe attracts in these situations!(you know this is a discussion board)

I find it no more objectionable than men judging women's suitability on their physical appearance ie big breast slim waist, neither would be my preferred method of choosing a mate but I see no problem should they be your qualifying factors.

but thanks for your amateur psychology bit but I wouldn't go giving up the day job eh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

g'em wrote: »
    It's simple. It's very rare to find very good looking guys with very good personalities. Guys who are not-so-very-good-looking have to work harder & give women the attention and time they crave.

Women, on the other hand, will be b*tches no matter what they look like.

I'd go along with this.

huh were is my resentment?

was merely stating what I believe attracts in these situations!(you know this is a discussion board)

I find it no more objectionable than men judging women's suitability on their physical appearance ie big breast slim waist, neither would be my preferred method of choosing a mate but I see no problem should they be your qualifying factors.

but thanks for your amateur psychology bit but I wouldn't go giving up the day job eh.

And I was merely stating that I think you're wrong

I never mentioned my "qualifying factors" for how I chose who I date but they certainly aren't what you have typed there :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

maybe because there's nothing more offputting than a very good looking man who knows he's good looking, and good looking men I've come across always know it and love themselves, and are incredibly boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

maybe the guys are handsome when couples start going out initially but then the girlfriend, over the space of a few hours or days, zapped all the good looks from the guy out of PURE SPITE! or something

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I'm glad i'm not goodlooking ;)

I never mentioned my "qualifying factors" for how I chose who I date but they certainly aren't what you have typed there :rolleyes:

Im afraid your wrong you weren't merely stating anything what you said was and it seems to me to be judgemental not argumentative.

So here it is judge for yourself!
    if anything this is begining to sound like you resent these women simply because you're unlikely to have the status to attract them. I'd wonder if you were rich enough to be able to afford them would you still find them so dispicable.

I never said, nor in any way did I try to state they were despicable.

I never brought my status into it.

I used the "qualifying factors" statement with an if clause by using "should", using it as a counterpoint to women who pick men for money or status neither was judgemental.

Your remarks about me are on the other hand what? eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Hoojah Nickabolokov

Ah sweet money. Right up there with oxygen.
    DaBreno wrote: »

[\Scarface]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Attack the post, not the poster.

Im afraid your wrong you weren't merely stating anything what you said was and it seems to me to be judgemental not argumentative.

So here it is judge for yourself!

I never said, nor in any way did I try to state they were despicable.

I never brought my status into it.

I used the "qualifying factors" statement with an if clause by using "should", using it as a counterpoint to women who pick men for money or status neither was judgemental.

Your remarks about me are on the other hand what? eh?

That statement was directed at everybody posting not just you, it's not my fault if you were the only one that identified with it and what's with ending every post with "eh", is it meant to emphasize your point or something?

Terry wrote: »
    Attack the post, not the poster.

Thats all I did, this part of the post was directed at him:
    I already agreed that there is a certain amount of women that do date for money/status but not all women are with their partner for that alone or even for that at all,

Maybe I made a mistake not putting the next part on a new line but hey shoot me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

watna wrote: »
    maybe because there's nothing more offputting than a very good looking man who knows he's good looking, and good looking men I've come across always know it and love themselves, and are incredibly boring.

The exact same could be said about women! But what is worse is average looking women who think that they are good looking and walk around acting like divas thinking that they are goods gift to men with their ridiculous high standards! There are way to many of them in this country, it's quite sad really, thank god for multicultural diversity :p

That statement was directed at everybody posting not just you, it's not my fault if you were the only one that identified with it and what's with ending every post with "eh", is it meant to emphasize your point or something?

Are you upset now and trying to find fault with something else about me?

eh? :D

Raekwon wrote: »
    The exact same could be said about women! But what is worse is average looking women who think that they are good looking and walk around acting like divas thinking that they are goods gift to men with their ridiculous high standards! There are way to many of them in this country, it's quite sad really, thank god for multicultural diversity :p

good god man dont make this another polish women are hot thread!

I must also state here for the record you and I must not be going to the same places because I never have problems wiht Irish girls seeming stuck up in fact quite the opposite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

I guess, contrary to popular belief, all good looking women are not actually that shallow. Sure you'll find women (of all degrees of "hotness") going for a man for his money but there are plenty of women who go out with not so good looking men who don't have a lot of money so personality and attractiveness (which is a very subjective thing btw) obviously play a part.

Really not that hard to comprehend tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,005 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

MordÜff wrote: »
    actually it's alot simpler than that, all guys are ugly and most girls are pretty beautiful.

touché Morduff...touché

Are you upset now and trying to find fault with something else about me?

eh? :D

I'm never upset :p seriously though it was intended to be directed at everyone so I apoligise if you took it up that it was directed solely at you. I'll have to work on my punctuation eh? :D

good god man dont make this another polish women are hot thread!

I must also state here for the record you and I must not be going to the same places because I never have problems wiht Irish girls seeming stuck up in fact quite the opposite

That was never my intention, I was just trying to balance the argument alittle and put things into perspective. Btw just for the record I don't rate Polish women at all, they are just slim Irish women that speak a different language ;)

As for your choice in nightspots, it wouldn't matter if you went to Krystal or Parnell Mooney's, you would still be faced with the same delusional attitudes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I read in a book called "50 facts that should change the world" that men want youthful women as they represent fertility and women want guys who are rich and poweful as they confer status and security.

Would appear both Sarkozy and Carla get their desires then.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

To grossly oversimplify -

Males look for fertility in a mate, and physical appearance is tied into how fertility is perceived.

Females look for a mate who is capable of providing for and protecting them. Power, money, strength of personality and so on are tied into this (in Homosapiens anyway!).

Me man, you sex slave. Grrrr!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

Big wallet/Big cock.

It's not rocket science.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31 NortSoide

Well ... I wouldn't get too excited about it all.

Just like our 'Dig-Out' Latchico, this Sarkosy guy has not been doing his job properly and running his country properly for the last number of months. Too busy roidin the hole off that oompa loompa I guess.

Of course, as soon as she gets bored with him, she'll just f*ck him there and run off with some other uglier lookin c*ck.

That's what lots a wimmin do, isn't it !!!

And, let's not talk about great 'persoanlity' either : ya can't roide 'personality' ...

I think the best thing for us men to do is just to follow the 4 F's ... Find em, Feed em, F*ck em n Forget em ... ;)