Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Detested Words

• 04-02-2008 4:10am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭

Please stop saying the following immediately
    Awesome
    Whatever
    Legend
    Quality
    I'll think of some more later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

your ma?

edit: also

Yank
    Refugee
    QFT
    NTM
    Radical
    Gnarly
    Totally
    Gob
    Yoke
    Langer
    Skanger
    Bloke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭RINO87

ointment.

the word is disgusting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Moist
    Fascist when people pronounce it 'fassist'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Banter. I hate that word so much, mainly because of its use by D4 types when describing the rugger or scoops in the Pav.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Bling, thank you very much, MTV Hippity hop or whatever they call that tripe these days or them rapper fellas. Down with this sort of thing! Boo hiss!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭Jrad

Never been a big fan of it being referred to as a f@nny!

Boo Hiss!

FTW!

Boo Hiss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

Minge.

/shudders

Stargal wrote: »
    Minge.

/shudders

Ha ha genitalia is always guaranteed to be on this list. Friend of mine hates the word 'prick' with a passion. Love saying it to him!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Random.
    As in "That is so random."
    Which used to be the stock phrase of American idiots ten years ago, but is the stock phrase of Australian idiots right now.
    And g'day. **** off with your g'day wanker. Its not a ****ing g'day. I have to work.

So **** you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭Jrad

Stargal wrote: »
    Minge.

/shudders

Nah i like that one, its one of the funny ones like snapper, ham wallet or septic axe wound.

Random.
    As in "That is so random."
    Which used to be the stock phrase of American idiots ten years ago, but is the stock phrase of Australian idiots right now.
    And g'day. **** off with your g'day wanker. Its not a ****ing g'day. I have to work.

So **** you!

Ha ha too true

P.s. Big Day Out was unreal. Second row from the front of the pit for RATM :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Ha ha too true

P.s. Big Day Out was unreal. Second row from the front of the pit for RATM :D

U lucky bastard! We had no hope of getting so close, arriving to the main stages as we did so close to Bjork being over. but it still ruled. Couldnt believe rage. they looked the same as when they broke up. I hope you caught Nightwatchman, I have to pick up that album now!
    Still though. 3 queues before u line up the booze.... that wasnt on at all!

U lucky bastard! We had no hope of getting so close, arriving to the main stages as we did so close to Bjork being over. but it still ruled. Couldnt believe rage. they looked the same as when they broke up. I hope you caught Nightwatchman, I have to pick up that album now!
    Still though. 3 queues before u line up the booze.... that wasnt on at all!

Didn't catch the Nightwatchman cause I got into the pit just before Grinspoon and wasn't losing my spot. Plus it clashed with Arcade Fire and I had to see them.

If you go onto youtube and type in 'Guerilla Radio' and look for the latest upload you should see my vid. I was so close it was unreal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Oy, you Ozzie bastards! Stay on topic! :p
    (even if it is the umteenth time this thread appeared somewhere or other on Boards!)

Well, my standard response to it: I absolutely and sincerely detest the use of the word 'slut' as applied to a woman ... any woman. (Don't mind it being applied to guys, in fact I've used it about myself many's the time!)
    Xavi6 wrote: »
    Friend of mine hates the word 'prick' with a passion. Love saying it to him!
    He got issues? 0_o

I love my 'prick', thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Bleeding
    Bi-atch
    Muppeh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

Inflammatory...

Monday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

"Next" as uttered by shop assistants instead of "Thank you".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

Myth wrote: »
    Monday.

Mondays not too bad its an anagram of Don May...

http://www.donmay.org/

Ahhh classic hits such as "Daddy Loved his son" and that old chestnut "What do you do with your tears"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

Bugger
    Bill
    Mortgage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

Savage, as in Friday night in Kielys is savage.

Cunt, when said by a woman. It's alright from a bloke.

Meh. My younger brother uses it to answer questions. Could cheerfully push that lazy fcuker out in front of a bus. Might get a reaction from him. Plus it's not a word, just a grunt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Why the C word of course (That's the see you next Tuesday word). I can't explain why but like most girls I truly hate it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

No one can use jelly and banana in the same sentence from here on in 'cause I said so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

Overheal wrote: »
    Radical
    Gnarly

people still use these?

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

Chillax and also Wizard (unless mentioned in the same breath as the word sleeve)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Wait for it... wait... almost... almost there...

WASSSSSSSSUUUPPPPPPPPPP?!?!?!?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Pussy. Pussy is the most irksome of genitalia words for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Jfla

Pikey, For jesus sake the word is kNacker! Dubliners seem to use the word a lot. Ever since snatch came out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Niamho!

Clobber - when someones reffering to someones Clothes. makes me cringe.
    Chillax - luckily i havent heard this all that often.

....oh there'll be loads more im sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Mrs. D'arcy

cuddle
    panties

I hate even having to type them...horrible words

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

WindSock wrote: »
    Pussy. Pussy is the most irksome of genitalia words for me.

You would prefer something like welly-top to it?

Anything, clowns pocket, wizards sleeve, anything but pussy.
    Pussy = pus. ugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Like and went.

Surprising, eh? Random, eh? Well, check out the following conversation:

Girl1: And I went like, 'That's totally [another one] crap'. And he went like, 'I'm serious'. And I went like...

Girl2: I had to go to like the shops. So I got up at like 7.30. It was like already dark. And it was like raining. So I went to my mum, 'I'm totally not going out in that'. And she went, 'Well you have totally [ironic use] have to. Like.'

I am like totally fed up with those bimbo films that like brought that stuff into our culture. Like. Totally. Whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭buckieburd

Vadginal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

watna wrote: »
    Why the C word of course (That's the see you next Tuesday word). I can't explain why but like most girls I truly hate it!

I agree. It's just a horrible horrible word with no redeeming qualities. It's never funny and I find it very offensive.

(and I'm very easy-going :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭A.Partridge

Dude

...I find this to be commonly used on Boards and Adverts and it conjures up the image of some hippy bloke on 'Scooby Doo'.

As far as I am concerned the only acceptable use of the word Dude is on the script for The Big Lebowski...a genuine forum of 'dudism'.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

Gaylords on rte pronouncing issue as iss-ue....when it should be ishoo.

STOP DOING THAT!!!

I heard Anne Doyle pronounce sexual as "sex-ual" on the news the other day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

Dude

...I find this to be commonly used on Boards and Adverts and it conjures up the image of some hippy bloke on 'Scooby Doo'.

As far as I am concerned the only acceptable use of the word Dude is on the script for The Big Lebowski...a genuine forum of 'dudism'.:D

Agreed - it's sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Gaylords on rte pronouncing issue as iss-ue....when it should be ishoo.

STOP DOING THAT!!!

I heard Anne Doyle pronounce sexual as "sex-ual" on the news the other day.

Ooh, Ruu would like that, he has a bit of an Anne Doyle thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭fatboypee

Indeeyud.

Pyyyyooooooojoe

Merseeeeeedezzzzz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

WindSock wrote: »
    ... anything but pussy.
    Pussy = pus. ugh.
    You see, for me it conjures up an image of a cat purring and arching its back in pleasure ... very different associations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭IanCurtis

"Guesstimate"

"Ballpark"

"Challenging"

"Team"

"Dynamics"

If you were sentenced to life in Mountjoy, my company would say "it will be challenging" rather than saying "it will be sh1t"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

can only think of phrases

"state of the art"

"get over it" (yeah, yeah, some smartass will say it back)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

I get annoyed when I hear the word 'cops', especially on the news on the radio. 'Cops' instead of police and 'smokes' instead of cigarettes. On the feckin' news! Serves me right for listening to fm104 I guess.

Also, on RTE news, when they pronounce garda as gore-da. Correct me if I'm wrong, but doesn't the lack of a fada on the 'a' make it an 'ah' sound, not an 'aww' sound?

the dee wrote: »
    I
    Also, on RTE news, when they pronounce garda as gore-da. Correct me if I'm wrong, but doesn't the lack of a fada on the 'a' make it an 'ah' sound, not an 'aww' sound?

I take it you missed the "Garthee" thread

You see, for me it conjures up an image of a cat purring and arching its back in pleasure ... very different associations.

I never even call cats pussys though. I only ever hear it from lewd gangstar rap.
    'uh, stick it in yo pussy bi-atch' or some other nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

watna wrote: »
    the dee wrote: »
    I agree. It's just a horrible horrible word with no redeeming qualities. It's never funny and I find it very offensive.

(and I'm very easy-going :) )

I've never understood how girls (pretty much all of them) get so pi$$ed off by a simple word? Is it the harsh 'c' at the start? or perhaps the harsh 't' at the end. Personally, I blame the Romans.

Anyway, what names should we use for your love-box?

Oh, on topic - "bleedin' deadly" guess I hate it so much because it reminds me that I'm still stuck in the Pale:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Solar

Ironic - Its ironic that I have to buy an umbrella because its raining already !!!!!!!!!!!!! ( no, its just unlucky)

Any word used/madeup by British tabloids - Bling, Chav, Perv etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc