Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do I get this physique?

• 03-02-2008 3:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14

before I start, don't ask em why I'm watching videos of male actors on the beach.:D

as my question suggests, how do I achieve this physique?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8h-O-k6Slv8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,515 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

the big scary word called exercise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 YelNATS

You mean I can't just sit on my ass at home eating doritos? Crap!!!!!

Ok, more accurately, would I need to follow any specific diet plan to achieve this? I eat healthy and exericse three times a week in the gym.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Reyman

Nothing special about that guy's body! Do what he does - drink water and eat pizza and buy yourself red shorts and you'll get there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Arsenal1986

joke right? hes not in good shape do nothing thats what ull look like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Laslo

He's a bit scrawny to be honest. No real muscle definition. But yeah... good diet and lots of exercise to keep your body fat down. I would have thought it was obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

op most people on here are fans of the big muscly basterds and cant uderstand why someone dosnt want to look like that. in reality his body is not that hard to achieve with a decent diet and moderate work out 3/4 times a week.

i

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 YelNATS

Look I know its not even a very good physique, like he looks a bit chubby in some pics, but I want to get to that physique and work from there.

Its not a body to die for, but for what I am going for it is suitable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭JMCD

YelNATS wrote: »
    Its not a body to die for, but for what I am going for it is suitable.

Just wondering what are yea going for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

How about posting up age, weight, current diet, training etc or are you just asking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

Hmm I forsee many questions ahead on here as to why you want that 'look':)

Maybe the fact that someone wants to look like someone with simply low body fat tells its own story in this age of obesity..

That guy just has low body-fat really, little or no muscle, so as mentioned before you'd just need to lower body fat with a bit of exercise....

Wouldn't you prefer to look like this guy? I know I would - http://www.newsday.com/media/photo/2007-06/30684817.gif

But yea, post up your goals and stats and we'll see what we can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Arsenal1986

why aim so low as that though? its so easily attainable that what im saying.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭CerebralCortex

why aim so low as that though? its so easily attainable that what im saying.......

Exactly, I have a better looking physique than that. I have been to a gym last year(I'd love to get back to it) but mainly I just watch what eat. I certainly would like a lot more mass than he is displaying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

THR: How did you prepare for your role in "Transformers"?
    LaBeouf: I worked out a lot. Not weights, but calisthenics and running for a good three months, just because Michael Bay said, "This is nonstop; it's like running a marathon."

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/hr/content_display/features/interviews_profiles/e3i4b9ba971311ed4509601a8e7ca4894dc
    HOLLYWOOD - Actor Shia LaBeouf is determined to get into shape for his role in the upcoming Indiana Jones sequel--because he doesn't want aging action hero Harrison Ford to look better than he does.

It was finally confirmed LaBeouf would play Ford's "sidekick" in the highly anticipated movie earlier this month.

And the 20-year-old is all too aware Ford is still in excellent physical condition for his 64 years.

LaBeouf tells People.com, "The guy is still in premium shape. You don't want to be standing next to Harrison Ford and not be jacked also."

And to make sure he looks good, LaBeouf is working out three hours a day, every day.

He adds, "I'll run for an hour and then I'll do two hours of weights. I have definitely not trained like this for anything in my life. I'm preparing like I'm going into battle.

"I drink protein shakes nonstop--three or four a day--and I run a lot, so you get rid of the bad carbs and keep the rest so you have the energy to make it through.
    "

http://www.hollywood.com/news/LaBeouf_Piles_on_Weight_to_Look_Good_Next_to_Ford/3684529
    dunno when that video was taken.

I think it is blatantly obvious that he does some training. Many seem to have skewed ideas about what is the norm. Maybe spending too much time in gyms or reading BB mags sites. I go swimming a bit and see lots of skinny lads. That is not the norm. You do not just stop eating and end up like that. I am in no way saying he is big or anything, just that most people who do not train and with that BF do not look like that.

Christian Bale is a big bloke who trains. In the machinist I expect he ditched the weights and really did just not eat a lot.
    stickman.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

thats so funny! hahaha!

Is it a skit?

Shrimp wrote: »
    thats so funny! hahaha!

Is it a skit?

no
    http://www.hawaiichair.com/hawaii/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭walt0r

I think "Laboeuf" looks like crap, whoever the hell he is. To each their own I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭N00b2fitness

rubadub wrote: »
    Christian Bale is a big bloke who trains. In the machinist I expect he ditched the weights and really did just not eat a lot.
    stickman.jpg

All the more impressive by Bale when you see what he looked like in American Psycho - (attached) I heard he got even bigger than that for Batman - I'm sure there are more pics on the web.

Personally I'd be gunning for that look - that first fella looks a bit weedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭t-ha

walt0r wrote: »
    I think "Laboeuf" looks like crap, whoever the hell he is. To each their own I guess.
    I agree, I'd much rather be this bloke in the tribal boardies - that would be awesome!

boardspicyc8.jpg

t-ha wrote: »
    I agree, I'd much rather be this bloke in the tribal boardies - that would be awesome!

boardspicyc8.jpg
    Unfortunately in terms of physique, I don't think most heterosexual women will agree.

Someone posted to an Irish gymnast site the other day. There are a few lads with a good build that I would like, some look only around 18, I wonder how long it took them to get in shape, and if they train with much weights.

http://phoenixgymnastics.ie/Gallery.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Someone posted to an Irish gymnast site the other day. There are a few lads with a good build that I would like, some look only around 18, I wonder how long it took them to get in shape, and if they train with much weights.

Wow, there's a ginger chap on there and he looks well built! I was expecting skinny six-packs for all of them but the lads are in good shape!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

ApeXaviour wrote: »
    Unfortunately in terms of physique, I don't think most heterosexual women will agree.

I couldn't disagree more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Pen1987

That bloke is not even toned up, lacking in definition. Like other said, sit around and eat about 1800cals a day and eventually you'll shrink to that level. It speed up the shrinking, do cardio.

This is more the look Im after, think im about 8 weeks out, mainly diet based.

41AM1EDFA6L.jpg

g'em wrote: »
    I couldn't disagree more.
    I'm happy to hear that. But most I've discussed this with will tend to melt over someone like Shia's figure, then scrunch their noses at anything approaching buff. The "wrestler" type build being the most cited example of what particularly turns these women's stomach.

EDIT: (addition)
    Pen1987 wrote: »
    This is more the look Im after, think im about 8 weeks out, mainly diet based.
    While not my main goal, it'd be silly not to pretend that vanity isn't a huge motivator. So I suppose I'm after something like that too. And bar his tan and unnatural lack of body hair, I don't think I'm a million miles away either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

Most gymnast who are national level would of started around age 4-6, Its rare that they'd do weights at all, the closest you'd get to using weights in gymnastics is if you've got a weak u14-u16 and needs some extra help to get the strength for the cross etc. The rest is normally done with a coach spotting you through the movement. Imo 90% of gymnastics is motor learning. Once you've got the shape of the movement right the strength will follow easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

Most gymnast who are national level would of started around age 4-6, Its rare that they'd do weights at all, the closest you'd get to using weights in gymnastics is if you've got a weak u14-u16 and needs some extra help to get the strength for the cross etc. The rest is normally done with a coach spotting you through the movement. Imo 90% of gymnastics is motor learning. Once you've got the shape of the movement right the strength will follow easily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

I'm happy to hear that. But most I've discussed this with will tend to melt over someone like Shia's figure, then scrunch their noses at anything approaching buff. The "wrestler" type build being the most cited example of what particularly turns these women's stomach.

EDIT: (addition)
    While not my main goal, it'd be silly not to pretend that vanity isn't a huge motivator. So I suppose I'm after something like that too. And bar his tan and unnatural lack of body hair, I don't think I'm a million miles away either.

Hmm...so they'd prefer the 16 year old boy look over the buff look? This guy is pretty buff, but yeah, I'm sure the same women wouldn't be into him..would they?! Maybe it shows that women really don't know what they want?;)

http://images.google.ie/imgres?imgurl=http://towleroad.typepad.com/photos/uncategorized/2007/12/05/craig2.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.towleroad.com/2007/12/daniel-craig-to.html&h=294&w=450&sz=12&hl=en&start=11&tbnid=JhklIlIiAgVSDM:&tbnh=83&tbnw=127&prev=/images%3Fq%3Ddaniel%2Bcraig%2Bbond%26gbv%3D2%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DG

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

It would appear most women want boys in skinny jeans....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

But most I've discussed this with will tend to melt over someone like Shia's figure, then scrunch their noses at anything approaching buff.
    Meh, so what. How many of those women are women you'd like to date? I like guys with a somewhat muscular physique so their's is the only opinion I really care about. And if I spoke to a bunch of random guys, the majority would say they don't like women who have any amount of muscle mass, so therefore the majority of random guys won't like my physique. And furthermore therefore whoforwherforartthou, I couldn't give two flying farts what your average skinny-boy-on-the-streets likes. They do however tend to like girls with curves. Skinny minnies 0 - g'em 1 :D

So big deal if Sheila leScrawnypants is the bloke du jour for "most" girls (I'd still disagree btw). Show them the error of their ways!!!

g'em wrote:
    Meh, so what. How many of those women are women you'd like to date?
    Hmm, some were some weren't. But I see what you mean. Sporty, more down to earth girls generally make a bigger impression.

But then there is the whole socioeconomic aspect. You know those studies that show more rural or working class go for the big buff low bmi man. The urban/bourgeoisie tend more towards the thin inverted-triangle swimmers build. Anyway tangent...
    celestial wrote: »
    Maybe it shows that women really don't know what they want?;)
    amen to that. Gay friends will deluge sympathy on me and other male breeders for this reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

People, wait until Indiana Jones 4, and then judge Shia's phsyqiue. 7 days a week, 3 hours a day!!!!

G'em Shia LeBoeuf's appeal is that he is not the typical attractive Hollywood guy, but these youtube girls know no better. He used to have a good bit of puppy fat back when he played Louis Stevens, so he is looking well there me thinks.

I can see why the OP would like his phsique, but that justs seems to be his natural physique rather than the look he aspires to have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭walt0r

Yes, some of those gymnasts are well built...if you're a parish priest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

g'em wrote: »
    So big deal if Sheila leScrawnypants is the bloke du jour for "most" girls (I'd still disagree btw). Show them the error of their ways!!!

I'm gonna go out on a limb here and suggest that if a chick gets a hold of you in the sack and sees your rippling abs, she'll quite easily come to terms with that.
    It's a little like the style Vs fashion thing. Right now it's cool to look like an anorexic rockstar a la The Kooks or something. But at the end of the day a good body will always win out.
    But at the end of the day, it's what you want for yourself. I too can see the appeal of that emaciated look (I yearned for it thru my chubby teens), but now I want to look, and importantly BE healthy. And to answer your question - very little would be needed to achieve this. Just eat less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

Do you think it would be that easy? Even if the OP did eat less, surely it would not automatically lead to this sort of shape?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭ali.c

Thats mad, in my experience most girls prefer guys that are well built over skinny. Not well built as in say body building look but a guy with a bit of muscle and lowish (but not too low) bodyfat.

The guy Shia (or whatever his name is) has more of a long distance runners physique than anything else.

There is a good medium between the emanicated look and the extreme bodybuilding look and IMHO guys do look better with at least a bit of muscle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭slemons

ha ha ha, that dude looks like a 14 year old girl

the calvin klein dude, looks disgusting

daniel craig is a bit better, but still nothing like a serious athlete.

check out some sprinters for a proper physique

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

boardspicyc8.jpg

Man you love you. Wait until I get a hold of Dave over the summer when he'll be a bum and eatin and sleepin training muahahahahaha. We will laugh at his belly no more (though we did laugh at his attempts at ring dips tonight) and he shall be the man crushing YOU in those photos!

or

He'll say he's coming training and continue eating kinder hippos. I think that's more likely.

Just my 2 cents on the non-slagging t-ha end of things. Talking to wimmin I often hear them say things like "oh yeah but too muscley isn't nice" and yet I've never heard one GF complain when their bloke puts on a few pounds of muskells. Also the Calvin Kline model in that ad above is emaciated if my Ma saw him she'd have him on corned beef and cabbage and a few plates of coddle. As for the OP, I thought Shia was a girls name, then I thought of ex-Chelsea centre half Frank LeBoeuf. So I ended up not looking at it.

Roper wrote: »
    Man you love you. Wait until I get a hold of Dave over the summer when he'll be a bum and eatin and sleepin training muahahahahaha. We will laugh at his belly no more (though we did laugh at his attempts at ring dips tonight) and he shall be the man crushing YOU in those photos!

or

He'll say he's coming training and continue eating kinder hippos. I think that's more likely.

Just my 2 cents on the non-slagging t-ha end of things. Talking to wimmin I often hear them say things like "oh yeah but too muscley isn't nice" and yet I've never heard one GF complain when their bloke puts on a few pounds of muskells. Also the Calvin Kline model in that ad above is emaciated if my Ma saw him she'd have him on corned beef and cabbage and a few plates of coddle. As for the OP, I thought Shia was a girls name, then I thought of ex-Chelsea centre half Frank LeBoeuf. So I ended up not looking at it.
    Did you find a free bar?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Reyman

I'd say most women have enough trouble finding a half decent normal guy without worrying about his muscle level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

i was watching ufc 81 on the way back to college on the train the other day and 3 seperate girls stopped and sat down beside me to watch men with their ideal bodies fight eachother

it was the almeida fight and the griffon fight that they liked

id imagine there are not too many women that would turn down george st pierre either

3766-StPierreMiller067UFC52.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Come on guys, it's how he wants to look.

Is our body dysmophia really so bad that we need to apply our on goals to others simply to feel justified?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭ali.c

Actually if the OP is on the chubby side of things to start with i wouldnt say that that look is exactly easily obtainable.

I think that obtainable varies widely depending on your starting point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭hardtrainer

To the OP:

Genetics plays a big part in how that guy looks now. He certainly doesn't look overly trained. His physique is a combination of his genetics and whatever activity he does, which given where he lives in SoCal is likely to be surfing and running, but add in a fairly hefty dose of sugar (it's hard to avoid there) and of course a lot of protein shakes and juices and smoothies and all the other faddish things that californias live their life with (I'd bet he takes a rake load of 'vitality' pills too and a lot of hormone laced meat).

Some guys (who would be deemed skinny by many of the posters here) will look quite defined and in shape, whereas others (equally skinny) will not look at all defined. It comes down to the way each individual body stores fat and also the composition of the muscle tissue. This can change a little through adolescence, hormones raging etc, but for the most part you have to work with what you've got.

I'm pretty sure you (the OP) don't necessarily want to look exactly like shia, you just want some definition and to look healthy as opposed to bulging with shredded muscle and veins popping out all over the place. If you're not naturally muscular, some heavy compound lifts will give you the base to be able to show off a little muscle and definition (once you're body fat goes down) without looking like a gym rat.

To those who are shocked at the OP 'aiming so low', I second what Dragan said. Don't project your aspirations/goals onto others. Not everyone wants to be jacked up, muscle bound meat heads. Lots of guys just want to shift a bit of a belly or keep the shape they had when they were a little younger and more active. Getting big and muscled is a way of life (and definitely an obsession) and not something that appeals to everyone. You might call them lazy, they can just as easily call us obsessed, vain and crazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Catsmokinpot

celestial wrote: »
    Hmm I forsee many questions ahead on here as to why you want that 'look':)

Maybe the fact that someone wants to look like someone with simply low body fat tells its own story in this age of obesity..

That guy just has low body-fat really, little or no muscle, so as mentioned before you'd just need to lower body fat with a bit of exercise....

Wouldn't you prefer to look like this guy? I know I would - http://www.newsday.com/media/photo/2007-06/30684817.gif

But yea, post up your goals and stats and we'll see what we can do.

eh thats phil Baroni who not that long ago tested positive for steroids so prob not the best icon

Roper wrote: »
    Man you love you.
    Yes... it's good to be me alright. :D

As for these wimmins whos stomachs I'm supposed to be turning, I can't seem to find them myself (except the ones whos stomach I turn with my vile narcissism).

As for these wimmins whos stomachs I'm supposed to be turning, I can't seem to find them myself
    When I said wrestler I meant pro-wrestler. IMO you're grand...

IMO you're grand...
    ..and just when they said my head couldn't get any bigger... :D