Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

To Bear Or Not To Bear?

• 03-02-2008 1:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

Bonjour laydeeeeezzzz,

Cson is in a bit of pickle at the minute. See, I has me eye on a Me To You bear, but he costs 200 yoyo's. Granted he's the size of a small child and he's all cute and **** but I can't help thinking that's an extortionate price for a bear. Sure jaysus I'd nearly head off to China and bring herself a real one home for that kind of money!

So the question on my mind is; will I go all in on the bear or will i hedge my bets and buy a load of different stuff with the 200 yoyo's. She's expressed an affection for the new Donkey perfume (thats DKNY to you city people) and I spose we could get a smaller bear, flowers, possibly dinner....

What to do, what to do....

Can teh wimmins of boards help me? :)

Is This A Bear I See Before Me? 43 votes

Buy the bear - He's just so cute!
    0% 0 votes
    Ah ffs, you'd get a real one for that price
    9% 4 votes
    Go with the lucky bag of stuff
    37% 16 votes
    Sure wouldn't she love an Atari Shaguar!
    53% 23 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Jules

I think the little ones are so much cuter... i would go for a smaller one and a few little things like perfume and flowers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭scoot on

How long are you going out with her???

And any link to the bear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

Going out almost a year and a half.

The teddy is fooking massive, he is the size of a 4 year old toddler, I **** you not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

One big present that anyone could buy for anyone isn't ever as good as the combo of stuff only you would know to get her :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Too big... where the hell would she put it?

Now if it was a monkey instead of a bear, then that would be a different matter.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

(Sometimes) size is not a good thing. The bear is a bit too big. It's the thought that counts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

^^^ What they said, cson

(except MF, only he would want a monkey!)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

wow - Roaches Stores used to have bears that size for twenty five quid so gotta agree it's extortionate.

Have a look around toy stores too if you want to get a bear , they are cheaper when you don't pay the sentimental tax / avoid places like hallmark

or ask her would she like a cheap flight + weekend to some romantic instead for the same money

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

If you're going to spend that much money get her a few nice things with a small bear too.
    You'll find lots of inexpensive cute ones around.
    That said I got herself a Budda Bag for her birthday last year, size can matter!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

ohhhh don't get the bear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

If my bf got me a bear I'd think he's taking the pis$. I'd much rather the money be spent on a holiday or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭SarahSassy

Nightwish wrote: »
    If my bf got me a bear I'd think he's taking the pis$. I'd much rather the money be spent on a holiday or something.

Absolutely...... Seems a waste of money to me TBH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I got one before, a few years ago, thought it was cute for about a minute, then I just thought what the f*ck am I supposed to do with this?

My bf ordered me a meerkat teddy online a few months back. I've always wanted a pet meerkat so he said it was the next best thing. Now that was a thoughtful present! She's nice and small too so sits nicely on the bed.

I say if you want a bear, get a small one (or I highly reccomend a meerkat!). Where would she put a teddy that was the size of a toddler?! The perfume etc sounds nicer. Especially if she mentioned to you she wanted it. That was probably a hint you know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

Don't get the bear it would be such a waste of money and she would be bored of it in a minute! With that amount of money you could get her something like an ipod or a trip away, far more usefull etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

is this the big 1 in the red tshirt saying "i love you this much" (my sisters bfs bought her a small version, thats how i noticed it). 200euro? are you crazy? im all for cute bears but if it was the choice between that & 200 euro id prefer the money. think what you could do with that.. perfume, a normal sized bear, some sort of spa treatment thing (massage? facial? etc), a nice dinner somewhere..

spending 200 on a teddy is just madness!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭Baudelaire

200 is way to expensive for a Teddy bear and it's not worth it, if you want to get her a bear go into Birthdays or one of those card stores and buy a Winnie the Poo bear or a Tigger, they're about 40 euro's and small enough to cuddle :o seriously all the girls will tell you you can't go wrong with Winnie the Poo or Tigger, thats why these shops always have them in stock and then if you want use the rest of the money to do something nice like go for a meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭misslt

A me to you bear is really cute, but a smaller one and lots of other stuff would be cuter still!

I'd say defs the perfume and a few little things, and a smaller bear if you like coz they are so cute!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭bluedolphin

+1.

Do not - I repeat DO NOT - spend €200 on a bear. Seriously. At this stage I have such a collection of the bloody things that they're wrecking my head and I can't really throw them out. People always give them - birthdays, Christmas, hospital...and you can't really do much with them except go, "Aww...thanks" and then try and find a place to put the yokes. €200 could be much better spent - it's quite a decent budget! Perfume, some sentimentally things, maybe dinner, a rose...and a small little bear (I'm talking about 3inches high) if you want as well.

€200 on a teddy! Pssshhhttt! No wonder you need a job! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Niamho!

I think get ythe few bits and bobs!!
    I LOVE teddy Bears but i think i'd rather the other stuff. Plus....finding a place to keep the teddy is gonna be damn hard! and it'll really just sit there and look cute. definitely get the bits and bobs! i know i'd rather that anyway....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭fuzzywiggle

Don't buy the teddy!!!
    Serious waste of money.
    Buy her a small one. I'm sure she'd love a €200 bracelet or big mix of stuff she can actually use than ''oh yeah he got me a massive teddy..its at home like'' ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭denashpot

why waste 200 yoyo on a stupid bear? you could get her some nice necklace or something for that price!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Tesco's have bears for €5.99

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

The bear is aghast at the amount of negative comments. He said "But I love you this much?"

All joking aside, yeah I'll prolly go for the tried and trusted flowers, choccies, metoyou bear mini and that donkey perfume. The more I think about it, the more it seems like a more outrageous price. I mean, surely for 200 yoyo's he's got to like come alive and ****? (Not literally **** though :eek:)

To those of you who suggested the holiday, we're going to Nice for Valentines weekend anyway (birthday present). She's so fecking spoiled :o

Edit: Ooo and thankies to all of you who replied! You'll each recieve one coupon for a complimentary hug*

*terms & conditions apply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

cson wrote: »
    She's so fecking spoiled :o
    Lol, yes she is! Hope you are too! ;)
    Edit: Ooo and thankies to all of you who replied! You'll each recieve one coupon for a complimentary hug*
    /backs off rapidly!

KEEP IT FOR HERSELF!!

Going out almost a year and a half.

The teddy is fooking massive, he is the size of a 4 year old toddler, I **** you not.

a teddy bear thats too big isn't any good for snuggling
    get a smaller one and whatever else