Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Coverage Thread

• 02-02-2008 1:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭

Thought id make a thread for us to complain once again about the pure joke of coverage and how bad it is ^^. Im 10 minutes into watching coverage from the BBC and RTE and i feel like fecking off and coming back in a hour because its that bad.

RTE panel dont have a clue to be honest and its the usual : Question, Answer thats stop because we need a break -_-

While on BBC they are talking about picnic's -_-

I wish Sky Sports or even Setanta had got rights then id hear something thats at least remotely to do with rugby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭green123

i think hook and pope are great entertainment
    like dunphy and giles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

rte coverage is good i think, hook is entertaining and pope is the best rugby analyst on tv in my opinion. he rarely get's it wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

prefer the BBC comentry, find they do have more build up pitch side, less studio empasis, more features, etc, but already, 40 minutes in and their pronouniation of croke park is starting to grind me

STOP CALLING IT CROAK PARK!!!

sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Did I or did I not just hear Jake White say,while grinning like a naughty schoolboy, that he would, if asked (wink,wink,nod,nod) be prepared to coach the Lions, while being interviewed by John Inverdale....? One in the eye for ol Neddy boy...bet he'd love to go home to SA and stuff it up 'em with the Lions....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Conor O'shea is the best commentator RTE have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

Was Ryle Nugent standing on a box or something cos I'm pretty sure he's shorter than Tony Ward?

On another height thing, the difference between Marty Morrissey and his interviewees was comical!!

Finally why did RTE HAVE to go to a break just as our team starts to run out?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Mr Jinx

im after switching to bbc, couldnt take any more of rte,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

green123 wrote: »
    i think hook and pope are great entertainment
    like dunphy and giles

I find them entertaining enough, sometimes they exaggerate but that's what they're paid for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

athtrasna wrote: »

they always seem to do that, or they stay in the studio to the very last moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Italia Italia Italia!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭pd101

Any one else think that the camera work during the game is really bad today. Worse than usual, particularly between passages of play when the ref is talking to the players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭shantor

check out hayes.. he must be the laziest player in the 6 nations.. big fat disgrace to the green jersey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭shantor

he is falling asleep on a ruck now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

I've been with BBC all afternoon since the reception there seems to be a bit less fuzzy, but the commentators have been funny

Coosack Park FTW

Ryle credits Tony Buckley to a school in Kildare. He may have been in that school but Buckley is a Cork man and we won't cede him to Kildare!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

Is Hook on speed? What was the ramble about the soufle about :confused:

RTE's sound for the anthems in Twickenham is seriously f*cked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Funkstard

Ryle credits Tony Buckley to a school in Kildare. He may have been in that school but Buckley is a Cork man and we won't cede him to Kildare!!

He spent 6 years boarding in Newbridge College. I doubt any club in Cork had much to do with him during those years? He most definitely can be credited to a Kildare school!

PA system is wrecked in Twickenham. Can't hear the ref, anthems sounded like they were coming through a tin can.

Ryle Nugent seemed to think every single penalty should result in a yellow card. 5 man rugby would be interesting..

Funkstard wrote: »
    He spent 6 years boarding in Newbridge College. I doubt any club in Cork had much to do with him during those years? He most definitely can be credited to a Kildare school!

PA system is wrecked in Twickenham. Can't hear the ref, anthems sounded like they were coming through a tin can.

Ryle Nugent seemed to think every single penalty should result in a yellow card. 5 man rugby would be interesting..

But he was spotted in Cork! He comes from a town that doesn't even have a rugby club but his potential was spotted. I seem to remember some talk of American Football at one stage.

His skills may have been honed in Kildare but he's a Cork man and a Munster man!

Sound is an RTE issue, anthems sounded perfect on BBC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

RTE's sound for the anthems in Twickenham is seriously f*cked!

yeah, and the picture for the Irish game was rubbish. Blue from the italian jersey was dancing around the place like a mad thing.

I wish they'd spend less money on eura spa and more on maintaining a quality service.

RTE sports used to be top notch.

As for the commentary, RTE v BBC, I prefer RTE, and switch over to BBC when there's an add break. Of course, half the time, the BBC are talking about the upcoming english game and completely ignoring the game that is actually being played.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Funkstard

But he was spotted in Cork! He comes from a town that doesn't even have a rugby club but his potential was spotted. I seem to remember some talk of American Football at one stage.

His skills may have been honed in Kildare but he's a Cork man and a Munster man!

Sound is an RTE issue, anthems sounded perfect on BBC.

No doubting where he came from, where his roots lie or anything like that. It's just where you go to secondary school (in rugby playing terms) has a huge impact on player development. If he hadn't gone to a rugby school he wouldn't be playing it now.

Funkstard wrote: »
    No doubting where he came from, where his roots lie or anything like that. It's just where you go to secondary school (in rugby playing terms) has a huge impact on player development. If he hadn't gone to a rugby school he wouldn't be playing it now.

Fair enough!! Cards on the table I come from the same town as he does. None of the local schools play rugby, big GAA country.

He was lucky to be spotted, but he's always been a giant so definitely had sporting potential. Glad he's broken through to the top level.

for those people who hate the irish commentary/sound problems, and also hate the BBC commentary and have digital TV, press the red button and select the radio wales commentary. I think it's much better than the BBC alternative

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,280 ✭✭✭regi

BBC Radio Wales you mean :P

regi wrote: »
    BBC Radio Wales you mean :P

Yeah, I knew someone would mention that :P.

I wanted to spend less time typing and more time watching the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

Much as I hate Nugent I think his commentary is like a bad habit, you want to break it but things just don't seem the same without it. George Hamilton can **** right off though. RTE panel always has been much more entertaining than BBC and still is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 welish

Hamilton is a complete fool and an insult to the Irish rugby viewing public. Whatever the pr1ck might know about soccer (and that's very little), he most certainly does NOT have a single clue about the game of rugby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭NotWormBoy

GDM wrote: »
    Much as I hate Nugent I think his commentary is like a bad habit, you want to break it but things just don't seem the same without it. George Hamilton can **** right off though. RTE panel always has been much more entertaining than BBC and still is.

Bingo. Spot on.

Hamilton shouldn't commentate on any sport, let alone rugby. The panel is great fun - and they're fairly knowledgable most of the time - Conor O'Shea can be relied on to get it right. Ryle's a biased ****e, but you like listening to him all the same - though I prefer listening to the Beeb commentary just for Brian Moore.

Overall - BBC commentary and RTE punditry, just like in the soccer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭Shan75

I always watch RTE for the studio bits and watch the match on BBC.George Hamilton has no business commentating on rugby as he knows nothing about the game.Ryle Nugent only knows slightly more and most of the time he doesn't even know why penalties are being awarded.Also his voice is just too painful to endure.Tony Ward is also very annoying and thinks he knows it all.Hook was in top form today having a right go at EOS every chance he got(Circling the wagons etc).If that clown McGurk would give Conor O'Shea a chance to talk he is very sensible and knowledgeable and unbiased.Pope also can be insightful whenever he can make himself heard.If they could just get rid of McGurk altogether it would be even better.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

who's the touchline guy RTE have? Not Tracy Piggot, that guy who looks like Bilbo Baggins from Lord of the Rings.

Where on Earth did they spring him from?

Marty Morrissey - he used to do GAA commentary back in the days when I was remotely interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭dc69

jayteecork wrote: »
    who's the touchline guy RTE have? Not Tracy Piggot, that guy who looks like Bilbo Baggins from Lord of the Rings.

lol,smegal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

Was Ryle Nugent standing on a box or something cos I'm pretty sure he's shorter than Tony Ward?

On another height thing, the difference between Marty Morrissey and his interviewees was comical!!

I was one of them :D!! I said we'd destroy Italy, which I was well wrong. I did say the starting XV wasn't the strongest available and I still stand by that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭dubal

I like Hook and Popey, but they are like a broken record now, if its entertainment we want fine, but I think we all know how bad they think EOS is at this stage.

We need some analysis on the game itself

Dubal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

jayteecork wrote: »

My dad calls him Chucky because he looks like the puppet (it's the weird eyes and forehead), didn't podge and rodge take the p!$$ out of him calling him their cousin for a similar reason.

McGuirk has no place covering rugby. He's just there because either he's a higher up in RTE or he knows someone who knows someone or has incriminating RTE christmas party photos. Even Con Murphy would be better at anchoring the coverage than him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Brian Moore is just the funniest commentator their is i love the way he'll interrupt the main commentator when someone's made a break and shouts "THEY WONT CATCH HIM THEY WONT CATCH HIM" and then pointing out how bad the ref "I cant understand it the ref was stand beside them how could he not see that the ball went 4 and bit meters and not five!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭komodosp

I have to say I like the RTE match coverage itself... Ryle Nugent sounds like he has some sort of interest in the game. Though he does use a lot of clichés and is sometimes a bit biased for my taste ("You beauty, you absolute beauty!"... *shudder*)
    But it's a lot better than a lot of the SKY commentators (and ITV ones during the world cup) who sound like they are positively bored... and they often have the crowd noise turned down too far...

As for Hook and Pope, they are entertaining, but yeah they tend not to analyse the game enough and SKY sometimes have a section where they point out something interesting about the game like a tactic you wouldn't have noticed or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭promethius

A little off topic i know but it's related to coverage.
    Setanta broadband aren't showing the game live and I've tried sopcast last week but had to give up on it as it was starting and stopping every 10 seconds or so. Anyone know anywhere else which will be streamng it, i don't mind paying a few quid to watch it if the quality is decent
    I'm outside ireland so even if rte.ie is showing it i can't see it.
    Thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Ted_Bundy

I think Gerry Thornley is a great pundit...RTE don't seem to use him that much apart from on against the head...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭shaneh

Promethius, this is a long shot but may work for you. I can't test this since living in Ireland.

I reckon the reason that RTE don't allow you to view their video content is because they look at the IP address of your PC or ISP and determine that you are out of Ireland. Hence they block the video content.

However, in internet explorer under tools -> connections you can setup a proxy. A proxy is basically a machine that allows your internet connection to go through them to the internet. Below is a link for proxies that are based in Ireland. If you configure your internet explorer to use one of these you may be able to fool RTE webpage into thinking that you are based in Ireland.
    http://www.aliveproxy.com/proxy-list/proxies.aspx/Ireland-ie

I could be way off the mark here so not sure if this would work but worth a shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭jprender

One thing that i am not looking forward to this weekend, is the insistence by commentators in calling the French scrum-half by his full name every time. And I mean every time. Jean-Baptiste Elisalde this, and Jean-Baptiste Elisalde that. They do the same with Vincent Clerc. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭JWAD

RTE's panel are a disgrace. Utterly embarrassing. An attention-seeking bag of wind who dribbles more than Roy Hattersley called Hook and an inexperienced know-nothing anti-English bigot/contrarian in Tom McGurk are simply unbearable to watch. Now Hook is in the States for Newstalk covering the presidential candidacy contest. A f***ing idiot of the highest order.
    Brint Pipe is just Brint Pipe. At least he knows the game. And Conor O'Shea should have first word on any matter. Not always be asked last.

Ryle Nugent not as bad as previous years. Definitely a bit more knowledgable of the game.

Of the other Irish commentators on other channels: Why oh why are Jim Stumpy Neilly and Mark Feckin' Robson so obssessed with mens weight and height? And why do 'schtones' always have to be 'off the hoof'.
    Gobsh*tes.

Irish commentary sucks, big style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭komodosp

The other thing that annoys me about English commentators is their difficulty with pronouncing Irish names... Paul McGrat, KEY-o (for Keogh)... They've just learned recently it's not Donnacar O'Callaggan...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Thornley is a good writer, Ryle Nugent is a pain in the arse, BBC for commentary RTE for Punditry. Guscott is a clown.

Promethius, this is a long shot but may work for you. I can't test this since living in Ireland.

I reckon the reason that RTE don't allow you to view their video content is because they look at the IP address of your PC or ISP and determine that you are out of Ireland. Hence they block the video content.

However, in internet explorer under tools -> connections you can setup a proxy. A proxy is basically a machine that allows your internet connection to go through them to the internet. Below is a link for proxies that are based in Ireland. If you configure your internet explorer to use one of these you may be able to fool RTE webpage into thinking that you are based in Ireland.
    http://www.aliveproxy.com/proxy-list...spx/Ireland-ie

I could be way off the mark here so not sure if this would work but worth a shot.

Hey Shaneh thanks for the suggestion.
    I tried this last week for the italy game thinking it might work but unfortunately no.
    I tried it again yesterday testing out on some of the highlights packages on RTE which are also restricted.
    Will give the links for those proxys listed in your link as maybe the one I was using was not a good one or not in use anymore.
    Otherwise I will give sopcast another try, with the game being televised in france there may be a good channel showing it that’s good decent streaming.
    There’s always radio one on the web if all else fails
    Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭shaneh

Have a look at the following review. http://www.tomsguide.com/us/security-online-privacy,review-1055.html

Some tools out there that can hide your IP and use proxies which may be enough.

Has anyone seen the ad for the 6 nations on the sides of the buses? The one with Hook, Pope, O'Shea and McGurk's heads on cupid's bodies? If anyone could find an image of it online, I'd appreciate it, I'm trying to find one to show the girlfriend. I burst out laughing walking down Westmoreland St. there last week when I saw it. Yer one passing me thought I was laughing at her...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Timothy Bryce

NotWormBoy wrote: »
    Has anyone seen the ad for the 6 nations on the sides of the buses? The one with Hook, Pope, O'Shea and McGurk's heads on cupid's bodies? If anyone could find an image of it online, I'd appreciate it, I'm trying to find one to show the girlfriend. I burst out laughing walking down Westmoreland St. there last week when I saw it. Yer one passing me thought I was laughing at her...

I think Hook & Pipe are there mainly for the non-rugby fanatics - their on-screen 'banter' is funny enough if you don't know owt about the game.

Conor O'Shea seems to know his sh*t though - Tony Ward and Ralph Keyes offer good technical commentary during the games which makes me stick with RTE...

*prepares for flames over Ralph Keyes comments*

O'Shea really does know his ****, its right. Hook and Pope aren't clueless about the game, but they're not in the same league as O'Shea. Or even close. Pope does get things right more than Hook. Hooks a more genial and less arseholey Dunphy. And he can take being proven wrong without being a c*nt about it.

Some tools out there that can hide your IP and use proxies which may be enough.

Thanks Shaneh will give it a try later on!