Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just got a Golf GT!!

• 02-02-2008 9:01am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭milltown

NiSmO wrote: »

Well earned! :rolleyes:

Keep it between the ditches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭.Longshanks.

....Silver spoon....it wasn't for your sweet 16?? :D

Congrats thou!! As Milltown said, try and keep it between the ditches

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭NiSmO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

Not knocking you for one second with this but will you look after the car and drive it with respect even though mammy and daddy have splashed out for you? I've seen it with an old school buddy of mine. Never had to put his hand on his pocket or work to buy his first car and he still treats them like a piece of dirt. I don't know how he's still alive.

Best of luck anyway with the motor even if you didn't work hard for it:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

:eek: so what you gonna get for your 21st?
    Id be very hesitant too about driving today after being on the booze last night.Anyway...congrats, enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Enjoy! And don't go putting any body kits on it either!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,475 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

congrats,

nice that your parents could do that for you :) remember to appreciate it and them for buying it for you and tkae it handy :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭AugustusMaximus

Very nice. Am thinking of getting one myself.

There's a few up on Carzone with the DSG gearbox though. To be honest, I'd rather use the sequential shift with the gearstick. If your not used to it, the paddles behind the wheel could be quite dangerous.

I think that these are only on the GTi though.

Did you try to get it with the GTi alloys ? Have to say they look much better than the GT's alloys.

Just to tell you aswell that you can get that beast tuned for about 200 bhp if you wanted. Don't know the exact legalities though. Might void your 2 year warranty with VW too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

What did i get for my 18th off my parents. a slab of bulmers and few bob.
    jesus nismo you did well, look after it and stay between the ditchs and no body kits;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭MarkN

Nice present. :cool:

170bhp, I hope you have a full licence at least :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

+1 for no body kits!!

Best of luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Wow! Luck boy haha!

Enjoy the car mate, they're lovely.. especially in white!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭440Hz

I have one myself, wish I could say every penny wasn't funded by my own bank loan but :(

Enjoy the car, its a lovely motor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

So your parents baughts you a 40 grand car for your 18th..yehhhhh right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭kluivert

Enjoy your new car and more importantly please be careful. 170 GT is a special order as well. Normally just 140's in Ireland.

On Friday I read the story posted here about the young lad with his Dad's M5 posting messages on forums like this on how to make it go faster. He died along with four of his mates at the end of an air strip. He was younger than you.

Dont be an ass an race 106's etc at lights, dont mod it, its lovely as standard.

After that enjoy.

Join a VW owners club in Ireland and go to their meets and weekends away. Good fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 480 ✭✭Barlow07

I only believe it when i see the photos of the car posted up. I would imagine your parents are well off to buy a €40,000 car, so i hope you respect it and drive safe, personally i think you'd be better of in a 1ltr or 1.4ltr if its all true of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

It's €30k according to vw.ie.

I'd tend to believe him, I know a few people who have gotten new cars off their parents, although, none quite as powerful... haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

Very nice, a fantastic car... Listen, if you ever need somebody to look after her for the weekend... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Nice one, ye bollix :D

Be safe. As said above, fella posting 2 weeks back about his M5 (Which he lied about, it was his fathers)... he decided to act the mong and ended up killing himself and 4 others... don't do that pleasethankyou!

Question: At 18yrs old, what driving experience have you got? Not much obviously (At 18 I thought I was great too.. a whole ONE years driving, what a legend I was) Watch it or you'll wrap that car. Take it easy for a few weeks. In my OWN opinion, drive it on your own for a while. Don't bring mates/sexy girlies etc.. as you'll just be inclined to act the eejit. Bring some fat chick for a spin instead.. she'll slow it down and add traction on all 4 wheels :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

love to know your insurance on that buddy, everything goes against ya.

license (assuming you have provisional).

anyways enjoy it, golf's are a nice drive and look superb i love the Mk V styling from the start :p

Cremo wrote: »
    love to know your insurance on that buddy, everything goes against ya.

license (assuming you have provisional).

anyways enjoy it, golf's are a nice drive and look superb i love the Mk V styling from the start :p

If one of his parents were willing to swap over their policy and full NCB, and add the kid as a named driver it'd work out pretty handy/ If the parents were willing to pay for a car like that i'm sure insurance wouldnt be a bother

Damn where can I find parents like that?! Not that i'm jealous, i'm glad to say that my car is MY CAR, that I PAID FOR... i'm actually kind of proud of it tbh. I look down on people who get stuff like brand new car's from their parents pocket (ooh how shallow of me, i'm going to hell for that... meh... bothered)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,725 ✭✭✭oleras

JohnCleary wrote: »
    I look down on people who get stuff like brand new car's from their parents pocket (ooh how shallow of me, i'm going to hell for that... meh... bothered)

Would you like to give your son a new car for his 18th birthday ? I know I would.

OP, best of luck with the new motor ! White is niceeeeeeeeee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

oleras wrote: »
    Would you like to give your son a new car for his 18th birthday ? I know I would.

Seems like a reasonable sentiment to be honest, if the parents can afford to do it well then fair enough, as long as it is appreciated.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

Anan1 wrote: »
    Enjoy! And don't go putting any body kits on it either!;)
    oleras wrote: »

What they said ^^^

Drive safely.

Quoted wrong person, woopsie me!

Wow, it didn't take long for the PC brigade to come out of their shell! Tbh, if i'd between 10-20k euro to shell out out on my kid (i've ye to have kid's), i'd spend it on something sport related to keep the lad/lassie alive... whether it be a speedboat/football/whatever, or something (like sailing since i've a passion for the sea) but for all I know the OP's father has a passion for the motor world... no harm in that

I know plenty of wealthy people with kid's who want to drive lately. The most recent example is a well known local millionaire. His kid just hit 18, fair play to the kid he managed to get his full license... what did he get for his 18th????? a Renault saloon... Best bit...??? The kid is DELIGHTED and so damn grateful, he can drive his gear to rugger training instead of having to haul it home every day. I was chatting to him this afternoon and he told me he was still too nervous to give 'the boys' a lift home because he wouldn't know what to say to the oul pair's if he ever crashed... this is the same fella that'll knock back a load of lush in the pub and have some craic... I wish I had his state of mind when I was 18

End sh1tetalk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Chips for dinner?;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

The only thing I got for my 18th birthday was a hangover. Well deserved too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭VODKA-MAN

very nice car lad!looks lovely in white.

keep her clean;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

So Jealous:(:(:( , but as mentioned above, I'd want to do it for my kids (PS What was your dad thinking with an f*ing Cayenne:p:p)

A friend got the 1.4 Comfortline last September for no reason other than he wouldn't have to get the bus to college anymore:eek::eek:

Anychance of a shot of the DSG gearstick, I'm still confused by this mysterious DSG:D:D

I believe you now, i wasnt sure if it would look nice in white, but its perfect. The quote on your insurance is not bad either, i bet some here pay that for a 1.4ltr.

Just one last question, do you have a full licence or have you applied for your test? If the Garda caught you driving on your own i wonder what there response would be :rolleyes: If you havent done your test i would recommend NOT using that car if you and go sit your test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

And if Cian's not available don't hesitate to drop me a line;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭su_dios

Very nice in white. I was looking at ordering a white one as there are virutally no 3doors in the country bar the few private sales on carzone. Ended up getting a fully loaded demo model last wednesday and only really got to try it out yesterday due to all the college work. Beautiful car and that engine is a work of art.

Heres mine

http://images6.theimagehosting.com/DSC01026.fa1.JPG

Oh and yeah you're right the GT alloys are great and set it apart from the GTI. I think they look better also. Was never a fan of the ninja-like alloys. Spokes are much better and classier! I see you got the GTI sideskirts fitted. I want to do the same thing myself. Any idea what price you paid for the skirts and fitting? Presume it was at the dealer where you got the car. Can you also tell me, since yours is brand new.. what is the finish on the tailpipes like? Mine was already blackened by the dealers and looks like it was never cleaned. Gave it a thorough going over yesterday but its clean now but not exactly shiney. Is it supposed to be a chrome-like finish? Maybe you could take a photo?

I haven't been driving to long either and am 21 but do listen to what everyone is saying on here. That car has the potential to beat quite a few cars on the road but theres no need to go proving that! The consolation is that it drives extremely well in low gears and low speeds. You get to hear that whine from the supercharger pulling away from the lights and then the rumble when you give it a bit more. And you're right its plenty thirsty for a 1.4. I did 1/2 a tank since wednesday and only did 130kms.. :P City driving and fun in low gears. The novelty will wear off soon and I'll be driving like normal again.

su_dios wrote: »
    Ended up getting a fully loaded demo model last wednesday and only really got to try it out yesterday due to all the college work. Beautiful car and that engine is a work of art.

Your in college and you have one as well :eek:, We must all be doing something wrong ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

Looks like you got showed

Barlow07 wrote: »
    Your in college and you have one as well :eek:, We must all be doing something wrong ;)

All my own money.. no other financial commitments at the moment. You would too:D

su_dios wrote: »
    All my own money.. no other financial commitments at the moment. You would too:D

If its all your own money then good luck not that i didnt think it was for a minute, just with you in college full-time? I find it hard to believe you could afford something likes, plus tax, insurance and not to mention petrol which it will drink by the bucket loads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭Seperate

Best of luck with it. Keep it clean!!

Trade in, car loan, ssia and savings. This isn't a question of how I can afford it or not. My course in college allows me to get a well paid placement every summer along with a year off working in between the 5 years. And as agreed with most people here, if the parents can afford it then too right it should be passed onto the kids. No point having it if you don't use it. Providing the kid works for it and doesn't get everything handed to him.

Back to the car....

Seperate wrote: »
    Best of luck with it. Keep it clean!!

Some self promotion there?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Munurty

I presume they have launch control, do they? I was fairly dissapointed when I discovered my A3 2.0Tdi Dsg didnt come with it.

Heres a vid of a Gti launch. It must be the same.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgEK17Ffslk&feature=related

As was said above its easy to go slow when your on your own but when you have company its alot harder.

Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Well wear, Nismo. A nice and well chosen car:)

Sounds good. Looking at getting those skirts and then the gti rear valance and colour code only the top part of it like the r32 valance. Looks better than the full black rear I think. Skirts first though. I'll have to look into the fuel thing then. I heard the same recently but not sure how easily I can get that around my area. I don't think mine has backfired yet.. had 6k Kms on the clock so might just be because its new? What interior do you have it it? Have a look over on fischermotorsport.de if you want some oem parts for it inc the VW ipod cable fairly cheap.

Yeah I must have gotten the tailpipe as shiny as it'll go then. Used some autoglym metal polish on it so far. I'm sure if you had access to a dremel or porter cable you could polish it up a bit better. Its still noticeable enough though without being in your face.

Come over to vagdrivers.net and show off your car.