Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Value bets on Irish Open

• 31-01-2008 11:40am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 35

Here's where you nominate players you've played against a lot recently as good value for their quoted odds in the IO.

Mine:

Nicky Power - obvious pick, but obvious great value at 175/1. If Nicky goes deep again, he has the game to take it down this year.

Donnacha O'Dea - 200/1? What? What? What? For that matter, his young fella is value at 200 too.

Marq O'Neill - 350/1. Great all round hairy monster game with gears to burn, Marq will be particularly dangerous if he gets a stack together early on. Has developed into a great situational player and he's due a massive breakthrough.

Dara O'Kearney - 350/1. Big online winner who has developed a good TAG live play style that gets him to a lot of final tables in the clubs. Might be a better bet for final table (he seems to make lots, but be short stacked more often than not). Stamina is a factor in these events and you're not going to do better than current national 24 hour running champion.

Jude McCarthy - 350/1. Most improved player in the last year for me. Great all round game and late on aggression, great reader of the man and the situation, plenty of gears, nice variation to his game, and ready for a big breakout result. Maybe needs to learn to get away from big hands when he's beaten a bit more often, but I think he'll be particularly effective early on when most people will be playing tight and if he does get a big stack he's capable of cruising deep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,170 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Having perused through the betting list, theres two that stand out to me and who are not quoted on the list,
    they are ipc champion jude ainsworth, he played in a 100 freezout three days after the ipc win and won it as well.

The other is Todd Brunson who is definitely playing or so he says anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

eagle eye wrote: »
    Having perused through the betting list, theres two that stand out to me and who are not quoted on the list,
    they are ipc champion jude ainsworth, he played in a 100 freezout three days after the ipc win and won it as well.

The other is Todd Brunson who is definitely playing or so he says anyways.

Jude Ainsworth is quoted in the betting.

I wasnt aware that Todd was coming. Doyle is making the trip alright and is listed. I will add Todd in.

Betting is here btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 JackBlack

Sorel Mizzi 150-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭rag2gar

Chub is z bet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,170 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Jude Ainsworth is quoted in the betting.

I wasnt aware that Todd was coming. Doyle is making the trip alright and is listed. I will add Todd in.

Betting is here btw.

Todd is coming. Just found Jude, thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭SuperHans

I think you'll find it hard finding any sort of value. There were 708 runners last year, so I'd assume there will be more this year. I suppose the best bet would be an unknown player who you personally know to be an excellent player, but saying O'Dea is value at 200-1 is wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭luckylucky

SuperHans wrote: »
    I think you'll find it hard finding any sort of value.

Poker events are possibly amongst the worst value type of betting out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

It's a 1000 runner field. (likely)

Look at the odds you have quoted, there is no value.
    Bookmakers do not offer value in these markets.

It makes my head hurt when people believe there is value relative to something else that isn't value either.

The logic seems to be:

Loaf of bread A: = €50
    Loaf of bread B: = €15

Therefore, loaf of bread B = !!Valuetown!! :rolleyes:

No, it's €15 for a loaf of bread, that's not value, it's still a rip off, it's just less of a rip off than the €50 bread.
    (and it's for sale in the same shop, which should give you a clue that you are shopping in the wrong place).

Now maybe it's a nicer loaf of bread, homemade with decent ingredients, but you are still paying €15 for flour and water and yeast.

Now I'm off to get lunch because I think my hunger is adversely affecting my analogies.

I like bread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

rag2gar wrote: »
    I like bread

Me too, but I wouldn't pay €15 for a loaf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭The_Chopper

The-Rigger wrote: »
    The logic seems to be:

Loaf of bread A: = €50
    Loaf of bread B: = €15

Therefore, loaf of bread B = !!Valuetown!! :rolleyes:

Brilliant - but surely it's +EV to buy the €15 bread

€1000 €850 €700 €500 the lot.

bread_home.jpg

Can't say fairer than that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

that's a lotta dough

You have a rye sense of humour, but there's no knead for such stale half-baked comments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Decod

SuperHans wrote: »
    I think you'll find it hard finding any sort of value. There were 708 runners last year, so I'd assume there will be more this year. I suppose the best bet would be an unknown player who you personally know to be an excellent player, but saying O'Dea is value at 200-1 is wrong.

If last year is anything to go by though, there'll be a high proportion of donks, what with pub qualifiers who think their normal game (=all in with any half decent hand) will work and more-money-than-sensers who can hardly play but will buy in just for the thrill of playing with the top pros.

Dan Harrington reckons that in events like WSOP main, the top guys reckon their edge means their buyin has an EV of 4 times the actual buyin so I still maintain the Don is value.

I was just taking PP as the most easily referenced source: obviously the usual provisos about better value on the betting exchanges apply. I kinda thought that was so obvious it went without saying on a forum as gambling savvy as this, but maybe not.

Ainsworth looks like a good choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

You have a rye sense of humour, but there's no knead for such stale half-baked comments.

I suspect you're just trying to get a rise out of me with these floury remarks

I thought you'd roll with it, no need to get seedy. I'm leaven now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Move it to the bakery/cooking forum if there is one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,405 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

shh... you`re baking a scene. dont worry ill be scone in a minute! (there are better one but i prefer the lowest common denominator)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 780 ✭✭✭Captain Tom

valor 350-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,895 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

to cash?

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,502 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Bearing in mind someone attempted to enter a monkey into the WSOP should we now attempt to enter one of Oul Mr. Brennan's finest into the IO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

I like bread

LOL.. Its the little gems really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

Adam Fallon.325-1 on an absolute heater and almost certainly the best young player in the country.

Andrew Grimason aka chub.275-1.

Also wp on the bread exchange.V good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,027 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

jbravado wrote: »
    Adam Fallon.325-1 on an absolute heater and almost certainly the best young player in the country.

Ah you got there before me... but yea adam is running well at the moment, choppin killareny and winning his ticket for the IO in within 2 weeks plus fitz EOM - but will his luck run out by march....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

Adam did finish 45th last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,027 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Adam did finish 45th last year

Is this a positive or negative comment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

Decod wrote: »
    If last year is anything to go by though, there'll be a high proportion of donks, what with pub qualifiers who think their normal game (=all in with any half decent hand) will work and more-money-than-sensers who can hardly play but will buy in just for the thrill of playing with the top pros.

Dan Harrington reckons that in events like WSOP main, the top guys reckon their edge means their buyin has an EV of 4 times the actual buyin so I still maintain the Don is value.

I was just taking PP as the most easily referenced source: obviously the usual provisos about better value on the betting exchanges apply. I kinda thought that was so obvious it went without saying on a forum as gambling savvy as this, but maybe not.

Ainsworth looks like a good choice.

The standard is not anyway near as bad as you're making out,and there really isn't that many "donks" and this isn't the wsop either,i'd agree with superhans and The-Riggers' grocery anology,that a bet on this event is fine for a bit of fun but there is clearly no value.
    Suggestion,print out the list of runners,put on a blindfold and stick a pin in it,you'd be as likely to pick the winner as anyone....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

Nicky Power - obvious pick, but obvious great value at 175/1. If Nicky goes deep again, he has the game to take it down this year.

I agree 100% you obv know your stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭Macspower

after reading rag2gars blog entry I decided to have a punt for a tenner for the craic... I like a man with confidence

The standard is not anyway near as bad as you're making out,and there really isn't that many "donks" and this isn't the wsop either,i'd agree with superhans and The-Riggers' grocery anology,that a bet on this event is fine for a bit of fun but there is clearly no value.
    Suggestion,print out the list of runners,put on a blindfold and stick a pin in it,you'd be as likely to pick the winner as anyone....

Jaysus but you're a gas ticket! I bet you get told that at parties all the time. Right? Right? It's clear your degree in Bleedin' Obviousology has done you no harm at all.

Some of you are missing the obvious purpose of this thread, which is to nominate some unknown and then get to be all smug if they do well. So much better than saying after the event "I knew X would do well...". Or to big up yourself or a blood relative or a buddy.

Jaysus but you're a gas ticket! I bet you get told that at parties all the time. Right? Right? It's clear your degree in Bleedin' Obviousology has done you no harm at all.

Some of you are missing the obvious purpose of this thread, which is to nominate some unknown and then get to be all smug if they do well. So much better than saying after the event "I knew X would do well...". Or to big up yourself or a blood relative or a buddy.

Get your hands on some good grass,this should help....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,405 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

The standard is not anyway near as bad as you're making out,and there really isn't that many "donks" .

...If you cant spot the fish...

Macspower wrote: »
    after reading rag2gars blog entry I decided to have a punt for a tenner for the craic... I like a man with confidence

I hope you did it for Drogheda though macs! Yeah I'm looking to win it, no doubt about it

...If you cant spot the fish...i'll be wearing a red jumper

i'll be sure and find you,tx

Some of you are missing the obvious purpose of this thread, which is to nominate some unknown and then get to be all smug if they do well. .

Is it okay if I start feeling smug already, given my nomination of Dara O'Kearney in this thread as one of the most impressive new players on the Dublin club scene and online, given that he just took down the European Deepstack main event?

Gutted I didn't know he was taking part in advance as I'd have had a punt. If there's one event that would suit his game down to the ground, it'd be that one. Anyone know what price he was at the start?

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    He may not have been priced. However, you clearly can see the future. May I balance your crystal ball; or take lessons on your advanced scouting techniques?

Thanks Lloyd, and another great result for you, big fella. You're on a bit of a roll and in danger of getting a name for yourself. Next thing we know you'll be turning pro and hooking up with some Page 3 glamour girls.

Heard you played a blinder with the short stack late on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭CourierCollie

Well done yesterday Lloyd. Had a wee flutter on you e/w @100-1. More than covered the rest of my losses for the weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭Macspower

Macspower wrote: »

wtf didn't I go e/w!!!! wp garry

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Thanks mate. Sick bet.
    Oh, you've no idea just how sick! When I placed the bet I was only 50% sure Lloyd O'Farrell and LuckyLloyd were one and the same. Of course I bet twice as much on both Julian Thew and Colette Murphy, lol.
    Anyone know if Gary is gonna play in the Irish Open? I'd like to get a bet on before his odds are shorter than annette15s!

Oh, you've no idea just how sick! When I placed the bet I was only 50% sure Lloyd O'Farrell and LuckyLloyd were one and the same. Of course I bet twice as much on both Julian Thew and Colette Murphy, lol.
    Anyone know if Gary is gonna play in the Irish Open? I'd like to get a bet on before his odds are shorter than annette15s!

Lolerz I'm just happy to get a blogging job at the IO!!

Does this mean we'll still see ya at the 1/2 tables in the Jackpot. Hope so, I might even learn how to play this game by watching your game.

Wow dyou want my head to explode? Who is this

Sorry,
    I wasn't trying to wreck your head. Only played at the same table as you once in the Jackpot, woulda been about 24th Jan. Think I was in seat one and you in seat 2. Not a very memorable session. The best part was that there was a French guy to the right of the dealer, and everyone was trying to come up with their best French phrases!
    Only half joking about trying to learn from your play. I'd always try to learn something from better players, a large group you would already have been a part of regardless of your result last week.
    Names Noel btw, as you can tell from previous posts I'm more a degenerate gambler than a poker player.

Sorry,
    I wasn't trying to wreck your head. Only played at the same table as you once in the Jackpot, woulda been about 24th Jan. Think I was in seat one and you in seat 2. Not a very memorable session. The best part was that there was a French guy to the right of the dealer, and everyone was trying to come up with their best French phrases!
    Only half joking about trying to learn from your play. I'd always try to learn something from better players, a large group you would already have been a part of regardless of your result last week.
    Names Noel btw, as you can tell from previous posts I'm more a degenerate gambler than a poker player.

Yeah I remember you now Noel. By my head exploding I mean if you keep being so nice with your compliments I'll get so big-headed that it might actually explode, ha! Not that you were wrecking my head. That was a pretty nasty session for me from what I can remember, defo didnt win anyway. Hardly anything to be learned from me that night! If you want to learn from an expert watch Keith Rooney in action in the jackpot, he's a jackpot legend:cool: