Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this the end of BGRH?

• 30-01-2008 8:59pm

Brothers, after reading throught the secret unmanly thoughts thread I have become very worried about the future of this forum. It turns out that a lot of you seem to be a bunch of pathetic metrosexual girly boys-I'm looking at you Barneysplash.
    As one of the lurkers posted in the above mentioned thread, what happened to the good old days oof BGRH when proper manly things like farting and heavy drinking etc were discussed? These days we have the likes of Laura Woods bum and ideal wimmin threads which are crap and should be in AH.
    Rant over I'm going to the bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

It only took one question to out yiz all.

I am so happy with myself right now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Yea,,,, raaaaaarrr..

Lets get drunk and screw some 20 year olds..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

Brothers, after reading throught the secret unmanly thoughts thread I have become very worried about the future of this forum. It turns out that a lot of you seem to be a bunch of pathetic metrosexual girly boys-I'm looking at you Barneysplash.
    As one of the lurkers posted in the above mentioned thread, what happened to the good old days oof BGRH when proper manly things like farting and heavy drinking etc were discussed?

I draw the Brother's attention to the fact that the Unmanly Thoughts thread has centered on anal fingering and soccer.

Laura Wood's bum is A Good Thing.

Ideal Wimmins - well, all brothers have needs, and needs need wimmins.

'nuff said. Now buy me a beer.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Laura Woods bum is a not a good thing - its a great thing!
    Also what else are you meant to look at wilst standing at the bar?

Still, talk of getting fingered when making the beast with two backs, turning down sex, diet coke, ghey's anatomy, noticing other mens looks, etc. is bad enough but the fact that a quote from a very manly source was attributed to Wesley Snipes is the icing on the cake.

Brothers, get your act together please. I don't know what your drink has been spiked with but please put it down, order a fresh one and lets get back to business please.
    And get me a pint while you are ordering!
    With crisps!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

kbannon wrote: »
    And get me a pint while you are ordering!
    With crisps!

Totally unrelated to anything, just finished a book about a guy going on a pub crawl the full length of Britain. I was reading more about him on his website where he tells about the time he met writer Ian Rankin in a pub in Edinburgh, a real old-fashioned drinking mens' pub. One of the previous landlords was notoriously hard and apparently once when a bloke went into the pub and asked for some crisps with his beer, the old landlord dragged him outside by his collar and said ‘Did you no’ see the sign? This is a pub, no’ a ****in’ restaurant’. Class :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Its one thread. I still drink beer and eat too much and fancy wimmins a decade younger than me. Surely tis all you need?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭barneysplash

You are missing out on something important here.

Women have known for years that they can be girly one day and all feminist the next day.
    This is why some days women say:

"I don't like him" and then the next day "Oh, but there's something about him"

or

"I'm a fat ugly sow" then the next day "I am fu**ing gorgeous!"

This is something us men have trouble understanding. We like things defined and in little boxes,
    we don't understand how somethings change with how you feel:

Man: "But you said yesterday you didn't like him"

Woman: "Did I? Oh fu** that he's a big ride"

I like to be metro one day, and the next day play with power tools,
    or give the yard a good sweeping with a stiff brush.

Brothers, take a leaf from the women folk, don't try to definie every aspect of being a man.

Here - try receiting this phrase a few times a day, to loosen up. It's something all women know in one form or another:

"I'll define myself how the fu** I want to, and I'll change my mind to suit myself.
    If you don't like it - go fu** your Moth** with a Philips head Screwdri***" :)

If you don't like it - go fu** your Moth** with a Philips head Screwdri***" :)[/I]

Right back at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I purpose a breakaway group called The Real BG&RH Brothers.

Provisionally application will be down to a vote of myself, Nialler, and Zaph, with possible new successful applicants members added to the voting committee at a later date.

Offending members of the new group will be terminated if need be.

P.S The wimmins are bound to follow us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

The-Rigger wrote: »

and then the "continuity BG&RH "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

Provisionally application will be down to a vote of myself, Nialler, and Zaph, with possible new successful applicants members added to the voting committee at a later date.

Well ... am I in or out :cool:

Let us not forget the Provisional BGRH.

Trout is definately in.

trout wrote: »
    Well ... am I in or out :cool:

Oh you are in, unquestionably.

A few others though....... are a bit like...

n142962.jpg

WTF? Have I not been vocal enough about BGRH becoming the "Being Ghey & Real Homo" forum?

Ok you are in also. As are Brothers Almighty Cushion, Smashey, Tom
    Dunne,SlowMotion(we need a barman) and PatrickC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

"Are you the Peoples BGRH of Boards?"

"Fvck off! We're the Boards Peoples BGRH!"

"So where's the People BGRH of Boards?"

"He's over there"

SPLITTER!

Yaay - now lets group hug. Aah only messin!
    I'll get the first round in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

relax relax, everything's going to be ok

Ok you are in also. As are Brothers Almighty Cushion, Smashey, Tom
    Dunne,SlowMotion(we need a barman) and PatrickC.

Regarding Brother Tom's 'Baileysgate admission', where do we stand?

Is Baileys a wimmins drink, or an alcoholic dessert?

Well looking at "that" thread, I see that faith in manhood has been tarnished by the weaknesses of a few. I don't think things will be ok!

More wimmins buy it than men, so Brother Tom could be in trouble there...:cool:

It largely depends on the type of whiskey its mixed with!

On second reading, he said he drank it once, with ice.
    Hopefully he learned his lesson.

On second reading, he said he drank it once, with ice.
    Hopefully he learned his lesson.

fair enough ... but creme de menthe just looks like snot :mad:

Well one thing I do know about being a man is that if they buy a round then everything is cool! However, the issue can never be raised again.
    I'm willing to let bygones be bygones - I'll have a pint of Guinness!

Brothers, while I understand your frustration and disappointment with some of our number, a splinter group is not the answer. We must stay here and work from within to assist and guide those Brothers who have strayed from the path of righteousness. We must not mock them for discussing curtains, we should gently remind them that curtains are indeed great as they're handy for wiping your knob after sex. Similarly we should not be so quick as to write off indiscretions such as preferring to give rather than receive oral. Clearly a Brother in such a state of mind is either a) in need of professional help, in which case further undermining his mental state is just cruel; or b) laying the groundwork for something naughtier later in the session such as getting the keys to the tradesmans' entrance. Admittedly I am finding it hard to find mitigating circumstances for the Baileys.

So remember, we are a Brotherhood, we stand tall and firm(ish) in the face of adversity and metrosexualism and support those Brothers who have fallen so that they can one day support themselves once more.

NO GUT, NO GLORY!

Zaph wrote: »
    Brothers, while I understand your frustration and disappointment with some of our number, a splinter group is not the answer. We must stay here and work from within to assist and guide those Brothers who have strayed from the path of righteousness. We must not mock them for discussing curtains, we should gently remind them that curtains are indeed great as they're handy for wiping your knob after sex. Similarly we should not be so quick as to write off indiscretions such as preferring to give rather than receive oral. Clearly a Brother in such a state of mind is either a) in need of professional help, in which case further undermining his mental state is just cruel; or b) laying the groundwork for something naughtier later in the session such as getting the keys to the tradesmans' entrance. Admittedly I am finding it hard to find mitigating circumstances for the Baileys.

So remember, we are a Brotherhood, we stand tall and firm(ish) in the face of adversity and metrosexualism and support those Brothers who have fallen so that they can one day support themselves once more.

NO GUT, NO GLORY!

Jeebus ... that would bring a tear to a glass eye. What he said.

For my own part, I have resolved to assert myself more on the forum at large, belching and farting as I please. Might even hock the odd loogie.

Also, I am schkulling bottles of Schtella to help me in my quest to commune with the ghost of pa trout tonight ... his wisdom knows no bounds.

Finally ... I plan on starting new threads and resurrecting old threads, so that the offensive threads are pushed further and further down the pages.

Come on BGRH regulars and lurkers ... let's reclaim this place :)

NO GUT, NO GLORY!

Well said Zaph, very eloquent if I may say so.

NO GUT, NO GLORY!
    BGRH.jpg

BGRH.jpg

Excellent work Brother. We shall no doubt be victorious over the metrosexual scum.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

I would like to point out that the whole curtain selling thing simply aided Me in staring at various wimmins behinds. As the manager, I never really had to do anything girly with them, I just got them to. lol

Sterling work Brother kbannon

Well said Zaph, very eloquent if I may say so.

eloquent?

Careful now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

the offending thread needs to be closed before anymore damage is done, methinks

eloquent?

Careful now.

Whats wrong with that!

Next thing you will be sipping baileys.
    It's a slippery slope.

Next thing you will be sipping baileys.
    It's a slippery slope.

NEVER!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Metrosexuals invading BGRH??? I will not stand for it!!! :D I'm going out to build a big bonfire outside Yore Ma's and when I come back, you metrosexual inclined lurkers and traitors better be on the first bus back to gheyland or we're goin to have ourselves a manbag barbecue...

United we stand, brothers. I didn't inhale.

I did not have sexual relations with that woman either.

The latter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Tom Dunne wrote: »
    United we stand, brothers. I didn't inhale.

yes but we also have to take into consideration you knowing what voile was and the posting of the thread in the fitness forum in relation to wanting to lose the gut. At least I go to the gym to put on weight

jsb wrote: »
    the posting of the thread in the fitness forum in relation to wanting to lose the gut. At least I go to the gym to put on weight

The posting in the fitness forum was to bait some of the regulars seeing as the mod was away for the weekend. It didn't quite work out as intended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

According to the man rules (not sure which one) I think slyly sipping on such an undoubtedly ghey beverage in order to seem sophisticated in the pursuit of some sweet 'tang is borderline acceptable. In any other curcumstance, it's just wrong! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Lads calm down! I asked Igor to take my shift in the bar today! Simply direct anyone displaying signs of emengent metrosexuality to the bar and tell them to order a coctail! Igor will take it from there and the issue will be resolved post haste! Or in Igors case potht hathte!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭LostinBlanch

Jaysus lads, WTF???

Some on here talking about surrendering unconditionally to a bunch of simpering, mincing, lilly livered, pink shirted, baileys / frappuccino / skinny latte drinking, interior design loving, leg waxing, dieting metrosexuals??? It wasn't them that made BGRH the place that it is, it was us (and a couple of wimmin with rasher sambos) :rolleyes:.

Time to show a bit of backbone here. I fully agree with Zaphs call to arms. Give them one chance to see the error of their ways or send them off to the insipid hell that is metrosexua.

Either they shape up, ship out or get barred from Yore Mas, their posts / threads deleted and banned from the forum and left to whine in feedback. :mad:

I know we have a report post button, but where's the metrosexual alert button?

DesF is working on one in his art class.

Tom Dunne wrote: »
    DesF is working on one in his art class.

Indeed, I believe the start of this metro outpouring was when Brother DesF was admiring Stratospheres couch while the rest of us were admiring Stratospheres spheres.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭barneysplash

You still don't get it, do you?

You can be metro when you want and manly when you want.

Yes I like pre-faded jeans, yes I like coffee based drinks featuring the syllable "chino", but I also love giving strangers directions based on local pubs as points of reference, and I could not live without browsing the weekly specials on power tools/generators in Lidl.

Who is the authority to say that a man can moisturise and also take plaseure gathered with other men looking with intent into an open car bonet, like you know what is happening.

Where is it written that I cannot read the nutritional information on my food, and also be in heaven with an empty house, foreign beer in hand, Top Gear on telly, wearing only boxers.

It is time that you all liberate yourselves from the closed mind of manliness.
    I know many of you do not like my kind, but we are here to stay.

Brothers, free your mind and the rest will follow!

You still don't get it, do you?

Well somebody around here certainly doesn't get it.

*stares at barneysplash*